DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on June 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holden et al. (U.S. 2016/0086852).
Referring to Figures 4B and 6A and paragraphs [0046]-[0052], [0058]-[0061], Holden et al. disclose a barrier layer removal device, comprising: a frame 404 mounted with a tape 402 to which a wafer 406 is attached, wherein the wafer includes a barrier layer disposed on one surface (par.[0059]); a support 408 on which the wafer 406, attached to the tape 402, is disposed (Fig. 6A); a frame cover 600 disposed above the frame, wherein the frame fixes the wafer on the support by pressing an edge region of the one surface of the wafer (par.[0059]); and a nozzle for spraying an etchant on the barrier layer of the wafer (i.e. nozzle used in wet etching-pars.[0085],[0092]).
With regards to “the wafer includes a barrier layer disposed on one surface”, the limitation is considered intended use in an apparatus claims and therefore are of no significance in determining patentability. Hence, it should be noted that the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (MPEP 2115).
With respect to claim 6, the device of Holden et al. further includes wherein the support does not vacuum-suction the wafer when the frame cover presses the wafer (Figs 4 & 6).
With respect to claim 7, the device of Holden et al. further includes wherein the barrier layer is a metal layer (As stated above, the barrier layer is considered intended use-MPEP 2115).
With respect to claim 8, the device of Holden et al. further includes wherein the barrier layer includes titanium (Ti) (As stated above, the barrier layer is considered intended use-MPEP 2115).
With respect to claim 9, the device of Holden et al. further includes wherein the wafer 406 is a reconstituted wafer including a substrate, a plurality of semiconductor chips disposed on the substrate while being spaced apart from each other, and a molding material encapsulating the plurality of semiconductor chips on the substrate, and wherein the barrier layer is disposed on the substrate (As stated above, the wafer is considered intended use-MPEP 2115).
With respect to claim 10, the device of Holden et al. further includes wherein the reconstituted wafer further includes a rewiring structure disposed on the molding material and electrically connected to the substrate (As stated above, wafer is considered intended use-MPEP 2115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holden et al. (U.S. 2016/0086852) in view of Engesser (U.S. 7,799,695).
The teachings of Holden et al. have been discussed above.
Holden et al. fail to teach a contact pin pressing the edge region of the one surface of the wafer together with the frame cover.
Referring to Figure 1 and column 5, lines 48-57, Engesser teach a device wherein a contact pin 3 pressing the edge region of the one surface of the wafer together as a means to secure the wafer during processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Holden et al. to have a contact pin pressing the edge region of the one surface of the wafer as taught by Engesser since it is a means to secure the wafer during processing. The resulting apparatus of Holden et al. in view of Engesser would yield a contact pin pressing the edge region of the one surface of the wafer together with the frame cover.
With respect to claim 3, the device of Holden et al. in view of Engesser further includes wherein the contact pin presses a point inside the wafer rather than a portion of the wafer that is pressed by the frame cover (The particular placement of a contact pin of Engesser is considered an obvious matter of design choice that would yield improvement in securing the wafer-MPEP 2144.04 VIC).
With respect to claim 4, the device of Holden et al. in view of Engesser further includes wherein the frame cover 600 presses a portion disposed within about 1 mm from an edge of the wafer along a circumference of the wafer (i.e. Holden et al.), and the contact pin 3 presses a point disposed within about 5 mm from the edge of the wafer (i.e. Engesser) (The particular placement of a frame cover and a contact pin of Holden et al. in view of Engesser are considered an obvious matter of design choice that would yield improvement in securing the wafer-MPEP 2144.04 VIC).
With respect to claim 5, the device of Holden et al. in view of Engesser further includes wherein the contact pin 3 presses a point outside a point where dicing lines of the wafer intersect each other (The particular placement of a contact pin of Engesser is considered an obvious matter of design choice that would yield improvement in securing the wafer-MPEP 2144.04 VIC).
With respect to claim 11, referring to Figures 4B and 6A and paragraphs [0046]-[0052], [0058]-[0061], Holden et al. disclose a barrier layer removal device, comprising: a frame 404 mounted with a tape 402 to which a wafer 406 is attached, wherein the wafer includes a barrier layer disposed on a first surface (par.[0059]); a support 408 on which the wafer 406, attached to the tape 402, is disposed (Fig. 6A); a frame cover 600 disposed above the frame, wherein the frame fixes the wafer on the support by pressing an edge region of the one surface of the wafer (par.[0059]); and a nozzle for spraying an etchant on the barrier layer of the wafer (i.e. nozzle used in wet etching-pars.[0085],[0092]).
With regards to “the wafer includes a barrier layer disposed on one surface”, the limitation is considered intended use in an apparatus claims and therefore are of no significance in determining patentability. Hence, it should be noted that the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (MPEP 2115).
Holden et al. fail to teach a plurality of contact pins pressing the edge region of the one surface of the wafer together with the frame cover.
Referring to Figure 1 and column 5, lines 48-57, Engesser teach a device wherein a plurality of contact pins 3 pressing the edge region of the first surface of the wafer together as a means to secure the wafer during processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Holden et al. to have a plurality of contact pins pressing the edge region of the first surface of the wafer as taught by Engesser since it is a means to secure the wafer during processing. The resulting apparatus of Holden et al. in view of Engesser would yield a plurality of contact pins pressing the edge region of the first surface of the wafer together with the frame cover.
With respect to claim 12, the device of Holden et al. in view of Engesser further includes wherein the plurality of contact pins 3 include a first contact pin and a second contact pin, each pressing points disposed on a plane in opposite directions from a center of the first surface of the wafer (Engesser-Figure 1 and column 5, lines 48-57).
With respect to claim 13, the device of Holden et al. in view of Engesser further includes wherein the plurality of contact pins further include a third contact pin and a fourth contact pin, each pressing points disposed on the plane in opposite directions from the center of the first surface of the wafer, and wherein a first virtual line and a second virtual line intersect each other, the first virtual line connecting the point pressed by the first contact pin to the point pressed by the second contact pin, and the second virtual line connecting the point pressed by the third contact pin to the point pressed by the fourth contact pin (Engesser-Figure 1 and column 5, lines 48-57, Additionally, four contact pins is considered mere duplication of parts-MPEP 2144.04 VIB).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Harikai et al.’188, Shih et al.’613, Iwai’739, Yano’672, Kubo et al.’383, Yamasaki et al.’007, Hwang et al.’531, Chang et al.’565, Yang et al.’793, Nakamura’242, and Penmethsa et al.’159 teach a device having a frame cover, a frame, a support, and a tape. Okutani’324 and Ueno et al.’231 teach a contact pin used to secure a wafer.
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716