DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 8/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected process, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/25/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lewandowski (US 2022/0020715).
With regards to claim 1, fig. 15 of Lewandowski discloses a quantum device 1500 comprising: a quantum chip 1306; a first interposer 308 which faces the quantum chip 1306; and bumps (608, 1008) provided at locations between the first interposer 308 and the quantum chip 1306, the bumps (1008, 608) including first bumps 1008 and second bumps 608, wherein the first bumps 1008 contain at least a superconducting material (“injection-molded solder interconnects 1008 can exhibit low yield strengths and low melting temperatures, as well as superconductivity”, par [0078]), and the second bumps 608 are made of a different material (“injection-molded solder pillars 608 can exhibit high yield strengths and high melting temperatures”, par [0065]) from the first bumps 1008.
With regards to claim 2, fig. 15 of Lewandowski discloses that the second bumps 608 contain a material having a higher melting point (“injection-molded solder pillars 608 can exhibit high yield strengths and high melting temperatures”, par [0065]) than the first bumps (“injection-molded solder interconnects 1008 can exhibit low yield strengths and low melting temperatures”, par [0078]).
With regards to claim 3, fig. 15 of Lewandowski discloses that the first bumps 1008 are provided in a first area (area of 1008) where a circuit of the quantum chip 1306 is connected 1308 to the first bumps 1008, the circuit containing a superconducting material (“ superconducting qubit devices”, par [0016]), and the second bumps 608 are provided in a second area (area of 608) other than the first area (area of 1008).
With regards to claim 4, fig. 15 of Lewandowski discloses that the first bumps 1008 are disposed inside (1008 disposed on the inner sided of 608) the second bumps 608.
With regards to claim 5, fig. 15 of Lewandowski discloses that the first bumps 1008 are provided in a first area (area of 1008) near a center of the quantum chip 1306, and the second bumps 608 are provided in a second area (area of 608) farther from the center of the quantum chip 1306 than the first area (area of 1008) are.
With regards to claim 6, figs. 14-15 of Lewandowski discloses that at least three of the second bumps (three 608 around perimeter of 308 in top left fig. of fig. 14) are disposed outside of an area where the first bumps 1008 are present.
With regards to claim 7, figs. 14-15 of Lewandowski discloses that the first bumps 1008 and the second bumps 608 are arranged in a matrix 1402.
With regards to claim 8, fig. 16 of Lewandowski discloses that a second interposer 308 provided on a surface (bottom of 1306) of the first interposer 1306 opposite to a surface (top of 1306) of the first interposer 1306 which faces the quantum chip 1602, wherein third bumps 1008 have a lower melting point (“injection-molded solder interconnects 1008 can exhibit low yield strengths and low melting temperatures”, par [0078]) than the second bumps 1610 and are provided between the first interposer 1306 and the second interposer 308.
With regards to claim 9, fig. 15 of Lewandowski discloses that the first bumps 1008 contain at least indium (“injection-molded solder interconnects can be formed from indium “, par [0031]), and the second bumps 608 contain at least a material other than indium (“copper”, par [0027]).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN TZU-HUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893