Status of claim(s) to be treated in this office action:
a. Independent: 1, 13 and 16
b. Pending: 1-8, 10-17, 19-20
Claims 1, 13 and 16 have been amended and claims 9 and 18 are withdrawn.
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Specification
The new title is reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lekkala et al. (US 11043948).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lekkala discloses an apparatus (Fig. 4), comprising:
first and second input transistors of a first type (Fig. 4 shows nmos input transistors 110 and 112), gate nodes of the first and second input transistors coupled to first and second inputs (Fig. 4 shows two gates are connected to 101 and 102 respectively), respectively;
first and second load transistors of a second type (Fig. 4 shows pmos load transistors 120 and 122) coupled to the first and second input transistors in series, respectively (Fig. 4 shows series connection between corresponding input transistor and load transistor), the first input transistor and first load transistor coupled to a first output (Fig. 4 and (14) describes output node 219), the second input transistor and second load transistor coupled to a second output (Fig. 4 shows similar connection on the right side for transistors 112 and 122);
at least one resistor coupled to gate nodes of the first and second load transistors (Fig. 4 shows resistors 220 and 222 connected to gates of the load transistors), wherein the gate node of the first load transistor and the gate node of the second load transistor are different nodes and are separately coupled to a bias voltage through the at least one resistor (Fig. 4 shows gate nodes of the two load transistors are different and are electrically coupled to VCCA);
a first capacitive device coupled to the first input and to the gate node of the first load transistor (Fig. 4 shows capacitor 410 connected between input 101 and gate node of load transistor 120); and
a second capacitive device coupled to the second input and to the gate node of the second load transistor (Fig. 4 shows capacitor 412 connected between input 102 and gate node of load transistor 122).
Regarding claim 2, Lekkala discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and further the first and second capacitive devices comprise capacitors (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Lekkala discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and further the first capacitive device is coupled to the gate node of the first input transistor and to the gate node of the first load transistor, and the second capacitive device is coupled to the gate node of the second input transistor and to the gate node of the second load transistor (Fig. 4 shows the prescribed connections).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lekkala et al. (US 11043948) in view of Kollmann (US 20060049884).
Regarding claim 8, Lekkala discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Kollmann further the input transistors of the first type comprise PMOS transistors (Figs. 8-9 shows 38 and 39 as pmos transistors), and the load transistors of the second type comprise NMOS transistors (Figs. 8-9 shows 46 and 47 as nmos transistors).
Regarding claim 10, Lekkala discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Kollmann further the apparatus includes a clock input buffer, the clock input buffer including the first and second input transistors, the first and second load transistors, the at least one resistor (Figs. 8-9 and [0013]), and
Lekkala teaches the first and second capacitive devices and configured to receive external clock signals at the first and second inputs and output internal clock signals at the first and second outputs (Fig. 4 and (21)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Kollmann to Lekkala in order to provide with an oscillator circuit that has a simple structure and enables operation that is at least largely non-susceptible to interference as taught by Kollmann ([0007]).
Regarding claim 11, Lekkala and Kollmann together disclose all the elements of claim 10 as above and through Kollmann further the clock input buffer is a differential amplifier ([0037]-[0040] describes input stage designed as a differential amplifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Kollmann to modified Lekkala in order to provide with an oscillator circuit that has a simple structure and enables operation that is at least largely non-susceptible to interference as taught by Kollmann ([0007]).
Regarding claim 12, Lekkala discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Kollmann further a bias voltage generator configured to generate the bias voltage (Fig. 4 shows current source 54 to provide bias current. Here examiner asserts that current and voltage are interchangeable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Kollmann to Lekkala in order to provide with an oscillator circuit that has a simple structure and enables operation that is at least largely non-susceptible to interference as taught by Kollmann ([0007]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lekkala et al. (US 11043948) in view of Otori et al. (US 20020118587).
Regarding claim 3, Lekkala discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Otori further the first and second capacitive devices comprise MIS transistors ([0061] describes MIS transistors for capacitive elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Otori to Lekkala in order to improve the reliability of long-term data retention as taught by Otori ([0007]).
Regarding claim 4, Lekkala discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Otori further the first and second capacitive devices comprise low threshold voltage MOS transistors ([0061] describes low threshold voltage MOS transistors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Otori to Lekkala in order to improve the reliability of long-term data retention as taught by Otori ([0007]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lekkala et al. (US 11043948) in view of Konishi et al. (JP 2010087284).
Regarding claim 6, Lekkala discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Konishi further the at least one resistor comprises a plurality of resistors coupled in series between the gate nodes of the first and second load transistors (pg.: 11 describes a resistance circuit including a plurality of resistance elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Konishi to Lekkala in order to simplify the manufacturing process and reduce the manufacturing cost as taught by Konishi (TECH-PROBLEM).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lekkala et al. (US 11043948) in view of Konishi et al. (JP 2010087284) and Kollmann (US 20060049884).
Regarding claim 7, Lekkala and Konishi together disclose all the elements of claim 6 as above and through Kollmann further a common node of the series-coupled resistors is coupled to the bias voltage (Figs. 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Kollmann to modified Lekkala in order to provide with an oscillator circuit that has a simple structure and enables operation that is at least largely non-susceptible to interference as taught by Kollmann ([0007]).
Applicant stated on Remarks submitted on 2/2/2026 that all independent claims 1, 13 and 16 encompass either same or substantially same claim features drawn in Figs. 3A-3B, 7A-7B and 8A-8B.
Therefore, claims 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected by same way as claims 1-8 and 10-12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection rely on previously used references but applied in a different fashion.
Rejections are maintained at-least for above mentioned reasons. Details will be found under “Claim Rejections”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SULTANA BEGUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 6/9/2026