DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ amendments were received on 4/13/26. Claims 1, 5, 9, 16-18 have been amended. Claims 22-24 are new. Claims 13-15 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, the limitation, “like” in “thread-like” and “string-like” portions are unclear. It is unknown what specific property “like” pertains to of a thread or string i.e. the shape, melting temperature, color which would render the claims indefinite. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. in view of Yamazaki et al., on claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12 are withdrawn because the Applicants have amended the claims.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. in view of Yamazaki et al. in further view of Sheem et al., on claims 13-21 are modified in view of the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable by Sasaki et al. (JP2000149924) in view of Yamazaki et al. (JP2000-082466) in further view of Sheem et al. (US Patent 9093711).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 6, the Sasaki et al. reference discloses a lithium-ion secondary battery comprising a current collector, an active material layer and a carbon intermediate layer (film shape) comprising carbon material between the current collector and the active material layer. The carbon material comprises PVDF binder (adhesive to the current collector and active material layer) and one of graphite. The active material layer comprises an active material and a conductive additive (Abstract, P[0006]). The Sasaki et al. reference is silent in disclosing the active materials comprises a particle size distribution having two or more peaks, however, the Yamazaki et al. reference discloses active materials comprises a particle size distribution having two or more peaks in order to closely pack the active materials so as to improve performance of the secondary battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate active materials comprises a particle size distribution having two or more peaks disclosed for the active material in order to densely pack the active layer by the Yamazaki et al. reference for the active material disclosed by the Sasaki et al. reference to provide an improved battery.
In addition, the Sasaki et al. reference discloses a lithium metal oxide active materials with conductive component but is silent in disclosing the conductive component comprises a plurality of pieces of graphene which is in contact with the surface of the active material. However, the Sheem et al. reference discloses graphene sheets on the surface of lithium metal oxide active material (Claim 10) improve electronic conductivity (3:50-60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate graphene sheets on the surface of the lithium metal oxide material disclosed by the Sheem et al. reference for the lithium metal oxide disclosed by the modified Sasaki et al. reference in order to improve the conductivity in the battery.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the Sasaki et al. reference discloses a lithium-ion secondary battery comprising a current collector, an active material layer and a carbon intermediate layer (film shape) comprising carbon material between the current collector and the active material layer. The carbon material comprises PVDF binder (adhesive to the current collector and active material layer) and one of graphite. The active material layer comprises an active material and a conductive additive (Abstract, P[0006]). The Sasaki et al. reference does not explicitly teach 1) the carbon material configured to reduce interface resistance between the active material layer and 2) the current collector active materials comprises a particle size distribution having two or more peaks.
However, since the Sasaki et al. reference discloses the carbon material is a binder, it is inherent that increase adhesion between the current collector and active layer will result in reduction in layer separation interfacial resistance caused by gaps or voids.
In addition, the Yamazaki et al. reference discloses active materials comprises a particle size distribution having two or more peaks in order to closely pack the active materials so as to improve performance of the secondary battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate active materials comprises a particle size distribution having two or more peaks disclosed for the active material in order to densely pack the active layer by the Yamazaki et al. reference for the active material disclosed by the Sasaki et al. reference to provide an improved battery.
Furthermore, the Sasaki et al. reference discloses a lithium metal oxide active materials with conductive component but is silent in disclosing the conductive component comprises a plurality of pieces of graphene which is in contact with the surface of the active material. However, the Sheem et al. reference discloses graphene sheets on the surface of lithium metal oxide active material (Claim 10) improve electronic conductivity (3:50-60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate graphene sheets on the surface of the lithium metal oxide material disclosed by the Sheem et al. reference for the lithium metal oxide disclosed by the modified Sasaki et al. reference in order to improve the conductivity in the battery.
Regarding claim 4, 8, 12, the Sasaki et al. reference discloses the active material to comprise 88 wt%.
Regarding claims 16-18, the Sasaki et al., in view of Yamazaki in further view of Sheem et al. discloses the piece of graphene is in surface contact with at least one of a plurality of particles of the active material.
Regarding claims 19-21, the Sasaki et al. reference discloses the active material is lithium cobalt oxide (Examples).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicants argue,
However, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Applicant argues, “
”
However, Yamazaki reference was not used in the rejection to show graphene and therefore, the argument is moot.
The Applicant argues, “
”
However, Sheem reference was not used in the rejection to show graphene and therefore, the argument is moot.
The Applicant argues, “
Again, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752