DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2025, 02/21/2025 and 06/25/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, the recitation of “a signal generation circuit to generate an in-phase signal serving as a reference, an orthogonal signal serving as a reference, and an envelope signal serving as a reference by using the input signal; and a signal distribution circuit to generate the first signal and the second signal by using the in-phase signal, the orthogonal signal, and the envelope signal, a differential value of a function representing either or both an amplitude ratio therebetween and a phase difference therebetween being continuous during transition of the envelope signal from a minimum value to a maximum value” is unclear because differential value of a function and an amplitude ratio therebetween and a phase difference therebetween are not clearly defined. And what is meant by differential value of a function and which function is the applicant refer to and what is meant by amplitude ratio therebetween and a phase difference therebetween. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 13 is rejected in the same manner as discussed above in claim 1.
Claims 3-12 are rejected because they depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghannouchi et al. (US 8837629 B2 of record, hereinafter Ghannouchi).
Regarding claims 1 & 13 as best understood:
Ghannouchi discloses in Figs. 3, 11 & 13 an amplifier comprising:
a first amplifier element (Fig. 3: amplifier 46) to amplify a first transmission signal obtained by up-converting a frequency of a first signal into a carrier frequency;
a second amplifier element (Fig. 3: amplifier 48) to amplify a second transmission signal obtained by up-converting a frequency of a second signal into a carrier frequency; and
an output combination circuit (Fig. 3: circuit 52) to combine the amplified first transmission signal and the amplified second transmission signal to output, the amplifier comprising:
a digital signal acquiring circuit (circuit 22) to acquire an input signal, which is a digital signal;
a signal generation circuit (within circuit 22, a circuit which generates signals IPREP/ IQPRED) to generate an in-phase signal (IC) serving as a reference, an orthogonal signal (QC) serving as a reference, and an envelope signal (see Fig.4, the input power is determined. For digital IQ signals, the instantaneous power is determined by first determining the envelope and then squaring the envelope of the signal, which is confirmed in claim 1 of reference: "and wherein the baseband processing block continuously monitors a power envelope of the input signal, and based on the instantaneously monitored power envelope dynamically varying a signal splitting ratio to split the input signal between a plurality of baseband output signals" serving as a reference by using the input signal; and
a signal distribution circuit (Fig. 3: circuits 24 & 26) to generate the first signal and the second signal by using the in-phase signal, the orthogonal signal, and the envelope signal, a differential value of a function representing either or both an amplitude ratio therebetween and a phase difference therebetween being continuous during transition of the envelope signal from a minimum value to a maximum value ("The digital signal distribution unit 24 is an algorithm that is applied (according to FIG. 14) to the digital baseband signal (IPred/QPred) obtained from the digital predistortion unit 24 to generate the digital baseband signals (IC/QC), (IPl/QPl) and (IP2/QP2) to ensure that, after upconversion and RF power amplification, the magnitudes of the currents at the input of the RF Doherty combining network follow the ideal currents profile for the mode of operation of the multiple branch digital Doherty transmitter at and beyond the original design frequency of Doherty PA. Precisely, the baseband signal (IPred/QPred) is adaptively split to compensate for the output RF power loss due to the frequency response of the output combiner for carrier frequencies of the baseband signal that are different from the original design frequency of the Doherty PA; and to ensure the quasi-ideal load modulation behavior at and beyond the original design frequency of the Doherty PA." column 6, lines 54-67; "FIG. 4 shows an example of a possible signal distribution scheme executed at the digital signal distribution unit 24 of an exemplary embodiment of the present invention where the RF power amplification block has only one peaking amplifier. The "Present Invention" graph line illustrates the digital Doherty transmitter, while the "Prior Art" graph line illustrates, the state of the prior art.", column 4, line 65- column 5, line 2; see Fig.4, the carrier to peaking amplifier amplitude ratio or power ratio is determined by using the input power/input envelope depending on the frequency, which goes from a minimum to a maximum. The mapping function is clearly continuous and determines how the IQ input signal is transformed into the specific carrier and peaking amplifier input signals) and (Col. 6, lines 48-53, the digital predistortion unit 22 is an algorithm that takes the initial input digital baseband in-phase/quadrature (I.sub.IN/Q.sub.IN) signal to generate the predistorted baseband digital signal (I.sub.pred/Q.sub.Pred)).
Regarding claim 2:
Ghannouchi discloses the amplifier according to claim 1, comprising:
a first digital-to-analog converter(Fig. 3: DAC 30) to convert the first signal into an analog signal;
a second digital-to-analog converter (Fig. 3: DAC 32) to convert the second signal into an analog signal;
a first up-converter (Fig. 3: upconverter 38) to generate the first transmission signal obtained by up-converting a frequency of the first signal, which is the analog signal, into the carrier frequency; and
a second up-converter (Fig. 3: upconverter 40) to generate the second transmission signal obtained by up-converting a frequency of the second signal, which is the analog signal, into the carrier frequency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghannouchi in view of Grebennikov et al (US 20190103842 A1, hereinafter Grebennikov).
Regarding claims 4 & 5:
Ghannouchi discloses the limitations as applied in claim 1 except for wherein the output combination circuit includes first and transmission lines.
Grebennikov discloses in Fig. 1 an amplifier circuit comprising a combiner 30 which includes transmission line TLo1 and TLo2, TLo3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit of Ghannouchi to have transmission lines TLo1 and TLo2, TLo3, as taught by Grebennikov. Such a modification would have imparted the advantageous benefit of improving a function of output impedance transformation, see paragraph [0014]), last two lines, as taught by Grebennikov to Ghannouchi reference, thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a modification.
Accordingly, the combination (Ghannouchi and Grebennikov) further discloses wherein the output combination circuit includes a first transmission line (Fig. 1 of Grebennikov: TLo1) to transmit the first transmission signal amplified by the first amplifier element to an output terminal, and a second transmission line (Fig. 1 of Grebennikov: TLo3) to transmit the second transmission signal amplified by the second amplifier element to the output terminal except for in a case where N is an integer equal to or larger than 0, an electric length of the first transmission line is 90 + N × 180 degrees at a center frequency of an operation frequency band, and an electric length of the second transmission line is N × 180 degrees at the center frequency of the operation frequency band; and/or in a case where N is an integer equal to or larger than 0, an electric length of the first transmission line is 60 + N × 180 degrees at a center frequency of an operation frequency band, and an electric length of the second transmission line is 120 + N × 180 degrees at the center frequency of the operation frequency band.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select or chosen in a case where N is an integer equal to or larger than 0, an electric length of the first transmission line is 90 + N × 180 degrees at a center frequency of an operation frequency band, and an electric length of the second transmission line is N × 180 degrees at the center frequency of the operation frequency band; and/or in a case where N is an integer equal to or larger than 0, an electric length of the first transmission line is 60 + N × 180 degrees at a center frequency of an operation frequency band, and an electric length of the second transmission line is 120 + N × 180 degrees at the center frequency of the operation frequency band since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 6:
the combination (Ghannouchi and Grebennikov) discloses the amplifier according to claim 4,
wherein the output combination circuit (Fig. 1 of Grebennikov: circuit 30) switches between a first signal mode in which the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal are combined in phase and a second signal mode in which the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal are combined out of phase depending on an operation frequency, and switches to a Doherty operation mode (see abstract, Doherty transmitter, Ghannouchi) for operating as a Doherty amplifier or an out-phasing operation mode for operating as an out-phasing amplifier depending on the switched signal mode (Ghannouch, Col. 3, lines 24-25, number of stage, mode and order of operation of the Doherty amplifier).
Regarding claim 7:
the combination (Ghannouchi and Grebennikov) discloses the amplifier according to claim 4, wherein a load of the output combination circuit (Fig. 1 of Grebennikov) as seen from the first amplifier element is modulated depending on the frequency of the first transmission signal, and a load of the output combination circuit (Fig. 1 of Grebennikov) as seen from the second amplifier element is modulated depending on the frequency of the second transmission signal.
Regarding claims 8 & 9:
The combination (Ghannouchi and Grebennikov) discloses the limitations as applied in claim 6 except for which operates in a first Doherty operation mode in which an amplitude of the first transmission signal is larger than an amplitude of the second transmission signal, a ratio of the amplitude of the first transmission signal to a sum of the amplitude of the first transmission signal and the amplitude of the second transmission signal increases as the envelope signal increases, and a phase difference between a phase of the first transmission signal and a phase of the second transmission signal is constant; and/or which operates in a second Doherty operation mode in which an amplitude of the first transmission signal is larger than an amplitude of the second transmission signal, a ratio of the amplitude of the first transmission signal to a sum of the amplitude of the first transmission signal and the amplitude of the second transmission signal decreases as the envelope signal increases, and a phase difference between a phase of the first transmission signal and a phase of the second transmission signal is constant.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select or chosen which operates in a first Doherty operation mode in which an amplitude of the first transmission signal is larger than an amplitude of the second transmission signal, a ratio of the amplitude of the first transmission signal to a sum of the amplitude of the first transmission signal and the amplitude of the second transmission signal increases as the envelope signal increases, and a phase difference between a phase of the first transmission signal and a phase of the second transmission signal is constant; and/or which operates in a second Doherty operation mode in which an amplitude of the first transmission signal is larger than an amplitude of the second transmission signal, a ratio of the amplitude of the first transmission signal to a sum of the amplitude of the first transmission signal and the amplitude of the second transmission signal decreases as the envelope signal increases, and a phase difference between a phase of the first transmission signal and a phase of the second transmission signal is constant since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 10 & 11:
The combination (Ghannouchi and Grebennikov) discloses the limitations as applied in claim 6 except for which operates in a first out-phasing operation mode in which an amplitude ratio between an amplitude of the first transmission signal and an amplitude of the second transmission signal is constant regardless of magnitude of the envelope signal, and a phase difference between a phase of the first transmission signal and a phase of the second transmission signal decreases as the envelope signal increases; and/or which operates in a second out-phasing operation mode in which an amplitude ratio between an amplitude of the first transmission signal and an amplitude of the second transmission signal is constant regardless of magnitude of the envelope signal, and a phase difference between a phase of the first transmission signal and a phase of the second transmission signal increases as the envelope signal increases.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select or chosen which operates in a first out-phasing operation mode in which an amplitude ratio between an amplitude of the first transmission signal and an amplitude of the second transmission signal is constant regardless of magnitude of the envelope signal, and a phase difference between a phase of the first transmission signal and a phase of the second transmission signal decreases as the envelope signal increases; and/or which operates in a second out-phasing operation mode in which an amplitude ratio between an amplitude of the first transmission signal and an amplitude of the second transmission signal is constant regardless of magnitude of the envelope signal, and a phase difference between a phase of the first transmission signal and a phase of the second transmission signal increases as the envelope signal increases since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 12:
Ghannouchi discloses the limitations as applied in claim 1 except for wherein the output combination circuit includes first and transmission lines.
Grebennikov discloses in Fig. 1 an amplifier circuit comprising a combiner 30 which includes transmission line TLo1 and TLo2, TLo3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit of Ghannouchi to have transmission lines TLo1 and TLo2, TLo3, as taught by Grebennikov. Such a modification would have imparted the advantageous benefit of improving a function of output impedance transformation, see paragraph [0014]), last two lines, as taught by Grebennikov to Ghannouchi reference, thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a modification.
Accordingly, the combination (Ghannouchi and Grebennikov) further discloses wherein the output combination circuit includes a first transmission line(TLo1) to transmit the first transmission signal amplified by the first amplifier element to an output terminal, and a second transmission line (TLo3) to transmit the second transmission signal amplified by the second amplifier element to the output terminal except for a characteristic impedance of the first transmission line is higher than output resistance of the first amplifier element, and a characteristic impedance of the second transmission line is higher than output resistance of the second amplifier element.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select or chosen a characteristic impedance of the first transmission line is higher than output resistance of the first amplifier element, and a characteristic impedance of the second transmission line is higher than output resistance of the second amplifier element since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghannouchi in view of Wright et al. (US 6054894 A, hereinafter Wright).
Ghannouchi discloses the limitations as applied in claim 1 except for a feedback path including RF down conversion block, a digital conversion block and adaptive control processing and compensation estimator block.
Wright discloses in Fig. 26 Power amplifier comprising a feedback path including RF down conversion block, a digital conversion block and adaptive control processing and compensation estimator block.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit of Ghannouchi to have a feedback path including RF down conversion block, a digital conversion block and adaptive control processing and compensation estimator block as taught by Wright in order to precisely compensate for any differences in the characteristics of the separate signal paths which would cause the combination not to accurately represent the original signal (see Abstract of Wright).
Accordingly, the combination (Ghannouchi and Wright) further discloses a performance information acquiring circuit (Fig. 26 of Wright: circuit 26) to acquire performance information numerically indicating performance of an analog amplifier circuit including the first amplifier element, the second amplifier element, and the output combination circuit (as discussed above, Fig. 3 of Ghannouchi); and a learning circuit (circuit 27 that includes analog to digital converter and digital quadrature demodulation and ACPCE system) to update a value of a coefficient indicating an inclination and an inflection point of the function representing either or both the amplitude ratio and the phase difference between the first signal and the second signal by using the performance information, wherein the signal distribution circuit generates the first signal and the second signal by using the coefficient updated by the learning circuit (see Col. 14, lines 1-3, which provides updated, more accurate coefficient values for the circuit parameters when they are available and Col. 43 lines 63-67 and Col. 44, lines 1-2, coefficients will always be used whenever the amplifier is switched off. An additional implementation detail would be to time stamp the data from a continuously running internal clock. If a continuously running internal clock shows that the data stored is too old at switch on then a full start up training and acquisition would be performed).
Conclusion
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843