Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,038,463 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 of Instant application
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,038,463 B2
A system for determining impedances of a plurality of devices under test (DUT), the system comprising:
A system for determining impedances of a plurality of devices under test (DUT), the system comprising:
a fast Fourier transform (FFT) processor configured to convert first voltage related data corresponding to a DUT into a second voltage related data using a fast Fourier transform; and
a fast Fourier transform (FFT) processor coupled to the plurality of measurement circuits, wherein the FFT processor is configured to convert each first voltage related data into a respective second voltage related data using a fast Fourier transform; and
a controller coupled to the FFT processor, wherein the controller is configured to calculate an impedance of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data
a controller coupled to the plurality of measurement circuits and the FFT processor, wherein the controller is configured to calculate an impedance of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data
Similarly Claims 8 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,038,463 B2 respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Similarly Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,740,272 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the power mesh" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
10. Claims 1-2, 6, 8-9, 13, 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention s directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s):
As to claims 1, 8 and 15,
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because:
STEP 1: claim 1 is directed to system which is an apparatus and one of the 4 statutory categories.
STEP 2A: claim 1 is directed to the abstract idea as follows:
First Prong:
convert first voltage related data corresponding to a DUT into a second voltage related data using a fast Fourier transform; and calculate an impedance of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data (hereinafter mentioned as “Mathematical Calculations”).
(These limitations can be performed by mental steps using mathematical formulas that can also be performed using a general processor)
Second Prong:
The claimed mathematical concept/Calculations above is neither implemented into any practical application (device or thing), nor effect any transformation/reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing.
STEP 2B: The Additional elements “a controller coupled to the FFT processor” in the independent claim 1 could be consider as not significantly more than the abstract idea because such features were routine, conventional, as best understood, For example Pub NO. US 2010/0148751 A1 discloses a controller coupled to the FFT processor (controller 28 is coupled to FFT processor 30 in fig. 8) and US 2017/0254844 A1 discloses a controller coupled to the FFT processor. This claim is therefore directed towards an abstract idea without reciting significantly more, and therefore stands rejected as being directed towards a judicial exception.
13. In Claim 8, this claim recites the same claim features as already addressed in above Claim 1, and thus this claim also raises an issue under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the same reasons.
14. In Claim 15, while this claim is a method claim, this claim recites the same claim features as already addressed in above Claims 1 and 8, and thus this claim also raises an issue under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the same reasons.
15. Claims 2, 9, 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 2, 9, 16 depends on claims 1, 8 and 15 respectively, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
Furthermore, Claims 2, 9 and 16 includes additional elements “further comprising a plurality of measurement circuits coupled to the plurality of DUTs and the controller, wherein each measurement circuit is configured to generate each first voltage related data” which are/is simply more mathematical calculations, value numbers, insufficient extra solution activity(s), routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry. For example Pub NO. US 2010/0148751 A1 discloses further comprising a plurality of measurement circuits coupled to the plurality of DUTs and the controller, wherein each measurement circuit is configured to generate each first voltage related data.
16. Claim 6, 13, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 6, 13, 19 depend on claim 2, 9, 16 and respectively therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
Furthermore, Claim 6, 13, 19 includes additional elements “wherein the controller is further configured to control the measurement circuit such that a frequency of a clock signal generated by each measurement circuit is equal to a first frequency value and a second frequency value at different times, the second frequency value being greater than the first frequency value” that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry. For example Pub NO. US 2010/0148751 A1 teaches wherein the controller is further configured to control the measurement circuit such that a frequency of a clock signal generated by each measurement circuit is equal to a first frequency value and a second frequency value at different times, the second frequency value being greater than the first frequency value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-9, 13, 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKAYASU et al. (Pub NO. US 2010/0148751 A1; hereinafter Okayasu) in view of Sestok et al. (Pub NO. US 2017/0254844 A1; hereinafter Sestok).
Regarding Claim 1, Okayasu teaches a system for determining of a plurality of devices under test (DUT) (See the system of Fig. 1 and Fig. 5 and Fig. below), the system comprising:
a fast Fourier transform (FFT) processor (38 in Fig. 5 and Fig. below) configured to convert first voltage related data corresponding to a DUT into a second voltage related data using a fast Fourier transform (38 performs fast Fourier transform of voltage signal 34 and output of 38 is second voltage signal in Fig. 5 and Fig. below; See [0062]); and
a controller coupled to the FFT processor (controller 28 is coupled to 30 in Fig. 8; See [0070]-[0080]), wherein the controller is configured to calculate of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data (42 calculated of each DUT based on output of 38 in Fig. 5 and Fig. below; See [0062]-[0080]).
Okayasu is silent about calculate an impedance of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data.
Sestok teaches calculate an impedance of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data (See [0009], [0016], [0026]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Okayasu by to calculate an impedance of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data, as taught by Sestok in order to measure the impedance of a circuit element (Sestok; [0003]).
Regarding Claim 2, Okayasu in view of Sestok teaches the system of claim 1. Okayasu further teaches further comprising a plurality of measurement circuits coupled to the plurality of DUTs and the controller (plurality of measurement circuits 24/30 are coupled to DUT’s 20 and controller 28 in Fig. 8), wherein each measurement circuit is configured to generate each first voltage related data (30 generates each voltage data in Fig. 8; See [0045], [0064], [0066]).
Regarding Claim 6, Okayasu in view of Sestok teaches the system of claim 2. Okayasu further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to control the measurement circuit (controller 28 is controlling clock signals and 30 in Fig. 8; See [0068]-[0075]) such that a frequency of a clock signal generated by each measurement circuit is equal to a first frequency value (clock signal frequency T is first frequency value in Fig. 2; See [0047]-[0048]) and a second frequency value at different times (second frequency 2T different from T in Fig. 2; See [0047]-[0048]), the second frequency value being greater than the first frequency value (2T is greater than T due to jitter in fig. 2; See [0047]-[0048]).
Regarding Claim 8, Okayasu teaches an impedance measurement device embedded within a chip (See the system of Fig. 1 and Fig. 5 and Fig. below), the impedance measurement device comprising:
a fast Fourier transform (FFT) processor (38 in Fig. 5 and Fig. below) configured to convert first voltage related data corresponding to a device under test (DUT) into second voltage related data using a fast Fourier transform (38 performs fast Fourier transform of voltage signal 34 and output of 38 is second voltage signal in Fig. 5 and Fig. below; See [0062]); and
a controller coupled to the FFT processor (controller 28 is coupled to 30 in Fig. 8; See [0070]-[0080]), wherein the controller is configured to calculate of the DUT using the second voltage related data (42 calculated of each DUT based on output of 38 in Fig. 5 and Fig. below; See [0062]-[0080]).
Okayasu is silent about calculate an impedance of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data.
Sestok teaches calculate an impedance of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data (See [0009], [0016], [0026]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Okayasu by to calculate an impedance of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data, as taught by Sestok in order to measure the impedance of a circuit element (Sestok; [0003]).
Regarding Claim 9, Okayasu in view of Sestok teaches the impedance measurement device of claim 8. Okayasu further teaches (controller 28 is controlling clock signals and 30 in Fig. 8; See [0068]-[0075]) wherein the measurement device further comprises a plurality of measurement circuits coupled to the plurality of DUTs and the controller (plurality of measurement circuits 24/30 are coupled to DUT’s 20 and controller 28 in Fig. 8), wherein each measurement circuit is configured to generate each first voltage related data (30 generates each voltage data in Fig. 8; See [0045], [0064], [0066]).
Regarding Claim 13, Okayasu in view of Sestok teaches the impedance measurement device of claim 9. Okayasu further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to control the measurement circuit (controller 28 is controlling clock signals and 30 in Fig. 8; See [0068]-[0075]) such that a frequency of a clock signal generated by the measurement circuit is equal to a first frequency value (clock signal frequency T is first frequency value in Fig. 2; See [0047]-[0048]) and a second frequency value at different times (second frequency 2T different from T in Fig. 2; See [0047]-[0048]), the second frequency value being greater than the first frequency value (2T is greater than T due to jitter in fig. 2; See [0047]-[0048]).
Regarding Claim 15, Okayasu teaches a method for determining impedance of a device under test (DUT) using an impedance measurement device embedded within a chip (See the method of Fig. 1 and Fig. 5 and Fig. below), the method comprising:
converting, using a fast Fourier transform (FFT) processor (38 performs fast Fourier transform of voltage signal 34 and output of 38 is second voltage signal in Fig. 5 and Fig. below; See [0062]),
the first voltage related data corresponding to the DUT into second voltage related data using a fast Fourier transform (38 performs fast Fourier transform of voltage signal 34 and output of 38 is second voltage signal in Fig. 5 and Fig. below; See [0062]); and
calculating, using a controller coupled the FFT processor (controller 28 is coupled to 30 in Fig. 8; See [0070]-[0080]), of the DUT using the second voltage related data (42 calculated of each DUT based on output of 38 in Fig. 5 and Fig. below; See [0062]-[0080]).
Okayasu is silent about calculate an impedance of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data.
Sestok teaches calculate an impedance of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data (See [0009], [0016], [0026]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Okayasu by to calculate an impedance of each DUT using the respective second voltage related data, as taught by Sestok in order to measure the impedance of a circuit element (Sestok; [0003]).
Regarding Claim 16, Okayasu in view of Sestok teaches the method of claim 15. Okayasu further teaches further comprising: generating, using a measurement circuit coupled to the DUT and the controller (plurality of measurement circuits 24/30 are coupled to DUT’s 20 and controller 28 in Fig. 8), first voltage related data for the DUT (30 generates each voltage data in Fig. 8; See [0045], [0064], [0066]).
Regarding Claim 19, Okayasu in view of Sestok teaches the method of claim 16. Okayasu further teaches further comprising controlling, by the controller, the measurement circuit (controller 28 is controlling clock signals and 30 in Fig. 8; See [0068]-[0075]) such that a frequency of a clock signal generated by each measurement circuit is equal to a first frequency value (clock signal frequency T is first frequency value in Fig. 2; See [0047]-[0048]) and a second frequency value at different times (second frequency 2T different from T in Fig. 2; See [0047]-[0048]), the second frequency value being greater than the first frequency value (2T is greater than T due to jitter in fig. 2; See [0047]-[0048]).
19. Claim(s) 10, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okayasu in view of Sestok further in view of DeLaCruz et al. (Pub NO. US 2018/0331095 A1; hereinafter DeLaCruz).
Regarding Claim 10, Okayasu in view of Sestok teaches the impedance measurement device of claim 9. Okayasu further teaches wherein the DUT configured to be controlled by the first voltage related data (30 generates each voltage data and plurality of measurement circuits 24/30 are coupled to DUT’s 20 and controller 28 in Fig. 8in Fig. 8; See [0045], [0064], [0066]) and a clock generator configured to be controlled by a frequency of a clock signal (controller 28 is controlling clock signals and clock signal is generated by clock generator in Fig. 8; See [0068]-[0075]) generated by the measurement circuit (clock signal frequency T is first frequency value in Fig. 2; See [0047]-[0048]).
Okayasu in view of Sestok is silent about clock tree; and DUT comprises a power mesh.
DeLaCruz teaches clock tree (See [0078]); and DUT comprises a power mesh (See [0078]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Okayasu and Sestok by using clock tree; and DUT comprises a power mesh, as taught by DeLaCruz in order to reduce the higher-level interconnect layers is beneficial as the wiring on these layers often consume more space due to their thicker, wider and coarser arrangements (DeLaCruz; [0013]).
Regarding Claim 12, Okayasu in view of Sestok teaches the impedance measurement device of claim 10. Okayasu in view of Sestok is silent about wherein the measurement circuit is configured to detect a voltage of the power mesh.
DeLaCruz teaches wherein the measurement circuit is configured to detect a voltage of the power mesh (See [0078]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Okayasu and Sestok by using measurement circuit is configured to detect a voltage of the power mesh, as taught by DeLaCruz in order to reduce the higher-level interconnect layers is beneficial as the wiring on these layers often consume more space due to their thicker, wider and coarser arrangements (DeLaCruz; [0013]).
Regarding Claim 17, Okayasu in view of Sestok teaches the method of claim 16. Okayasu further teaches further comprising: controlling, by the first voltage related data, of the DUT (30 generates each voltage data and plurality of measurement circuits 24/30 are coupled to DUT’s 20 and controller 28 in Fig. 8in Fig. 8; See [0045], [0064], [0066]); and controlling, by a frequency of a clock signal (controller 28 is controlling clock signals and clock signal is generated by clock generator in Fig. 8; See [0068]-[0075]) generated by each measurement circuit (clock signal frequency T is first frequency value in Fig. 2; See [0047]-[0048]).
Okayasu in view of Sestok is silent about DUT comprises a power mesh; and clock tree.
DeLaCruz teaches DUT comprises a power mesh (See [0078]); and clock tree (See [0078]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Okayasu and Sestok by using clock tree; and DUT comprises a power mesh, as taught by DeLaCruz in order to reduce the higher-level interconnect layers is beneficial as the wiring on these layers often consume more space due to their thicker, wider and coarser arrangements (DeLaCruz; [0013]).
Allowable Subject Matter
20. Claims 3-5, 7, 11, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
21. Regarding Claim 3, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests the system of claim 2, wherein each DUT comprises a power mesh configured to be controlled by the first voltage related data and a clock tree configured to be controlled by a frequency of a clock signal generated by each measurement circuit.
Claims 4-5 depend on claim 3, therefore claims 4-5 also have allowable subject matter.
22. Regarding Claim 7, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests the system of claim 6, wherein the controller is further configured to control each measurement circuit such that the frequency of the clock signal switches between zero and the second frequency value at a switching frequency of a third frequency value, the third frequency value being greater than the first frequency value and smaller than the second frequency value.
23. Regarding Claim 11, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests the impedance measurement device of claim 10, wherein the FFT processor is further configured to convert first current related data that corresponds to current of the power mesh into second current related data, and the controller is further configured to calculate a current amplitude using the second current related data.
24. Regarding Claim 14, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests the impedance measurement device of claim 13, wherein the controller is further configured to control the measurement circuit such that the frequency of the clock signal switches between zero and the second frequency value at a switching frequency of a third frequency value, the third frequency value being greater than the first frequency value and smaller than the second frequency value.
25. Regarding Claim 20, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests the impedance measurement device of claim 19, further comprising controlling, by the controller, the measurement circuit such that the frequency of the clock signal switches between zero and the second frequency value at a switching frequency of a third frequency value, the third frequency value being greater than the first frequency value and smaller than the second frequency value.
26. Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
27. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. NAKAMURA et al. (Pub NO. US 2020/0271717 A1) discloses Multiple Output Isolated Power Supply for Test Equipment.
b. YANG et al. (Pub NO. US 2018/0164349 A1) discloses Peak Current Evaluation System.
c. Peng et al. (Pub NO. US 2018/0031627 A1) discloses Time to Current Converter.
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858