DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1, 6, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (2016/0149434) in view of Itkonen (CN 101849343 A).
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a furniture system comprising: a cushioning material ([0038] - one or more induction coils 150 may be disposed in the seat cushion); a charging surface configured to receive an electrical device (Fig. 4B; [0038] - The user's electronic device, such as a wearable device 210 on the user's wrist and/or a smartphone in the user's pocket, may then be charged by the induction coil(s) 150 in an armrest of an automobile seat, a chair, a couch, and the like while the user is seated); and a charging system (Fig. 1, 100) comprising an induction coil (induction coils 150) to charge the electrical device when the electrical device is positioned on the charging surface (Fig. 4B), at least a portion of the cushioning material disposed between and vertically aligned with the charging surface (Fig, 4B; [0038] - The user's electronic device charged by the induction coil(s) 150 in an armrest of an automobile seat while the user is seated, one or more induction coils 150 may be disposed in the seat cushion, seat frame). Kim teaches a charging system 100 comprises an induction coil; while claim 1 recites induction charger.
Itkonen teaches intelligent charge structural component can be easy to work on it and has a sensing ring and an RFID transmitter or the like such as intelligent sensing charge become possible by fixing or removable component of the cushion element ([0045]); and the induction charge becomes possible furniture manufacturing is simple and easy, the construction of infrastructure is also very fast; intelligent structural member described above the induction charge characteristics can be conveniently incorporated such as traditional large-scale manufacturing furniture and an individual furniture ([0070]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Itkonen into the teachings of Kim for the purpose of having the induction charge becomes possible furniture manufacturing is simple and easy, the construction of infrastructure is also very fast.
As to claim 6, Kim teaches the furniture system of claim 1, wherein the induction charger is configured to remain biased against a cover disposed in a transverse member of base member ([0038] - one or more induction coils 150 may be disposed in an armrest of an automobile set, in the seat cushion; a charging surface configured to receive an electrical device; the user's electronic device, such as a wearable device 210 on the user's wrist and/or a smartphone in the user's pocket, may then be charged by the induction coil(s) 150 while the user is seated; and a charging system (Fig. 1, 100) comprising an induction coil (induction coils 150) to charge the electrical device when the electrical device is positioned on the charging surface (Fig. 4B), at least a portion of the cushioning material disposed between and vertically aligned with the charging surface (Fig, 4B; [0038] - The user's electronic device charged by the induction coil(s) 150 while the user is seated, one or more induction coils 150 may be disposed in the seat cushion, seat frame).
As to claim 11, Kim teaches a furniture system of claim 1, further comprising frame protrusions extending from a frame to protect the induction charger (Fig. 4B and [0038] - one or more induction coils 150 may be disposed in the seat cushion, seat frame, one or more induction coils disposed in the armrest of a couch and the like and would have been obvious that frame of armrest extending to protect induction coil 150).
3. Claims 2, 4, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Itkonen in view of Metcalf et al. (2012/0026724).
As to claim 2, Kim and Itkonen do not explicitly discuss the furniture system of claim 1, wherein the induction charger is removably disposed within one or more transverse members or a base.
Metcalf teaches a furniture component with an embedded housing 354 comprising therein a primary coil 358 and an electronics circuit 359. On the working surface of the furniture component is an electronic device 374 including a secondary coil 372. Primary coil 358 and secondary coil 372 form an inductive coupling (Fig. 52 and [0064]); an energy source housing 500 integrated within a furniture component 502 that includes a surface veneer 504 and a backer 508. Housing 500 includes a base 520 having a flange 519 with a plurality of holes 521 and a body 522 in which primary coil 358 is located; and housing 500 is positioned closely adjacent to veneer 504 and may optionally provide physical support thereto and would have been obvious that it removable to a different position (Fig. 53 and [0065-0066]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Metcalf into the teachings of Kim and Itkonen for the purpose of having a removable induction charger for convenient and portability.
As to claim 4, Metcalf teaches the furniture system of claim 1, further including a wire system extending through one or more furniture components and in electrical communication with the induction coil ([0078-0079] - FIG. 73 illustrates an energy source housing 760 comprising energy sources 762, illustratively inductive coils, powered by converter 766 through a cable 764. A converter 766 adapts AC power to the power and transmission requirements of energy source 762. FIG. 74 illustrates a harness 770, illustratively a flat multi-conductor cable, having a connector 776 at one end for electrically coupling to an energy source housing 772 and being electrically coupled to a connector 774 at the opposite end. A converter 778 plugs into an AC receptacle and is provided with a connector which couples electrically to connector 774. Housing 772 comprises a primary coil of an inductive coupling).
As to claim 12, Metcalf teaches the furniture system of claim 1, further comprising a pocket to receive the induction charger when a force is placed on the induction charger (Fig. 53; [0066] - Housing 500 includes a base 520 having a flange 519 with a plurality of holes 521 and a body 522 in which primary coil 358 is located. Housing 500 is integrated or embedded within a cavity 503 of furniture component 502 and cavity 503 where primary coil 358 is when a force is placed for charging).
4. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Itkonen in view of Ayuba (JP 2004097273 A).
As to claim 3, Kim and Itkonen do not explicitly discuss the furniture system of claim 1, further comprising a frame including an upper panel located at an opposite side of the charging surface adjacent to the induction charger and configured to act as a spring to allow the induction charger to elastically yield downward to the upper panel.
Ayuba teaches elevator for electric wheelchair of vehicle that has coil spring positioned between seat cushion and chair main portion for biasing cushion upwards (Title and Novelty) and obviously would elastically yield downward.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ayuba into the teachings of Kim and Itkonen for the purpose of adjusting height of seat cushion of electric wheelchair of vehicle.
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Itkonen in view of Cohen et al. (2010/0320819).
As to claim 5, Itkonen teaches the induction charge becomes possible furniture manufacturing is simple and easy, the construction of infrastructure is also very fast; intelligent structural member described above the induction charge characteristics can be conveniently incorporated such as traditional large-scale manufacturing furniture and an individual furniture ([0070]). Kim and Itkonen do not explicitly discuss the furniture system of claim 1, further comprising a transverse member including a frame having an upper panel, the portion of the cushioning material disposed adjacent to the upper panel and configured to bias the induction charger towards an upper surface of the transverse member.
Cohen teaches an electronic furniture system (Fig. 1; [0074, 0137] – a chair with speakers, electronic furniture system), a transverse member including a frame (seat 70 and back 10 together base having a seat frame 60; [0204]); an electrical hub configured to selectively reside within the furniture assembly (amplifier assembly 202 (electrical hub) to reside within amplifier box 401 underneath seat 70 within furniture assembly (Figs. 1, 2, 4; [0074, 0137]), with cushioning material disposed at least partially the frame, the transverse member includes an upholstery cover positioned over the cushioning material ([0182, 0270-0271]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Cohen into the teachings of Kim and Itkonen for the purpose of having a more efficient and comfortable furniture system with electrical charging system.
6. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Itkonen in view of DE 202014105793 U1.
As to claim 7, Kim and Itkonen do not explicitly discuss the furniture system of claim 1, further comprising a spring attached to the induction charger at a first end of the spring and to a receptacle at a second end of the spring and to bias the induction charger towards the charging surface.
DE 202014105793 teaches induction charger 10 embedded in furniture panel 1 comprises a housing has a flat top 28 on which a unit to be inductively charged with the aid of induction charger 10, the housing retracted downwards and extend upwards and is set up in the upwardly extended position at least one of an upper side of the furniture panel to expose the accessible charging connection of the unit and makes it possible to charge and operate an apparatus via cable (abstract); the housing is telescopically retracted by hand force and mounted extendable in the cup with spring force. Such a solution is because of the simple structure of great advantage and also promises to be very reliable, when a compression spring is installed well protected between a bottom of the cup and a telescopically guided in the cup housing. Alternatively, it is of course also possible to accomplish the extension by manual force, if means are provided which hold the housing in the extended position (Brief summary of the invention, 4th paragraph); the housing retractable telescopically with hand force and extendable with spring force in the cup is attached (claims). It would have been obvious to have spring attached to the induction charger at a first end of the spring and to a receptacle at a second end of the spring and to bias the induction charger towards the charging surface.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of DE 202014105793 into the teachings of Kim and Itkonen for the purpose of making it possible to charge and operate an apparatus via spring.
As to claim 8, DE 202014105793 teaches the furniture system of claim 7 wherein the spring to absorb a force placed on the receptacle (Brief summary of the invention, 4th paragraph - the housing is telescopically retracted by hand force and mounted extendable in the cup with spring force. Such a solution is because of the simple structure of great advantage and also promises to be very reliable, when a compression spring is installed well protected between a bottom of the cup and a telescopically guided in the cup housing. Alternatively, it is of course also possible to accomplish the extension by manual force; claim - the housing retractable telescopically with hand force and extendable with spring force in the cup is attached).
7. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Itkonen in view of Teleky (US Patent 3,715,998).
As to claim 9, Kim and Itkonen do not explicitly discuss the furniture system of claim 1, further comprising a receptacle to be secured to a frame.
Teleky teaches the upper and lower walls of the opening are provided by frame members 19, which likewise are permanently secured to the receptacle 14. The frame members 15, 19, are preferably of one piece construction as shown in FIG. 2 and are secured in the receptacle as a unitary frame assembly. (col. 3, lines 36-41); the safe includes a frame assembly secured in the receptable adjacent the opening (claim 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Teleky into the teachings of Kim and Itkonen for the purpose of having the frame permanently secured to the receptacle.
As to claim 10, Teleky teaches the furniture system of claim 9, wherein the receptacle comprises a flange that rests on an upper panel of the frame such that the receptacle extends through an opening in the upper panel (claim 1 – the door including a substantially rectangular panel having an in turned flange adjacent each of two opposed edges, said flange extending beyond the panel thickness, the safe further including a frame assembly secured in said receptacle adjacent the opening).
8. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Itkonen in view of Metcalf et al. (2012/0026724) and Ayuba (JP 2004097273 A).
As to claim 13, Kim and Itkonen do not explicitly discuss the furniture system of claim 1, wherein an induction coil housing of the induction charger includes a flange that abuts the cushioning materials.
Metcalf teaches a flange 176 extends outwardly from first portion 168 ([0051]); housing 500 includes a base 520 having a flange 519 with a plurality of holes 521 and a body 522 in which primary coil 358 is located. Housing 500 is integrated or embedded within a cavity 503 of furniture component 502 ([0066]).
Ayuba teaches elevator for electric wheelchair of vehicle that has coil spring positioned between seat cushion and chair main portion for biasing cushion upwards (Title and Novelty).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Metcalf and Ayuba into the teachings of Kim and Itkonen for the purpose of having induction charger includes a flange that abuts the cushioning materials.
9. Claims 14-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (2016/0149434) in view of Cohen et al. (2010/0320819).
As to claim 14, Kim teaches a furniture system comprising: a charging surface configured to receive an electrical device (Fig. 4B; [0038] - The user's electronic device, such as a wearable device 210 on the user's wrist and/or a smartphone in the user's pocket, may then be charged by the induction coil(s) 150 in an armrest of an automobile seat while the user is seated); and a charging system (Fig. 1, 100) comprising an induction coil (induction coils 150) to charge the electrical device when the electrical device is positioned on the charging surface (Fig. 4B), at least a portion of the cushioning material disposed between and vertically aligned with the charging surface (Fig, 4B; [0038] - The user's electronic device charged by the induction coil(s) 150 while the user is seated, one or more induction coils 150 may be disposed in the seat cushion, seat frame). Kim does not explicitly discuss an induction charger housing secured at least partially to a frame. However, it would have been obvious that induction coils 150 is partially secured to frame of armrest 420 of Fig. 4B.
Cohen teaches an electronic furniture system (Fig. 1, [0074, 0137] – a chair with speakers – electronic furniture system) comprising: a base (Fig. 1, [0074] – seat 70 and back 10 together base) having a frame ([0204] - seat frame 60), the base providing a seating surface (Fig. 9, seat 70); a transverse member comprising a frame (seat 70 and back 10 together base having a seat frame 60 ([0204]); an electrical hub configured to selectively reside within the furniture assembly (amplifier assembly 202 (electrical hub) configured to reside within amplifier box 401 underneath seat 70 within furniture assembly) – Figs. 1, 2, 4; [0074, 0137]); a seating configuration can contain multiple seats shown in Figs. 39. & 40 shows a bottom perspective view of this seating configuration in the diagram of FIG. 3, amplifiers on nearby seats are cabled in a daisy chain format connected by up to three cables (optical, Cat5, and RS485). One of the seat amplifiers can be cabled to a transmission unit ([0239]); hence amplifier assembly 202 (electrical hub) configured to reside within amplifier box 401 secured to the furniture frame.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Cohen into the teachings of Kim for the purpose of safely secure the induction charger to the frame in order to avoid possible damage to the charger.
As to claim 15, Kim teaches the furniture system of claim 14, wherein the user's electronic device charged by the induction coil(s) 150 in an armrest of an automobile seat while the user is seated, one or more induction coils 150 may be disposed in the seat cushion, seat frame (Fig, 4B; [0038]). And Cohen teaches a chair with speakers – electronic furniture system (Fig. 1, [0074, 0137]) comprising: a base (Fig. 1, [0074] – seat 70 and back 10 together base) having a frame ([0204] - seat frame 60), the base providing a seating surface (Fig. 9, seat 70); a transverse member comprising a frame (seat 70 and back 10 together base having a seat frame 60 ([0204]); an electrical hub configured to selectively reside within the furniture assembly (amplifier assembly 202 (electrical hub) configured to reside within amplifier box 401 underneath seat 70 within furniture assembly) – Figs. 1, 2, 4; [0074, 0137]); a seating configuration can contain multiple seats shown in Figs. 39. & 40 shows a bottom perspective view of this seating configuration in the diagram of FIG. 3, amplifiers on nearby seats are cabled in a daisy chain format connected by up to three cables (optical, Cat5, and RS485). One of the seat amplifiers can be cabled to a transmission unit ([0239]); layers of foam / cushioning material are located underneath the upholstery ([0182]) which also cover seat frame 60. It would have been obvious that the frame is at least partially covered by a cushioning material and an upholstery cover positioned over the cushioning material, the induction charger housing covered by the upholstery cover and the cushioning material.
As to claim 16, Kim teaches the furniture system of claim 14, wherein the user's electronic device charged on the surface of the armrest by the induction coil(s) 150 in an armrest of an automobile seat while the user is seated, one or more induction coils 150 may be disposed in the seat cushion, seat frame (Fig, 4B; [0038]). And Cohen taches layers of foam / cushioning material are located underneath the upholstery ([0182]); It would have been obvious that user’s electronic device charged on the surface of the armrest cover by the upholstery cover that over the induction coils charger of Fig. 4B.
As to claim 18, Kim teaches a charging system comprising: one or more induction coils 150 may be disposed in the seat cushion ([0038]); a charging surface configured to receive an electrical device (Fig. 4B; [0038] - The user's electronic device, such as a wearable device 210 on the user's wrist and/or a smartphone in the user's pocket, may then be charged by the induction coil(s) 150 in an armrest of an automobile seat while the user is seated); and a charging system (Fig. 1, 100) comprising an induction coil (induction coils 150) to charge the electrical device when the electrical device is positioned on the charging surface (Fig. 4B), at least a portion of the cushioning material disposed between and vertically aligned with the charging surface (Fig, 4B; [0038] - The user's electronic device charged by the induction coil(s) 150 in an armrest of an automobile seat while the user is seated, one or more induction coil 150 may be disposed in the seat cushion, seat frame). Kim does not explicitly discuss the induction coil embedded between a first cushioning material and a second cushioning material.
Cohen teaches an electronic furniture system (Fig. 1, [0074, 0137] – a chair with speakers – electronic furniture system) comprising: an electrical hub configured to selectively reside within the furniture assembly (amplifier assembly 202 (electrical hub) configured to reside within amplifier box 401 underneath seat 70 within furniture assembly) – Figs. 1, 2, 4; [0074, 0137]); a seating configuration can contain multiple seats shown in Figs. 39. & 40 shows a bottom perspective view of this seating configuration in the diagram of FIG. 3, amplifiers on nearby seats are cabled in a daisy chain format connected by up to three cables (optical, Cat5, and RS485). One of the seat amplifiers can be cabled to a transmission unit ([0239]). It would have been obvious having the induction coil embedded between seats with cushioning material within furniture assembly.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have induction coil embedded between first and second cushioning material for the purpose of allowing user flexibility to charge the electrical device wherever users seat.
10. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (2016/0149434) in view of Cohen et al. (2010/0320819) in view of Yang (2002/0194676).
As to claim 17, Kim and Cohen do not explicitly discuss the furniture system of claim 16, wherein the cover is an outer cover the covers an inner cover mounted on the cushioning material.
Yang teaches the fabric product of this invention can also be applied to a seat cushion 9' of a sofa unit, and includes a large bag 1, an outer cover 2 and an inner cover 3. The large bag 1 is filled with a cushioning material, and is put on a seat portion 91 of the sofa unit. The outer cover 2 is disposed over the large bag 1. The inner cover 3 is disposed under the large bag 1. The outer and inner covers 2, 3 have outer peripheries that abut against each other so as to conceal the large bag 1 completely (Fig. 15 and [0051]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yang into the teachings of Kim and Cohen for the purpose of concealing the cushion completely.
11. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (2016/0149434) in view of Cohen et al. (2010/0320819) in view of Metcalf et al. (2012/0026724).
As to claim 19, Kim and Cohen do not explicitly discuss the furniture system of claim 18, wherein the electrical charging system further comprises a receptacle and a housing movably coupled to the receptacle such that the housing moves relative to the receptacle when a force is applied to the housing.
Metcalf teaches a panel has a hole extending there through; and the induction charger (Fig. 53 and [0065-0066] – primary coil 358 (induction charger) mounted within furniture component 502) assembly and house a receptacle secured to the upper panel within the hole and an AC receptable is provided with a connector which couples electrically to a connector, and induction charger housing movably coupled to the receptacle such that the housing moves relative to the receptacle (Figs. 53-56 and 58-72; [0063, 0065-0066], [0078]); and obviously when a force is applied to the housing the housing movably coupled to the receptacle.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Metcalf into the teachings of Kim and Cohen for the purpose of providing user flexibility moving around and charging.
12. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Cohen in view of Ayuba (JP 2004097273 A).
As to claim 20, Kim teaches a furniture system comprising: one or more induction coils 150 may be disposed in the seat cushion ([0038]); a charging surface configured to receive an electrical device (Fig. 4B; [0038] - The user's electronic device, such as a wearable device 210 on the user's wrist and/or a smartphone in the user's pocket, may then be charged by the induction coil(s) 150 while the user is seated); and a charging system (Fig. 1, 100) comprising an induction coil (induction coils 150) to charge the electrical device when the electrical device is positioned on the charging surface (Fig. 4B), at least a portion of the cushioning material disposed between and vertically aligned with the charging surface (Fig, 4B; [0038] - The user's electronic device charged by the induction coil(s) 150 while the user is seated, one or more induction coil 150 may be disposed in the seat cushion, seat frame).
Cohen teaches an electronic furniture system (Fig. 1; [0074, 0137] – a chair with speakers, electronic furniture system), a transverse member including a frame (seat 70 and back 10 together base having a seat frame 60; [0204]); an electrical hub configured to selectively reside within the furniture assembly (amplifier assembly 202 (electrical hub) to reside within amplifier box 401 underneath seat 70 within furniture assembly (Figs. 1, 2, 4; [0074, 0137]), with cushioning material disposed at least partially the frame, the transverse member includes an upholstery cover positioned over the cushioning material ([0182, 0270-0271]).
Kim and Cohen do not explicitly discuss a biasing mechanism for biasing the induction charger relative to a frame of the furniture assembly such that a portion of the induction charger is biased away from the frame.
Ayuba teaches a coil spring is positioned between seat cushion and chair main portion biases the cushion upwards (Title and Novelty).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ayuba into the teachings of Kim and Cohen for the purpose of biasing the cushion where a coil spring is positioned upwards from the frame.
Conclusion
/QUYNH H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693