DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 13-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “an actuator,” which has unclear antecedent basis. Does this refer to the “one or more actuators” set forth in claim 1, or to another actuator?
Claim 13 recites “the wall,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 18 recites “the wall,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP H1182285 A (hereinafter “Nakagawa”).
Regarding claim 1 Nakagawa discloses a system (A) for lifting and mounting components of a wind turbine assembly to the top of a wind turbine tower (5), the system (A) comprising:
an adjustable frame (1) defining an interior space (S, see annotated figure below) sized to receive the tower (5), wherein the adjustable frame (1) comprises one or more actuators (12; i.e. elements 12 on the top ring of 11) configured to reduce or expand (e.g. at 12a) the interior space (S) defined by the adjustable frame (1);
a first boom (4a) attached to the adjustable frame (1), the first boom (4a) rotatable with a first boom actuator (luffing cable); and
a second boom (4b) attached to the adjustable frame (1), the second boom (4b) rotatable with a second boom actuator (luffing cable), and wherein the first boom (4a) and the second boom are joined by a telescoping crossmember (C) (i.e. the upper ring of 11 could be considered “telescoping” because it houses elements 12, which telescope).
Regarding claim 2 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses wherein the adjustable frame (1) comprises a 4-sided frame body (see figs. 1, 3, and 4).
Regarding claim 3 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses an actuator (12) positioned on each side of the 4-sided frame body (see figs. 1, 3, and 4) and operable to extend or retract the length of the side (i.e. contact member 12a moves radially).
Regarding claim 4 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses wherein the one or more actuators (12) comprise a hydraulic cylinder (paragraph 18 of translation).
Regarding claim 5 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses wherein the first boom (4a) is parallel to the second boom (4b).
Regarding claim 6 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses wherein the telescoping cross member (C) provides a suspension point for a hook block (the upper ring of 11, indicated as “C” below, is capable of use with a hook block by virtue of having winches thereupon; i.e. this is a functional limitation).
Regarding claim 7 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses a crossmember (C) actuator configured to retract or extend the length of the crossmember (C).
Regarding claim 8 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses one or more attachment brackets (i.e. “lock mechanism” at 12a; see paragraph 18) positionable near the top of the tower (5), wherein the attachment brackets (“lock mechanism” at 12a; see paragraph 18) are configured to secure the adjustable frame (1) in position near the top of the tower (5).
Regarding claim 9 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses one or more bracing members (BM; i.e. elements 12 on the bottom ring of 11) extending from a bottom side of the adjustable frame (1).
Regarding claim 10 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses one or more attachment brackets (i.e. “lock mechanism” at 12a on the lower ring of 11; see paragraph 18) positionable on the tower (5) and configured to attach to the bracing members (BM) to secure the adjustable frame (1) in position near the top of the tower (5).
Regarding claim 11 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses comprising a lifting hoist (14) and a lifting hoist cable (14a/14b) configured to lift or lower the adjustable frame (1) on the tower (5).
Regarding claim 12 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses wherein the lifting hoist (14) is positionable (capable of being positioned; i.e. this is a functional recitation, and the hoist 14 could perform this function) within the base of the tower (5).
Regarding claim 13 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses one or more lifting hoist sheaves (H, see annotated figure below) positionable in [a] wall (i.e. of the sheave block) near the top of the tower (5).
Regarding claim 15 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses comprising a main hoist (14) positionable near the base (fig. 2a; i.e. the entire system is positionable near the base) of the tower (5) and a main hoist cable (14a) extending from the main hoist.
Regarding claim 16 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses wherein the main hoist cable (14a) extends over the telescoping crossmember (C) to a hook block (i.e. “block” 5e1).
Regarding claim 17 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses wherein the lifting hoist (14) comprises a 4-drum lifting hoist (i.e. there four drums 14, see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18 Nakagawa discloses the above system (A), and further discloses one or more lifting hoist sheaves (H, see annotated figure below) positionable in [a] wall (i.e. of the sheave block) near the top of the tower (5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa.
Regarding claims 14 and 19 Nakagawa discloses the above system (as per claim 11 above), including the lifting hoist cable (14a) extending from the lifting hoist (14). While Nakagawa teaches sheaves on the crane, Nakagawa fails to teach the lifting hoist cable extends through a lifting hoist sheave, and is secured to the adjustable frame (i.e. while Nakagawa teaches sheaves, they are on the crane line, not the winch line). This distinction is considered obvious in view of Nakagawa. Nakagawa shows the conventional nature of sheave blocks in figure 1: i.e. two sheave blocks in conjunction with the crane, a cable starting from the crane, threading through the sheave blocks, and then back to the crane.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the blocks (at 5e) of Nakagawa with sheaves, and to rout the cable back, as per figure 1 of Nakagawa with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to provide mechanical advantage to the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654