Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6, 11-16 and 19-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 6/02/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
The interpretation of claims 1, 14 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 3/04/2026 has been maintained because there is no amendment filed on 6/02/2026 to overcome the interpretation of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9, filed 6/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9, of the remarks, filed on 6/02/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, that “Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract odea without significantly more. Without conceding the merits of the Section 101 rejections, Applicant respectfully submits that the foregoing amended features added significant features to the pending claims and thus respectfully request the Examiner to reconsider and withdraw the Section 101 rejections.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9 (stated above), filed 6/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 3/04/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. The amended limitation recites, “identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value by identifying a peak value indicated by the calculated value, wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change” which is the information of the insignificant data gathering as the mathematical concept and can be done mentally or in a generic computer component and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The amended limitation does not recite any practical application or any specific structure. Amended limitation only recites the mathematical calculation and information about the data gathering which does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. Therefore, the claim is still ineligible. Therefore, amended claims 1-20 still can be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6-8, filed 6/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220352737 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7-8, of the remarks, filed on 6/02/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220352737 A1, that “Although Wang's Equation (9) (reproduced below) appears to disclose Vj and Vm, it at most discloses a difference between Vj and Vm, rather than a ratio (Remarks-Page 7).
The claimed technology provides a much better and advanced indicator compared to Wang's Equation (9) at least because the claimed technology provides a much quicker indicator (e.g., once a "peak 203" is identified, the system can notice immediately). By contrast, Wang's method needs to take hundreds of seconds (e.g., 508, TRA or thermal runaway time), as shown in Wang's Figure 5, reproduced below. Therefore, the claimed technology is a much more advanced indicator than what's disclosed in Wang.
Based on the foregoing, Wang fails to disclose or suggest all of the features of independent claims 1, 14 and 19 and therefore does not support a Section 102 rejection of independent claims 1, 14 and 19 and their dependent claims. Accordingly, the Section 102 rejection of these claims should be withdrawn (Remarks-Page 8).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-8 (stated above), filed 6/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220352737 A1 as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 3/04/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument, “Although Wang's Equation (9) (reproduced below) appears to disclose Vj and Vm, it at most discloses a difference between Vj and Vm, rather than a ratio
” is not persuasive. Because examiner in the rejection did not use this equation to reject the limitation of ratio. Examiner in the rejection explained the equation, “In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):
; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4).” Here the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) is the first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and For a voltage measurement V(i), a corresponding state of charge SOC(i) is determined using the function represented in FIG. 12. The effects of natural cell discharge are then removed from the SOC(i) by the step shown in Eq (6):
SOC(i).fwdarw.SOC(i)+Ah(i)/Cap Eq. (6)
Where Ah(i) is the balanced amp-hours (Ah) from natural discharge and Cap is the cell capacity. A corrected voltage is then determined from the corrected SOC using the function represented in FIG. 11. The change in cell voltage over time window i*ΔT is calculated; Paragraph [0052]-[0053]” and therefore SOC(i) with xCap is the second rate of change of voltage value as the SOC is used to determine the voltage value as shown in equation 7 and prognostic threshold is the ratio of the first rate of change of voltage value to the second rate of change of voltage value. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Claim does not recite any specific steps or formula which might differentiate the present application from the prior art reference Wang. Claim only recites ratio and Wang discloses the ratio of voltages. For the broadest reasonable interpretation wang still can be applied to reject the amended lim8itation of claim 1, 14 and 19. However applicant has amended the claims and add the limitation, “identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value by identifying a peak value indicated by the calculated value, wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change” which necessities a new ground of rejection because Wang discloses calculated value however Wang does not disclose that the calculated value is the pick value. Therefore, the present amendment overcomes the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220352737 A1 as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 3/04/2026. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Diamond et al. in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130257377 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1, 14 and 19. Therefore claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220352737 A1 in view of Diamond et al. in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130257377 A1, as set forth below. Similarly, Independent claims 14 and 19 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220352737 A1 in view of Diamond et al. in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130257377 A1, as set forth below, because of the same reason as stated for claim 1 because claims 14 and 19 has similar amendment to independent claim 1 as explained above. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Dependent claims 2-6, 11-13 and 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220352737 A1 in view of Diamond et al. in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130257377 A1, as set forth below because of the same reason as stated above. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a measurement module”, “a data storage module”, and “a calculation module”, “a verification module” in claim 1 (Similar limitation in claim 14 and 19).
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a measurement module” coupled with the functional language “receiving information regarding a current voltage value”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a data storage module” coupled with the functional language “providing information regarding a mean voltage value”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a calculation module” coupled with the functional language “determining a calculated value based on the current voltage value”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a verification module” coupled with the functional language “identifying a contact break of the battery pack”.
All these limitations in claim 1 have no structural meaning and are considered a generic placeholder.
In the present application (PGPUB NO: US 20260043856 A1) discloses:
In Paragraph 41, “[0041] FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram illustrating components in a computing device 600 in accordance with embodiments of the present technology. The computing device 600 can be used to implement methods (e.g., FIG. 7) discussed herein. The computing device 600 can be used to perform the processes/operations discussed in FIGS. 1-5.”
In Paragraph 42, “[0042] In its most basic configuration, the computing device 600 includes at least one processing unit 602 and a memory 604. Depending on the exact configuration and the type of computing device, the memory 604 may be volatile (such as a random-access memory or RAM), non-volatile (such as a read-only memory or ROM, a flash memory, etc.), or some combination of the two. This basic configuration is illustrated in FIG. 6 by dashed line 606. Further, the computing device 600 may also include storage devices (a removable storage 608 and/or a non-removable storage 610) including, but not limited to, magnetic or optical disks or tape. Similarly, the computing device 600 can have an input device 614 such as keyboard, mouse, pen, voice input, etc. and/or an output device 616 such as a display, speakers, printer, etc. Also included in the computing device 600 can be one or more communication components 612, such as components for connecting via a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), cellular telecommunication (e.g. 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.), point to point, any other suitable interface, etc.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 11-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. A method, comprising, therefore, is a method.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change, identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value. The claim 1 as a whole are directed to a methods comprising abstract ideas involving mathematical algorithms/procedures/relationships/correlations which have been determined by the courts as being directed to abstract ideas. determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value. receiving information regarding a current voltage value of a battery pack and providing information regarding a mean voltage value of the battery pack; which are directed to of data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations; comparing new and stored information using rules to identify options, organizing and storing information which have been identified by the courts as extra-solution activity or using the generic functions of a computer and/or software to perform well known functions of a circuit design all of which have been identified by the courts as abstract ideas and are modeled in some forms of mathematical algorithms/procedures/relationships/correlations as is well known in the art of computer-aided analysis.
The limitations of determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change’ identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or by looking at the screen of an oscilloscope or a spectrum analyzer. For example, language, “determining” some date and then input in the system in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually inputting the values in the model the values by a piece of pen and paper or in a determining and then identifying.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The claim does not include any additional element do not include additional elements, individually or in view of the claim as a whole, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the data storage module and the other modules are generic computer components known in the industry and the steps implemented by the method, computer-readable storage medium, and apparatus are directed to simply appending well- understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception (i.e., requiring no more than generic computer to perform generic functions including data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations; comparing new and stored information using rules to identify options, organizing and storing information; retrieving data from the data storage or outputting data to the storage or to the screen for user interactive input/output). Therefore, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong the steps implemented by the method, computer-readable storage medium, and apparatus are directed to simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception (1.e., requiring no more than generic computer to perform generic functions including data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations and the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 14
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. A system, comprising, therefore, is a system.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value. The claim 1 as a whole are directed to a methods comprising abstract ideas involving mathematical algorithms/procedures/relationships/correlations which have been determined by the courts as being directed to abstract ideas. determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value. receiving information regarding a current voltage value of a battery pack and providing information regarding a mean voltage value of the battery pack; which are directed to of data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations; comparing new and stored information using rules to identify options, organizing and storing information which have been identified by the courts as extra-solution activity or using the generic functions of a computer and/or software to perform well known functions of a circuit design all of which have been identified by the courts as abstract ideas and are modeled in some forms of mathematical algorithms/procedures/relationships/correlations as is well known in the art of computer-aided analysis.
The limitations of determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or by looking at the screen of an oscilloscope or a spectrum analyzer. For example, language, “determining” some date and then input in the system in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually inputting the values in the model the values by a piece of pen and paper or in a determining and then identifying.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The claim does not include any additional element do not include additional elements, individually or in view of the claim as a whole, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the data storage module, memory and the other modules are generic computer components known in the industry and the steps implemented by the method, computer-readable storage medium, and apparatus are directed to simply appending well- understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception (i.e., requiring no more than generic computer to perform generic functions including data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations; comparing new and stored information using rules to identify options, organizing and storing information; retrieving data from the data storage or outputting data to the storage or to the screen for user interactive input/output). Therefore, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong the steps implemented by the method, computer-readable storage medium, and apparatus are directed to simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception (1.e., requiring no more than generic computer to perform generic functions including data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations and the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 19
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. A system, comprising, therefore, is a system.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value. The claim 1 as a whole are directed to a methods comprising abstract ideas involving mathematical algorithms/procedures/relationships/correlations which have been determined by the courts as being directed to abstract ideas. determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value. receiving information regarding a current voltage value of a battery pack and providing information regarding a mean voltage value of the battery pack; which are directed to of data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations; comparing new and stored information using rules to identify options, organizing and storing information which have been identified by the courts as extra-solution activity or using the generic functions of a computer and/or software to perform well known functions of a circuit design all of which have been identified by the courts as abstract ideas and are modeled in some forms of mathematical algorithms/procedures/relationships/correlations as is well known in the art of computer-aided analysis.
The limitations of determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or by looking at the screen of an oscilloscope or a spectrum analyzer. For example, language, “determining” some date and then input in the system in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually inputting the values in the model the values by a piece of pen and paper or in a determining and then identifying.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The claim does not include any additional element do not include additional elements, individually or in view of the claim as a whole, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the data storage module and the other modules are generic computer components known in the industry and the steps implemented by the method, computer-readable storage medium, and apparatus are directed to simply appending well- understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception (i.e., requiring no more than generic computer to perform generic functions including data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations; comparing new and stored information using rules to identify options, organizing and storing information; retrieving data from the data storage or outputting data to the storage or to the screen for user interactive input/output). Therefore, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong the steps implemented by the method, computer-readable storage medium, and apparatus are directed to simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception (1.e., requiring no more than generic computer to perform generic functions including data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations and the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-6, 11-13, 15-18 and 20 when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the recited limitations, considered both individually and as an ordered combination with the claim as a whole, fail to establish to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application:
For example, claim 2 recites, “wherein the battery pack includes at least two battery cells arranged in parallel.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 3 recites, “wherein the contact break occurs at a battery-cell contact between the at least two battery cells.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 4 recites, “wherein the calculated value includes a difference between the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 5 recites, wherein the calculated value includes a rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack.” which is calculating a value as the mathematical concept and can be done mentally or in a generic computer component and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 6 recites, “wherein the calculated value includes a rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack.” which is calculating a value as the mathematical concept and can be done mentally or in a generic computer component and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 11 recite, “wherein the contact break is identified based on a predefined threshold associated with the peak value and mean voltage value of the battery pack.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 12 recites, “wherein the contact break is identified based on a predefined threshold associated with the peak value and current voltage value of the battery pack.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 13 recites, “wherein the contact break is identified based on a predefined debounce time.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
Similarly claims 15-16 and 20 as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claims are ineligible.
As a reminder, the 2019 PEG defines the phrase “integration into a practical application” to require an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Below are some examples of limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application: Limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition — see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo.
Claims 2-6, 11-13, 15-16 and 20 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 1, 14 and 19 and thus are also rejected under 101 for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220352737 A1 in view of Diamond et al. (Hereinafter, “Diamond”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130257377 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method (a system and method for monitoring an occurrence of thermal runaway in a battery pack and, in particular, to a system and method for predicting an onset of thermal runaway in order to allow for preventative action to be taken; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5; FIG. 8 shows a flowchart 800 of a method for predicting a thermal runaway condition, as shown in FIGS. 6 and 7. The method begins at box 802. At box 804, the method tests for whether a high voltage contact is open; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-4), comprising,
receiving, by a measurement module [106a, . . . , 106n] (voltage sensor as the measurement module) of the system (A plurality of voltage sensors 106a, . . . , 106n), information regarding a current voltage value of a battery pack [102] (FIG. 1 shows an electric vehicle 100. The electric vehicle 100 includes a battery pack 102; Paragraph [0028] Line 2-3; A plurality of voltage sensors 106a, . . . , 106n obtain voltage measurements from the plurality of battery cells 104a, . . . , 104n, respectively, and transmit the voltage measurements to the control system 110; Paragraph [0028] Line 5-10; Voltage measurements of each of ‘n’ cells in a battery pack are obtained at current time edge 624; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-2);
providing, by a data storage module of the system [114] in Figure 1 (The control system 110 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), information regarding a mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A mean value, or mean voltage, is determined from the voltages. A plurality of prognostic thresholds that are established based on the mean voltage and a standard deviation about the mean voltage; Paragraph [0037] Line 2-6; In one embodiment, the mean voltage is determined using only voltage measurements obtained at the current time edge 624; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-3);
determining, by a calculation module of the system [112] (processor 112) (The control system 110 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (Each battery cell voltage is tested against the prognostic thresholds. If one of the battery cell voltages is outside of the mean voltage by an amount greater than the plurality of prognostic thresholds, an alarm is generated; Paragraph [0037] Line 15-19); and
identifying, by a verification module [112] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11) of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value (In box 808 in Figure 8, prognostic thresholds are set up based on the standard deviation. For illustrative purposes, three prognostic thresholds are established. Each cell voltage or residual is tested against the prognostic thresholds established in box 808 to determine if a TRA conditions is present; Paragraph [0044] Line 12-17; Wang discloses to determine thermal runway and Thermal runaway triggered by a contact break (or, more precisely, an internal short circuit caused by a breached component) occurs when the physical separator between a battery's anode and cathode fails and therefore Wang determines contact break of the battery pack. Wang also discloses Prognostic Health Management (PHM) for batteries involves predicting their remaining useful life (RUL), state of health (SOH), and potential failure points, such as contact breaks, to prevent system malfunctions, fires, or unexpected downtime);
wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):…..; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4; ith term to jth term comprises first and second),
wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):
; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4; Here the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) is the first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and For a voltage measurement V(i), a corresponding state of charge SOC(i) is determined using the function represented in FIG. 12. The effects of natural cell discharge are then removed from the SOC(i) by the step shown in Eq (6):
SOC(i).fwdarw.SOC(i)+Ah(i)/Cap Eq. (6)
Where Ah(i) is the balanced amp-hours (Ah) from natural discharge and Cap is the cell capacity. A corrected voltage is then determined from the corrected SOC using the function represented in FIG. 11. The change in cell voltage over time window i*ΔT is calculated; Paragraph [0052]-[0053]).
However, Wang fails to teach that the calculated value is indicated by identifying a peak value.
Diamond teaches a battery pack management system adjusts the relative state-of-charge of respective battery blocks in a battery pack to equalize (i.e., align, balance or otherwise make similar) the peak battery block voltages (i.e., maximum or "upper peak" battery block voltages when the battery pack is being charged and/or minimum or "lower peak" battery block voltages when the battery is being discharged) (Abstract),
wherein the calculated value is indicated by identifying a peak value (In one embodiment, for example, a battery management system adjusts the relative state-of-charge of respective battery blocks in a battery pack to equalize (i.e., align, balance or otherwise make similar) the peak battery block voltages (i.e., maximum or "upper peak" battery block voltages when the battery pack is being charged and/or minimum or "lower peak" battery block voltages when the battery is being discharged). Upon detecting an anomalous battery block that exhibits outlier upper and lower peak voltages (e.g., both upper and lower peak voltages exceed statistical thresholds), the battery pack management system adjusts the relative state of charge of respective battery blocks to center their respective upper and lower peak voltages between operating limits; paragraph [0019] Line 15-27; Abstract; Therefore, peak value is used to determine the anomaly of the battery). The purpose of doing so is to adjust the relative state of charge of respective battery blocks to center their respective upper and lower peak voltages between operating limits, to maximize the operating margin of the battery pack as a whole, to provide benefits including, but not limited to a) improved battery pack charging and power delivery performance, b) reduced degradation in battery pack charging and power delivery performance over time and operating conditions, c) increased reliability and safety of the battery pack, d) reduced time, data collection and processing required to create the computational model of battery that predicts the change in battery cell performance over time and operating conditions, and e) improved battery pack capacity estimation accuracy.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the calculated value of Wang in view of Diamond to include the peak value as the calculated value, because Diamond teaches to indicate the calculated value by identifying a peak value adjusts the relative state of charge of respective battery blocks to center their respective upper and lower peak voltages between operating limits, maximizes the operating margin of the battery pack as a whole, provides benefits including, but not limited to a) improved battery pack charging and power delivery performance, b) reduced degradation in battery pack charging and power delivery performance over time and operating conditions, c) increased reliability and safety of the battery pack, d) reduced time, data collection and processing required to create the computational model of battery that predicts the change in battery cell performance over time and operating conditions, and e) improved battery pack capacity estimation accuracy (Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the battery pack [102] includes at least two battery cells [104a-104n] arranged in parallel (The battery pack 102 includes a plurality of battery cells 104a, . . . , 104n; Paragraph [0028] Line 5-7; Figure 1: Portion of Modified Figure 1 of Wang below shows that the battery cells are arranged in parallel)
Figure 1: Portion of Modified Figure 1 of Wang
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the contact break occurs at a battery-cell contact between the at least two battery cells (FIG. 2 shows a schematic diagram 200 of a battery cell (e.g., battery cell 104a). The battery cell 104a includes a cathode 202, an anode 204 and an insulating medium 206 separating the cathode from the anode. The insulating medium 206 prevents a current from flowing between the cathode 202 and the anode 204. The schematic diagram 200 also shows a short circuit 208 through the insulating medium 206 that can occur due to degradation of the insulating medium or through excessive use of the battery cell 104a; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-9; Figure 2 shows one battery cell of the battery pack and battery pack comprises plurality of battery cells and therefore the contact break occurs at a battery-cell contact between the at least two battery cells).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the calculated value further includes a difference between the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A voltage measurement obtained from a selected battery cell is compared to the mean value. A notification signal is generated when a difference between the voltage measurement from the selected battery cell and the mean value is greater than or equal to a prognostic threshold; Paragraph [0003] Line 6-11; A residual for the j.sup.th battery cell at an i.sup.th time step is a given by a difference between the battery cell voltage and the mean value of voltage for the group of battery cells in the battery module or battery pack at the i.sup.th time step, as shown in Eq. (5):
r.sub.j(i)=V.sub.j(i)−V.sub.mean(i) Eq. (5); Paragraph [0041] Line 1-6).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the calculated value further includes a rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack (The method further includes determining a voltage parameter from a voltage measurement, wherein the voltage parameter is one of a voltage of the selected battery cell, a voltage residual of the selected battery cell, a state of charge of the selected battery cell, a rate of change of voltage over time of the selected battery cell, and a rate of change of a state of charge over time of the selected battery cell; Paragraph [0004] Line 3-10).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the calculated value further includes a rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; Claim 5. The method of claim 1, comparing a rate of change of voltage over a time window for the selected battery cell to the prognostic threshold and the prognostic threshold is based on a mean voltage of the battery pack over the time window and a capacity of the battery pack).
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Diamond teaches a method,
wherein the contact break is identified based on a predefined threshold associated with the peak value and the mean voltage value of the battery pack (Claim 12. The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to compare a rate of change of voltage over a time window for the selected battery cell to the prognostic threshold and the prognostic threshold is based on a mean voltage of the battery pack over the time window and a capacity of the battery pack).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Diamond teaches a method,
wherein the contact break is identified based on a predefined threshold associated with the peak value and current voltage value of the battery pack [102] (Claim 11. The system of claim 8, wherein the plurality of voltage sensors is further configured to obtain the plurality of voltage measurements and the voltage measurement from the selected battery cell at a same time step; FIG. 6 shows a graph 600 illustrating a method for detecting the internal short circuit and then predict thermal runaway by measuring battery cell voltages. Time is shown in seconds along the abscissa and voltage is shown along the ordinate axis. The graph 600 includes a group 602 of voltages from normal battery cells of the battery pack. Graph 600 also shows voltages for a battery cell having various internal short resistances R.sub.SC Voltage curve 604 corresponds to Rsc=0.3Ω. Voltage curve 606 corresponds to Rsc=0.43Ω. Voltage curve 608 corresponds to Rsc=0.88Ω. Voltage curve 610 corresponds to Rsc=2Ω. Voltage curve 612 corresponds to Rsc=7Ω. Voltage curve 614 corresponds to Rsc=15Ω. Point 618 indicates a time at which thermal runaway occurs on voltage curve 608; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-14).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the contact break is identified based on a predefined debounce time (FIG. 4 shows a graph 400 of a relation between battery cell temperature and time in an illustrative embodiment for a battery cell having an internal short circuit. Time is shown in seconds along the abscissa and temperature is shown in Celsius along the ordinate axis. The internal short resistance is R.sub.SC=0.39Ω. A heat transfer equation for the battery cell is given in Eq. (4):
where M.sub.b is the battery cell mass, C.sub.pb is a heat coefficient, T.sub.b is a temperature of the battery cell, T.sub.c is a coolant temperature, T.sub.i is temperature of an adjacent battery cell, and hA is a heat convention coefficient or heat conduction coefficient. When in use, the temperature of the battery cell rises over time. Point 402 indicates a temperature at which thermal runaway occurs; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-15; Debounce is the waiting time or balance speed; Figure 4 shows contact break information in different time).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches a system (a system and method for monitoring an occurrence of thermal runaway in a battery pack and, in particular, to a system and method for predicting an onset of thermal runaway in order to allow for preventative action to be taken; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5; FIG. 8 shows a flowchart 800 of a method for predicting a thermal runaway condition, as shown in FIGS. 6 and 7. The method begins at box 802. At box 804, the method tests for whether a high voltage contact is open; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-4), comprising,
a memory [114] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), and
a controller [110] coupled to the memory [114] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11) and configured to:
receive, by a measurement module [106a, . . . , 106n] (voltage sensor as the measurement module) (A plurality of voltage sensors 106a, . . . , 106n) of the controller, information regarding a current voltage value of a battery pack [102] (FIG. 1 shows an electric vehicle 100. The electric vehicle 100 includes a battery pack 102; Paragraph [0028] Line 2-3; A plurality of voltage sensors 106a, . . . , 106n obtain voltage measurements from the plurality of battery cells 104a, . . . , 104n, respectively, and transmit the voltage measurements to the control system 110; Paragraph [0028] Line 5-10; Voltage measurements of each of ‘n’ cells in a battery pack are obtained at current time edge 624; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-2);
provide, by a data storage module [114] of the controller [110] in Figure 1 (The control system 110 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), information regarding a mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A mean value, or mean voltage, is determined from the voltages. A plurality of prognostic thresholds that are established based on the mean voltage and a standard deviation about the mean voltage; Paragraph [0037] Line 2-6; In one embodiment, the mean voltage is determined using only voltage measurements obtained at the current time edge 624; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-3);
determine, by a calculation module [112] of the controller [110] (processor 112) (The control system 110 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (Each battery cell voltage is tested against the prognostic thresholds. If one of the battery cell voltages is outside of the mean voltage by an amount greater than the plurality of prognostic thresholds, an alarm is generated; Paragraph [0037] Line 15-19); and
identify, by a verification module [112] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11) of the controller, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value (In box 808 in Figure 8, prognostic thresholds are set up based on the standard deviation. For illustrative purposes, three prognostic thresholds are established. Each cell voltage or residual is tested against the prognostic thresholds established in box 808 to determine if a TRA conditions is present; Paragraph [0044] Line 12-17; Wang discloses to determine thermal runway and Thermal runaway triggered by a contact break (or, more precisely, an internal short circuit caused by a breached component) occurs when the physical separator between a battery's anode and cathode fails and therefore Wang determines contact break of the battery pack. Wang also discloses Prognostic Health Management (PHM) for batteries involves predicting their remaining useful life (RUL), state of health (SOH), and potential failure points, such as contact breaks, to prevent system malfunctions, fires, or unexpected downtime.);
wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):…..; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4; ith term to jth term comprises first and second),
wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):
; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4; Here the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) is the first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and For a voltage measurement V(i), a corresponding state of charge SOC(i) is determined using the function represented in FIG. 12. The effects of natural cell discharge are then removed from the SOC(i) by the step shown in Eq (6):
SOC(i).fwdarw.SOC(i)+Ah(i)/Cap Eq. (6)
Where Ah(i) is the balanced amp-hours (Ah) from natural discharge and Cap is the cell capacity. A corrected voltage is then determined from the corrected SOC using the function represented in FIG. 11. The change in cell voltage over time window i*ΔT is calculated; Paragraph [0052]-[0053]).
However, Wang fails to teach that the calculated value is indicated by identifying a peak value.
Diamond teaches a battery pack management system adjusts the relative state-of-charge of respective battery blocks in a battery pack to equalize (i.e., align, balance or otherwise make similar) the peak battery block voltages (i.e., maximum or "upper peak" battery block voltages when the battery pack is being charged and/or minimum or "lower peak" battery block voltages when the battery is being discharged) (Abstract),
wherein the calculated value is indicated by identifying a peak value (In one embodiment, for example, a battery management system adjusts the relative state-of-charge of respective battery blocks in a battery pack to equalize (i.e., align, balance or otherwise make similar) the peak battery block voltages (i.e., maximum or "upper peak" battery block voltages when the battery pack is being charged and/or minimum or "lower peak" battery block voltages when the battery is being discharged). Upon detecting an anomalous battery block that exhibits outlier upper and lower peak voltages (e.g., both upper and lower peak voltages exceed statistical thresholds), the battery pack management system adjusts the relative state of charge of respective battery blocks to center their respective upper and lower peak voltages between operating limits; paragraph [0019] Line 15-27; Abstract; Therefore, peak value is used to determine the anomaly of the battery). The purpose of doing so is to adjust the relative state of charge of respective battery blocks to center their respective upper and lower peak voltages between operating limits, to maximize the operating margin of the battery pack as a whole, to provide benefits including, but not limited to a) improved battery pack charging and power delivery performance, b) reduced degradation in battery pack charging and power delivery performance over time and operating conditions, c) increased reliability and safety of the battery pack, d) reduced time, data collection and processing required to create the computational model of battery that predicts the change in battery cell performance over time and operating conditions, and e) improved battery pack capacity estimation accuracy.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the calculated value of Wang in view of Diamond to include the peak value as the calculated value, because Diamond teaches to indicate the calculated value by identifying a peak value adjusts the relative state of charge of respective battery blocks to center their respective upper and lower peak voltages between operating limits, maximizes the operating margin of the battery pack as a whole, provides benefits including, but not limited to a) improved battery pack charging and power delivery performance, b) reduced degradation in battery pack charging and power delivery performance over time and operating conditions, c) increased reliability and safety of the battery pack, d) reduced time, data collection and processing required to create the computational model of battery that predicts the change in battery cell performance over time and operating conditions, and e) improved battery pack capacity estimation accuracy (Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches a system,
wherein the battery pack [102] includes at least two battery cells [104a-104n] arranged in parallel (The battery pack 102 includes a plurality of battery cells 104a, . . . , 104n; Paragraph [0028] Line 5-7; Figure 1: Portion of Modified Figure 1 of Wang above shows that the battery cells are arranged in parallel); and
wherein the contact break occurs at a battery-cell contact between the at least two battery cells [104] (FIG. 2 shows a schematic diagram 200 of a battery cell (e.g., battery cell 104a). The battery cell 104a includes a cathode 202, an anode 204 and an insulating medium 206 separating the cathode from the anode. The insulating medium 206 prevents a current from flowing between the cathode 202 and the anode 204. The schematic diagram 200 also shows a short circuit 208 through the insulating medium 206 that can occur due to degradation of the insulating medium or through excessive use of the battery cell 104a; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-9; Figure 2 shows one battery cell of the battery pack and battery pack comprises plurality of battery cells and therefore the contact break occurs at a battery-cell contact between the at least two battery cells).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches a system,
wherein the calculated value includes a difference between the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A voltage measurement obtained from a selected battery cell is compared to the mean value. A notification signal is generated when a difference between the voltage measurement from the selected battery cell and the mean value is greater than or equal to a prognostic threshold; Paragraph [0003] Line 6-11; A residual for the j.sup.th battery cell at an i.sup.th time step is a given by a difference between the battery cell voltage and the mean value of voltage for the group of battery cells in the battery module or battery pack at the i.sup.th time step, as shown in Eq. (5):
r.sub.j(i)=V.sub.j(i)−V.sub.mean(i) Eq. (5); Paragraph [0041] Line 1-6).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches a system (a system and method for monitoring an occurrence of thermal runaway in a battery pack and, in particular, to a system and method for predicting an onset of thermal runaway in order to allow for preventative action to be taken; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5; FIG. 8 shows a flowchart 800 of a method for predicting a thermal runaway condition, as shown in FIGS. 6 and 7. The method begins at box 802. At box 804, the method tests for whether a high voltage contact is open; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-4), comprising,
at least one hardware processor [112] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11); and
at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions [116], which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor [112] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), cause the system to:
receive information regarding a current voltage value of a battery pack [102] (FIG. 1 shows an electric vehicle 100. The electric vehicle 100 includes a battery pack 102; Paragraph [0028] Line 2-3; A plurality of voltage sensors 106a, . . . , 106n obtain voltage measurements from the plurality of battery cells 104a, . . . , 104n, respectively, and transmit the voltage measurements to the control system 110; Paragraph [0028] Line 5-10; Voltage measurements of each of ‘n’ cells in a battery pack are obtained at current time edge 624; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-2);
provide, by a data storage module of the system [114] in Figure 1 (The control system 110 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), information regarding a mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A mean value, or mean voltage, is determined from the voltages. A plurality of prognostic thresholds that are established based on the mean voltage and a standard deviation about the mean voltage; Paragraph [0037] Line 2-6; In one embodiment, the mean voltage is determined using only voltage measurements obtained at the current time edge 624; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-3);
determine, by a calculation module of the system [112] (processor 112) (The control system 110 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (Each battery cell voltage is tested against the prognostic thresholds. If one of the battery cell voltages is outside of the mean voltage by an amount greater than the plurality of prognostic thresholds, an alarm is generated; Paragraph [0037] Line 15-19); and
identify, by a verification module [112] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11) of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value (In box 808 in Figure 8, prognostic thresholds are set up based on the standard deviation. For illustrative purposes, three prognostic thresholds are established. Each cell voltage or residual is tested against the prognostic thresholds established in box 808 to determine if a TRA conditions is present; Paragraph [0044] Line 12-17; Wang discloses to determine thermal runway and Thermal runaway triggered by a contact break (or, more precisely, an internal short circuit caused by a breached component) occurs when the physical separator between a battery's anode and cathode fails and therefore Wang determines contact break of the battery pack. Wang also discloses Prognostic Health Management (PHM) for batteries involves predicting their remaining useful life (RUL), state of health (SOH), and potential failure points, such as contact breaks, to prevent system malfunctions, fires, or unexpected downtime);
wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):…..; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4; ith term to jth term comprises first and second),
wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):
; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4; Here the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) is the first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and For a voltage measurement V(i), a corresponding state of charge SOC(i) is determined using the function represented in FIG. 12. The effects of natural cell discharge are then removed from the SOC(i) by the step shown in Eq (6):
SOC(i).fwdarw.SOC(i)+Ah(i)/Cap Eq. (6)
Where Ah(i) is the balanced amp-hours (Ah) from natural discharge and Cap is the cell capacity. A corrected voltage is then determined from the corrected SOC using the function represented in FIG. 11. The change in cell voltage over time window i*ΔT is calculated; Paragraph [0052]-[0053]).
However, Wang fails to teach that the calculated value is indicated by identifying a peak value.
Diamond teaches a battery pack management system adjusts the relative state-of-charge of respective battery blocks in a battery pack to equalize (i.e., align, balance or otherwise make similar) the peak battery block voltages (i.e., maximum or "upper peak" battery block voltages when the battery pack is being charged and/or minimum or "lower peak" battery block voltages when the battery is being discharged) (Abstract),
wherein the calculated value is indicated by identifying a peak value (In one embodiment, for example, a battery management system adjusts the relative state-of-charge of respective battery blocks in a battery pack to equalize (i.e., align, balance or otherwise make similar) the peak battery block voltages (i.e., maximum or "upper peak" battery block voltages when the battery pack is being charged and/or minimum or "lower peak" battery block voltages when the battery is being discharged). Upon detecting an anomalous battery block that exhibits outlier upper and lower peak voltages (e.g., both upper and lower peak voltages exceed statistical thresholds), the battery pack management system adjusts the relative state of charge of respective battery blocks to center their respective upper and lower peak voltages between operating limits; paragraph [0019] Line 15-27; Abstract; Therefore, peak value is used to determine the anomaly of the battery). The purpose of doing so is to adjust the relative state of charge of respective battery blocks to center their respective upper and lower peak voltages between operating limits, to maximize the operating margin of the battery pack as a whole, to provide benefits including, but not limited to a) improved battery pack charging and power delivery performance, b) reduced degradation in battery pack charging and power delivery performance over time and operating conditions, c) increased reliability and safety of the battery pack, d) reduced time, data collection and processing required to create the computational model of battery that predicts the change in battery cell performance over time and operating conditions, and e) improved battery pack capacity estimation accuracy.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the calculated value of Wang in view of Diamond to include the peak value as the calculated value, because Diamond teaches to indicate the calculated value by identifying a peak value adjusts the relative state of charge of respective battery blocks to center their respective upper and lower peak voltages between operating limits, maximizes the operating margin of the battery pack as a whole, provides benefits including, but not limited to a) improved battery pack charging and power delivery performance, b) reduced degradation in battery pack charging and power delivery performance over time and operating conditions, c) increased reliability and safety of the battery pack, d) reduced time, data collection and processing required to create the computational model of battery that predicts the change in battery cell performance over time and operating conditions, and e) improved battery pack capacity estimation accuracy (Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches a system,
wherein the calculated value includes a difference between the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A voltage measurement obtained from a selected battery cell is compared to the mean value. A notification signal is generated when a difference between the voltage measurement from the selected battery cell and the mean value is greater than or equal to a prognostic threshold; Paragraph [0003] Line 6-11; A residual for the j.sup.th battery cell at an i.sup.th time step is a given by a difference between the battery cell voltage and the mean value of voltage for the group of battery cells in the battery module or battery pack at the i.sup.th time step, as shown in Eq. (5):
r.sub.j(i)=V.sub.j(i)−V.sub.mean(i) Eq. (5); Paragraph [0041] Line 1-6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Choi et al. (US 20210155117 A1) discloses, “VEHICLE AND CONTROL METHOD THEREOF-[0002] A vehicle and a control method thereof. In particular, the disclosure relates to a vehicle for managing the charge amount of a vehicle battery pack, and a control method thereof. [0035] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a battery system of a vehicle according to an embodiment of the disclosure. FIG. 2 is a control block diagram of a battery system of a vehicle according to an embodiment of the disclosure. [0036] The battery pack 10 may be configured by connecting a plurality of battery cells C in series to supply various output voltages to a vehicle. In addition, the battery pack 10 may be configured by connecting a plurality of battery cells C in parallel according to charge/discharge capacities required by the battery pack 10. [0039] The battery pack 10 may be connected to the battery cell sensor 100 and the battery module sensor 200 or may be implemented as a single body including both the battery cell sensor 100 and the battery module sensor 200. [0040] The battery cell sensor 100 may include a plurality of voltage sensors and measure the voltage of each of the battery cells C. In another example, the battery cell sensor 100 may include a plurality of voltage sensors and a plurality of current sensors. The battery cell sensor 100 may measure both the voltage and the current of each of the battery cells C. [0041] The battery module sensor 200 may include a plurality of voltage sensors and a plurality of current sensors. The battery module sensor 200 may measure voltages and currents of the battery modules 10-1 to 10-N. [0042] The battery cell sensor 100 and the battery module sensor 200 may be connected to the controller 300 and provide the obtained data to the controller 300 so that the controller 300 performs data processing. The battery cell sensor 100 measures the voltage of the battery cell. The battery module sensor 200 measures the voltage of the battery module. The battery cell sensor 100 and the battery module sensor 200 may provide the controller 300 with the voltage of the battery cell, the voltage of the battery module, and the current of the battery module. [0043] The controller 300 may include at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium or memory 302 in which a program including computer-executable instructions for performing the above-described operation and the operation described below may be stored. The controller 300 may include at least one processor 301 for executing the stored program. When the controller 300 includes a plurality of memories 302 and a plurality of processors 301, the plurality of memories 302 and the plurality of processors 301 may be integrated on one chip and may be physically separated. [0090] FIGS. 5 and 6 illustrate a change in voltage of the battery cell and a change in charge amount of the battery cell. [0091] As shown in FIG. 5 and FIG. 6, as the battery cell ages, the voltage change in the region of the low charge amount becomes sharp. Therefore, in order to monitor the stable region of the battery based on the voltage of the battery cell, the sampling period of the control board should be small-However Choi does not disclose identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value by identifying a peak value indicated by the calculated value, wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858