DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0238793 (“FRANKEL”).
Regarding claim 1, FRANKEL teaches an interposer (340) comprising: a transparent core (pars. [0013], [0020], [0023], [0027], [0031], [0042]) comprising a cavity (FIG. 3) and an optical waveguide (325) formed in a surface of the cavity (FIG. 3); an optical source (355) disposed within the cavity and coupled with the optical waveguide (FIG. 3); a photonic integrated circuit (320) disposed within the cavity and coupled with the optical waveguide (FIG. 3), the photonic integrated circuit, the optical source, and the transparent core being co-planar to each other (FIG. 3); and a redistribution layer (137) disposed on the transparent core (FIG. 1) and comprising metal traces coupled with the optical source (FIG. 1; par. [0016]).
Regarding claim 14, FRANKEL teaches a chip assembly (FIG. 1) comprising: an integrated circuit (IC) die stack (130) comprising a plurality of IC dies (130A, 130B); an interposer (140) disposed under the IC die stack and comprising a transparent core (pars. [0013], [0020], [0023], [0027], [0031], [0042]); and a package substrate (145) disposed under the interposer, the interposer coupling the IC die stack with the package substrate (FIG. 1), wherein the transparent core comprises: a cavity (FIG. 3) and an optical waveguide (325) formed in a surface of the cavity; an optical source (355) disposed within the cavity and coupled with the optical waveguide (FIG. 3); a photonic integrated circuit (320) disposed within the cavity and coupled with the optical waveguide, the photonic integrated circuit, the optical source, and the transparent core being co-planar to each other (FIG. 3); and a redistribution layer (137) disposed on the transparent core and comprising metal traces coupled with the optical source (FIG. 1; par. [0016]).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, FRANKEL teaches that the optical waveguide includes a vertical segment (325) and a horizontal segment (315) and flushes with the surface of the cavity (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 3, FRANKEL teaches that the optical waveguide is formed on the surface of the cavity (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 4, FRANKEL teaches that the optical waveguide has a refractive index ranging between about 1.4 and about 2.4 (par. [0023]).
Regarding claim 6, FRANKEL teaches that the optical waveguide couples to a bottom surface of the optical source (FIG. 3).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, FRANKEL teaches an adhesion film securing the optical source to the surface of the cavity (pars. [0018], [0044]).
Regarding claim 11, FRANKEL teaches a first via (127) passing through the transparent core (FIG. 1).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, FRANKEL teaches that the first via is coupled with a second via disposed in the redistribution layer (FIG. 1; par. [0016]).
Regarding claim 13, FRANKEL teaches that the first via is coupled with a third via disposed in the photonic integrated circuit (FIG. 1; par. [0016]).
Regarding claim 20, FRANKEL teaches a method for making an integrated chip (IC) chip assembly (FIGs. 1, 3), the method comprising: forming an interposer (340) that comprises an optical waveguide (325) coupled with an optical source (355) and a photonic integrated circuit (320), wherein forming the interposer comprises: forming a cavity within a transparent core (pars. [0013], [0020], [0023], [0027], [0031], [0042]); forming a through via (127) in the transparent core; forming the optical waveguide within the cavity; disposing the optical source within the cavity; and disposing the photonic integrated circuit within the cavity (FIG. 3); mounting the interposer on a package substrate (145); positioning an IC die stack (130) on the interposer (FIG. 1); and coupling the optical waveguide of the interposer with an IC die stack of the IC chip assembly (FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRANKEL.
FRANKEL teaches that the optical waveguide has a refractive index ranging between about 1.4 and about 2.4 (par. [0023]). The additional limitations that the optical waveguide has a thickness ranging between about 5 mm and about 15 mm appears to involve mere optimization. It has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to optimize the waveguide thickness of FRANKEL so as to be within the claimed range of between about 5 mm and about 15 mm.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRANKEL in view of US 2023/0092821 (“KARHADE”).
FRANKEL teaches the limitations of the respective base claims. FRANKEL does not teach a lens coupled with the optical waveguide. KARHADE teaches an optical interposer wherein a lens is coupled with an optical waveguide (par. [00150]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the interposer of FRANKEL such that a lens is coupled with the optical waveguide, as taught by KARHADE. The motivation would have been to improve optical efficiency.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRANKEL in view of US 2025/0017110 (“SU”).
FRANKEL teaches the limitations of the base claim 1. FRANKEL does not teach the redistribution layer comprises a heat sink coupled with the optical source, wherein the heat sink comprises a plurality of vias and pads. SU teaches a redistribution layer (60) comprising a heat sink (50) coupled with an optical source, wherein the heat sink comprises a plurality of vias (414) and pads (613, 614). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the interposer of FRANKEL such that the redistribution layer comprises a heat sink coupled with the optical source, as taught by SU. The motivation would have been to achieve desired heat dissipation.
Conclusion
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874