DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4 recites the limitation “the longitudinal center axis” which should be changed to “a longitudinal center axis”.
Claim 10, line 3 recites the limitation “butts against” which should be changed to “buts against”.
Claim 10, lines 8 – 9 recites the limitation “butts against” which should be changed to “buts against”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 3, line 5 -6 recites the limitation “a plurality of annular rotational elements”, however, line 3 explicitly recites “at least one rotational element”. Therefore, it is unclear whether the “a plurality of annual rotation elements” and the “at least one rotational element” ar ethe same limitations.
Claim 4, line 2 recites the limitation “its”, however, such limitation is unclear and indefinite as to what “its” refers to.
Claim 4, line 6 recites the limitation “like”, the addition of the word “like” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render the expression indefinite.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 5, line 5 recites the limitation “a plurality of pairs of guide ribs”, however, claim 4 line 3 explicitly recites “a plurality of guide ribs”. Therefore, it is unclear whether the “plurality of pairs of guide ribs” is part of the “plurality of guide ribs”.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 6, line 2 recites the limitation “each guide slot”, however, claim 4, line 5 explicitly recites “a guide slot”. Therefore, there is no antecedent basis for “each” guide slot and the claims provides for “a” guide slot.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the sliding surface" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the rotational device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 10, lines 1 – 2 recites the limitation “at least one mating entrainment surface”, however, claim 7, lines 3 – 4 recites “a mating entrainment surface”. Therefore, there is not antecedent basis for “at least one” mating entrainment surface and the claims provide for “a” mating entrainment surface.
Claim 10, lines 3 – 4 recites the limitation “at least one entrainment surface”, however, claim 7, lines 2 – 3 recites “an entrainment surface”. Therefore, there is not antecedent basis for “at least one” entrainment surface and the claims provide for “an” entrainment surface.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the rotational device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the at least one rotational element" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the rotational device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the at least one rotational element" in line 3 – 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 12 the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 14 the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 15 recites the limitation "for the one part" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the transmission element" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "for the other part" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 15 the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 16 the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 16, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11,
Claims 1 – 3, 8, 11, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Buker (US 2022/0396304 A1)..
For claim 1, Buker discloses a steering apparatus having a steering shaft 2 and having an end stop device 10 for limiting a steering angle of rotation, the end stop device having a first blocking element 19, and [the first blocking element being movable in an axial direction of the longitudinal center axis of the steering shaft in order to limit the steering angle of rotation] (page 6, paragraph [0066]), [the first blocking element cooperating with a positionally fixed further blocking element 20] (page 4, paragraph [0047]) [in order to stop rotation of the steering shaft about the longitudinal center axis and with regard to two directions of rotation of the steering shaft that are directed in opposite directions to one another] (page 4, paragraph [0044], “the locking device 8, the rotation device 7, and the annular body 6 form an end stop device 10 for stopping a rotational movement of the shaft 2 about the central longitudinal axis 3 and with respect to the two directions of rotation oriented away from each other”), [wherein the movement of the first blocking element is guided by means of an entrainment device 6] (page 6, paragraph [0057], “the engagement contour 34 of the locking element 19 and the receiving contour 47 of the annular body 6 come into engagement with one another”), the entrainment device [being connected to the steering shaft in a positionally fixed manner in order to rotate conjointly with the steering shaft] (page 4, paragraph [0043]).
For claim 2, Buker discloses the steering apparatus [wherein the first blocking element makes direct contact with the entrainment device, and in particular the entrainment part is formed in one part or a plurality of parts] (page 6, paragraph [0057]).
For claim 3, Buker discloses the steering apparatus wherein the entrainment device is connected to a rotational device 7, the rotational device having at least one rotational element 15, 16, 17 [which is rotatable about the longitudinal center axis of the steering shaft and/or conjointly with the steering shaft] (page 5, paragraph [0054]), and in particular the rotational device has a plurality of annular rotational elements 15, 16, 17 [which are arranged in succession in the axial direction of the longitudinal center axis] (fig. 5), [each rotational element having at least one stop portion 28 for cooperating with the respectively adjacent rotational element] (page 5, paragraph [0054]).
For claim 8, Buker discloses the steering apparatus wherein, [in a rotary mode of the rotational device, when the steering shaft is rotated about the longitudinal center axis by means of the entrainment device] (page 4, paragraph [0050]), [the first blocking element is rotatable conjointly with the steering shaft in one of the two directions of rotation about the longitudinal center axis of the steering shaft] (page 6, paragraph [0066]), and in particular, in the rotary mode of the rotational device, [a sliding surface of the guide rib 30 bears against a portion, facing the further blocking element] (fig. 3), [of a mating sliding surface of the first blocking element] (page 5, paragraph [0052]).
For claim 11, Buker discloses the steering apparatus wherein the rotational device has a rotation stopper 18 which limits rotation of the at least one rotational element 15, 16, 17 [both in the first direction of rotation and in the second direction of rotation] (page 5, paragraph [0054]), [in particular the rotation stopper is held in a rotationally fixed manner and/or formed in an annular manner] (page 5, paragraph [0052]), and preferably [the rotation stopper is mounted so as to be displaceable in the axial direction with respect to the longitudinal center axis] (page 5, paragraph [0054]).
For claim 16, Buker discloses the steering apparatus [wherein the steering shaft extends through the end stop device] (fig. 3), [a first end of the steering shaft being designed for the arrangement of a steering handle and/or the end stop device being arranged within an, in particular telescopic, steering column] (page 4, paragraph [0042]), and preferably the tubular end stop device is arranged between the steering shaft and a tubular steering column housing.
For claim 17, Buker discloses a steer-by-wire steering system (page 4, paragraph [0042]) [having a steering apparatus as claimed in claim 1] (page 4, paragraph [0042]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 7, 9, 10, and 12 – 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose:
For claims 4 – 7 and 10: wherein the entrainment device has about an outer circumference, a plurality of guide ribs, the guide ribs extending parallel to the longitudinal center axis; the guide ribs cooperating with a guide slot in the first blocking element;
For claim 9: the first blocking element, in the stop mode of the rotational device, being movable by means of the entrainment device, upon further rotation of the steering shaft in the same direction of rotation, only in the axial direction with respect to the longitudinal center axis, with the result that the first blocking element engages in the further blocking element;
For claims 12 – 14: wherein a transmission arranged between the first blocking element and the rotational device, the transmission element having a first end portion and a second end portion;
For claim 15: wherein at least one portion of the entrainment device, or of a spring receiving element, and at least one portion of the transmission element, form a return device for reversing cooperation of the first blocking element and the further blocking element, the transmission has a first inclined surface and a second inclined surface, the entrainment device or the spring receiving element having a first mating inclined surface for cooperating with the first inclined surface and a second mating inclined surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20230135320 – comprising a rotation-limiting assembly having a housing; a shaft portion; a first sliding guide sleeve; and a second sliding guide sleeve; and
EP-3925857 – comprising a torque limiter having a control piece; at least one locking piece; a housing; at least one guide link and at least one stop.
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611