CTNF 18/751,863 CTNF 90020 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. DETAILED ACTION This communication is in response to Application No. 18/751,863 filed on 24 June 2024. This application claims FOR priority to GB2309570.6 filed on 26 June 2023. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation Claim 8 recites “the user equipment of of claim 1.” Examiner will interpret the second “of” as a duplicate. For the purpose of this examination, Examiner will interpret the preamble to mean “the user equipment of claim 1.” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 17 states “determine, based on the physical random access channel transmission, that the user equipment should reattempt the physical random access channel transmission. transmit, to the user equipment, a random access response indicating a backoff timer, wherein the backoff timer is selected based on a selected physical random access channel transmission.” The claim comprises two “.” It is not clear if the claim comprises “determine, based on the physical random access channel transmission, that the user equipment should reattempt the physical random access channel transmission,” “transmit, to the user equipment, a random access response indicating a backoff timer, wherein the backoff timer is selected based on a selected physical random access channel transmission,” or bot limitations. Thus, this claim is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this claim to mean “determine, based on the physical random access channel transmission, that the user equipment should reattempt the physical random access channel transmission.” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2024/0121830 A1 to Ma et al and in view of US PGPUB 2024/0259088 A1 to Rune et al . Regarding Claim 1 , Ma discloses a user equipment (FIG. 7, UE 702) , comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to: receive, from a network node, a message indicating a plurality of physical random access channel configurations and at least one relative location threshold (FIG. 7, 0068, and 0094-0096 provides for UE receives, from BS 704, a PRACH configuration indication and relative location of UE to some known location) ; and perform a random access procedure based on the selected physical random access channel configuration (FIG. 7 step 714 and 0101 provides for UE performing a RACH procedure based on the PRACH configuration) . Ma doesn’t explicitly disclose determine, based on comparing a relative location of the user equipment to the at least one relative location threshold, a selected physical random access channel configuration out of the plurality of physical random access channel configurations, wherein the at least one relative location threshold defines at least one threshold associated with: a distance, an azimuth angle, an elevation angle relative to a cell reference point, or a cell movement path, or a threshold amount of time remaining for a user equipment in a cell associated with the network node. Rune, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses determine, based on comparing a relative location of the user equipment to the at least one relative location threshold, a selected physical random access channel configuration out of the plurality of physical random access channel configurations (0231 provides for determining position to the approximate cell center is configured as an option in the network for gNB to configure a UE with a reference position) , wherein the at least one relative location threshold defines at least one threshold associated with: a distance (0231 provides for distance to a reference position that is common for all UEs in the cell) , an azimuth angle, an elevation angle relative to a cell reference point, or a cell movement path, or a threshold amount of time remaining for a user equipment in a cell associated with the network node. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filed date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Rune for referencing a cell center. The approximate cell center of Rune, when implemented with the PRACH format selection of the Ma system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to configuring relative location for a UE cell center in order to configure communication with the optimal UE based on distance to a specific point. Therefore, the examiner concludes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to utilize the approximate cell center of Rune with the PRACH format selection of the Ma system for the desirable purpose of configuring devices in a non-terrestrial network system. Regarding Claim 2 , the Ma/Rune system discloses the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the message indicates at least two separate physical random access channel configurations (Ma, FIG. 7 step 708 and 0096 provides for the message comprises an indication of a first PRACH configuration and a second PRACH configuration) . Regarding Claim 3 , the Ma/Rune system discloses the user equipment of claim 2, wherein the at least two separate physical random access channel configurations utilize one of: different sets of preambles, but share same time-frequency domain resources (Ma, 0130 provides for PRACH preambles and one or more time-frequency resources) ; or different sets of time-frequency domain resources, but share same set of preambles. Regarding Claim 4 , the Ma/Rune system discloses the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the message indicates a first physical random access channel configuration and a scaling factor, wherein the scaling factor defines a scaled physical random access channel configuration which is a subset of the first physical random access channel configuration (Rune, page 2, Table RACH-ConfigGeneric field descriptions provides for “Scaling factor for ROs defined in the baseline configuration indicated by prach”) . Same motivation as claim 1. Regarding Claim 5 , the Ma/Rune system discloses the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the relative location describes one or more of: a distance relative to at least one of: a cell movement path, an orbit or a cell reference point (Rune, 0231 provides for 0231 provides for approximate cell center) ; an azimuth angle and an elevation angle to a cell movement path or an orbit or a cell reference point; or cell availability time. Same motivation as claim 1. Regarding Claim 6 , the Ma/Rune system discloses the user equipment of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of physical random access channel configurations defines at least one of: a set of random access channel preambles, a set of random access channel opportunities, or a backoff parameter (Rune, 0023 provides for a backoff indicator) . Same motivation as claim 1. Regarding Claim 7 , the Ma/Rune system discloses the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the plurality of physical random access channels comprises: a primary physical random access channel configuration which defines a set of random access channel preambles and a set of random access channel opportunities; and a secondary physical random access channel configuration which defines at least one random access channel preamble or at least one random access channel opportunity different from the primary physical random access channel configuration (Ma, FIG. 7 step 708 and 0096 provides for the message comprises an indication of a first PRACH configuration and a second PRACH configuration) . Regarding Claim 8 , the Ma/Rune system discloses the user equipment of of claim 1, wherein the user equipment is further caused to: receive a random access response indicating a failure; and transmit, to the network node, the physical random access channel transmission based on the selected physical random access channel configuration and a backoff timer associated with the selected physical random access channel configuration (Rune, 0023 provides for a backoff indicator) . Same motivation as claim 1. Regarding Claim 9 , Ma discloses a network node (FIG. 7, BS 704) , comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network node to: configure a plurality of physical random access channel configurations, wherein the plurality of physical random access channel configurations are associated with a plurality of relative locations with respect to a cell associated with the network node (FIG. 7, 0068, and 0094-0096 provides for BS 704 configures a PRACH configuration indication and relative location of UE to some known location) ; and transmit, to a user equipment, a message configured by the network node that indicates a plurality of physical random access channel configurations and at least one threshold associated with the plurality of relative locations (FIG. 7 and 0094-0101 provides for BE 704 transmits, to UE 702, a PRACH configuration) . Ma doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the at least one relative location threshold defines at least one threshold associated with: a distance, an azimuth angle, an elevation angle relative to a cell reference point, or a cell movement path, or a threshold amount of time remaining for a user equipment in a cell associated with the network node. Rune, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses wherein the at least one relative location threshold (0231 provides for determining position to the approximate cell center is configured as an option in the network for gNB to configure a UE with a reference position) defines at least one threshold associated with: a distance (0231 provides for distance to a reference position that is common for all UEs in the cell) , an azimuth angle, an elevation angle relative to a cell reference point, or a cell movement path, or a threshold amount of time remaining for a user equipment in a cell associated with the network node. Same motivation as claim 1. Regarding Claim 10 , similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 2 teaches the network node of claim 10. Regarding Claim 11 , similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 3 teaches the network node of claim 11. Regarding Claim 12 , similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 4 teaches the network node of claim 12. Regarding Claim 13 , similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 5 teaches the network node of claim 13. Regarding Claim 14 , similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 6 teaches the network node of claim 14. Regarding Claim 15 , similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 7 teaches the network node of claim 15. Regarding Claim 16 , the Ma/Rune system discloses the network node of claim 9, wherein the network node is further caused to: receive, from the user equipment, a physical random access channel transmission associated with a selected physical random access channel configuration (Ma, FIG. 7 step 708 and 0096 provides for the message comprises an indication of a first PRACH configuration and a second PRACH configuration) , wherein the selected physical random access channel configuration is associated with a relative position of the user equipment compared to the threshold (Rune, 0231 provides for determining position to the approximate cell center is configured as an option in the network for gNB to configure a UE with a reference position) . Same motivation as claim 1. Regarding Claim 17 , the Ma/Rune system discloses the network node of claim 16, wherein the network node is further caused to: determine, based on the physical random access channel transmission, that the user equipment should reattempt the physical random access channel transmission. transmit, to the user equipment, a random access response indicating a backoff timer, wherein the backoff timer is selected based on a selected physical random access channel transmission (Rune, 0023 provides for a backoff indicator) . Same motivation as claim 1. Regarding Claim 18 , similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 1 teaches the network node of claim 18. Regarding Claim 19 , similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 2 teaches the network node of claim 19. Regarding Claim 20 , similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 3 teaches the network node of claim 20 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US PGPUB 2026/0113752 A1 to Shi et al discloses a PRACH-Config index usable to transmit random access preamble. US PGPUB 2025/0113383 A1 to Lei discloses a PRACH configuration index to calculate the distance between a satellite and a beam area. US PGPUB 2024/0113765 A1 to Esswie discloses coverage extension of Random Access channels. US PGPUB 2022/0131599 A1 to Kim discloses timing management in a communication system between a satellite and a terminal. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SCHQUITA GOODWIN whose telephone number is (571)272-5477. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9am - 5pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tonia Dollinger can be reached on (571) 272-4170. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SCHQUITA D GOODWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/751,863 Page 2 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/751,863 Page 3 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/751,863 Page 4 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/751,863 Page 5 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/751,863 Page 6 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/751,863 Page 7 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/751,863 Page 8 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/751,863 Page 9 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/751,863 Page 10 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/751,863 Page 11 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/751,863 Page 12 Art Unit: 2459