DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filled on 12/23/2025, with respect to objection to the drawing have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the drawings have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filled on 12/23/2025, with respect to objection to claims 4 and 24 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filled on 12/23/2025, with respect to rejection of claims 1, 2, and 8 under 35 USC 112 (b) / 2nd have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-8,11, and 22-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jefferd (US 2010/0200229 A1) and further in view of Rangarajan et al. (US 2020/0182036 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made set forth below.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 24, the phrase "withing parenthesis- “SPU” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8,11, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Jefferd (US 2010/0200229 A1) ("Jefferd" herein- cited previously) and further in view of Pinder et al. (US 2020/0354839 A1) (“Pinder” herein)
Claim 1.
Jefferd discloses a system for carrying out different simultaneous modalities of capture, utilization and storage of CO2, comprising the following components:
- a production well in communication with an oil reservoir; [0027, 0101-0108]
- connected to the production well; [0027, 0101-0108]
- a stationary production unit (SPU) [0027, 0109]
- an access well connected to the subsea manifold, the access well extending into a cavern in salt rock; [0107-0108]
- a first piping extending from the access well into a bottom of a cavern for fluid CO2 input and output; [0027, 0101-0108]
- a second piping extending to a top of a cavern for input and output of CO2; [0040-0042, 0101-0108]
- a pump installed downstream of the injection well; and a CO₂ injection well connected to the pump for injecting fluid into a reservoir interconnected with the production well. [0040-0042, 0101-0105]
Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose a subsea manifold connected to the production well; and the stationary unit connected to the subsea manifold.
Pinder teaches the above limitation (See paragraphs 0029-0030 & 0032 → Pinder teaches this limitation in that The subsea wellhead 108 provides the suspension point and pressure seals for casing string that run from the bottom of the hole sections to the surface pressure control equipment. Additional components of the system 100 include a subsea tree 110 that defines the top of wellbore 112, which provides a control to the flow of in and out of the wellbore 112. The wellbore 112 may be cased, uncased, or partially cased, without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. A subsea header(s) 116, flowline(s) 118, and flowline jumper(s) 120 are shown for distributing fluids to and from the surface, wellbore, or production platform 122. An umbilical system provides communication between subsea controls and topside controls for all equipment. As shown, the umbilical system includes a subsea umbilical termination assembly (SUTA) 124, flying lead(s) 126, and umbilical line(s) 128. As used herein, the term “umbilical” or “umbilical line,” and grammatical variants thereof, refers to any one or more conduits capable of introducing at least chemical substances and fluids into a subsea system. The umbilical system can transmit fluid (e.g., as a chemical injection) and/or electrical current necessary to control the functions of the subsea components of the system 100. Accordingly, the umbilical system allows fluid flow through the drilling riser 104 and throughout the subsea components of the system 100 and to the production platform 122. Additional conduits can be in operation in a subsea installation such as capillary string injection lines. FIG. 1 in the interest of clarity. Non-limiting additional components that may be present include, but are not limited to, any components used as part of a subsea drilling and production system, such as subsea drilling systems, subsea Christmas trees and wellhead systems, umbilical and riser systems, subsea manifolds and jumper systems, tie-in and flowline systems, control systems, subsea installation, and any combination thereof. Such non-limiting components may include, but are not limited to, supply hoppers, valves, fasteners, condensers, adapters, joints, gauges, sensors, compressors, pressure controllers, pressure sensors, flow rate controllers, flow rate sensors, temperature sensors, transmitters, hydraulic distribution manifolds and modules, logic caps, couplers (e.g., hydraulic, electrical, and the like), spools, seals, hangers, bushings, and the like.) for the purpose of having a land-based or subsea drilling and/or production system. [0048]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jefferd with the above limitation, as taught by Pinder, in order to have a land-based or subsea drilling and/or production system.
Claim 2.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 and a hydrocarbon flows from the production well [0101-0108] Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose
the subsea manifold. (Same as claim 1).
Claim 3.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the hydrocarbon flows from to the SPU. [0027, 0101- 0108] Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose the subsea manifold. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 4.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 3, wherein the gases processed in the SPU are injected into an access well leading to a cavern in salt rock (CSR). [0101- 0108]
Claim 5.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 coming the cavern in salt rock. [0041, 0101-0108]
Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose from the subsea manifold enters a manifold. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 6.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 is flowed to the injection well. [0041,0101-0108] Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose a manifold.)coming from the subsea manifold (Same as claim 1)
Claim 7.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 from the injection well is injected into an oil reservoir for enhanced recovery. . [0040-0041]
Claim 8.
The system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 from the pump is flowed through a valve to one of three CO2 capture options. . [0040-0042, 0101-0108]
Claim 11
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein the CO2 flow is to a porous rock through the access well. [041-0043]
Claim 22-23.
Jefferd discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising one or more additional injection wells extending to a reservoir, the one or more additional injection wells in communication with the pump, further comprising injecting an amount of fluid into a reservoir to maximize oil production. [0106-0107]
Claim 24.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 22 wherein (SPU) comprises a fixed platform. [0025-0028]
Claim 25.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein the CO₂ flow is to a permeable rock through the access well. [0041-0042]
Claim 26.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein the CO2 flow is to a CO2- reactive rock through the access well. [0041-0043]
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jefferd, Pinder, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Barry et al. (US
2014/0338921 A1) ("Barry" herein- cited previously)
Claims 9-10
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 8. Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose, wherein the CO2 flow is to a depleted hydrocarbon reservoir through the access well or an aquifer through the access well.
Barry teaches the above limitation (See paragraph 0003→ Barry teaches this limitation in that Oil and natural gas that is obtained from oil wells may be stored in an underground oil and natural gas storage facility. There are three general types of underground oil and natural gas storage facilities, including aquifers, depleted oil or gas field reservoirs, and caverns formed in salt or carbonate formations. These underground facilities are characterized primarily by their capacity, i.e., the amount of oil or natural gas that may be held in the facility, and their deliverability, i.e., the rate at which the oil or natural gas within the facility may be withdrawn.) for the purpose of having underground oil and natural gas storage facilities. [0003]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jefferd with the above limitation, as taught by Barry, in order to have underground oil and natural gas storage facilities.
Claims 1-8,11, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Jefferd (US 2010/0200229 A1) ("Jefferd" herein- cited previously) and further in view of Kleemeier et al. (US 2020/0224519 A1) (“Kleemeier” herein)
Claim 1.
Jefferd discloses a system for carrying out different simultaneous modalities of capture, utilization and storage of CO2, comprising the following components:
- a production well in communication with an oil reservoir; [0027, 0101-0108]
- connected to the production well; [0027, 0101-0108]
- a stationary production unit (SPU) [0027, 0109]
- an access well connected to the subsea manifold, the access well extending into a cavern in salt rock; [0107-0108]
- a first piping extending from the access well into a bottom of a cavern for fluid CO2 input and output; [0027, 0101-0108]
- a second piping extending to a top of a cavern for input and output of CO2; [0040-0042, 0101-0108]
- a pump installed downstream of the injection well; and a CO₂ injection well connected to the pump for injecting fluid into a reservoir interconnected with the production well. [0040-0042, 0101-0105]
Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose a subsea manifold connected to the production well; and the stationary unit connected to the subsea manifold.
Kleemeier teaches the above limitation (See paragraphs 0039 → Kleemeier teaches this limitation in that FIG. 1 illustrates an offshore gas lift system of an illustrative embodiment. FSRU 100 may be berthed, docked and/or moored at buoy 105 in a navigable body of water such as the ocean, a lake or river. Buoy 105 may be a subsea turret buoy (sometimes referred to as a submerged turret loading or “STL” buoy), as shown in FIG. 1, or an external turret buoy (not shown). One or more anchor lines 110 may secure buoy 105 to seabed 140 with anchors 135. Riser 115, which may be a submerged flexible riser, steel catenary riser, steel export riser and/or umbilical may extend from buoy 105 to seabed 140, and may fluidly connect buoy 105 to subsea natural gas pipeline 120, either through a subsea ring main or via subsea flow/pressure control manifold 160, the latter of which may provide a connection directly to oil well 150 through riser 115 and/or subsea natural gas pipeline 120. Natural gas pipeline 120 may extend towards and/or into oil well 150 and/or annulus 330 (shown in FIG. 3). FSRU 100 may berth to buoy 105 at and/or proximate to the forward end and/or bow of FSRU 100. In some embodiments, FSRU 100 may be moored at offshore platform 155, a dock or a sea island, rather than buoy 105. In such instances high pressure gas arm 800 (shown in FIG. 8) may transfer natural gas from FSRU 100 to pipeline 120 on offshore platform 155, the dock or the sea island, and natural gas pipeline 120 may extend along offshore platform 155, the dock or the sea island into oil well 150.) for the purpose of having primarily described herein with respect to an oil well offshore in the ocean. However, illustrative embodiments are not so limited and may equally apply to wells offshore in lakes or rivers or other similar large bodies of water, or to wells located onshore that may be connected to the FSRU by high pressure pipeline and receive high pressure natural gas discharged from the FSRU through the high pressure pipeline.. [0048]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jefferd with the above limitation, as taught by Kleemeier , in order to equally apply to wells offshore in lakes or rivers or other similar large bodies of water, or to wells located onshore that may be connected to the FSRU by high pressure pipeline and receive high pressure natural gas discharged from the FSRU through the high pressure pipeline.
Claim 2.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 and a hydrocarbon flows from the production well [0101-0108] Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose
the subsea manifold. (Same as claim 1).
Claim 3.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the hydrocarbon flows from to the SPU. [0027, 0101- 0108] Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose the subsea manifold. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 4.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 3, wherein the gases processed in the SPU are injected into an access well leading to a cavern in salt rock (CSR). [0101- 0108]
Claim 5.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 coming the cavern in salt rock. [0041, 0101-0108]
Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose from the subsea manifold enters a manifold. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 6.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 is flowed to the injection well. [0041,0101-0108] Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose a manifold.)coming from the subsea manifold (Same as claim 1)
Claim 7.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 from the injection well is injected into an oil reservoir for enhanced recovery. . [0040-0041]
Claim 8.
The system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 from the pump is flowed through a valve to one of three CO2 capture options. . [0040-0042, 0101-0108]
Claim 11
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein the CO2 flow is to a porous rock through the access well. [041-0043]
Claim 22-23.
Jefferd discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising one or more additional injection wells extending to a reservoir, the one or more additional injection wells in communication with the pump, further comprising injecting an amount of fluid into a reservoir to maximize oil production. [0106-0107]
Claim 24.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 22 wherein (SPU) comprises a fixed platform. [0025-0028]
Claim 25.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein the CO₂ flow is to a permeable rock through the access well. [0041-0042]
Claim 26.
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein the CO2 flow is to a CO2- reactive rock through the access well. [0041-0043]
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jefferd, Kleemeier, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Barry et al. (US
2014/0338921 A1) ("Barry" herein- cited previously)
Claims 9-10
Jefferd discloses the system according to claim 8. Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose, wherein the CO2 flow is to a depleted hydrocarbon reservoir through the access well or an aquifer through the access well.
Barry teaches the above limitation (See paragraph 0003→ Barry teaches this limitation in that Oil and natural gas that is obtained from oil wells may be stored in an underground oil and natural gas storage facility. There are three general types of underground oil and natural gas storage facilities, including aquifers, depleted oil or gas field reservoirs, and caverns formed in salt or carbonate formations. These underground facilities are characterized primarily by their capacity, i.e., the amount of oil or natural gas that may be held in the facility, and their deliverability, i.e., the rate at which the oil or natural gas within the facility may be withdrawn.) for the purpose of having underground oil and natural gas storage facilities. [0003]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jefferd with the above limitation, as taught by Barry, in order to have underground oil and natural gas storage facilities.
Claims 1-8,11, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Kleemeier in further view of Jefferd .
Claim 1.
Kleemeier discloses a system for carrying out different simultaneous modalities of capture, utilization and storage of CO2, comprising the following components: (See Fig. 1)
- a production well in communication with an oil reservoir; (155, 150) [0039-0044]
- a subsea manifold connected to the production well; (105) [0039-0044]
- a stationary production unit (SPU) connected to the subsea manifold; (130) [0039-0044]
- an access well connected to the subsea manifold, [0039-0044]
- a first piping extending from the access well for fluid CO2 input and output; [0039-0044, 0051-0052]
- a second piping extending to for input and output of CO2; [0039-0044, 0051-0052]
- a pump installed downstream of the injection well; [0039-0044]
and
- a CO₂ injection well connected to the pump for injecting fluid into a reservoir. [0039-0044, 0051-0052]
Kleemeier however does not explicitly disclose the access well extending into a cavern in salt rock; interconnected with the production well., into a bottom of a cavern and a top of a cavern.
Jefferd teaches the above limitation (See paragraphs 0101-102 , 0104-0105, & 0030→ Jefferd teaches this limitation in that in some embodiments, hydrocarbon recovery system 600 can include: (a) at least one gasifier 110; (b) at least two compressors 126 and 627 coupled to the output of gasifier 110; (c) at least one injection well 150 coupled to compressor 126 and at least partially located in hydrocarbon formation 601; (d) one or more transportation wells 656 and 657; (f) at least one injection well 655 coupled to compressor 627 and a cavern 660; (g) at least one production well 658 coupled to cavern 660; (h) at least one pump 130 coupled to production well 658; and (i) an above-ground storage facility 136 coupled to production well 658 through pump 130. Other parts (not shown) of hydrocarbon recovery system 600 can be similar to the embodiments of FIGS. 1 and 3-5. , 0104-0105As an example, each part of system 600 (except, in some examples, above-ground storage facility 136) can be located within 1000 meters of the point on the surface of the earth directly above any part of hydrocarbon formation 601, salt bed 602 and/or the mineral lease containing hydrocarbon formation 601. In still other examples, each part of system 600 (except, in some examples, above-ground storage facility 136) can be located directly over hydrocarbon formation 601, salt bed 602, and/or the mineral lease to reduce cost. Syngas or a portion thereof (i.e., a second injection gas) from gasifier 110 also can be pumped into cavern 660. In some examples, the second injection gas can pressurize the cavern 660 and thereby create an underground pressurized vessel, which can upgrade/refine the hydrocarbons. Additionally, adding the second injection gas (or hot second injection gas) into cavern 660 can enable in-situ refining (e.g., hydrocracking and/or hydrotreating) and/or increasing the API gravity of the hydrocarbons. The upgraded hydrocarbons can be pumped from cavern 660 using production well 658 and stored in storage facility 136 or transported off-site. In some examples, system 600 could be a substantially or completely emission-free system because byproducts can be reused in system 600 or stored in cavern 660 (or another similar cavern).Cavern 660 can be a man-made or natural cavern formed in the vicinity of hydrocarbon formation 601. In some examples, cavern 660 can be a salt dome formed in a salt (sodium chloride) bed 602. Salt beds can be found interspersed with material such as anhydrite, shale, dolomite, and other more permeable salts (e.g., potassium chloride) in certain parts of the United States and other countries. Frequently, salt beds can have thicknesses of 300 to 900 meters. The salt beds can often be found 150 to 600 meters below the ground surface and in the vicinity of hydrocarbon formations. The hydrocarbon formations are often located above the salt beds. In the same or different embodiments, the syngas can also contain carbonyl sulfide (COS), hydrogen sulfide (H.sub.2S) carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2), methane (CH.sub.4).) for the purpose of recovering and extraction of useful oils or hydrocarbons from heavier crude oil. [0003]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kleemeier with the above limitation, as taught by Jefferd in order to recover and extract useful oils or hydracoarbons.
Claim 2.
Kleemeier discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 and a hydrocarbon flows from the production well to the subsea manifold. [0039-0044, 0051-0052]
Claim 3.
Kleemeier discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the hydrocarbon flows from the subsea manifold to the SPU. [0039-0044, 0051-0052]
Claim 4.
Kleemeier discloses the system according to claim 3, wherein the gases processed in the SPU are injected into an access well leading. [0039-0044, 0051-0052] Kleemeier does not explicitly disclose to a cavern in salt rock (CSR). (Same as claim 1)
Claim 5.
Kleemeier discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 coming from the subsea manifold [0039-0044, 0051-0052] Kleemeier does not explicitly disclose enters the cavern in salt rock . (Same as claim 1)
.
Claim 6.
Kleemeier discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 coming from the subsea manifold is flowed to the injection well. [0039-0044, 0051-0052]
Claim 7.
Kleemeier discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 from the injection well is injected into an oil reservoir for enhanced recovery. [0039-0044, 0051-0052]
Claim 8.
Kleemeier discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the CO2 from the pump is flowed through a valve to one of three CO2 capture options. [0039-0044, 0051-0052]
Claim 11.
Kleemeier discloses the system according to claim 8. Kleemeier however does not explicitly disclose, wherein the CO2 flow is to a porous rock through the access well. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 22.
Kleemeier disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising one or more additional injection wells extending to a reservoir, the one or more additional injection wells in communication with the pump. [0039-0044, 0051-0052]
Claim 23.
Kleemeier disclose the system of claim 22, further comprising injecting an amount of fluid into a reservoir to maximize oil production. [0039-0044, 0051-0052]
Claim 24.
Kleemeier disclose the system according to claim 22 wherein (SPU) comprises a fixed platform. [0039-0044, 0051-0052]
Claim 25.
Kleemeier discloses the system according to claim 8. Kleemeier however does not explicitly disclose, the CO₂ flow is to a permeable rock through the access well. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 26.
Kleemeier discloses the system according to claim 8. Kleemeier however does not explicitly disclose, wherein the CO2 flow is to a CO2- reactive rock through the access well. (Same as claim 1)
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kleemeier, Jefferd as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Barry et al. (US
2014/0338921 A1) ("Barry" herein- cited previously)
Claims 9-10
Kleemeier discloses the system according to claim 8. Jefferd however does not explicitly disclose, wherein the CO2 flow is to a depleted hydrocarbon reservoir through the access well or an aquifer through the access well.
Barry teaches the above limitation (See paragraph 0003→ Barry teaches this limitation in that Oil and natural gas that is obtained from oil wells may be stored in an underground oil and natural gas storage facility. There are three general types of underground oil and natural gas storage facilities, including aquifers, depleted oil or gas field reservoirs, and caverns formed in salt or carbonate formations. These underground facilities are characterized primarily by their capacity, i.e., the amount of oil or natural gas that may be held in the facility, and their deliverability, i.e., the rate at which the oil or natural gas within the facility may be withdrawn.) for the purpose of having underground oil and natural gas storage facilities. [0003]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kleemeier with the above limitation, as taught by Barry, in order to have underground oil and natural gas storage facilities.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 03/10/2026