DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brezoczky et al. (US 20220406640 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Brezoczky teaches:
An apparatus for processing a semiconductor substrate (S) comprising:
one or more semiconductor substrate handling devices (120 & 185) through which the semiconductor substrate can be introduced to and/or removed from the apparatus [0047 & 0049 & 0050];
a plurality of process chambers (160A & 160B & 160C & 160D & 160E & 160F) for processing the semiconductor substrate [0045 & 0046]; and
a transport module (180) for transporting the semiconductor substrate under vacuum conditions between the one or more semiconductor substrate handling devices and the plurality of process chambers [0046 & 0056 & 0058];
in which the transport module comprises:
a vacuum chamber (100) comprising a main chamber (150) and a degas sub-chamber (192A & 192B);
a first pumping system in connection with the main chamber for maintaining a vacuum within the main chamber [0045 & 0054];
a second pumping system in connection with the degas sub-chamber for maintaining a vacuum within the degas sub-chamber [0048 & 0050];
at least one transport device (185) for transporting the semiconductor substrate between desired locations which include the one or more semiconductor substrate handling devices and the plurality of process chambers [0046 & 0056 & 0058];
a substrate support (391); and
a lifting device (392 & 502) for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position (Fig. 5A) [0043 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080];
the lifting device being configured so that the lowered position allows the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) the semiconductor substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the processing chamber (Fig. 3B) and (ii) the processing chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the processing chamber by the first pumping system (Fig. 3C) [0043 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080];
the processing chambers and degas chambers are both capable of performing an etching process on the substrate [0043 & 0045].
Brezoczky does not explicitly teach:
the degas sub chamber comprises:
a substrate support; and
a lifting device for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position;
the lifting device being configured so that the lowered position allows the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) the semiconductor substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the degas sub-chamber and (ii) the degas sub-chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the degas sub-chamber by the second pumping system.
Although Brezoczky is silent on the design of the degas chamber it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degas chamber taught by Brezoczky with the substrate processing chamber substrate support, lifting device for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position, where the lifting device is configured so that the lowered position allows the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) the semiconductor substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the processing chamber and (ii) the processing chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the processing chamber by the first pumping system taught by the same reference and performing the same/similar etching function in order to provide the appropriate structure for accommodating an etching process in a vacuum environment which utilizes the same systems as the other chambers in the system in order to simplify the design of the system thereby reducing maintenance costs and maintenance training requirements.
Regarding Claim 2, Brezoczky teaches:
the vacuum chamber further comprises an auxiliary sub-chamber (204B) disposed between the main chamber and the processing chamber (Fig. 3B) wherein, in its lowered position, the substrate support is disposed within the auxiliary sub-chamber to allow the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support (Fig. 3B).
Brezoczky does not explicitly teach:
the vacuum chamber further comprises an auxiliary sub-chamber disposed between the main chamber and the degas sub-chamber wherein, in its lowered position, the substrate support is disposed within the auxiliary sub-chamber to allow the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support.
Although Brezoczky is silent on the design of the degas chamber it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degas chamber taught by Brezoczky with the substrate processing chamber substrate support, lifting device for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position, where the lifting device is configured so that the lowered position allows the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) the semiconductor substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the processing chamber and (ii) the processing chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the processing chamber by the first pumping system, where the vacuum chamber further comprises an auxiliary sub-chamber disposed between the main chamber and the processing chamber wherein, in its lowered position, the substrate support is disposed within the auxiliary sub-chamber to allow the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support taught by the same reference and performing the same/similar etching function in order to provide the appropriate structure for accommodating an etching process in a vacuum environment which utilizes the same systems as the other chambers in the system in order to simplify the design of the system thereby reducing maintenance costs and maintenance training requirements.
Regarding Claim 3, Brezoczky teaches:
the processing chamber is disposed above the auxiliary sub-chamber (Fig. 3B).
Brezoczky does not explicitly teach:
the degas sub-chamber is disposed above the auxiliary sub-chamber.
Although Brezoczky is silent on the design of the degas chamber it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degas chamber taught by Brezoczky with the substrate processing chamber substrate support, lifting device for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position, where the lifting device is configured so that the lowered position allows the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) the semiconductor substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the processing chamber and (ii) the processing chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the processing chamber by the first pumping system, where the vacuum chamber further comprises an auxiliary sub-chamber disposed between the main chamber and the processing chamber wherein, in its lowered position, the substrate support is disposed within the auxiliary sub-chamber to allow the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support, and the processing chamber is disposed above the auxiliary sub-chamber taught by the same reference and performing the same/similar etching function in order to provide the appropriate structure for accommodating an etching process in a vacuum environment which utilizes the same systems as the other chambers in the system in order to simplify the design of the system thereby reducing maintenance costs and maintenance training requirements.
Regarding Claim 4, Brezoczky teaches:
the auxiliary sub-chamber is in vacuum communication with the main chamber through an opening formed in the main chamber (0047).
Regarding Claim 5, Brezoczky teaches:
the degas sub-chamber is disposed in a peripheral region of the main chamber between two semiconductor substrate handling devices (120 & 155) (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Brezoczky teaches:
the one or more semiconductor substrate handling devices and the plurality of process chambers are each in vacuum communication with the main chamber of the transport module through respective openable and closeable gates (125A & 125B & 135A & 135B & 144A & 144B).
Regarding Claim 7, Brezoczky teaches:
the openable and closeable gates are slot valves [0047 & 0049 & 0050].
Regarding Claim 8, Brezoczky teaches:
the processing chamber is positioned above the slot valves (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3B).
Brezoczky does not explicitly teach:
the degas sub-chamber is positioned above the slot valves.
Although Brezoczky is silent on the design of the degas chamber it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degas chamber taught by Brezoczky with the substrate processing chamber substrate support, lifting device for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position, where the lifting device is configured so that the lowered position allows the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) the semiconductor substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the processing chamber and (ii) the processing chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the processing chamber by the first pumping system, where the processing chamber is positioned above the slot valves taught by the same reference and performing the same/similar etching function in order to provide the appropriate structure for accommodating an etching process in a vacuum environment which utilizes the same systems as the other chambers in the system in order to simplify the design of the system thereby reducing maintenance costs and maintenance training requirements.
Regarding Claim 9, Brezoczky teaches:
the one or more semiconductor substrate handling devices and the plurality of process chambers are disposed circumferentially around the main chamber (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Brezoczky teaches:
the degas sub-chamber comprises one or more heating devices for increasing the temperature of the semiconductor substrate [0047].
Regarding Claim 11, Brezoczky teaches:
the one or more heating devices are disposed above the lifting device (Fig. 3B & Fig. 5A).
Brezoczky does not explicitly teach:
the one or more heating devices are disposed above the lifting device.
Although Brezoczky is silent on the design of the degas chamber it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degas chamber taught by Brezoczky with the substrate processing chamber substrate support, lifting device for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position, where the lifting device is configured so that the lowered position allows the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) the semiconductor substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the processing chamber and (ii) the processing chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the processing chamber by the first pumping system, and the one or more heating devices are disposed above the lifting device taught by the same reference and performing the same/similar etching function in order to provide the appropriate structure for accommodating an etching process in a vacuum environment which utilizes the same systems as the other chambers in the system in order to simplify the design of the system thereby reducing maintenance costs and maintenance training requirements.
Regarding Claim 12, Brezoczky teaches:
the one or more heating devices comprise at least one device for emitting electromagnetic radiation, optionally at least one IR emitting device [0003].
Regarding Claim 13, Brezoczky teaches:
A transport module for transporting a semiconductor substrate (S) under vacuum conditions comprising:
a vacuum chamber (100) comprising a main chamber (102 & 150) and a degas sub-chamber (192A & 192B);
a first pumping system in connection with the main chamber for maintaining a vacuum within the main chamber [0045 & 0054];
a second pumping system in connection with the degas sub-chamber for maintaining a vacuum within the degas sub-chamber [0048 & 0050];
at least one transport device (185) for transporting the semiconductor substrate between desired locations [0046 & 0056 & 0058];
a substrate support (391); and
a lifting device (392 & 502) for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position (Fig. 5A) [0043 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080];
the lifting device being configured so that the lowered position allows the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) a substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the processing chamber (Fig. 3B) and (ii) the processing chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the degas sub-chamber by the second pumping system (Fig. 3C) [0043 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080].
Brezoczky does not explicitly teach:
the degas sub chamber comprises:
a substrate support; and
a lifting device for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position;
the lifting device being configured so that the lowered position allows the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) a substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the degas sub-chamber and (ii) the degas sub-chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the degas sub-chamber by the second pumping system.
Although Brezoczky is silent on the design of the degas chamber it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degas chamber taught by Brezoczky with the substrate processing chamber substrate support, lifting device for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position, where the lifting device is configured so that the lowered position allows the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) a substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the processing chamber and (ii) the processing chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the processing chamber by the first pumping system taught by the same reference and performing the same/similar etching function in order to provide the appropriate structure for accommodating an etching process in a vacuum environment which utilizes the same systems as the other chambers in the system in order to simplify the design of the system thereby reducing maintenance costs and maintenance training requirements.
Regarding Claim 15, Brezoczky teaches:
A method of processing a semiconductor substrate (S) comprising:
providing an apparatus comprising:
one or more semiconductor substrate handling devices (120 & 185) through which the semiconductor substrate can be introduced to and/or removed from the apparatus [0047 & 0049 & 0050];
a plurality of process chambers (160A & 160B & 160C & 160D & 160E & 160F) for processing the semiconductor substrate [0045 & 0046]; and
a transport module (180) for transporting the semiconductor substrate under vacuum conditions between the one or more semiconductor substrate handling devices and the plurality of process chambers [0046 & 0056 & 0058];
in which the transport module comprises:
a vacuum chamber (100) comprising a main chamber (150) and a degas sub-chamber (192A & 192B);
a first pumping system in connection with the main chamber for maintaining a vacuum within the main chamber [0045 & 0054];
a second pumping system in connection with the degas sub-chamber for maintaining a vacuum within the degas sub-chamber [0048 & 0050];
at least one transport device (155 & 185) for transporting the semiconductor substrate between desired locations which include the one or more semiconductor substrate handling devices and the plurality of process chambers [0046 & 0056 & 0058];
degassing the semiconductor substrate in the degas sub-chamber [0047 & 0049 & 0051];
a substrate support (391); and
a lifting device (392 & 502) for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position (Fig. 5A) [0043 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080];
introducing the semiconductor substrate to the main chamber of the transport module using the at least one transport device [0047 & 0049 & 0050];
using the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support in its lowered position (Fig. 3B);
raising the substrate support to its raised position to cause (i) the semiconductor substrate to be positioned within the processing chamber and (ii) the processing chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that a vacuum is maintained in the processing chamber by the first pumping system (Fig. 3C) [0043 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080];
processing the semiconductor substrate in the processing chamber [0047 & 0049 & 0051];
lowering the substrate support to its lowered position and using the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate in one of the plurality of process chambers [0046 & 0047 & 0049 & 0051 & 0056 & 0058];
processing the semiconductor substrate in one or more of the plurality of process chambers [0045 & 0046 & 0047]; and
transporting the semiconductor substrate to a semiconductor substrate handling device (120).
Brezoczky does not explicitly teach:
the degas sub chamber comprises:
a substrate support; and
a lifting device for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position;
using the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support in its lowered position;
raising the substrate support to its raised position to cause (i) the semiconductor substrate to be positioned within the degas sub-chamber and (ii) the degas sub-chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that a vacuum is maintained in the degas sub-chamber by the second pumping system.
Although Brezoczky is silent on the design of the degas chamber it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degas chamber taught by Brezoczky with the substrate processing chamber substrate support, lifting device for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position, raising the substrate support to its raised position to cause (i) the semiconductor substrate to be positioned within the degas sub-chamber and (ii) the degas sub-chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that a vacuum is maintained in the degas sub-chamber by the second pumping system, taught by the same reference and performing the same/similar etching function in order to provide the appropriate structure for accommodating an etching process in a vacuum environment which utilizes the same systems as the other chambers in the system in order to simplify the design of the system thereby reducing maintenance costs and maintenance training requirements.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brezoczky et al. (US 20220406640 A1) in view of Wei et al. (US 20220301856 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Brezoczky teaches:
A degas apparatus connected to a transport module according to claim 13, the degas apparatus comprising:
a processing chamber (160A) for performing etching on a substrate (S) [0043 & 0045];
the degas sub-chamber (192A & 192B) for performing etching on a substrate [0043 & 0045];
a pumping system in connection with the degas sub-chamber for maintaining the vacuum within the degas sub-chamber [0048 & 0050];
an auxiliary sub-chamber (204B) having an opening, the processing chamber being disposed above the auxiliary sub-chamber (Fig. 3B);
the substrate support; and
the lifting device for moving the substrate support between the raised position and the lowered position;
the lifting device being configured so that the lowered position allows the semiconductor substrate to be introduced to the auxiliary sub-chamber through the opening and positioned on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) the semiconductor substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the processing chamber and (ii) the processing chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the processing chamber by the pumping system (Fig. 3C) [0043 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080].
Brezoczky does not teach:
a degas apparatus for retro-fitting to an existing transport module;
an auxiliary sub-chamber having an opening, the degas sub-chamber being disposed above the auxiliary sub-chamber;
the degas sub chamber comprises:
a substrate support; and
a lifting device for moving the substrate support between the raised position and the lowered position;
the lifting device being configured so that the lowered position allows the semiconductor substrate to be introduced to the auxiliary sub-chamber through the opening and positioned on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) the semiconductor substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the degas sub-chamber and (ii) the degas sub-chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the degas sub-chamber by the pumping system.
Wei teaches:
a degas apparatus (102) for retro-fitting to an existing transport module to provide a degas sub-chamber to a processing system [0066].
Although Brezoczky is silent on the design of the degas chamber it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degas chamber taught by Brezoczky with the substrate processing chamber substrate support, lifting device for moving the substrate support between a raised position and a lowered position, where the lifting device is configured so that the lowered position allows the at least one transport device to position the semiconductor substrate on the substrate support and the raised position causes (i) a substrate disposed on the substrate support to be positioned within the processing chamber and (ii) the processing chamber to be sealed from the main chamber so that the vacuum is maintained in the processing chamber by the first pumping system taught by the same reference and performing the same/similar etching function further modified by the degas apparatus for retro-fitting to an existing transport module to provide a degas sub-chamber to a processing system taught by Wei in order to provide the appropriate structure for accommodating an etching process in a vacuum environment which utilizes the same systems as the other chambers in the system that is capable of being retrofitted to the system in order to simplify the design of the system thereby reducing maintenance costs and maintenance training requirements which is capable of being added to existing systems to reduce the cost of improving a processing system.
Conclusion
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652