DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tarlazzi et al (US Publication 2016/0242147 A1).
Regarding to claims 1 and 12, Tarlazzi discloses a radio access network RAN system (fig. 1) for providing wirelessly service using an air interface (page 1 paragraph 0023), the RAN system comprising: multiple baseband units BBUs 110, each of which is configured to perform a first portion of physical layer processing for the air interface (page 2 paragraph 0029); multiple remote radio units RRUs 106, each of which is configured to perform a second portion of the physical layer processing for the air interface (page 2 paragraph 0027); wherein the BBUs 110 are communicatively coupled to the RRUs 106 over a fronthaul (page 2 paragraph 0029); wherein the RAN system further comprises an orchestration entity 204 that is separate from the BBUs 110 and the RRUs 106 (page 2 paragraph 0031); wherein the orchestration entity 204 is communicatively coupled to the BBUs 110 and the RRUs 106 (pages 2-3 paragraph 0032); and wherein the orchestration entity 204 is configured to dynamically control how the BBUs 110 and the RRUs 106 provide the wireless service based, at least in part, on data provided from the multiple BBUs 110 and data provided from the multiple RRUs 106 (pages 1-2 paragraphs 0023-0025), and data provided from the multiple RRUs (page 2 paragraph 00025).
Regarding to claims 3 and 14, Tarlazzi discloses the orchestration entity is configured to dynamically control how the BBUs and the RRUs provide the wireless service on the fly while the BBUs and the RRUs are running (page 2 paragraph 0029).
Regarding to claims 4 and 15, Tarlazzi discloses the orchestration entity is configured to dynamically control how the BBUs and the RRUs provide the wireless service by dynamically associating each of the RRUs with one or more of the BBUs to provide wireless service (page 3 paragraph 0039).
Regarding to claims 5 and 16, Tarlazzi discloses dynamically controlling how the BBUs and the RRUs provide the wireless service using the orchestration entity comprises dynamically controlling how the BBUs and the RRUs provide the wireless service using the orchestration entity based on one or more of the following: resource usage (page 3 paragraph 0039), radio traffic (page 1 paragraph 0023), radio conditions (page 2 paragraph 0023), interference conditions (page 6 paragraph 0068), system load (page 3 paragraph 0039), number of mobile terminals in coverage area (page 2 paragraph 0025), and available computational resources (page 2 paragraph 0039).
Regarding to claims 7 and 18, Tarlazzi discloses the orchestration entity is configured to dynamically control how the BBUs and the RRUs provide the wireless service by dynamically changing how scheduling is performed by one or more of the BBUs (page 5 paragraph 0052).
Regarding to claims 8 and 19, Tarlazzi discloses the BBUs and RRUs are configured to use an adaptive fronthaul protocol to communicate over the fronthaul (pages 1-2 paragraph 0023).
Regarding to claims 9 and 20, Tarlazzi discloses the adaptive fronthaul protocol is configured to use compression to communicate some data over the fronthaul between at least one BBU and at least one RRU (page 6 paragraph 0067).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10, 11, 17, 21, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding to applicant’s argument on pages 1-2 in the Remarks that the physical layer coordinator 204 in Tarlazzi is part of the claimed multiple BBUs. In response, examiner would like to directed applicant’s attention to fig. 1-2 paragraphs 0029-0030. Herein, Tarlazzi discloses the processing units 110a-c include a baseband processing pool 202 (BBUs) and a physical layer coordinator 204 (orchestration entity) that’s separate from the baseband processing pool 202. So while the processing units 110a-c comprises both the baseband processing pool 202 and the physical layer coordinator 204, however, the baseband processing pool 202 and the physical layer coordinator 204 are separate elements as shown in fig. 2 with separate functions. Furthermore, Tarlazzi discloses the baseband processing pool 202 and the physical layer coordinator 204 can be separate from one another. Therefore, examiner disagreed with applicant’s assertion that the physical layer coordinator 204 is part of the BBUs 202. Thus, based on the reasons set forth here the rejections is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUC T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467