Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 15-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (CN 116613213, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 1 of Wu discloses a method for manufacturing a heterojunction structure device, the method comprising: preparing a substrate (Si); forming a gate electrode (G, W/TiN) on the substrate; forming a ferroelectric layer (HZO) including a material having ferroelectric characteristics on the gate electrode; forming an insulating layer (Al2O3) on the ferroelectric layer; forming a channel layer (α-In2Se3) including a material having ferroelectric and semiconductor characteristics on the insulating layer; and forming a source electrode (S, Au) and a drain electrode (D, Au) on the channel layer such that the source electrode and the drain electrode are spaced apart from each other.
Regarding Claim 16
Wu discloses the ferroelectric layer (HZO) includes a material having out-of-plane (OOP) polarization characteristics.
Regarding Claim 17
Wu discloses the channel layer includes a material (α-In2Se3) having both out-of-plane (OOP) polarization characteristics and in-plane (IP) polarization characteristics.
Regarding Claim 18
Wu discloses the ferroelectric layer includes any one of hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO), arsenic (As), antimony (Sb), bismuth (Bi), tellurium (Te), d1T-MOS2, t-MOS2, WS2, WSe2, WTe2, BiN, SbN, BiP, GaN, GaSe, SiC, BN, AlN, ZnO, GeS, GeSe, SnS, SnSe, SiTE, GeTe, SnTE, PbTe, CrN, CrB2, CrBr3, Crl3, GaTeCl, AgBiP2Se6, CuCrP2S.sub.6, CuCrP2Se6, CuVP2S.sub.6, CuVP2Se6, CuInP2Se6, CuInP2S.sub.6(CIPS), Sc2CO2, Bi2O2Se, Bi2O2Te, Bi2O2s, Ba2PbCl4, graphanol, hydroxyl-functionalized graphene, halogen-decorated phosphorene, g-C6N8H, and Bi—CH2OH.
Regarding Claim 19
Wu discloses the channel layer includes a material (α-In2Se3) having both out-of-plane (OOP) polarization characteristics and in-plane (IP) polarization characteristics.
Regarding Claim 20
The claim “polarization of the channel layer is controlled by light irradiated to the channel layer” containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed. This recitation does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus because the apparatus of Wu teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), see MPEP 2114 R-1.
Regarding Claim 21
The claim “polarization of the ferroelectric layer is controlled by a voltage applied to the gate electrode” containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed. This recitation does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus because the apparatus of Wu teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), see MPEP 2114 R-1. Furthermore, FIG. 3 of Wu discloses polarization of the ferroelectric layer is controlled by a voltage applied to the gate electrode.
Regarding Claim 22
Wu discloses the insulating layer includes aluminum oxide (Al2O3), silicon oxide (SiO2), hafnium oxide (HfO2), and hexagonal boron nitride (h-BN).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0006507), in view of Doornbos (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0376108).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 1 of Lu discloses a method for manufacturing a heterojunction structure device, the method comprising: preparing a substrate (1); forming a gate electrode (2) on the substrate; forming a ferroelectric layer (3) including a material having ferroelectric characteristics on the gate electrode [0022]; forming an insulating layer (4) on the ferroelectric layer; forming a channel layer (5) including a material having semiconductor characteristics on the insulating layer; and forming a source electrode (6) and a drain electrode (7) on the channel layer such that the source electrode and the drain electrode are spaced apart from each other.
Lu is silent with respect to “a channel layer including a material having ferroelectric and semiconductor characteristics”.
FIG. 2 of Doornbos discloses a similar method for manufacturing a heterojunction structure device, comprising a channel layer (104) including a material having ferroelectric and semiconductor characteristics [0020].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lu, as taught by Doornbos. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lu in the above manner for purpose of forming a ferroelectric field effect transistor ([0002] of Doornbos).
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0399137), in view of Houdt (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0040331).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 9 of Wang discloses a method for manufacturing a heterojunction structure device, the method comprising: preparing a substrate (10); forming a gate electrode (58) on the substrate; forming a ferroelectric layer (54) including a material having ferroelectric characteristics on the gate electrode [0046]; forming an insulating layer (52) on the ferroelectric layer; forming a channel layer (30) including a material having semiconductor characteristics on the insulating layer; and forming a source electrode (72) and a drain electrode (78) on the channel layer such that the source electrode and the drain electrode are spaced apart from each other.
Wang is silent with respect to “a channel layer including a material having ferroelectric and semiconductor characteristics”.
FIG. 5 of Houdt discloses a similar method for manufacturing a heterojunction structure device, comprising a channel layer (33) including a material having ferroelectric and semiconductor characteristics [0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang, as taught by Houdt. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang in the above manner for purpose of improving ferroelectric memory cells ([0014] of Houdt).
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Houdt, in view of Dunkel (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0176456).
Regarding Claim 16
Wang as modified by Houdt discloses Claim 15.
Wang as modified by Houdt is silent with respect to “the ferroelectric layer includes a material having out-of-plane (OOP) polarization characteristics”.
FIG. 1 of Dunkel discloses a similar method for manufacturing a heterojunction structure device, wherein the ferroelectric layer includes a material having out-of-plane (OOP) polarization characteristics [0015].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang, as taught by Dunkel. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang in the above manner for purpose of maintaining its logic state even when power is removed ([0002] of Dunkel).
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0399137), in view of Wang259 (CN 113594259, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 17
Wang as modified by Houdt discloses Claim 15.
Wang as modified by Houdt is silent with respect to “the channel layer includes a material having both out-of-plane (OOP) polarization characteristics and in-plane (IP) polarization characteristics”.
FIG. 5 of Wang259 discloses a similar method for manufacturing a heterojunction structure device, wherein the channel layer includes a material having both out-of-plane (OOP) polarization characteristics and in-plane (IP) polarization characteristics (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang, as taught by Wang259. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang in the above manner for purpose of realizing logic gate operation (Abstract of Wang259).
Pertinent Art
US 20250126823, 20220271046, 20230378350.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897