Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “102” has been used to designate both the frame and the FPC in FIG. 8. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 11, 13, 15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 2019/0274222 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Bolender, US 2010/0253645 A1 (hereinafter “Bolender”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a touch flexible printed circuit (FPC) (Kim FIGS. 6A-8B FPCB 620, 770, 870 described at [0127], [0150]-[0154] and [0169]), applicable to a touch display panel (Kim FIGS. 1-4 electronic device 101 with display 160 at [0039] and touch panel 252 and [0069]-[0070]; touch sensing discussed at [0006]-[0007] and [0048] and [0092] further at FIGS.6A-7A, [0118] and [0128]), wherein the touch FPC is disposed on a back side of the touch display panel (Kim FIGS. 6A-8B with display panel 730 along with touch panel 710 at [0128] and the backside would be the side not being touched by the finger in [0129]-[0138]), the back side of the touch display panel being a side opposite to a light-emitting surface of the touch display panel (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B with touch panel 710 of display 730 and 810, the FPCB 770 and 870 are on the opposite side of direction of light emission at [0127]-[0138] also called rear surface [0149]-[0155]), and the touch FPC comprises a main FPC (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B and the planar area 870-2 of FPCB 870 at [0149]-[0155]), a force sensing structure (Kim FIGS. 2 and [0074] pressure sensor measures an intensity of pressure; FIGS. 7A-8B describing 763 and 863 at [0127] and [0141]-[0142] and [0150]-[0154]; and FIGS. 10-11B, pressure sensors pressure sensors 1052-1 through 1052-4 at [0163]-[0171]), and a connector (Kim FIGS. 6A-8B and bent area 612-1, 735-1 and 870-1 [0133]-[0135] and [0152]-[0153]);
the force sensing structure is integrated in a first area (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B, 10-11B pressure sensors 763 and 863 on the far right of the structure at [0141]-[0142], [0150]-[0154] and [0170]) of the main FPC and electrically connected with the main FPC (Kim FIGS. 10-11B, [0163]-[0171] pressure sensors 1130b connected to FPCB 1110b);
the connector is disposed in a second area (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B and bent area 612-1, 735-1 and 870-1 [0133]-[0135] and [0152]-[0153] on the left) of the main FPC and configured to connect the main FPC with a main board of a touch display device (Kim see FIGS. 7A-8B illustrating bent area 735-1 and 870-1 connecting the area 870-2 to the display panel 830, further FIG. 5B illustrated DDI hardware module 531, additionally 735-2 being a separate area with DDI 790 and DDI 890 connect to the display device 830 via the bent areas 735-1 and 870-1 described at [0145] and [0150]-[0154]); and
the main FPC is provided with a binding area and electrically connected to the touch display panel by the binding area (Kim FIG. 4 and [0094]-[0098] describing connection of the FPCB 425 with the boards 440 via a specific connector at 430 on the distal end of the board as illustrated), the first area, the second area, and the binding area being disposed on a same side of the main FPC (Kim FIG. 4 and [0094]-[0098] further at FIGS. 7A-8B and illustrating the placement of bent area 735-1 and 870-1 in a second area, the pressure sensors 763 and 863 on the far end (first area) and the connector of FIG. 4 being located at some point on the distal end to the right of the pressure sensors of 763 and 863 as would be understood by one of ordinary skill, the areas of which are disposed on the same side of the 870-2), the first area being disposed between the second area and the binding area (Kim FIG. 4 and [0094]-[0098], e.g., connection section to the right of the pressure sensors of FIGS. 7A-8B; therefore the pressure sensor area 763 and 863 – first area – is between the bent areas 735-1 and 870-1 – second area - and the FIG 4 connector - binding area - on the far right side of the device at [0094]-[0098] beyond what is shown in FIGS. 7A-8B);
and the touch FPC further comprising a touch controller disposed on the main FPC (Kim FIG. 2 and sensor module 240 includes a control circuit for controlling at least one or more sensors; and the touch panel may include a control circuit at [0068]-[0069]; [0074] touch panel 252 is integrated into display panel 262 and the sensing can be implemented as one; and the display may include a control circuit for controlling the panel 262; [0077] display 260 may include control circuit for controlling the panel 262 – and thus the touch panel; [0145] and FIGS. 7A-7B, the DDI 790 controls the display panel 730), the touch controller is electrically connected to a touch layer of the touch display panel by the main FPC and configured to control the touch display panel to realize a touch function and a display function (Kim FIGS. 5, 7A-8B with DDI 790 and 890 and [0127] and [0150] along with the control circuit of the touch panel [0068]-[0069] further at [0074] describing combined functionality of touch panel 252), and the touch controller is electrically connected to the force sensing structure by the main FPC and configured to control the force sensing structure to realize a force sensing function (Kim FIGS. 5 7A-8B with DDI 790 and 890 and [0127] and [0150] along with the control circuit of the touch panel [0068]-[0069] further at [0074] describing combined functionality of touch panel 252 to include pressure sensor and touch intensity and further at FIG. 4 and [0096]); and
the touch display panel is installed in a touch display device comprising a frame (Kim FIGS. 2-4 and [0069] and [0074] further describing housing 450 at [0091]-[0099]), wherein the touch display panel (Kim FIG. 4, 420 and [0092])and the frame (450) are on opposite sides of the main FPC (Kim FIG. 4, ([0090]-[0101]; FPCB 440 in between housing 450 and display panel 420 with each on opposite sides of the FPCB).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose the force sensing structure is disposed on a side of the main FPC facing the frame, and the force sensing structure and the frame are separated by a gap.
In the same field of endeavor, Bolender discloses a touch display device capable of sensing force (Bolender [0007]-[0008] and [0049]-[0050]) the force sensing structure (Bolender FIGS. 2-6 and [0041]-[0044] and [0068]-[0069] capacitive structure 128/136 and 220/222) is disposed on a side of the main FPC (Bolender FIGS. 2-6 at [0039]-[0044] and [0068]-[0070] structural component 124/204 described as flexible or rigid circuit board at [0039], FIGS. 3-4 with flexible portion 170 of circuit assembly 156 at [0051]-[0053]) facing the frame (Bolender FIGS. 2-6 and [0041]-[0044] and [0068]-[0070] base 138/206), and the force sensing structure and the frame are separated by a gap (Bolender FIGS. 2-6 illustrating gap 140between capacitive structure 128/220 and base 138/206 and [0040]-[0041]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display screen capable of detecting force of Kim to incorporate the force structure with a gap as disclosed by Bolender because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch display devices. The motivation to combine these references would have been to reduce manufacturing costs, improve performance, and reduce processing times when measuring force (see Bolender at least at [0077]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Bolender discloses the touch FPC according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the force sensing structure comprises at least one sensing substructure (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B with 763 and 863 [0150],further at FIGS. 10-11B with multiple structures therein at [0163]-[0167]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Bolender discloses the touch FPC according to claim 4 (see above), wherein the at least one sensing substructure comprises at least two sensing substructures arranged in a direction distal from the binding area (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B and 763, 863 having at least two structures [0141]-[0142] and [0150]-[0155] and FIGS. 10-11B at [0163]-[0170] and FIG. 4 with the area where the connector would be (binding area) on the far end at [0094]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Bolender discloses the touch FPC according to claim 4 (see above), wherein the at least one sensing substructure comprises at least two sensing substructures (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B and 763, 863 having at least two structures [0141]-[0142] and [0150]-[0155] and FIGS. 10-11B at [0163]-[0170]), orthographic projections of the at least two sensing substructures on the back side of the touch display panel being distributed uniformly (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B and 763, 863 having at least two structures that appear to be uniformly projected and FIGS. 9-11B at [0161]-[0170] with the pressure structures uniformly distributed and orthogonal in their project).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Bolender discloses the touch FPC according to claim 4 (see above), wherein the at least one sensing substructure comprises at least two sensing substructures (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B and 763, 863 having at least two structures [0141]-[0142] and [0150]-[0155] and FIGS. 10-11B at [0163]-[0170]), and the main FPC comprises at least two bonding pads (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B with adhesive layers 761/765 and 861/865 and [0127] and [0141]-[0142] and [0150]), the at least two sensing substructures being arranged on the at least two bonding pads in one-to-one correspondence (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B with adhesive layers 761/765 and 861/865 and [0127] and [0141]-[0142] and [0150]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Bolender discloses the touch FPC according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the force sensing structure is bonded to the main FPC (see Kim FIGS. 7A-8B with adhesive layers 761/765 and 861/865 as described at least at [0140] and [0150]-[0155]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses a touch display device (Kim FIGS. 1-4 electronic device 101 with display 160 at [0039] and touch panel 252 and [0069]-[0070]; touch sensing discussed at [0006]-[0007] and [0048] and [0092] of cover glass 410 having touch capability; further at FIGS.6A-7A, [0118] and [0128]), comprising a frame (Kim FIG. 4, rear housing 450 at [0091]), a touch display panel (Kim FIGS. 1-4 electronic device 101 with display 160 at [0039] and touch panel 252 and [0069]-[0070]; touch sensing discussed at [0006]-[0007] and [0048] and [0092] of cover glass 410 having touch capability; further at FIGS.6A-7A, [0118] and [0128]), and a touch flexible printed circuit (FPC) (Kim FIGS. 6A-8B FPCB 620, 770, 870 described at [0127], [0150]-[0154] and [0169]), wherein the touch FPC is disposed on a back side of the touch display panel (Kim FIGS. 6A-8B with display panel 730 along with touch panel 710 at [0128] and the backside would be the side not being touched by the finger in [0129]-[0138]), the back side of the touch display panel being a side opposite to a light-emitting surface of the touch display panel (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B with touch panel 710 of display 730 and 810, the FPCB 770 and 870 are on the opposite side of direction of light emission at [0127]-[0138] also called rear surface [0149]-[0155]); and the touch FPC comprises a main FPC (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B and the planar area 870-2 of FPCB 870 at [0149]-[0155]), a force sensing structure (Kim FIGS. 2 and [0074] pressure sensor measures an intensity of pressure; FIGS. 7A-8B describing 763 and 863 at [0127] and [0141]-[0142] and [0150]-[0154]; and FIGS. 10-11B, pressure sensors pressure sensors 1052-1 through 1052-4 at [0163]-[0171]), and a connector (Kim FIG. 4 describing connector at [0094]-[0098] and alternatively FIGS. 6A-8B and bent area 612-1, 735-1 and 870-1 [0133]-[0135] and [0152]-[0153]); the force sensing structure is integrated in a first area (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B, 10-11B pressure sensors 763 and 863 on the far right of the structure at [0141]-[0142], [0150]-[0154] and [0170]) of the main FPC and electrically connected with the main FPC (Kim FIGS. 10-11B, [0163]-[0171] pressure sensors 1130b connected to FPCB 1110b);
the connector is disposed in a second area (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B and bent area 612-1, 735-1 and 870-1 [0133]-[0135] and [0152]-[0153] on the left) of the main FPC and configured to connect the main FPC with a main board of the touch display device (Kim see FIGS. 7A-8B illustrating bent area 735-1 and 870-1 connecting the area 870-2 to the display panel 830, further FIG. 5B illustrated DDI hardware module 531, additionally 735-2 being a separate area with DDI 790 and DDI 890 connect to the display device 830 via the bent areas 735-1 and 870-1 described at [0145] and [0150]-[0154]); and
the main FPC is provided with a binding area and electrically connected to the touch display panel by the binding area (Kim FIG. 4 and [0094]-[0098] describing connection of the FPCB 425 with the boards 440 via a specific connector at 430 on the distal end of the board as illustrated), the first area, the second area, and the binding area being disposed on a same side of the main FPC (Kim FIG. 4 and [0094]-[0098] further at FIGS. 7A-8B and illustrating the placement of bent area 735-1 and 870-1 in a second area, the pressure sensors 763 and 863 on the far end (first area) and the connector of FIG. 4 being located at some point on the distal end to the right of the pressure sensors of 763 and 863 as would be understood by one of ordinary skill, the areas of which are disposed on the same side of the 870-2) and the first area being disposed between the second area and the binding area (Kim FIG. 4 and [0094]-[0098], e.g., connection section to the right of the pressure sensors of FIGS. 7A-8B; therefore the pressure sensor area 763 and 863 – first area – is between the bent areas 735-1 and 870-1 – second area - and the FIG 4 connector - binding area - on the far right side of the device at [0094]-[0098] beyond what is shown in FIGS. 7A-8B);
the touch FPC further comprising a touch controller disposed on the main FPC (Kim FIG. 2 and sensor module 240 includes a control circuit for controlling at least one or more sensors; and the touch panel may include a control circuit at [0068]-[0069]), the touch controller is electrically connected to a touch layer of the touch display panel by the main FPC and configured to control the touch display panel to realize a touch function and a display function (Kim FIGS. 5 7A-8B with DDI 790 and 890 and [0127] and [0150] along with the control circuit of the touch panel [0068]-[0069] further at [0074] describing combined functionality of touch panel 252), and the touch controller is electrically connected to the force sensing structure by the main FPC and configured to control the force sensing structure to realize a force sensing function (Kim FIGS. 5 7A-8B with DDI 790 and 890 and [0127] and [0150] along with the control circuit of the touch panel [0068]-[0069] further at [0074] describing combined functionality of touch panel 252 to include pressure sensor and touch intensity and further at FIG. 4 and [0096])
the frame (FIG. 4 and rear housing 450 at [0091]) is disposed on a side, distal from the touch display panel (FIG. 4, bottom portion of the housing 450 is distal end and distal from the touch panel 410 and [0094]-[0101]), of the main FPC (FIG. 4, housing 450 is on the bottom of the PCBs and the touch panel 410 and [0094]-[0101]), and a specified distance exists between the frame and the force sensing structure (FIGS. 4, 7A-8B, 10-11B housing 450 [0094]-[0101] exists at least some distance from pressure sensors 763 and 863 and further as illustrated with the FPCB 770 or 870 at least producing some distance from the housing base), and
the touch display panel (FIG. 4, 420 and [0092])and the frame (450) are on opposite sides of the main FPC (FIG. 4, ([0090]-[0101]; FPCB 440 in between housing 450 and display panel 420 with each on opposite sides of the FPCB).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose the force sensing structure is disposed on a side of the main FPC facing the frame, and the force sensing structure and the frame are separated by a gap.
In the same field of endeavor, Bolender discloses a touch display device capable of sensing force (Bolender [0007]-[0008] and [0049]-[0050]) the force sensing structure (FIGS. 2-6 and [0041]-[0044] and [0068]-[0069] capacitive structure 128/136 and 220/222) is disposed on a side of the main FPC (FIGS. 2-6 at [0039]-[0044] and [0068]-[0070] structural component 124/204 described as flexible or rigid circuit board at [0039], FIGS. 3-4 with flexible portion 170 of circuit assembly 156 at [0051]-[0053]) facing the frame (FIGS. 2-6 and [0041]-[0044] and [0068]-[0070] base 138/206), and the force sensing structure and the frame are separated by a gap (FIGS. 2-6 illustrating gap 140between capacitive structure 128/220 and base 138/206 and [0040]-[0041]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display screen capable of detecting force of Kim to incorporate the force structure with a gap as disclosed by Bolender because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch display devices. The motivation to combine these references would have been to reduce manufacturing costs, improve performance, and reduce processing times when measuring force (see Bolender at least at [0077]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Bolender discloses the touch display device according to claim 13 (see above), wherein the touch display panel is an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display panel (see Kim at least [0048] describing OLED as a display panel of the structure 160 of FIG. 1 and in view of FIGS. 7A-8B with display 730 and 830), and a buffer layer is provided between the OLED display panel and the force sensing structure (see Kim at least FIGS. 7A-8B with protective film 737 and 838 with pressure sensors 763 and 863 at [0170]); the touch display device further comprises a polarizer (Kim at FIG. 7A and 720 at [0127]), a cover plate (Kim at cover glass 710 at FIG. 7A) and a touch sensor (See Kim at least [0069] and FIG. 2 with touch panel 252 and detection methods described therein); the touch sensor is disposed on a side, distal from the frame, of the touch display panel (see Kim at least FIG. 4 with touch panel of display device 420 as described at [0096] distal from frame 450 and 470 described at [0099]-[0101]); the polarizer is disposed on a side, distal from the frame, of the touch sensor (see Kim at least FIG. 7A and 7B with FIG. 4 and polarizer 720 being distal from the touch display 730 at [0069] and [0127] which would place the polarizer on the distal position from frame 450); and the cover plate is disposed on a side, distal from the frame, of the polarizer (see Kim at least 710 of FIG. 7A placed atop of the polarizer 720 and opposite the frame 450 of FIG. 4 described at [0127]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Bolender discloses the touch display device according to claim 13 (see above), wherein the force sensing structure is disposed on a side, proximal to the frame, of the main FPC (see Kim at FIGS. 7A-8B with placement of pressure sensor 1012 as shown in FIG. 10 being closer to one side of the frame than others); and the force sensing structure comprises at least two sensing substructures (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B and 763, 863 having at least two structures [0141]-[0142] and [0150]-[0155] and FIGS. 10-11B at [0163]-[0170]), orthographic projections of the at least two sensing substructures on the back side of the touch display panel being distributed uniformly (Kim FIGS. 7A-8B and 763, 863 having at least two structures that appear to be uniformly projected and FIGS. 9-11B at [0161]-[0170] with the pressure structures uniformly distributed and orthogonal in their project).
Regarding claim 18, it is similar in scope to claim 13 above, the only difference being claim 18 is directed to a terminal (Kim FIGS. 1-4 describing a device types at [0003]-[0010]). Therefore, claim 18 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 13.
Regarding claim 20, it is similar in scope to claim 17 above; therefore, claim 20 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 17.
Claim 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Bolender as applied to claim 1, further in view of Lee et al., US 2021/0294475 A1 (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Bolender discloses the touch FPC according to claim 1 (see above)
However, Kim in view of Bolender does not explicitly disclose wherein the force sensing structure is a conductive force sensing film.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the force sensing structure is a conductive force sensing film (see FIGS. 16A and 16B and [0200]-[0204] describing pressure sensor made of metal film therein).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Kim in view of Bolender to incorporate the metal film of the force sensing device of Le because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch input devices with flexible printed boards and pressure sensors. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve ease of input using a pressure sensor (see Lee at least at [0007]-[0008]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Bolender further in view of Lee discloses the touch FPC according to claim 8 (see above), wherein the force sensing structure is made of metal material (FIGS. 16A-16B and [0200]-[0204] describing metal film structure therein).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Bolender as applied to claim 1, further in view of Li et al., US 2019/0187767 A1 (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Bolender discloses the touch display device according to claim 1 (see above).
However, Kim in view of Bolender does not explicitly disclose wherein the force sensing structure is welded to the main FPC.
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses wherein the force sensing structure is welded to the main FPC (see at least FIG. 4 with sensors 210 and 220 welded to the substrates and the flexible board 500 accordingly at [0043] and [0050]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Kim in view of Bolender to incorporate the welded structure of the force sensing device of Li because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch input devices with flexible printed boards. The motivation to combine these references would have been to the pressure sensing ability of the device (see Li at least at [0040]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Bolender as applied to claim 1, further in view of Son, US 2014/0145167 A1 (hereinafter “Son”).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Bolender discloses the touch FPC according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the force sensing structure is bonded to the main FPC (see at least FIG. 6 with adhesive layer 653 as described at least at [0109] and [0120] and FIGS. 7A-8B with [) by a mesh-like double-faced tape.
However, Kim in view of Bolender does not explicitly disclose the structure is bonded by a mesh-like double-faced tape.
In the same field of endeavor, Son discloses a mesh-like double-faced tape ([0045] and FIG. 1 and layer 16).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Kim further in view of Bolender to incorporate the adhesive bonding layer as disclosed by Son because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, devices with flexible printed boards. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve structure air flow (Son at least at [0008]-[0010]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Bolender as applied to claim 13, further in view of Huang et al., US 2018/0203539 A1 (hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Bolender discloses the touch display device according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the touch display panel is a liquid crystal display panel (Kim at [0048] and FIGS. 1 and 4 at [0096]), a
the touch display device further comprises a polarizer (Kim FIG. 7A and 720 at [0127]), a cover plate (Kim cover glass 710 at FIG. 7A) and a touch sensor (Kim [0069] and FIG. 2 with touch panel 252 and detection methods described therein);
the touch sensor is disposed on a side, distal from the frame, of the touch display panel (Kim FIG. 4 with touch panel of display device 420 as described at [0096] distal from frame 450 and 470 described at [0099]-[0101]):
the polarizer is disposed on a side, distal from the frame, of the touch sensor (Kim FIG. 7A and 7B with FIG. 4 and polarizer 720 being distal from the touch display 730 at [0069] and [0127] which would place the polarizer on the distal position from frame 450); and
the cover plate is disposed on a side, distal from the frame, of the polarizer (Kim 710 of FIG. 7A placed atop of the polarizer 720 and opposite the frame 450 of FIG. 4 described at [0127]).
However, Kim in view of Bolender does not explicitly disclose a backlight module is provided between the liquid crystal display panel and the force sensing structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Huang discloses a backlight module is provided between the liquid crystal display panel and the force sensing structure (FIGS. 1-4 and with backlight module 103/203 between the force sensing conductive layer 104/204 and the LCD module 102/202 as described at [0027] and [0030]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch and pressure sensing display device of Kim in view of Bolender to incorporate the backlight module as disclosed by Huang because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch input display devices. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the functioning and prevent failure of the device (see Huang at least at [0016]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art and references made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bulea et al., US 9,229,592 B2;
Schediwy, US 9,557,857 B2;
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2621