DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/24/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4,7,10,16,17,19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Briere (US 2007/0026587).
Regarding claim 1, Briere teaches a semiconductor device in fig. 2 comprising:
a two-dimensional (2D) material layer (14) extending in a first direction (refer to horizontal or x-axis direction);
a source electrode and a drain electrode (16/18) each electrically connected to the 2D material layer (14);
an insulating layer (22/24) on the 2D material layer (14); and
a gate electrode (26) being apart from the 2D material layer in a second direction (refer to vertical or y-axis direction) perpendicular to the first direction,
wherein the insulating layer includes a dopant (see par. 29).
Regarding claim 4, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Brier teaches the insulating layer comprises traps (see par. 28).
Regarding claim 7, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Brier teaches a region of the 2D material layer overlapping the gate electrode in the second direction exhibits semiconductor characteristics (see pars. 26-27).
Regarding claim 10, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Brier teaches the dopant is uniformly present in an entire region of the insulating layer (see par. 29).
Regarding claim 16, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Brier teaches the semiconductor device is a field effect transistor (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Briere teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device in fig. 2, the method comprising:
forming a two-dimensional (2D) material layer (14) extending in a first direction (refer to horizontal or x-axis direction) on a substrate (10);
forming a source electrode and a drain electrode (16/18) on edges of the substrate;
forming an insulating layer (22/24) on the 2D material layer (refer to 14); and
implanting a dopant into the insulating layer (see par. 29).
Regarding claim 19, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Briere teaches after the implanting, forming a gate electrode on the insulating layer (see par. 29).
Regarding claim 20, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Briere teaches after the implanting, annealing the insulating layer (see par. 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Briere (US 2007/0026587) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oh (US 2016/0104790).
Regarding claim 6, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for a region of the 2D material layer overlapping the gate electrode in the second direction operates as a channel.
Oh teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein a region of the 2D material layer overlapping the gate electrode in the second direction operates as a channel (see par. 39 and fig. 3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include a region of the 2D material layer overlapping the gate electrode in the second direction operates as a channel as taught by Oh in the teaching of Briere in order to obtain a high mobility, and the band gap characteristic may be readily controlled by a doping material (see par. 31).
Regarding claim 9, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for the 2D material layer comprises graphene, transition metal dichalcogenide (TMD), or black phosphorus.
Oh teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein the 2D material layer comprises graphene, transition metal dichalcogenide (TMD), or black phosphorus (see par. 31).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the 2D material layer comprises graphene, transition metal dichalcogenide (TMD), or black phosphorus as taught by Oh in the teaching of Briere in order to obtain a high mobility, and the band gap characteristic may be readily controlled by a doping material (see par. 31).
Regarding claim 11, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for the insulating layer comprises metal oxide.
Oh teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein the insulating layer comprises metal oxide (see par. 35).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the insulating layer comprises metal oxide as taught by Oh in the teaching of Briere because it reduces tunneling leakage.
Regarding claim 12, Briere and Oh teach all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Oh teaches the metal oxide comprises Si, Al, La, Ti, Zr, Hf, Mg, Ge, Y, Lu, or Sr (see par. 35).
Regarding claim 13, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for the 2D material layer comprises a plurality of layers.
Oh teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein the 2D material layer comprises a plurality of layers (see par. 31).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the 2D material layer comprises a plurality of layers as taught by Oh in the teaching of Briere in order to obtain a high mobility, and the band gap characteristic may be readily controlled by a doping material (see par. 31).
Regarding claim 14, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for the gate electrode comprises metal, conductive nitride, or conductive oxide.
Oh teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein the gate electrode comprises metal, conductive nitride, or conductive oxide (see par. 36).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the gate electrode comprises metal, conductive nitride, or conductive oxide as taught by Oh in the teaching of Briere since metal, conductive nitride or conductive oxide are commonly used in the HEMT device because they have relatively high melting points and good thermal/chemical stability.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Briere (US 2007/0026587) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dang (US 2008/0111157).
Regarding claim 15, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for a width of the gate electrode is about 10 nm to about 100 nm.
Dang teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein a width of the gate electrode is about 10 nm to about 100 nm (see par. 43).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include a width of the gate electrode is about 10 nm to about 100 nm as taught by Dang in the teaching of Briere so that the gate electrode has a gate capacitance sufficiently low enough to permit use in a semiconductor device for sub-millimeter wave amplifier operating from 300 GHz to 3 THz (see par. 43).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Briere (US 2007/0026587) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takao (JP 2504442 B2)
Regarding claim 18, Briere teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for before the implanting, forming a gate electrode on the insulating layer, wherein the implanting implants the dopant into the insulating layer by using the gate electrode as a mask.
Takao teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein before the implanting, forming a gate electrode (76) to serves as a doping mask (see fig. 7a and its corresponding text).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include before the implanting, forming a gate electrode to serves as a doping mask as taught by Takao in the teaching of Briere such that the implanting implants the dopant into the insulating layer by using the gate electrode as a mask because it simplifies the manufacturing step of making the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest “the dopant is present in both edge regions of the insulating layer that do not overlap the gate electrode in the second direction.”
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest “the dopant comprises P+, As+, B-, Al-, or H+.”
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest “the traps are present in both edge regions of the insulating layer that do not overlap the gate electrode in the second direction.”
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest “an edge region of the 2D material layer that does not overlap the gate electrode in the second direction exhibits metal characteristics.”
Conclusion
/NIKI H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818