DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-10, 16, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0264981) in view of Soliman (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0143188).
Regarding claim 1, Taniguchi discloses a propulsion system for a hybrid electric vehicle (¶5 discloses motors for driving vehicles which are traction motors), comprising:
a traction motor having first stator windings and second stator windings (¶10 discloses two windings in one “rotating electrical machine”);
a power source having (¶78 the engine);
a battery (20) having a second DC power output;
a first inverter electrically coupled between the first DC power output of the power source and the first stator windings (¶10 “a first inverter that is connected to the first stator winding”);
a second inverter electrically coupled between the second DC power output of the battery and the second stator windings (¶10 “a second inverter that is connected to the second stator winding” fig. 1 shows a connection of the windings to the battery); and
a controller configured to independently control:(i) a first power level of electric power output at the power output of the power source, and (ii) a second power level of motive power output by the traction motor (¶5 discloses the need for varying output power).
Taniguchi does not disclose that the power source has a first direct current (DC) power output, the power source comprising a generator or wherein the controller is configured to change the first power level of the first electric power output based on a signal indicating the second power level.
Note: ¶6 of applicant’s disclosure state that they lower the motor output which causes a power absorption problem for the battery and so lower the engine output. This will be the equivalent of other systems that lower engine power due to SOC of the battery.
Soliman, which deals in hybrid systems, teaches that the power source has a first direct current (DC) power output, the power source comprising a generator (16 the CISG can start the engine or generate power from the engine disclosed in ¶33) or wherein the controller is configured to change the first power level of the first electric power output based on a signal indicating the second power level (¶25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Taniguchi with the battery consideration of Soliman because this maintains battery above the reference value (¶25).
Regarding claims 2 and 10 which depend from claims 1 and 9, Taniguchi discloses a control interface (all controllers have some interface that allows them to be programmed). Taniguchi does not disclose further comprising: a control interface, wherein the controller is further configured to independently control the first power level and the second power level responsive to signals received from the control interface.
Soliman, drawn to vehicles, teaches further comprising: a control interface (24), wherein the controller is further configured to independently control the first power level and the second power level responsive to signals received from the control interface (¶25 and ¶33 discloses independent control of the engine, generator and motor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Taniguchi with the control of Betz because this improves the control of the power system (¶25 and ¶33).
Regarding claim 8, 16 and 20 which depends from claim 1, 9 and 17 respectively, Taniguchi discloses wherein: the hybrid electric vehicle is an automobile (¶5).
Regarding claim 9, Taniguchi discloses a propulsion system for a hybrid electric vehicle, further comprising: a traction motor having first stator windings and second stator windings; a power source having a first direct current (DC) power output, the power source comprising a generator; a battery having a second DC power output; a first inverter electrically coupled between the first DC power output of the power source and the first stator windings; a second inverter electrically coupled between the second DC power output of the battery and the second stator windings; one or more hardware processors; and a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium encoded with instructions executable by the hardware processor to perform operations comprising: responsive to receiving signals from a control interface, independently controlling: (i) a first power level of electric power output at the power output of the power source, and (ii) a second power level of motive power output by the traction motor; wherein the controller is configured to change the first power level of the first electric power output based on a signal indicating the second power level (the limitations of this claim have been addressed above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, Taniguchi discloses a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium encoded with instructions executable by a hardware processor of a computing component, the machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause the hardware processor to perform operations comprising: responsive to receiving signals from a control interface of a hybrid electric vehicle, independently controlling:(i) a first power level of electric power output at a direct current (DC) power output of a power source of the hybrid electric vehicle, the power source electrically coupled by a first inverter to first stator windings of a traction motor of the hybrid electric vehicle, the power source comprising a generator, and (ii) a second power level of motive power output by the traction motor; wherein the controller is configured to change the first power level of the first electric power output based on a signal indicating the second power level (the limitations of this claim have been addressed above in claim 1).
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0264981) in view of Soliman (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0143188) as applied to claims 1, 2, 9, 10 above, further in view of Sercombe (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0381984).
Regarding claims 7 and 15 which depend from claims 2 and 10 respectively, Taniguchi does not disclose further comprising: a variable-pitch propeller; and a governor configured to control a pitch of the variable-pitch propeller; wherein the controller is further configured to control the governor responsive to signals received from the control interface.
Sercombe, which deals in motor assemblies, teaches a governor configured to control a pitch of the variable-pitch propeller (¶55 the governor regulates the speed of the variable pitch propeller); wherein the controller is further configured to control the governor responsive to signals received from the control interface (fig. 12-13 ¶58 governor interface system 1108).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Taniguchi with the control of Sercombe because this improves the efficiency of the system (¶55-60).
Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0264981) in view of Soliman (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0143188) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, further in view of McCarty (U.S. Pat. No. 5,281,094).
Regarding claims 3 and 11 which depend from claims 1 and 9 respectively, Taniguchi does not disclose the second inverter is a four-quadrant inverter.
McCarty, which deals in engines, teaches the second inverter is a four-quadrant inverter (col. 4, lines 31-36 discloses a four quadrant inverter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Taniguchi with the inverter of McCarty because this improves power efficiency of the system (col. 4, lines 31-48).
Claim(s) 4-6, 12-14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0264981) in view of Soliman (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0143188) as applied to claim 1, 9 and 17 above, further in view of Long (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0148373).
Regarding claim 4 and 12 which depends from claim 1 and 9 repectively, Taniguchi discloses wherein the power source further comprises:
an engine (claim 7 has an engine) having a mechanical power output, wherein the generator has (i) an electrical power output and (ii) a mechanical power input (a motor is able to do both).
Taniguchi does not disclose the mechanical power input mechanically coupled to the mechanical power output of the engine; and a rectifier having (i) an electrical power input electrically coupled to the electrical power output of the generator and (ii) an electrical power output electrically coupled to the DC power output of the power source.
Long, which deals in hybrid engine systems, teaches the mechanical power input mechanically coupled to the mechanical power output of the engine (para [0017]- The generator(s) may provide electrical power to... provide power (i.e., rotational mechanical energy) to one or more propulsors; para [0057]- system 2A may enable power to be imparted on the DC bus from engine driven generators.); and a a rectifier (para [0050]- AC/DC converters 42 may operate as rectifiers) having (i) an electrical power input electrically coupled to the electrical power output of the generator (para [0050]- AC/DC converters 42 may convert AC electrical power generated by electric machine 10A) and (ii) an electrical power output electrically coupled to the DC power output of the power source (para [0050]- AC/DC converters 42... into DC electrical power that is output via propulsion electrical bus 4A.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Taniguchi with the engine coupling and rectifier of Long because the engine coupling allows electric power to be produced ¶57 and the rectifiers allow for power conversion ¶50.
Regarding claim 5 and 13 which depends from claim 4 and 12 respectively, Taniguchi discloses wherein: the engine is a combustion engine (¶50 discloses a gasoline engine).
Regarding claim 6, 14 and 18 which depends from claim 1, 9 and 17 respectively, Long discloses wherein: the hybrid electric vehicle is an aircraft (FIG. 8, para [0015}- FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram of an aircraft ‘that includes a hybrid propulsion system).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0264981) in view of Soliman (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0143188) as applied to claim 17 above, further in view of Sercombe (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0381984).
Regarding claim 19, Taniguchi does not disclose wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to the signals received from the control interface, controlling a governor configured to control a pitch of a variable-pitch propeller of the aircraft.
Sercombe, which motor assemblies, teaches wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to the signals received from the control interface, controlling a governor configured to control a pitch of a variable-pitch propeller of the aircraft (¶55 the governor regulates the speed of the variable pitch propeller).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Taniguchi with the control of Sercombe because this improves the efficiency of the system (¶55-60).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues for the amendments made to the claims which have been addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GONZALO LAGUARDA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747 email: gonzalo.laguarda@uspto.gov
/GONZALO LAGUARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747