DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-22, in the reply filed on 1/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear whether "a second cleaning gas mixture", as recited in line 11, is the same or different from " a second cleaning gas mixture" in line 8 of claim 1. Claim 4 is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by "20@ % carbon". Claim 8 is indefinite because "the ratio" and "the flow rate" lacks positive antecedent basis. Claims 10 and 12 are indefinite because "the flow rate" lacks positive antecedent basis. Claims 14-16 are indefinite because 500 mTorr is equivalent to 66.66Pa and 5000 mTorr is equivalent to 666.7Pa. Re claims 14-16, applicant is claiming 66700Pa and 667000Pa, which are incorrect conversions. Claim 17 is indefinite because it is unclear what applicant considers as high frequency. Claim 22 is indefinite because it is unclear what the skilled artisan would consider as a pre-decomposition chamber treatment, as the limitations are broadly interpreted to read on any type of treatment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by San et al. (US6767836).
Re claim 1, San et al. teach a method of cleaning a chamber of a plasma processing device (i.e. CVD reactor, col. 2, lines 40-45) to remove depositions formed after the plasma processing device has been used to deposit a dielectric material (col. 2, lines 40-50, col. 3, lines 30-35) comprising silicon and carbon, the method comprising introducing a first cleaning gas mixture into the chamber through a first gas inlet 14 (Fig. 5, col.10, lines 1-15), the first cleaning gas mixture comprising a first oxygen containing component and an inert gas (col. 10, lines 1-10), generating a first plasma in the chamber (col. 10, lines 1-15), which teaches that oxygen dissociates in the plasma chamber 4 into reactive species (i.e. in-situ oxygen plasma cleaning), introducing a second cleaning gas mixture comprising a fluorine-containing component (NF3, col. 10, lines 36-65), into a remote plasma source 10, generating a second plasma comprising fluorine radicals (col. 10, lines 45-50), performing a second cleaning step by allowing the fluorine radicals from the second plasma to enter the chamber and introducing a third cleaning gas mixture (pre-mixed oxygen containing gas of oxygen and argon, col. 1, lines 38-40), at the same time as the fluorine radicals, wherein the third cleaning gas mixture comprises a second oxygen containing component (col. 10, lines 35-55). Re claim 2, refer to col. 10, lines 40-50 which teaches introducing oxygen mixed with argon first, followed by the introduction of NF3 to form fluorine reactive radicals. Re claim 3, refer to col. 9-10 bridging which teaches SiC (silicon carbide). Re claim 4, in view of the indefinite the limitations are met as it's unclear what applicant is trying to claim. Re claims 5-7, refer to col. 10, lines 20-25 and 35-45. Re claim 8-9, applicant is directed to the tables recited in cols. 5-6, wherein NF3 has a flow rate of 5.0 slm to O2 having a flow rate of 0.1-3.0 slm, which falls within applicant's claimed range. Re claims 10-13, 1slm is equivalent to 1000 sccm. Col. 5-6 bridging teaches NF3 having a flow rate of 0.2-5.0 slm, which is equivalent to 200 to 5000sccm, which reads on the claimed flow rates of fluorine containing component of claims 10-11. Re claims 12-13, applicant is direction to col. 5-6 bridging which teaches 0.1-3.0 slm, which is equivalent to 100-3000sccm of O2. Re claims 14-15, applicant is claiming a pressure of 500mTorr, which is equivalent to 67 Pa, applicant is directed to col. 5, lines 15-25. Re claim 16, applicant is directed to col. 5, lines 60-65, which teaches pressures of 10-1350Pa, which is within applicant's claimed range. Re claim 17, refer to col. 4, lines 15-20 for example. Re claim 18, refer to col. 4, lines 45-50 which teaches RF power within the claimed range. Re claim 19, refer to col. 4, lines 35-50. Re claim 21, the limitations are met as the claim broadly reads on generating a plasma outside of the chamber. Applicant is directed to col. 5, lines 40-45 which teaches that the oxygen fluorine plasma step, an initial plasma maybe generated in the plasma chamber prior to being introduced into the CVD reactor. Re claim 22, the limitations are met in view of Fig. 1A. Specifically, after the fluorine plasma cleaning step, the process is repeated and another wafer is loaded and film is deposited on the wafer (step 140), which reads on a pre-deposition chamber treatment step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over San et al. (US 6767836) in view of Nowak et al. (US 2003/0010355A1).
San et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of determining an endpoint detection. Nowak et al. teach cleaning semiconductor processing equipment by introducing precursor gases comprising NF3 to form fluorine cleaning radicals (paragraph 28). Paragraph 39 teaches an endpoint detector 180 can be used to determine the completion of the cleaning process by detecting the contamination levels as the cleaning reactions proceed (paragraph 40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of San et al., to include an endpoint detector, as taught by Nowak et al., for purposes of determining the completion of the cleaning process.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. teach in situ plasma cleaning. Fang et al. teach plasma cleaning of a deposition chamber. Yonemoto et al. teach a plasma processing method. Takagi et al. teach a plurality of plasma cleaning steps. Lakshmanan et al. teach using CF4. Chen et al. teach cleaning a plasma chamber with NF3. Shimizu et al. teach using O2 and fluorine for cleaning.
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 bsc