DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 15 recite the limitation “the holes.” It is unclear whether the limitation refers holes in the first region, second region, or both regions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 7,476,291).
Regarding clam 1, Wang discloses a gas distribution element, comprising at least two regions (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1, Region 1, Region 4) with different hole distribution densities (Figure 2, The holes in region 4 are greater than that of region 1, which provides for a greater hole distribution density of region 4).
Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the gas distribution element of claim 1, wherein the gas distribution element comprises a first region (Region 1) defined by a first distance radially extending outward from a geometric center (Figure 2, the distance from the innermost edge of the openings in region 1 to the outermost edge of the openings in region 1), and a second region (Region 4) defined by a second distance radially extending from an outermost edge toward the geometric center (Figure 2, the distance from the outermost edge of the openings in region 4 to the innermost edge of the openings in region 4); and the first region and the second region respectively have holes with different distribution densities (The density of Region 4 is larger than that of Region 1).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the gas distribution element of claim 2, further comprising at least one third region (Region 3) located between the first region and the second region (Figure 2), wherein the third region has a hole distribution density different from those of the first region and the second region (The density of Region 3 is smaller than that of Region 4 and larger than that of Region 1).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the gas distribution element of claim 2, wherein a ratio of the hole distribution densities of the first region (Region 1) and the second region (Region 4) is 1:(2-4) (The inner region has 8 holes and the second region has 24 holes, which is equivalent to a 1:3 ratio).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the gas distribution element of claim 3, wherein a ratio of the hole distribution densities of the first region (Region 1) and the third region (Region 3) is 1:(2-8) (Region 1 has 8 holes and Region 3 has 16 holes, which is equivalent to a 1:2 ratio).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses a heat treatment device, comprising a gas distribution element (112), wherein the gas distribution element comprises at least two regions (04, 05) with different hole distribution densities (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the heat treatment device of claim 9, wherein the gas distribution element (112) is arranged on an inner side of a side wall (102) at a gas inlet end (The element is arranged at an inlet end about opening 110) of the heat treatment device (100) (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the heat treatment device of claim 9, wherein the gas distribution element comprises a first region (Region 1) defined by a first distance radially extending outward from a geometric center (Figure 2, the distance from the innermost edge of the openings in region 1 to the outermost edge of the openings in region 1), and a second region (Region 4) defined by a second distance radially extending from an outermost edge toward the geometric center (Figure 2, the distance from the outermost edge of the openings in region 4 to the innermost edge of the openings in region 4); and the first region and the second region respectively have holes with different distribution densities (The density of Region 4 is larger than that of Region 1).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses the heat treatment device of claim 11, wherein the gas distribution element further comprises at least one third region (Region 3) located between the first region and the second region (Figure 2), wherein the third region has a hole distribution density different from those of the first region and the second region (The density of Region 3 is smaller than that of Region 4 and larger than that of Region 1).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses the heat treatment device of claim 11, wherein a ratio of the hole distribution densities of the first region (Region 1) and the second region (Region 4) is 1:(2-4) (The inner region has 8 holes and the second region has 24 holes, which is equivalent to a 1:3 ratio).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses the heat treatment device of claim 11, wherein a ratio of the hole distribution densities of the first region (Region 1) and the third region (Region 3) is 1:(2-8) (Region 1 has 8 holes and Region 3 has 16 holes, which is equivalent to a 1:2 ratio).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 9, 11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Mao (CN 111599720).
Regarding clam 1, Mao discloses a gas distribution element, comprising at least two regions (Figure 6, 05, 04) with different hole distribution densities (Figure 6, The holes in 05 are greater than that of 04).
Regarding claim 2, Mao discloses the gas distribution element of claim 1, wherein the gas distribution element comprises a first region (05) defined by a first distance radially extending outward from a geometric center (Figure 6, the distance from the center, outward to the beginning of Region 05 defines the first region), and a second region (04) defined by a second distance radially extending from an outermost edge toward the geometric center (Figure 6, the distance from the outermost edge of 04 to the beginning of 05); and the first region and the second region respectively have holes with different distribution densities (The density of Region 05 is larger than that of 04).
Regarding claim 6, Mao discloses the gas distribution element of claim 2, wherein inner diameters of the holes are 1 to 10 mm (Page 2, Contents of the invention, paragraphs 7-8).
Regarding claim 7, Mao discloses the gas distribution element of claim 2, wherein inner diameters of the holes are different in different regions (Page 4, paragraph 2, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 8, Mao discloses the gas distribution element of claim 6, wherein the inner diameters of the holes are different in different regions (Page 4, paragraph 2, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, Mao discloses a heat treatment device, comprising a gas distribution element (Abstract, gas distribution plate), wherein the gas distribution element comprises at least two regions (04, 05) with different hole distribution densities (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 11, Mao discloses the heat treatment device of claim 9, wherein the gas distribution element comprises a first region (05) defined by a first distance radially extending outward from a geometric center (Figure 6, the distance from the center, outward to the beginning of Region 05 defines the first region), and a second region (04) defined by a second distance radially extending from an outermost edge toward the geometric center (Figure 6, the distance from the outermost edge of 04 to the beginning of 05); and the first region and the second region respectively have holes with different distribution densities (The density of Region 05 is larger than that of 04).
Regarding claim 15, Mao discloses the heat treatment device of claim 11, wherein inner diameters of the holes are 1 to 10 mm (Page 2, Contents of the invention, paragraphs 7-8).
Regarding claim 16, Mao discloses the heat treatment device of claim 11, wherein inner diameters of the holes are different in different regions (Page 4, paragraph 2, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 17, Mao discloses the heat treatment device of claim 16, wherein the inner diameters of the holes are different in different regions (Page 4, paragraph 2, lines 1-4).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752