DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0059442) [Hereinafter Oh], Jeng et al. (US 2019/0131284) [Hereinafter Jeng], & Kim et al (US 2020/0402952).
Regarding claim 1, Oh teaches A semiconductor package comprising:
a lower package substrate [fig. 9, substrate 500, para 75] including a lower redistribution insulation layer [fig. 9, dielectric layer 101L/201/301/103, para 76] and
a lower redistribution pattern [fig. 9, redistribution patterns 110L/210/310, para 78-80] positioned within the lower redistribution insulation layer (fig. 9, 101L/201/301/103) ;
a semiconductor chip [fig. 9, semiconductor apparatus 700, para 85] mounted on the lower package substrate (fig. 9, 500);
a connection terminal [fig. 9, connection member 708, para 85] positioned between the lower package substrate (fig. 9, 500) and the semiconductor chip (fig. 9, 700), and connecting the semiconductor chip (fig. 9, 700) to the lower package substrate (fig. 9, 500);
a molding member [fig. 9, molding member 750, para 86] positioned on the lower package substrate (fig. 9, 500) and covering at least a portion of the semiconductor chip (fig. 9, 700); and
a conductive post [fig. 9, mold via 730, para 86] positioned within the molding member (fig. 9, 750) and connected to the lower redistribution pattern [fig. 9, 110L/210/310],
Oh fails to explicitly disclose wherein the molding member and the conductive post define a trench,
wherein the trench includes a first inner surface recessed toward the lower package substrate from an upper surface of the molding member and
a second inner surface corresponding to a side surface of the conductive post,
wherein the side surface of the conductive post extends beyond the first inner surface of the trench in a direction away from the lower package substrate, and
wherein the first inner surface of the molding member includes a first curved surface connecting the upper surface of the molding member to the side surface of the conductive post.
However Jeng teaches wherein the molding member [fig. 1E, substrate 172, para 42] and the conductive post [fig. 1E, conductive via structures 174, para 43] define a trench [fig. 1E, wherein the conductive post fills the trench within the molding member],
wherein the trench includes a first inner surface [annotated fig. 1E] recessed toward the lower package substrate (fig. 1E, substrate 110) from an upper surface of the molding member [annotated fig. 1E] and
a second inner surface [annotated fig. 1E] corresponding to a side surface of the conductive post (fig. 1E, 174),
wherein the side surface of the conductive post [annotated fig. 1E] a extends beyond the first inner surface of the trench in a direction away from the lower package substrate (fig. 1E, 110).
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the conductive post to penetrate through the mold layer to enable stacked dies to communicate directly with the package substrate bypassing lengthy edge wires.
Oh/Jeng fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first inner surface of the molding member includes a first curved surface connecting the upper surface of the molding member to the side surface of the conductive post.
However, Kim teaches in para 38 “upper diameters of the mold via holes 118 a, 118 b, and 118 c are equal to lower diameters thereof and thus inner walls of the mold via holes 118 a, 118 b, and 118 c are vertical. However, the upper diameters may be greater than or less than the lower diameters and thus the inner walls may not be vertical.”
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the trench to carry a non-vertical curved form factor to relieve mechanical stress, prevent electrical breakdown and ensure defect-free material filling.
ANNOTATED FIG. 1E
Claims 10-11 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0059442) [Hereinafter Oh], Jeng et al. (US 2019/0131284) [Hereinafter Jeng].
Regarding claim 10, Oh teaches A semiconductor package comprising:
a lower package substrate [fig. 9, substrate 500, para 75] including a lower redistribution insulation layer [fig. 9, dielectric layer 101L/201/301/103, para 76] and
a lower redistribution pattern [fig. 9, redistribution patterns 110L/210/310, para 78-80] positioned within the lower redistribution insulation layer (fig. 9, 101L/201/301/103);
a semiconductor chip [fig. 9, semiconductor apparatus 700, para 85] mounted on the lower package substrate (fig. 9, 500);
a connection terminal [fig. 9, connection member 708, para 85] positioned between the lower package substrate (fig. 9, 500) and the semiconductor chip (fig. 9, 700), and connecting the semiconductor chip (fig. 9, 700) to the lower package substrate (fig. 9, 500);
a molding member [fig. 9, molding member 750, para 86] positioned on the lower package substrate (fig. 9, 500) and covering at least a portion of the semiconductor chip (fig. 9, 700); and
a conductive post [fig. 9, mold via 730, para 86] positioned within the molding member (fig. 9, 750) and connected to the lower redistribution pattern [fig. 9, 110L/210/310];
and
an upper package substrate [Oh, fig. 9, substrate 400/600] positioned on the upper surface of the molding member [Oh, fig. 9, 750) and including an upper redistribution insulation layer [Oh, fig. 9, dielectric layer 401, para 87] and including
and
an upper redistribution pattern [Oh, fig. 9, redistribution patter 410, para 87] positioned within the upper redistribution insulation layer (Oh, fig. 9, 401).
Oh fails to explicitly disclose wherein the molding member and the conductive post define a trench,
wherein the trench includes a first inner surface recessed toward a bottom surface of the molding member from the upper surface of the molding member and
a second inner surface corresponding to a side surface of the conductive post, and
wherein the first inner surface of the trench has one of a convex shape and a concave shape.
However Jeng teaches wherein the molding member [fig. 1E, substrate 172, para 42] and the conductive post [fig. 1E, conductive via structures 174, para 43] define a trench [fig. 1E, wherein the conductive post fills the trench within the molding member],
wherein the trench includes a first inner surface [annotated fig. 1E] recessed toward a bottom surface of the molding member (fig. 1E, 172) from the upper surface of the molding member (fig. 1E, 172) and
a second inner surface [annotated fig. 1E] corresponding to a side surface of the conductive post (fig. 1E, 174),
wherein the first inner surface of the trench has one of a convex shape and a concave shape [annotated fig. 1E].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the conductive post to penetrate through the mold layer to enable stacked dies to communicate directly with the package substrate bypassing lengthy edge wires.
Regarding claim 11, Oh/Jeng teaches The semiconductor package of claim 10,
wherein the second inner surface of the trench of the molding member has a straight line shape [Jeng, annotated fig. 1E].
Regarding claim 17, Oh/Jeng teaches The semiconductor package of claim 10,
wherein the conductive post (Jeng, fig. 1E, 174) is positioned further within the trench of the molding member (Jeng, fig. 1E, 172).
Regarding claim 18, Oh teaches A semiconductor package comprising:
a lower package substrate [fig. 9, substrate 500, para 75] including a lower redistribution insulation layer [fig. 9, dielectric layer 101L/201/301/103, para 76] and
a lower redistribution pattern [fig. 9, redistribution patterns 110L/210/310, para 78-80] positioned within the lower redistribution insulation layer (fig. 9, 101L/201/301/103);
a semiconductor chip [fig. 9, semiconductor apparatus 700, para 85] mounted on the lower package substrate (fig. 9, 500);
a connection terminal [fig. 9, connection member 708, para 85] positioned between the lower package substrate (fig. 9, 500) and the semiconductor chip (fig. 9, 700), and connecting the semiconductor chip (fig. 9, 700) to the lower package substrate (fig. 9, 500);
a molding member [fig. 9, molding member 750, para 86] positioned on the lower package substrate (fig. 9, 500) and covering at least a portion of the semiconductor chip (fig. 9, 700); and
a conductive post [fig. 9, mold via 730, para 86] positioned within the molding member (fig. 9, 750) and connected to the lower redistribution pattern [fig. 9, 110L/210/310];
and
an upper package substrate [Oh, fig. 9, substrate 400/600] positioned on the upper surface of the molding member [Oh, fig. 9, 750) and including an upper redistribution insulation layer [Oh, fig. 9, dielectric layer 401, para 87] and including
and
an upper redistribution pattern [Oh, fig. 9, redistribution patter 410, para 87] positioned within the upper redistribution insulation layer (Oh, fig. 9, 401).
Oh fails to teach wherein the conductive post includes:
a first part positioned on the lower redistribution pattern; and
a second part positioned on the first part and contacting the upper redistribution insulation layer of the upper package substrate,
wherein a width of the first part and a width of the second part are different from each other, and
wherein an upper region of the second part includes a curved surface.
Jeng teaches wherein the conductive post [fig. 1E, via structures 174/conductive layer 179/conductive structure 180, para 44/51] includes:
a first part [annotated fig. 1E-1] positioned on the lower redistribution pattern [fig. 1E, insulating layer 176, para 41]; and
a second part [annotated fig. 1E-1] positioned on the first part [annotated fig. 1E-1] and contacting the upper redistribution insulation layer [fig. 1E, insulating layer 178, para 44] of the upper package substrate,
wherein a width of the first part and a width of the second part are different from each other [annotated fig. 1E-1], and
wherein an upper region of the second part includes a curved surface [annotated fig. 1E-1].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the conductive post to have varying widths and a curved upper surface to enhance mechanical stability and improve interconnect reliability.
Regarding claim 19, Oh/Jeng teaches The semiconductor package of claim 18,
wherein the width of the first part of the conductive post is greater than the width of the second part [Jeng, annotated fig. 1E-1].
Regarding claim 20 Oh/Jeng teaches The semiconductor package of claim 18,
wherein the width of the first part of the conductive post decreases [Jeng, annotated fig. 1E-1] in a direction toward the lower package substrate [Jeng, fig. 1E, substrate 110, para 27].
ANNOTATED FIG. 1E-1
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 & 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Oh/Jeng/Kim The semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising:
an upper package substrate [Oh, fig. 9, substrate 400/600] positioned on the upper surface of the molding member [Oh, fig. 9, 750) and including an upper redistribution insulation layer [Oh, fig. 9, dielectric layer 401, para 87] and
an upper redistribution pattern [Oh, fig. 9, redistribution patter 410, para 87] positioned within the upper redistribution insulation layer (Oh, fig. 9, 401).
The prior art of record singularly and/or in combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first portion of the upper redistribution insulation layer of the upper package substrate is positioned within the trench.
Thereby claim 2 contains allowable subject matter and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3 – 9 contain allowable subject matter at least based upon their dependency on claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, Oh/Jeng teaches The semiconductor package of claim 11,
wherein the first portion of the upper redistribution insulation layer [Jeng, fig. 1E, insulating layer 178, para 47] covers the side surface of the conductive post [Jeng, annotated fig. 1E].
The prior of record singular and/or in combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first portion of the upper redistribution insulation layer of the upper package substrate is positioned within the trench of the molding member.
Thereby claim 12 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13 – 16 contain allowable subject matter at least based upon their dependency on claim 12.
Conclusion
/FELIX B ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812