Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Currently claim 14 and 20 have element numbers for first optical film 41 and second substrate 8 left in their respective claims. Because none of the other element numbers are left in any of the other claims, for consistency, this might be better removed. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, It is unclear how the orientation of the optical films works practically. Claim requires that the first optical film be in the first opening. Claim 3, which depends on claim 1, introduces a third optical film which is disposed over the first optical film. Claim 4, which depends on claim 3, adds a fourth optical film which is between the first and third optical films. Claim 16 introduces a seventh optical film which is also in the opening and is between the fourth and third optical films. The above is all understood and fine. However, the confusion lies in claim 16 also adds the limitation that fourth optical film contacts the third optical film. So, the question is, how can the fourth optical film have the seventh optical film between the fourth and still contact the third optical film? One way this could be resolved, is that the fourth optical film could only have a part that is between the third and seventh optical films and a different part that changes directions such as going vertical in the figures to meet the third optical film. However, the problem with this is that there is no indication of this in either drawings or the specification. Examiner finds it difficult to find something in the originally filed disclosure to solve this uncertainty issue, and because of this appropriate action is needed.
Claim 19 recites the limitation " at least one glue disposed to cover the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit" where the second light-emitting unit has not been introduced. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner believes that dependency of claim 19 was intended to from claim 2 as claim 2 introduces the “Second light-emitting unit”, as well as applicant would have support for a claim with all of the limitations of claims 1, 2, and 19 based at least on Fig. 5. For this reason, examiner will examine claim 19 as if it depended from claim 2, however, appropriate action is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication by Kurihara et al. (US 20220171237 A1; Kurihara).
Regarding claim 1, Kurihara discloses an electronic device (IL), comprising:
a first substrate (1);
a first light-emitting unit (2 – any of) disposed on the first substrate (Figs. 11 and 12, where light-emitting units 2 are disposed on substrate 1);
a wall structure (Para. 34 - 30 in the x direction and 32 in the y direction) disposed on the first substrate (Fig. 11 and 12, where wall structure 30/32 are on first substrate 1) and provided with a first opening corresponding to the first light-emitting unit (Figs. 11/12, Opening can be considered the space between corresponding wall structures which also corresponds to light-emitting units); and
a first optical film (5), wherein at least a portion of the first optical film is disposed in the first opening, and at least a portion of the first optical film disposed in the first opening is disposed on the first light-emitting unit (Para. 46; Fig. 12, Where optical film 5 is disposed on light-emitting unit 1 and inside the opening area between adjacent wall structures 32).
Regarding claim 2, Kurihara discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a second light-emitting unit and a second optical film, wherein the second light-emitting unit is disposed on the first substrate, and the second optical film is disposed on the second light-emitting unit, the wall structure further includes a second opening corresponding to the second light-emitting unit (Fig. 11, where the second light-emitting unit 2, would be in a different quadrant based on the 31/32 walls, than the first light-emitting unit. The second opening and second optical film will similarly be the same different area then the quadrant used for the first opening and first optical film), and the second optical film is disposed in the second opening (The second opening will have a different first optical film 5 as it is in a different location/different opening).
Regarding claim 3, Kurihara discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 2, further comprising a third optical film (9) disposed on the wall structure, wherein the third optical film at least partially overlaps the first optical film in the first opening and the second optical film in the second opening (Para, 30; Fig. 12, Where optical film 9 is disposed on wall structures 32 and the first and second optical films 5).
Regarding claim 4, Kurihara discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 3, further comprising a fourth optical (5s) film disposed in the first opening (Fig. 12 where fourth optical film 5s is disposed on at least the side of light-emitting unit and first optical film 5), wherein the fourth optical film is disposed between the first optical film and the third optical film (Fig. 12, where fourth optical film 5s is between first optical film 5 and third optical film 9).
Regarding claim 5, Kurihara discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 3, wherein there is a gap between the first optical film and the third optical film (Fig. 12, The gap is made by the presence of the 4th optical film).
Regarding claim 8, Kurihara discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, and further wherein, in a normal direction of the electronic device (we will say the z-direction as in Fig. 12), the wall structure has a side wall, the side wall has a thickness (h2), and the thickness is between 0.05 mm and 6 mm (Para. 95, “In the fourth embodiment, a height h2 of the optical projection 3 is 0.25 mm. Incidentally, the cross-sectional shape of the optical projection 3 may be a shape other than a triangular shape such as a trapezoid shape or a semicircular shape”).
Regarding claim 9, Kurihara discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, and further wherein, in a top view direction (Fig. 11) of the electronic device, the first light-emitting unit has a first width in a first direction (x-direction in Fig. 11), the first opening has a first opening width in the first direction, and the first opening width is 2 to 30 times of the first width (Para. 39, “Incidentally, the length of one side of the light emitting element 2 that is a general LED is, for example, 300 μm or more and 350 μm or less” and Para. 35, “In addition, the segment region SA is in a square shape with a side of 2 mm.” Looking at Fig. 11, the width direction of X will have a LED length of 0.3mm to 0.35mm and a opening width, which is the length of a side SA of 2mm. That puts the opening width at 5.7 or 6.7 times the first width).
Regarding claim 10, Kurihara discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein, in a top view direction of the electronic device, the first light-emitting unit has a first length in a second direction, the first opening has a first opening length in the second direction, and the first opening length is 2 to 30 times of the first length
(Para. 39, “Alternatively, the light emitting element 2 may be an LED having the longest side length of 1 mm or less” and Para. 35, “In addition, the segment region SA is in a square shape with a side of 2 mm.” Looking at Fig. 11, the second direction of Y will have a LED length of 1mm and an opening width, which is the length of a side SA, of 2mm. That puts the opening length at 2 times the first length).
Regarding claim 15, Kurihara discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 4, wherein there is a gap (g) between the fourth optical film and the third optical film (Para. 108, Fig. 13, where there is a gap (g) between fourth optical film 5s and third optical film 9).
Regarding claim 17, Kurihara discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 4, and further wherein the fourth optical film in the first opening contacts the third optical film (Fig. 12, where fourth optical film 5s contact third optical film 9).
Claims 1-2, 6, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO publication by Watanabe et al. (WO 2022239354 A1, Watanabe).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a first substrate (30);
a first light-emitting unit (11) disposed on the first substrate (Fig. 6B, where light-emitting unit 11 is disposed on substrate 30);
a wall structure (21) disposed on the first substrate and provided with a first opening corresponding to the first light-emitting unit (the wall 21 structure is disposed on at least substrate 30 and the wall structure creates a first opening between the adjacent walls which corresponds vertically to light-emitting structure 11); and
a first optical film (22), wherein at least a portion of the first optical film is disposed in the first opening, and at least a portion of the first optical film disposed in the first opening is disposed on the first light-emitting unit (Fig. 6C, Where the optical film 22[G/B/R] is disposed in the openings created by wall structure 21 and the first optical film is disposed over the first light emitting unit).
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a second light-emitting (Fig. 4F, Where any of light-emitting units can be the first light-emitting unit and any other light-emitting unit can be second light-emitting unit) unit and a second optical film (Similar to above, if the first light emitting unit is under film 22G, then the first film will be 22G, and the second optical film can be any other one such as 22R), wherein the second light-emitting unit is disposed on the first substrate, and the second optical film is disposed on the second light-emitting unit, the wall structure further includes a second opening corresponding to the second light-emitting unit, and the second optical film is disposed in the second opening (Similarly, the second opening, corresponds to where the second light-emitting unit is).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a second substrate (13) disposed between the wall structure and the first light-emitting unit (Fig. 5B, where second substrate 13 is disposed between first light-emitting unit 11 and first optical film 22).
Regarding claim 18, Watanabe discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a second substrate (13) disposed between the wall structure and the first light-emitting unit (Fig. 5B, where second substrate 13 is disposed between first light-emitting unit 11 and first optical film 22); and at least one glue (12) disposed to surround the first light-emitting unit (Fig. 7, Where insulation 12 can also be considered a glue as it fills in gaps and helps to hold in the light-emitting elements 11 [In provided translation, Page. 11, Para. 2-3]).
Regarding claim 19, Watanabe discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 2 (see above 112(b) rejection for dependency change), further comprising a second substrate (13) disposed between the wall structure and the first light-emitting unit (Fig. 5B, where second substrate 13 is disposed between first light-emitting unit 11 and first optical film 22); and at least one glue (12) disposed to cover the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit (Fig. 7, Where insulation 12 can also be considered a glue as it fills in gaps and helps to hold in the light-emitting elements 11 [In provided translation, Page. 11, Para. 2-3]).
Regarding claim 20, Watanabe discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a second substrate (13) and a third substrate (21X), wherein the first light-emitting unit is disposed on the first substrate, the second substrate is disposed on the first light-emitting unit (Fig. 5B, where second substrate 13 is disposed on light-emitting unit 11), the third substrate is disposed on the second substrate, and the wall structure is disposed on the third substrate (Figs. 5B/6B, where third substrate 21X is disposed on second substrate 13 and the wall structure is at least on third substrate 21X).
Claims 1-3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication by Lo (US 20220252938 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lo discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a first substrate (10);
a first light-emitting unit (30) disposed on the first substrate (Fig. 1, Where light-emitting unit 30 is disposed on substrate 10);
a wall structure (20) disposed on the first substrate (Fig. 1, Where wall structure 20 is disposed on substrate 10) and provided with a first opening (21) corresponding to the first light-emitting unit (Fig. 1, See the space between the wall structures 20 including the light-emitting unit 30, which can be considered to be the opening 21 corresponding to the light-emitting unit); and
a first optical film (40, Where 40 is a fluorescent glue that can act as an optical film, Para. 15-17), wherein at least a portion of the first optical film is disposed in the first opening, and at least a portion of the first optical film disposed in the first opening is disposed on the first light-emitting unit (Fig. 1, where film 40 is disposed in opening 21 and on light-emitting unit 30).
Regarding claim 2, Lo discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, and further comprising a second light-emitting unit and a second optical film, wherein the second light-emitting unit is disposed on the first substrate, and the second optical film is disposed on the second light-emitting unit, the wall structure further includes a second opening corresponding to the second light-emitting unit, and the second optical film is disposed in the second opening. (Fig. 3, Where any one of the light-emitting units 30 can be the first and any other one can be the second. Where the first optical film 40 is the translucent glue 40 that is disposed on the first light-emitting and the second optical film 40 is the translucent glue 40 that is disposed on the second light-emitting unit)
Regarding claim 3, Lo discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 2, further comprising a third optical film (50) disposed on the wall structure, wherein the third optical film at least partially overlaps the first optical film in the first opening and the second optical film in the second opening (Para. 19; and Fig. 3, where third optical film 50 is on the wall structures 20 and first and second optical films 40) .
Regarding claim 13, Lo discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 3, wherein a fifth optical film (111) is disposed on the third optical film, and the fifth optical film at least partially overlaps the first optical film in the first opening (Para. 30; Fig. 4, where fifth optical film 111 is disposed on third optical film and fifth optical film 111 overlaps all light-emitting unit 30 and first optical film 40).
Regarding claim 14, Lo discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 13, wherein a sixth optical film (113) is disposed on the fifth optical film, and the sixth optical film at least partially overlaps the first optical film in the first opening (Para. 30; Fig. 4 . where sixth optical film 113 is disposed on fifth optical film and sixth optical film 113 overlaps all light-emitting unit 30 and first optical film 40).
Claim 1 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication by Huang et al. (US 20210210470 A1; Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses an electronic device (60), comprising:
a first substrate (102);
a first light-emitting unit (any of 200) disposed on the first substrate (Fig. 8, where light-emitting unit 200 is disposed on substrate 102);
a wall structure (304R) disposed on the first substrate (Fig. 8, where wall structure 304R is disposed on substrate layer 102) and provided with a first opening (302s) corresponding to the first light-emitting unit (Para. 45, where openings 302s are the portions between the wall structures 304R and correspond to the light-emitting structures); and
a first optical film (302), wherein at least a portion of the first optical film is disposed in the first opening, and at least a portion of the first optical film disposed in the first opening is disposed on the first light-emitting unit (Fig. 8, Where optical film 302 is disposed in opening 302s and on light-emitting unit 202).
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, and further wherein a reflectivity of the wall structure is greater than 85% (Para. 56, “In accordance with some embodiments, the reflective structure 304R may have high reflectivity, for example, the reflectivity of the reflective structure 304R may be greater than 90%”.
Regarding claim 12, Huang discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the wall structure includes a first side wall and a second side wall (Fig. 12, where the wall structure has side walls on either side of a light-emitting unit) for forming the first opening having a first opening angle of 70 degrees to 170 degrees (Para. 69, “As shown in FIG. 11, in accordance with some embodiments, the reflective structure 304R of the electronic device 90 may have a quadrangular shape in a cross section that is parallel to the normal direction of the driving substrate 102,” Where if wall structure was parallel to the normal of the substrate it would cause the opening angle to be 90%)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious by Lo in view of United State Patent Application Publication by Mao et al. (US 20190325812 A1; Mao).
Regarding claim 7, Lo discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, and further wherein the wall structure has a side wall (Fig. 1, the wall where the cavity 21 and wall structure 20 meet). However, Lo fails to disclose where the side wall has a concave portion and a convex portion.
Mao discloses a similar device including a substrate (110), a light-emitting unit (160), and wall structure (140/640 – Para. 68 where wall structure 640 Is similar to wall structure 140 but details are not repeated for 640) disposed on the side of the side of the light emitting unit. Furthermore, the wall structure in Mao also includes a side wall that has a concave portion and a convex portion (Para. 42, and Fig. 8, where the side of the wall structure 640[140] has a concave portion toward the bottom and a convex portion toward the top).
In view of the disclosure of Mao, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the disclosure of Mao to Lo at the time the instant application was filed to the wall structure in Lo having a side portion that has a concave and convex portion as seen in Mao. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make the modification because one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the advantages that having a curved sidewall for the wall structure can “further utilized to scatter the light, so as to avoid the concentration of the strong light outside the specific angle to affect the viewing, thereby improving the display quality” (Mao: Para. 42).
Conclusion
/DANIEL J HIBBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899