tice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/27/2025, 6/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a measurement module”, “a data storage module”, and “a calculation module”, “a verification module” in claim 1 (Similar limitation in claim 14 and 19).
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a measurement module” coupled with the functional language “receiving information regarding a current voltage value”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a data storage module” coupled with the functional language “providing information regarding a mean voltage value”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a calculation module” coupled with the functional language “determining a calculated value based on the current voltage value”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a verification module” coupled with the functional language “identifying a contact break of the battery pack”.
All these limitations in claim 1 have no structural meaning and are considered a generic placeholder.
In the present application (PGPUB NO: US 20260043856 A1) discloses:
In Paragraph 41, “[0041] FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram illustrating components in a computing device 600 in accordance with embodiments of the present technology. The computing device 600 can be used to implement methods (e.g., FIG. 7) discussed herein. The computing device 600 can be used to perform the processes/operations discussed in FIGS. 1-5.”
In Paragraph 42, “[0042] In its most basic configuration, the computing device 600 includes at least one processing unit 602 and a memory 604. Depending on the exact configuration and the type of computing device, the memory 604 may be volatile (such as a random-access memory or RAM), non-volatile (such as a read-only memory or ROM, a flash memory, etc.), or some combination of the two. This basic configuration is illustrated in FIG. 6 by dashed line 606. Further, the computing device 600 may also include storage devices (a removable storage 608 and/or a non-removable storage 610) including, but not limited to, magnetic or optical disks or tape. Similarly, the computing device 600 can have an input device 614 such as keyboard, mouse, pen, voice input, etc. and/or an output device 616 such as a display, speakers, printer, etc. Also included in the computing device 600 can be one or more communication components 612, such as components for connecting via a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), cellular telecommunication (e.g. 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.), point to point, any other suitable interface, etc.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. A method, comprising, therefore, is a method.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value. The claim 1 as a whole are directed to a methods comprising abstract ideas involving mathematical algorithms/procedures/relationships/correlations which have been determined by the courts as being directed to abstract ideas. determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value. receiving information regarding a current voltage value of a battery pack and providing information regarding a mean voltage value of the battery pack; which are directed to of data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations; comparing new and stored information using rules to identify options, organizing and storing information which have been identified by the courts as extra-solution activity or using the generic functions of a computer and/or software to perform well known functions of a circuit design all of which have been identified by the courts as abstract ideas and are modeled in some forms of mathematical algorithms/procedures/relationships/correlations as is well known in the art of computer-aided analysis.
The limitations of determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or by looking at the screen of an oscilloscope or a spectrum analyzer. For example, language, “determining” some date and then input in the system in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually inputting the values in the model the values by a piece of pen and paper or in a determining and then identifying.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The claim does not include any additional element do not include additional elements, individually or in view of the claim as a whole, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the data storage module and the other modules are generic computer components known in the industry and the steps implemented by the method, computer-readable storage medium, and apparatus are directed to simply appending well- understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception (i.e., requiring no more than generic computer to perform generic functions including data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations; comparing new and stored information using rules to identify options, organizing and storing information; retrieving data from the data storage or outputting data to the storage or to the screen for user interactive input/output). Therefore, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong the steps implemented by the method, computer-readable storage medium, and apparatus are directed to simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception (1.e., requiring no more than generic computer to perform generic functions including data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations and the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 14
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. A system, comprising, therefore, is a system.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value. The claim 1 as a whole are directed to a methods comprising abstract ideas involving mathematical algorithms/procedures/relationships/correlations which have been determined by the courts as being directed to abstract ideas. determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value. receiving information regarding a current voltage value of a battery pack and providing information regarding a mean voltage value of the battery pack; which are directed to of data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations; comparing new and stored information using rules to identify options, organizing and storing information which have been identified by the courts as extra-solution activity or using the generic functions of a computer and/or software to perform well known functions of a circuit design all of which have been identified by the courts as abstract ideas and are modeled in some forms of mathematical algorithms/procedures/relationships/correlations as is well known in the art of computer-aided analysis.
The limitations of determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or by looking at the screen of an oscilloscope or a spectrum analyzer. For example, language, “determining” some date and then input in the system in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually inputting the values in the model the values by a piece of pen and paper or in a determining and then identifying.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The claim does not include any additional element do not include additional elements, individually or in view of the claim as a whole, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the data storage module , memory and the other modules are generic computer components known in the industry and the steps implemented by the method, computer-readable storage medium, and apparatus are directed to simply appending well- understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception (i.e., requiring no more than generic computer to perform generic functions including data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations; comparing new and stored information using rules to identify options, organizing and storing information; retrieving data from the data storage or outputting data to the storage or to the screen for user interactive input/output). Therefore, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong the steps implemented by the method, computer-readable storage medium, and apparatus are directed to simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception (1.e., requiring no more than generic computer to perform generic functions including data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations and the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 19
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. A system, comprising, therefore, is a system.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value. The claim 1 as a whole are directed to a methods comprising abstract ideas involving mathematical algorithms/procedures/relationships/correlations which have been determined by the courts as being directed to abstract ideas. determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value. receiving information regarding a current voltage value of a battery pack and providing information regarding a mean voltage value of the battery pack; which are directed to of data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations; comparing new and stored information using rules to identify options, organizing and storing information which have been identified by the courts as extra-solution activity or using the generic functions of a computer and/or software to perform well known functions of a circuit design all of which have been identified by the courts as abstract ideas and are modeled in some forms of mathematical algorithms/procedures/relationships/correlations as is well known in the art of computer-aided analysis.
The limitations of determining, by a calculation module of the system, a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack; identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or by looking at the screen of an oscilloscope or a spectrum analyzer. For example, language, “determining” some date and then input in the system in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually inputting the values in the model the values by a piece of pen and paper or in a determining and then identifying.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The claim does not include any additional element do not include additional elements, individually or in view of the claim as a whole, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the data storage module and the other modules are generic computer components known in the industry and the steps implemented by the method, computer-readable storage medium, and apparatus are directed to simply appending well- understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception (i.e., requiring no more than generic computer to perform generic functions including data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations; comparing new and stored information using rules to identify options, organizing and storing information; retrieving data from the data storage or outputting data to the storage or to the screen for user interactive input/output). Therefore, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong the steps implemented by the method, computer-readable storage medium, and apparatus are directed to simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception (1.e., requiring no more than generic computer to perform generic functions including data gathering, collecting and comparing known information; collecting, displaying, and manipulating data; collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; obtaining and comparing intangible data; organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations and the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-13, 15-18 and 20 when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the recited limitations, considered both individually and as an ordered combination with the claim as a whole, fail to establish to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application:
For example, claim 2 recites, “wherein the battery pack includes at least two battery cells arranged in parallel.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 3 recites, “wherein the contact break occurs at a battery-cell contact between the at least two battery cells.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 4 recites, “wherein the calculated value includes a difference between the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 5 recites, wherein the calculated value includes a rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack.” which is calculating a value as the mathematical concept and can be done mentally or in a generic computer component and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 6 recites, “wherein the calculated value includes a rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack.” which is calculating a value as the mathematical concept and can be done mentally or in a generic computer component and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 7 recites, “wherein the calculated value includes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 8 recites, “wherein the calculated value includes a ratio determined based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack.” which is calculating value as the mathematical concept and can be done mentally or in a generic computer component and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 9 recites, “wherein the calculated value includes a difference between the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack.” which is the information of the insignificant data gathering as the mathematical concept and can be done mentally or in a generic computer component and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 10 recites, “wherein the calculated value includes a difference between the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack, wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 11 recite, “wherein the contact break is identified based on a predefined threshold associated with the mean voltage value of the battery pack.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 12 recites, “wherein the contact break is identified based on a predefined threshold associated with the current voltage value of the battery pack.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
For example, claim 13 recites, “wherein the contact break is identified based on a predefined debounce time.” which is as insignificant data gathering information and therefore is an abstract idea. The claim, as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claim is ineligible.
Similarly claims 15-18 and 20 as a whole, does not integrate the abstract idea to be a practical application. The claim is not specific to any practical application. The claims are ineligible.
As a reminder, the 2019 PEG defines the phrase “integration into a practical application” to require an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Below are some examples of limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application: Limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition — see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo.
Claims 2-13, 15-18 and 20 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 1, 14 and 19 and thus are also rejected under 101 for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220352737 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method (a system and method for monitoring an occurrence of thermal runaway in a battery pack and, in particular, to a system and method for predicting an onset of thermal runaway in order to allow for preventative action to be taken; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5; FIG. 8 shows a flowchart 800 of a method for predicting a thermal runaway condition, as shown in FIGS. 6 and 7. The method begins at box 802. At box 804, the method tests for whether a high voltage contact is open; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-4), comprising,
receiving, by a measurement module [106a, . . . , 106n] (voltage sensor as the measurement module) of the system (A plurality of voltage sensors 106a, . . . , 106n), information regarding a current voltage value of a battery pack [102] (FIG. 1 shows an electric vehicle 100. The electric vehicle 100 includes a battery pack 102; Paragraph [0028] Line 2-3; A plurality of voltage sensors 106a, . . . , 106n obtain voltage measurements from the plurality of battery cells 104a, . . . , 104n, respectively, and transmit the voltage measurements to the control system 110; Paragraph [0028] Line 5-10; Voltage measurements of each of ‘n’ cells in a battery pack are obtained at current time edge 624; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-2);
providing, by a data storage module of the system [114] in Figure 1 (The control system 110 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), information regarding a mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A mean value, or mean voltage, is determined from the voltages. A plurality of prognostic thresholds that are established based on the mean voltage and a standard deviation about the mean voltage; Paragraph [0037] Line 2-6; In one embodiment, the mean voltage is determined using only voltage measurements obtained at the current time edge 624; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-3);
determining, by a calculation module of the system [112] (processor 112) (The control system 110 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (Each battery cell voltage is tested against the prognostic thresholds. If one of the battery cell voltages is outside of the mean voltage by an amount greater than the plurality of prognostic thresholds, an alarm is generated; Paragraph [0037] Line 15-19); and
identifying, by a verification module [112] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11) of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value (In box 808 in Figure 8, prognostic thresholds are set up based on the standard deviation. For illustrative purposes, three prognostic thresholds are established. Each cell voltage or residual is tested against the prognostic thresholds established in box 808 to determine if a TRA conditions is present; Paragraph [0044] Line 12-17; Wang discloses to determine thermal runway and Thermal runaway triggered by a contact break (or, more precisely, an internal short circuit caused by a breached component) occurs when the physical separator between a battery's anode and cathode fails and therefore Wang determines contact break of the battery pack. Wang also discloses Prognostic Health Management (PHM) for batteries involves predicting their remaining useful life (RUL), state of health (SOH), and potential failure points, such as contact breaks, to prevent system malfunctions, fires, or unexpected downtime.).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the battery pack [102] includes at least two battery cells [104a-104n] arranged in parallel (The battery pack 102 includes a plurality of battery cells 104a, . . . , 104n; Paragraph [0028] Line 5-7; Figure 1: Portion of Modified Figure 1 of Wang below shows that the battery cells are arranged in parallel)
Figure 1: Portion of Modified Figure 1 of Wang
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the contact break occurs at a battery-cell contact between the at least two battery cells (FIG. 2 shows a schematic diagram 200 of a battery cell (e.g., battery cell 104a). The battery cell 104a includes a cathode 202, an anode 204 and an insulating medium 206 separating the cathode from the anode. The insulating medium 206 prevents a current from flowing between the cathode 202 and the anode 204. The schematic diagram 200 also shows a short circuit 208 through the insulating medium 206 that can occur due to degradation of the insulating medium or through excessive use of the battery cell 104a; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-9; Figure 2 shows one battery cell of the battery pack and battery pack comprises plurality of battery cells and therefore the contact break occurs at a battery-cell contact between the at least two battery cells).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the calculated value includes a difference between the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A voltage measurement obtained from a selected battery cell is compared to the mean value. A notification signal is generated when a difference between the voltage measurement from the selected battery cell and the mean value is greater than or equal to a prognostic threshold; Paragraph [0003] Line 6-11; A residual for the j.sup.th battery cell at an i.sup.th time step is a given by a difference between the battery cell voltage and the mean value of voltage for the group of battery cells in the battery module or battery pack at the i.sup.th time step, as shown in Eq. (5):
r.sub.j(i)=V.sub.j(i)−V.sub.mean(i) Eq. (5); Paragraph [0041] Line 1-6).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the calculated value includes a rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack (The method further includes determining a voltage parameter from a voltage measurement, wherein the voltage parameter is one of a voltage of the selected battery cell, a voltage residual of the selected battery cell, a state of charge of the selected battery cell, a rate of change of voltage over time of the selected battery cell, and a rate of change of a state of charge over time of the selected battery cell; Paragraph [0004] Line 3-10).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the calculated value includes a rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; Claim 5. The method of claim 1, comparing a rate of change of voltage over a time window for the selected battery cell to the prognostic threshold and the prognostic threshold is based on a mean voltage of the battery pack over the time window and a capacity of the battery pack).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the calculated value includes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):…..; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the calculated value includes a ratio determined based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):
; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the calculated value includes a difference between the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A voltage measurement obtained from a selected battery cell is compared to the mean value. A notification signal is generated when a difference between the voltage measurement from the selected battery cell and the mean value is greater than or equal to a prognostic threshold; Paragraph [0003] Line 6-11; A residual for the j.sup.th battery cell at an i.sup.th time step is a given by a difference between the battery cell voltage and the mean value of voltage for the group of battery cells in the battery module or battery pack at the i.sup.th time step, as shown in Eq. (5):
r.sub.j(i)=V.sub.j(i)−V.sub.mean(i) Eq. (5); Paragraph [0041] Line 1-6),
wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):…..; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4).
.
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the calculated value includes a difference between the current voltage value of the battery pack [102] and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A voltage measurement obtained from a selected battery cell is compared to the mean value. A notification signal is generated when a difference between the voltage measurement from the selected battery cell and the mean value is greater than or equal to a prognostic threshold; Paragraph [0003] Line 6-11; A residual for the j.sup.th battery cell at an i.sup.th time step is a given by a difference between the battery cell voltage and the mean value of voltage for the group of battery cells in the battery module or battery pack at the i.sup.th time step, as shown in Eq. (5):
r.sub.j(i)=V.sub.j(i)−V.sub.mean(i) Eq. (5); Paragraph [0041] Line 1-6),
wherein the calculated value incudes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):…..; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4; ith term to jth term comprises first and second),
wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):
; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the contact break is identified based on a predefined threshold associated with the mean voltage value of the battery pack (Claim 12. The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to compare a rate of change of voltage over a time window for the selected battery cell to the prognostic threshold and the prognostic threshold is based on a mean voltage of the battery pack over the time window and a capacity of the battery pack).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the contact break is identified based on a predefined threshold associated with the current voltage value of the battery pack [102] (Claim 11. The system of claim 8, wherein the plurality of voltage sensors is further configured to obtain the plurality of voltage measurements and the voltage measurement from the selected battery cell at a same time step; FIG. 6 shows a graph 600 illustrating a method for detecting the internal short circuit and then predict thermal runaway by measuring battery cell voltages. Time is shown in seconds along the abscissa and voltage is shown along the ordinate axis. The graph 600 includes a group 602 of voltages from normal battery cells of the battery pack. Graph 600 also shows voltages for a battery cell having various internal short resistances R.sub.SC Voltage curve 604 corresponds to Rsc=0.3Ω. Voltage curve 606 corresponds to Rsc=0.43Ω. Voltage curve 608 corresponds to Rsc=0.88Ω. Voltage curve 610 corresponds to Rsc=2Ω. Voltage curve 612 corresponds to Rsc=7Ω. Voltage curve 614 corresponds to Rsc=15Ω. Point 618 indicates a time at which thermal runaway occurs on voltage curve 608; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-14).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches a method,
wherein the contact break is identified based on a predefined debounce time (FIG. 4 shows a graph 400 of a relation between battery cell temperature and time in an illustrative embodiment for a battery cell having an internal short circuit. Time is shown in seconds along the abscissa and temperature is shown in Celsius along the ordinate axis. The internal short resistance is R.sub.SC=0.39Ω. A heat transfer equation for the battery cell is given in Eq. (4):
where M.sub.b is the battery cell mass, C.sub.pb is a heat coefficient, T.sub.b is a temperature of the battery cell, T.sub.c is a coolant temperature, T.sub.i is temperature of an adjacent battery cell, and hA is a heat convention coefficient or heat conduction coefficient. When in use, the temperature of the battery cell rises over time. Point 402 indicates a temperature at which thermal runaway occurs; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-15; Debounce is the waiting time or balance speed; Figure 4 shows contact break information in different time).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches a system (a system and method for monitoring an occurrence of thermal runaway in a battery pack and, in particular, to a system and method for predicting an onset of thermal runaway in order to allow for preventative action to be taken; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5; FIG. 8 shows a flowchart 800 of a method for predicting a thermal runaway condition, as shown in FIGS. 6 and 7. The method begins at box 802. At box 804, the method tests for whether a high voltage contact is open; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-4), comprising,
a memory [114] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), and
a controller [110] coupled to the memory [114] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11) and configured to:
receive, by a measurement module [106a, . . . , 106n] (voltage sensor as the measurement module) (A plurality of voltage sensors 106a, . . . , 106n) of the controller, information regarding a current voltage value of a battery pack [102] (FIG. 1 shows an electric vehicle 100. The electric vehicle 100 includes a battery pack 102; Paragraph [0028] Line 2-3; A plurality of voltage sensors 106a, . . . , 106n obtain voltage measurements from the plurality of battery cells 104a, . . . , 104n, respectively, and transmit the voltage measurements to the control system 110; Paragraph [0028] Line 5-10; Voltage measurements of each of ‘n’ cells in a battery pack are obtained at current time edge 624; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-2);
provide, by a data storage module [114] of the controller [110] in Figure 1 (The control system 110 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), information regarding a mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A mean value, or mean voltage, is determined from the voltages. A plurality of prognostic thresholds that are established based on the mean voltage and a standard deviation about the mean voltage; Paragraph [0037] Line 2-6; In one embodiment, the mean voltage is determined using only voltage measurements obtained at the current time edge 624; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-3);
determine, by a calculation module [112] of the controller [110] (processor 112) (The control system 110 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (Each battery cell voltage is tested against the prognostic thresholds. If one of the battery cell voltages is outside of the mean voltage by an amount greater than the plurality of prognostic thresholds, an alarm is generated; Paragraph [0037] Line 15-19); and
identify, by a verification module [112] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11) of the controller, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value (In box 808 in Figure 8, prognostic thresholds are set up based on the standard deviation. For illustrative purposes, three prognostic thresholds are established. Each cell voltage or residual is tested against the prognostic thresholds established in box 808 to determine if a TRA conditions is present; Paragraph [0044] Line 12-17; Wang discloses to determine thermal runway and Thermal runaway triggered by a contact break (or, more precisely, an internal short circuit caused by a breached component) occurs when the physical separator between a battery's anode and cathode fails and therefore Wang determines contact break of the battery pack. Wang also discloses Prognostic Health Management (PHM) for batteries involves predicting their remaining useful life (RUL), state of health (SOH), and potential failure points, such as contact breaks, to prevent system malfunctions, fires, or unexpected downtime.).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches a system,
wherein the battery pack [102] includes at least two battery cells [104a-104n] arranged in parallel (The battery pack 102 includes a plurality of battery cells 104a, . . . , 104n; Paragraph [0028] Line 5-7; Figure 1: Portion of Modified Figure 1 of Wang above shows that the battery cells are arranged in parallel); and
wherein the contact break occurs at a battery-cell contact between the at least two battery cells [104] (FIG. 2 shows a schematic diagram 200 of a battery cell (e.g., battery cell 104a). The battery cell 104a includes a cathode 202, an anode 204 and an insulating medium 206 separating the cathode from the anode. The insulating medium 206 prevents a current from flowing between the cathode 202 and the anode 204. The schematic diagram 200 also shows a short circuit 208 through the insulating medium 206 that can occur due to degradation of the insulating medium or through excessive use of the battery cell 104a; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-9; Figure 2 shows one battery cell of the battery pack and battery pack comprises plurality of battery cells and therefore the contact break occurs at a battery-cell contact between the at least two battery cells).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches a system,
wherein the calculated value includes a difference between the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A voltage measurement obtained from a selected battery cell is compared to the mean value. A notification signal is generated when a difference between the voltage measurement from the selected battery cell and the mean value is greater than or equal to a prognostic threshold; Paragraph [0003] Line 6-11; A residual for the j.sup.th battery cell at an i.sup.th time step is a given by a difference between the battery cell voltage and the mean value of voltage for the group of battery cells in the battery module or battery pack at the i.sup.th time step, as shown in Eq. (5):
r.sub.j(i)=V.sub.j(i)−V.sub.mean(i) Eq. (5); Paragraph [0041] Line 1-6).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches a system,
wherein the calculated value includes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):…..; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches a system,
wherein the calculated value incudes a ratio determined based on the first rate of change and the second rate of change (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):
; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches a system (a system and method for monitoring an occurrence of thermal runaway in a battery pack and, in particular, to a system and method for predicting an onset of thermal runaway in order to allow for preventative action to be taken; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5; FIG. 8 shows a flowchart 800 of a method for predicting a thermal runaway condition, as shown in FIGS. 6 and 7. The method begins at box 802. At box 804, the method tests for whether a high voltage contact is open; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-4), comprising,
at least one hardware processor [112] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11); and
at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions [116], which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor [112] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), cause the system to:
receive information regarding a current voltage value of a battery pack [102] (FIG. 1 shows an electric vehicle 100. The electric vehicle 100 includes a battery pack 102; Paragraph [0028] Line 2-3; A plurality of voltage sensors 106a, . . . , 106n obtain voltage measurements from the plurality of battery cells 104a, . . . , 104n, respectively, and transmit the voltage measurements to the control system 110; Paragraph [0028] Line 5-10; Voltage measurements of each of ‘n’ cells in a battery pack are obtained at current time edge 624; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-2);
provide, by a data storage module of the system [114] in Figure 1 (The control system 110 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), information regarding a mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A mean value, or mean voltage, is determined from the voltages. A plurality of prognostic thresholds that are established based on the mean voltage and a standard deviation about the mean voltage; Paragraph [0037] Line 2-6; In one embodiment, the mean voltage is determined using only voltage measurements obtained at the current time edge 624; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-3);
determine, by a calculation module of the system [112] (processor 112) (The control system 110 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11), a calculated value based on the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (Each battery cell voltage is tested against the prognostic thresholds. If one of the battery cell voltages is outside of the mean voltage by an amount greater than the plurality of prognostic thresholds, an alarm is generated; Paragraph [0037] Line 15-19); and
identify, by a verification module [112] (The control system 110 in Figure 1 includes a processor 112 and a memory storage device 114 having various programs or instructions 116 stored therein. The processor 112 can access and the programs or instructions from the memory storage device 114 and run the programs or instructions to perform the various operations disclosed herein for predicting an onset of thermal runaway (TRA) and generate an appropriate alarm or take an appropriate action; Paragraph [0029] Line 4-11) of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value (In box 808 in Figure 8, prognostic thresholds are set up based on the standard deviation. For illustrative purposes, three prognostic thresholds are established. Each cell voltage or residual is tested against the prognostic thresholds established in box 808 to determine if a TRA conditions is present; Paragraph [0044] Line 12-17; Wang discloses to determine thermal runway and Thermal runaway triggered by a contact break (or, more precisely, an internal short circuit caused by a breached component) occurs when the physical separator between a battery's anode and cathode fails and therefore Wang determines contact break of the battery pack. Wang also discloses Prognostic Health Management (PHM) for batteries involves predicting their remaining useful life (RUL), state of health (SOH), and potential failure points, such as contact breaks, to prevent system malfunctions, fires, or unexpected downtime).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches a system,
wherein the calculated value includes a difference between the current voltage value of the battery pack and the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (A voltage measurement obtained from a selected battery cell is compared to the mean value. A notification signal is generated when a difference between the voltage measurement from the selected battery cell and the mean value is greater than or equal to a prognostic threshold; Paragraph [0003] Line 6-11; A residual for the j.sup.th battery cell at an i.sup.th time step is a given by a difference between the battery cell voltage and the mean value of voltage for the group of battery cells in the battery module or battery pack at the i.sup.th time step, as shown in Eq. (5):
r.sub.j(i)=V.sub.j(i)−V.sub.mean(i) Eq. (5); Paragraph [0041] Line 1-6);
wherein the calculated value further includes a first rate of change of the current voltage value of the battery pack and a second rate of change of the mean voltage value of the battery pack [102] (In one embodiment, a mean value dV.sub.m(i) can be determined using voltages from the plurality of battery cells in a module or in a battery pack. If the mean value dV.sub.m(i) is significant or greater than a selected threshold, it can be subtracted from each of the voltage measurements prior to determining the rate of change between time intervals; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-6; In order to monitor a battery cell for an internal short, the rate of voltage drop dV.sub.j(i) for the j.sup.th cell at the i.sup.th time step is tested against a prognostic threshold Thr shown in Eq. (8):…..; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zheng (US 20130245974 A1) discloses, “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR COLLECTING VOLTAGE DIFFERENTIAL PARAMETERS OF INDIVIDUAL BATTERY CELLS IN BATTERY PACK-[0001] The invention belongs to the technical field of battery management, and in particular relates to a method and apparatus for collecting voltage differential parameters of individual battery cells in a battery pack. [0058] In this embodiment, the following two technical solutions may be adopted, but not limited to, to determine the voltage differential parameter of each individual battery cell relative to the battery system according to each relative voltage difference value: [0059] Algorithm 1: An arithmetic mean value of the relative voltage difference values of all individual battery cells is calculated as a mean relative voltage difference value, then an absolute difference value between the relative voltage difference value (the difference value between the actual voltage value of an individual battery cell and a reference voltage) of each individual battery cell and the current mean relative voltage difference value obtained by calculation is calculated and used for representing the voltage differential parameter of each individual battery cell relative to the battery system at the current moment. [0060] Algorithm 2: Step 1, the relative voltage difference value of the voltage of each individual battery cell is added with the reference voltage to obtain an actual voltage value of the voltage of each individual battery cell, respectively; step 2, an arithmetic mean value of the actual voltage values of all individual battery cells is calculated as a mean actual voltage value; step 3, an absolute difference value between the actual voltage value of each individual battery cell obtained in Step 1 and the mean actual voltage value obtained in Step 2 is calculated as a voltage differential parameter for representing each individual battery cell relative to the battery system at the current moment, being an actual voltage difference value between the voltage of each individual battery cell and the mean actual voltage value-However Zheng does not disclose identifying, by a verification module of the system, a contact break of the battery pack based on the calculated value.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858