DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 20150342839, from hereinafter “Montgomery”) in view of Pinyayev et al. (WO 2006098719, from hereinafter “Pinyayev”)
In regards to claims 1 and 12, Montgomery teaches a method and exposure apparatus for illuminating a dental object (see abstract) comprising a chamber for receiving the dental object (FIGS. 1-2, over molded cup 10, paragraph 0153, “the over molded cup forms a small chamber that controls the positioning and movement of the gel on the tooth surface while emitting light energy…”) and a radiation source for exposing the dental object to a wavelength greater than 350 nm (paragraph 0056) and a power density greater than 5 W/cm^2 (paragraph 0056).
In regards to claims 1 and 12, Montgomery fails to teach a power density greater than 10 W/cm^2.
Pinyayev teaches a power density greater than 10 W/cm^2 (discusses 1-10,000 mW/cm^2, 10,000 mW is 1W).
In view of the teaching of Pinyayev it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the power density be greater than 10 W/cm^2. As Pinyayev discusses explicitly, “biostimulation” occurs at this power. As such, it would have been obvious.
In regards to claims 2 and 13, Montgomery teaches that the wavelength is greater than 700 nm (paragraph 0056 teaches up to 700 nm).
In regards to claims 3 and 14, the power of the radiation is more than 1 W (discusses 1-10,000 mW/cm^2, 10,000 mW is 1W).
In regards to claim 4, Montgomery teaches that the radiation source is formed by LEDs (paragraph 0056).
In regards to claims 6 and 15, Montgomery fails to teach that the radiation is emitted in a wavelength range between 350-1800 nm (paragraph 0056).
In regards to claims 7 and 16, Montgomery teaches that the radiation is emitted in a wavelength range of 350-1500 nm (paragraph 0056).
In regards to claims 8 and 17, Montgomery teaches that the radiation is emitted in a wavelength range of 350-1100 nm (paragraph 0056).
In regards to claim 9, Montgomery teaches that the exposure device comprises an intensity adjuster for adjusting a radiation intensity of the radiation source (paragraph 0056 teaches various intensities, therefore the device must be capable of changing the intensity).
In regards to claims 11 and 18, Montgomery teaches that the device comprises a timer for activating the radiation source for a predetermined period of time (paragraphs 0054, 0077, 0118, etc.).
In regards to claim 5, Montgomery as modified by Pinyayev fails to teach that the radiation is formed by a ND-Yag laser. Rather, these references teach LED’s. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, since it has been held that art recognized equivalents (in this case, a strong LED to a less powerful ND-Yag laser) are in fact obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICOLE M IPPOLITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881