DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2,3,7 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
a. Claims 2 should be replaced as follows, “The communication system of claim 1 further comprising an optical injection locking device receptive of the classical signal and supplying the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
b. The communication system of claim 1 further comprising a circulator coupled at a first port to the splitter and coupled at a second port to the optical parametric amplifier, the circulator having a third port which supplies the amplified stream of signal and idler photons to the photodetector”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
c. The communication system of claim 6 further comprising an optical injection locking device receptive of the classical signal and supplying the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
d. The communication system of claim 6 further comprising a circulator coupled at a first port to the splitter and coupled at a second port to the optical parametric amplifier, the circulator having a third port which supplies the amplified stream of signal and idler photons to the photodetector”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
For claim 2,
a. an optical injection device receptive….on lines 1,2.
For claim 7,
a. an optical injection locking device receptive…on lines 1,2.
a. the optical lock injection (OIL) circuit 46 is shown in greater detail. The circuit comprises a circulator 58 and two sources of optical energy, depicted here as master laser source 60 and slave laser source 62, see paragraph 42 and figure 3 as reproduced below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Brodsky et al; (US 2014/0119729) in view of Meyers et al; (US 10992391), further in view of Woodward et al; (US 2025/0047385) and further in view of Qi (US 2024/0072907) and further in view of Gurses et al; (US 2025/016587).
Regarding claim 1, Brodsky discloses a hybrid quantum-classical communication system (hybrid quantum-classical communication system, see figure 1b) comprising: a classical channel having: a transmit laser producing light of first wavelength ;(Lasers 110 and 114 for classical channel, see figure 1b) and a; a quantum channel having: a first nonlinear medium coupled to receive light from the transmit laser and producing a first stream of photons of a wavelength half that of the first wavelength;(source of photon pairs (SPP) 202 that generates pairs of photons in the telecom frequency band by spontaneous parametric down conversion (SPDC) in a periodically-poled lithium niobate (PPLN) waveguide (first non-linear medium), see paragraph 27 and figure 3), a second nonlinear medium receptive of the stream of photons from the first nonlinear medium and producing through spontaneous parametric down conversion second stream of quantum entangled signal and idler photon pairs;( periodically-poled lithium niobate (PPLN) waveguide 308 in response to the pump laser light at a wavelength of λ=774.66 nm (optical beam 345), PPLN waveguide 308 emits photon pairs at a wavelength of λ=1549.32 nm and the output of PPLN waveguide 308 at output port 330 is optical beam 347, which includes the photon pairs at a wavelength of λ=1549.32 nm and pump laser light at a wavelength of λ=774.66 nm, see paragraph 28 and figure 3) a combiner receptive of the classical signal and the quantum signal that combines the classical and quantum signals into a propagated hybrid signal that occupies an optical spectrum that covers the first wavelength of the classical signal;(the output from the four input optical sources laser 110 and 114 (classical sources) and source of photon pairs (SPP) 106 and 112 (quantum sources)are fed into input ports of combiner/ multiplexer 116, see paragraph 48 and figure 1b).
However, Brodsky does not explicitly disclose classical modulator producing classical signal of the first wavelength, an encoder receptive of the signal and idler photon pairs that places a quantum signal on the signal and idler photon pairs to define a quantum signal at a signal wavelength and an idler wavelength, each different from the first wavelength, and the signal and idler wavelengths of the quantum signal, a receiver input receptive of the propagated hybrid signal; a splitter coupled to the receiver input that splits the propagated signal on the basis of wavelength into a classical channel and a quantum channel; a classical receiver coupled to the classical channel that demodulates the classical signal to extract a classical message; a quantum receiver coupled to the splitter for extracting a quantum message from the quantum signal; the quantum receiver having an optical parametric amplifier that boosts the intensity of the quantum signal by increasing the number of signal and idler photons to produce an amplified stream of signal and idler photons, the optical parametric amplifier being supplied with optical energy to support optical parametric amplification from a second harmonic generation device receptive of the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength; a photodetector coupled to receive the amplified stream of signal and idler photons and to produce an electrical signal supplied to a demodulator that extracts a quantum message from the quantum signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Meyers discloses an encoder receptive of the signal and idler photon pairs that places a quantum signal on the signal and idler photon pairs to define a quantum signal at a signal wavelength and an idler wavelength, each different from the first wavelength, and the signal and idler wavelengths of the quantum signal, (Entangled photons generated with SPDC or FWM processes typically generated entangled photon pairs centered around two wavelengths, λs and λt and these wavelengths are traditionally called signal and idler wavelengths. The signal wavelength is of a higher energy than the wavelength of the pump photons (λp) and the idler wavelength is at a lower energy/longer wavelength than the pump photon, see column 15, lines 43-48) a quantum receiver coupled to the splitter for extracting a quantum message from the quantum signal;(after propagation along path 2803 photons are directed towards a receiver coupler 2813 and after receiver coupler 2813 the entangled photon pairs are directed towards photon de-combiner 2804 beam splitter; see column 7, lines 28-37 and figure 1); a photodetector coupled to receive the amplified stream of signal and idler photons and to produce an electrical signal supplied to a demodulator that extracts a quantum message from the quantum signal; (the photon detectors 2806A, 2806B register the presence of a photon at a particular time and the measurement is sent to computer/ processor 2809. When detectors 2806A or 2806B register the presence of a photon that information is sent to computer/processor 2809 over the paths 2825A and 2825B respectively. Computer/processor 2809 can determine the coincidences between each detector comprising 2806A and 2806B, see column 7;lines 52-60 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date invention to combine the quantum receiver of Meyers with Brodsky to provide measurement of the entangled photon pairs and the motivation is to accurate measurement of the information being transmitted by a sender with modulated entangled photons by the receiver.
However, the combination of Brodsky and Meyers does not explicitly disclose classical modulator producing classical signal of the first wavelength, a receiver input receptive of the propagated hybrid signal; a splitter coupled to the receiver input that splits the propagated signal on the basis of wavelength into a classical channel and a quantum channel; a classical receiver coupled to the classical channel that demodulates the classical signal to extract a classical message; the quantum receiver having an optical parametric amplifier that boosts the intensity of the quantum signal by increasing the number of signal and idler photons to produce an amplified stream of signal and idler photons, the optical parametric amplifier being supplied with optical energy to support optical parametric amplification from a second harmonic generation device receptive of the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength.
In a related field of endeavor, Woodward discloses a receiver input receptive of the propagated hybrid signal;(the receiver device 85 comprises the quantum receiver 23 and the classical communication device 25, see paragraph 78 and figure 8) a splitter coupled to the receiver input that splits the propagated signal on the basis of wavelength into a classical channel and a quantum channel, a classical receiver coupled to the classical channel that demodulates the classical signal to extract a classical message; (the receiver 85 further comprises an optical mode converter and multiplexer 91 for demultiplexing the signals received from the multimode fibre 5 and guiding the demultiplexed signals to the corresponding receivers , see paragraph 78 and figure 8).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date invention to combine the hybrid receiver of Woodward with Brodsky and Meyers to provide the reception of both classical and quantum data sent the sender and the motivation is increased data transmission and/or reception efficiency.
However, the combination of Brodsky, Meyers and Woodward does not explicitly disclose classical modulator producing classical signal of the first wavelength, the quantum receiver having an optical parametric amplifier that boosts the intensity of the quantum signal by increasing the number of signal and idler photons to produce an amplified stream of signal and idler photons, the optical parametric amplifier being supplied with optical energy to support optical parametric amplification from a second harmonic generation device receptive of the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength.
In a related field of endeavor, Qi discloses classical modulator producing classical signal of the first wavelength; (The output of the coherent emitter 210 is directed to a beam splitter 220 that is configured to split the light from the coherent emitter 210 into two outputs. A first output of the beam splitter 220 is connected to the input of a modulator 230, which is configured to encode data on a light signal from the beam splitter 220, see paragraph 19 and figure 2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date invention to combine the optical modulator of Qi with Brodsky, Meyers and Woodward to encode data on a light signal and the motivation is to transmission of data from the sender to the receiver
However, the combination of Brodsky, Meyers, Woodward and Qi does not explicitly disclose the quantum receiver having an optical parametric amplifier that boosts the intensity of the quantum signal by increasing the number of signal and idler photons to produce an amplified stream of signal and idler photons, the optical parametric amplifier being supplied with optical energy to support optical parametric amplification from a second harmonic generation device receptive of the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength.
In a related field of endeavor, Gurses discloses the quantum receiver having an optical parametric amplifier that boosts the intensity of the quantum signal by increasing the number of signal and idler photons to produce an amplified stream of signal and idler photons,(the light in each path is amplified by an erbium-doped fiber amplifier (EDFA). After amplification in the signal path, the 1550 nm coherent light is upconverted to 775 nm by a periodically poled lithium niobate (PPLN) waveguide, see paragraph 193 and figure 19a) the optical parametric amplifier being supplied with optical energy to support optical parametric amplification from a second harmonic generation device receptive of the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength; (the light in each path is amplified by an erbium-doped fiber amplifier (EDFA). After amplification in the signal path, the 1550 nm coherent light is upconverted to 775 nm by a periodically poled lithium niobate (PPLN) waveguide via second harmonic generation, see paragraph 193 and figure 19a).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date invention to combine the optical fiber amplification of Gurses with Brodsky, Meyers, Woodward and Qi to amplify the received photonic signal and the motivation is to provide boosting conversion efficiency in optical communications and facilitating high-fidelity quantum state measurement.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Brodsky et al; (US 2014/0119729) in view of Meyers et al; (US 10992391), further in view of Woodward et al; (US 2025/0047385) and further in view of Qi (US 2024/0072907) and further in view of Gurses et al; (US 2025/0165287) and further in view of Lucian et al; (WO 2020/ 20449A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Brodsky, Meyers, Woodward, Qi and Gurses does not explicitly disclose the communication system of claim 1 further comprising an optical injection locking device receptive the classical signal and supplying the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength.
In a related field of endeavor, Lucian discloses the communication system of claim 1 further comprising an optical injection locking device receptive the classical signal and supplying the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength; (the received optical signal is used to optically inject the slave laser 550 and the η% part (of the aligned received optical signal) is used for optical injection locking Bob’s laser 550 and thus, corresponds to the first optical signal. Conversely, the (1-η)% part of the aligned received optical signal corresponds to the second optical signal, see page 23, lines 7,8, 11-14 and figure 5).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date invention to combine the optical injection device of Lucian with Brodsky, Meyers, Woodward, Qi and Gurses to stabilize semiconductor lasers for applications requiring high coherence and the motivation is to improved SNR in the quantum communication device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Brodsky et al; (US 2014/0119729) in view of Meyers et al; (US 10992391) and further in view of Qi (US 2024/0072907).
Regarding claim 5, Brodsky discloses a transmitter for a hybrid quantum-classical communication system, (hybrid quantum-classical communication system, see figure 1b) comprising: a transmit laser producing light of first wavelength ;(lasers 110 and 114 for classical channel, see figure 1b) a first nonlinear medium coupled to receive light from the transmit laser and producing a first stream of photons of a wavelength half that of the first wavelength ;(source of photon pairs (SPP) 202 that generates pairs of photons in the telecom frequency band by spontaneous parametric down conversion (SPDC) in a periodically-poled lithium niobate (PPLN) waveguide (first non-linear medium), see paragraph 27 and figure 3), a second nonlinear medium receptive of the stream of photons from the first nonlinear medium ;( periodically-poled lithium niobate (PPLN) waveguide 308 in response to the pump laser light at a wavelength of λ=774.66 nm (optical beam 345), PPLN waveguide 308 emits photon pairs at a wavelength of λ=1549.32 nm and the output of PPLN waveguide 308 at output port 330 is optical beam 347, which includes the photon pairs at a wavelength of λ=1549.32 nm and pump laser light at a wavelength of λ=774.66 nm, see paragraph 28 and figure 3) and a combiner receptive of the classical signal and the quantum signal that combines the classical and quantum signals into a hybrid output signal that occupies an optical spectrum that covers the first wavelength of the classical signal and the signal wavelengths of the quantum signal; ;(the output from the four input optical sources laser 110 and 114 (classical sources) and source of photon pairs (SPP) 106 and 112 (quantum sources)are fed into input ports of combiner/ multiplexer 116, see paragraph 48 and figure 1b).
However, Brodsky does not explicitly disclose producing through spontaneous parametric down conversion a second stream of quantum entangled signal and idler photon pairs; an encoder receptive of the signal and idler photon pairs that places a quantum signal on the signal and idler photon pairs to define a quantum signal at a signal wavelength and an idler wavelength, each different from the first wavelength, a classical modulator producing classical signal of the first wavelength.
In a related field of endeavor, Meyers discloses producing through spontaneous parametric down conversion a second stream of quantum entangled signal and idler photon pairs; (Entangled photons generated with SPDC or FWM processes typically generated entangled photon pairs centered around two wavelengths, λs and λt and these wavelengths are traditionally called signal and idler wavelengths, see column 15, lines 43-48) an encoder receptive of the signal and idler photon pairs that places a quantum signal on the signal and idler photon pairs to define a quantum signal at a signal wavelength and an idler wavelength, each different from the first wavelength, (Entangled photons generated with SPDC or FWM processes typically generated entangled photon pairs centered around two wavelengths, λs and λt and these wavelengths are traditionally called signal and idler wavelengths. The signal wavelength is of a higher energy than the wavelength of the pump photons (λp) and the idler wavelength is at a lower energy/longer wavelength than the pump photon, see column 15, lines 43-48).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date invention to combine the spontaneous down conversion of Meyers with Brodsky to provide generation of entangled photon pairs and the motivation is to provide generation of entangled photon pairs with signal and idler wavelength.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Woodward et al; (US 2025/0047385) in view of Meyers et al; (US 10992391) and further in view of Gurses et al; (US 2025/016587).
Regarding claim 6, Woodward discloses a receiver for a hybrid quantum-classical communication system, (the receiver device 85 comprises the quantum receiver 23 and the classical communication device 25, see paragraph 78 and figure 8) comprising: A receiver input receptive of a propagated signal that carries a classical signal at a first wavelength and concurrently conveys a quantum signal; (the receiver device 85 comprises the quantum receiver 23 and the classical communication device 25, see paragraph 78 and figure 8) a splitter coupled to the receiver input that splits the propagated signal on the basis of wavelength into a classical channel and a quantum channel a classical receiver coupled to the classical channel that demodulates the classical signal to extract a classical message; (the receiver 85 further comprises an optical mode converter and multiplexer 91 for demultiplexing the signals received from the multimode fibre 5 and guiding the demultiplexed signals to the corresponding receivers , see paragraph 78 and figure 8).
However, Woodward does not explicitly disclose carried by signal and idler photons having respective signal and idler wavelengths different from the first wavelength, a quantum receiver coupled to the splitter for extracting a quantum message from the quantum signal; the quantum receiver having an optical parametric amplifier that boosts the intensity of the quantum signal by increasing the number of signal and idler photons to produce an amplified stream of signal and idler photons; the optical parametric amplifier being supplied with optical energy to support optical parametric amplification from a second harmonic generation device receptive of the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength; a photodetector coupled to receive the amplified stream of signal and idler photons and to produce an electrical signal supplied to a demodulator that extracts a quantum message from the quantum signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Meyers discloses carried by signal and idler photons having respective signal and idler wavelengths different from the first wavelength, (Entangled photons generated with SPDC or FWM processes typically generated entangled photon pairs centered around two wavelengths, λs and λt and these wavelengths are traditionally called signal and idler wavelengths. The signal wavelength is of a higher energy than the wavelength of the pump photons (λp) and the idler wavelength is at a lower energy/longer wavelength than the pump photon, see column 15, lines 43-48) a quantum receiver coupled to the splitter for extracting a quantum message from the quantum signal;(after propagation along path 2803 photons are directed towards a receiver coupler 2813 and after receiver coupler 2813 the entangled photon pairs are directed towards photon de-combiner 2804 beam splitter; see column 7, lines 28-37 and figure 1); a photodetector coupled to receive the amplified stream of signal and idler photons and to produce an electrical signal supplied to a demodulator that extracts a quantum message from the quantum signal; (the photon detectors 2806A, 2806B register the presence of a photon at a particular time and the measurement is sent to computer/ processor 2809. When detectors 2806A or 2806B register the presence of a photon that information is sent to computer/processor 2809 over the paths 2825A and 2825B respectively. Computer/processor 2809 can determine the coincidences between each detector comprising 2806A and 2806B, see column 7;lines 52-60 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date invention to combine the quantum receiver of Meyers with Woodward to provide measurement of the entangled photon pairs and the motivation is to accurate measurement of the information being transmitted by a sender with modulated entangled photons by the receiver.
However, the combination of Woodward and Meyers does not explicitly disclose the quantum receiver having an optical parametric amplifier that boosts the intensity of the quantum signal by increasing the number of signal and idler photons to produce an amplified stream of signal and idler photons; the optical parametric amplifier being supplied with optical energy to support optical parametric amplification from a second harmonic generation device receptive of the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength.
In a related field of endeavor, Gurses discloses the quantum receiver having an optical parametric amplifier that boosts the intensity of the quantum signal by increasing the number of signal and idler photons to produce an amplified stream of signal and idler photons; (the light in each path is amplified by an erbium-doped fiber amplifier (EDFA). After amplification in the signal path, the 1550 nm coherent light is upconverted to 775 nm by a periodically poled lithium niobate (PPLN) waveguide, see paragraph 193 and figure 19a) the optical parametric amplifier being supplied with optical energy to support optical parametric amplification from a second harmonic generation device receptive of the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength(the light in each path is amplified by an erbium-doped fiber amplifier (EDFA). After amplification in the signal path, the 1550 nm coherent light is upconverted to 775 nm by a periodically poled lithium niobate (PPLN) waveguide via second harmonic generation, see paragraph 193 and figure 19a).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date invention to combine the optical fiber amplification of Gurses with Woodward and Meyers to amplify the received photonic signal and the motivation is to provide boosting conversion efficiency in optical communications and facilitating high-fidelity quantum state measurement.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Woodward et al; (US 2025/0047385) in view of Meyers et al; (US 10992391), further in view of Gurses et al; (US 2025/016587) and further in view of Lucian et al; (WO 2020/ 20449A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Woodward, Meyers and Gurses does not explicitly disclose the communication system of claim 6 further comprising an optical injection locking device receptive the classical signal and supplying the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength.
In a related field of endeavor, Lucian discloses the communication system of claim 6 further comprising an optical injection locking device receptive the classical signal and supplying the optical energy synchronized to the first wavelength; (the received optical signal is used to optically inject the slave laser 550 and the η% part (of the aligned received optical signal) is used for optical injection locking Bob’s laser 550 and thus, corresponds to the first optical signal. Conversely, the (1-η)% part of the aligned received optical signal corresponds to the second optical signal, see page 23, lines 7,8, 11-14 and figure 5).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date invention to combine the optical injection device of Lucian with Woodward and Meyers to stabilize semiconductor lasers for applications requiring high coherence and the motivation is to improved SNR in the quantum communication device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3,4,8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are reproduced below.
a. Lucian 1 et al; (WO 2020/211950A1) discloses transmitter having an optical circuitry that includes an optical component shared for modulating a classical signal and a quantum signal and a switch is configured to control a time division for transmitting the classical signal and the quantum signal. An optical output for transmission of the time division multiplexed classical signal and quantum signal, see figure 7.
b. Tabi et al; (Hybrid Quantum-Classical Autoencoders for End-to-End Radio Communication – 2022 attached) discloses quantum processing units for
applications. Here we introduce hybrid quantum-classical autoencoders for end-to-end radio communication, see figure 3.
c. Shaik et al; (Hybrid Quantum-Classical Approaches to Optimize Signal Processing in Massive MIMO Arrays – 2024 attached) discloses hybrid quantum classical framework for optimizing signal processing in Massive MIMO systems, see figure 1.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634