DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I and species a in the reply filed on 03/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claim 1-4, 6-15, 17, 19-21, 23, and 26 are pending, claims 17, 19-21, 23, and 26 have been withdrawn from consideration, and claims 1-4 and 6-15 currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the actuation member coupled between the proximal mechanical assembly and the focus driver (claim 3) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the seal member is configured to move between a collapsed configuration and an expanded configuration when the control input moves the focus driver between a first focus position and a second focus position (claim 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the optics chamber has a first volume when the seal member is in the collapsed configuration and a second volume when the seal member is in the expanded configuration; and the second volume is greater than the first volume. (claim 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a focus driver positioned within the optics chamber and operably coupled to the focusing element, the focus driver being configured to move a longitudinal position of the focusing element in response to a control input in claim 1
a seal member coupled to the housing, the seal member configured to maintain a hermetic seal of the optics chamber while the control input affects the focus driver in claim 1
a proximal mechanical assembly coupled to the proximal end portion of the elongated body, the proximal mechanical assembly being configured to receive the control input in claim 3
an actuation member positioned within the elongated body and coupled between the proximal mechanical assembly and the focus driver, the actuation member being configured to apply a mechanical force to the focus driver in a longitudinal direction in response to the control input in claim 3
an energy storage device positioned between a portion of the housing and a portion of the focus driver, the energy storage device being configured to exert a biasing force on the focus driver in claim 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kennedy et al. (U.S. 5,575,757).
With respect to claim 1, Kennedy et al. teaches an imaging instrument, comprising:
an elongated body (FIG. 6 for example) defining a channel (interior of 20,16, seen in FIG. 2 for example) extending longitudinally through the elongated body between a proximal end portion of the elongated body and a distal end portion of the elongated body, the distal end portion coupled to a distal tip (FIG. 1, 2); and
an imaging system positioned within the elongated body, the imaging system including:
an optics chamber (lumen of 31) defined at least in part by a housing (31), the optics chamber being hermetically sealed,
a focusing element (33a,b) movably positioned within the optics chamber,
an image sensor (24) operably coupled to the focusing element (4:9-22),
a focus driver (33) positioned within the optics chamber and operably coupled to the focusing element (FIG. 1,2), the focus driver being configured to move a longitudinal position of the focusing element in response to a control input (5:56-6:11), and
a seal member coupled to the housing (98,100), the seal member configured to maintain a hermetic seal of the optics chamber while the control input affects the focus driver (5:29-34).
With respect to claim 2, Kennedy et al. teaches a fiber-optic bundle (26) positioned within the channel, the fiber-optic bundle including an input end operably coupled to a light source (FIG. 2) and an output end positioned at the distal tip (FIG. 1), at least a portion of the fiber-optic bundle configured to be in fluid communication with an environment surrounding the imaging instrument (FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 3, Kennedy et al. teaches a proximal mechanical assembly (17) coupled to the proximal end portion of the elongated body (FIG. 2), the proximal mechanical assembly being configured to receive the control input; and
an actuation member (63) positioned within the elongated body and coupled between the proximal mechanical assembly and the focus driver, the actuation member being configured to apply a mechanical force to the focus driver in a longitudinal direction in response to the control input (5:56-6:11).
With respect to claim 8, Kennedy et al. teaches the seal member is a sealing assembly, the sealing assembly including at least one O-ring (98); and the at least one O-ring surrounds either a proximal portion of the focus driver or an actuation member (FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 10, Kennedy et al. teaches a plurality of optical elements positioned to establish an optical axis from a target location, through the focusing element (FIG. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wataya et al. (U.S. 2017/0290497).
With respect to claim 1, Wataya et al. teaches an imaging instrument, comprising:
an elongated body (9) defining a channel (interior of 6,7, seen in FIG. 2 for example) extending longitudinally through the elongated body between a proximal end portion of the elongated body and a distal end portion of the elongated body, the distal end portion coupled to a distal tip (FIG. 2); and
an imaging system (30) positioned within the elongated body, the imaging system including:
an optics chamber (lumen of 31) defined at least in part by a housing (31), the optics chamber being hermetically sealed,
a focusing element (66) movably positioned within the optics chamber,
an image sensor (37) operably coupled to the focusing element (FIG. 3),
a focus driver (65,49) positioned within the optics chamber and operably coupled to the focusing element (FIG. 3), the focus driver being configured to move a longitudinal position of the focusing element in response to a control input (FIG. 3-4), and
a seal member coupled to the housing (28,42,69).
Wataya et al. does not explicitly state a hermetic seal of the optics chamber. However, Wataya et al. teaches several structures whose purpose is to provide water tightness (see para [0049], [0056], [0069]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to hermetically seal the optics chamber of Wataya et al. because it was well known in the art that water or debris becoming trapped in the lens system would degrade the quality of images produced by the scope.
With respect to claim 9, Wataya et al. teaches an energy storage device (68) positioned between a portion of the housing and a portion of the focus driver, the energy storage device being configured to exert a biasing force on the focus driver (FIG. 3, 4).
With respect to claim 10, Wataya et al. teaches a plurality of optical elements positioned to establish an optical axis from a target location, through the focusing element (FIG. 3, 4).
With respect to claim 15, Wataya et al. teaches the plurality of optical elements includes a lens group at a fixed longitudinal position that is distal of the focusing element and proximal of the distal tip (FIG. 3, 4).
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy et al. (U.S. 5,575,757) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Higuma et al. (U.S. 2002/0128539).
Kenney et al. teaches an imaging instrument as set forth above. However, Kennedy et al. does not teach the seal member is configured to move between a collapsed configuration and an expanded configuration when the control input moves the focus driver between a first focus position and a second focus position.
With respect to claim 4, Higuma et al. teaches an imaging device with a seal member (85,87 FIG. 8), wherein the seal member is configured to move between a collapsed configuration and an expanded configuration when the control input moves the focus driver between a first focus position and a second focus position (para [0160] for example).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Kennedy et al. to further include a bellows as taught by Higuma et al. in order to provide an endoscope that can withstand repeated autoclave sterilization cycles (para [0017] of Higuma et al.).
With respect to claim 6, Kennedy et al. in view of Higuma et al. teaches the optics chamber has a first volume when the seal member is in the collapsed configuration and a second volume when the seal member is in the expanded configuration; and the second volume is greater than the first volume (5:56-6:11 of Kennedy et al. for example).
With respect to claim 7, Kennedy et al. teaches the housing includes a flange portion (34); the focus driver includes a proximal portion that extends longitudinally through the flange portion (FIG. 2).
However, Kennedy et al. does not teach the seal member has a distal end that is coupled to the flange portion and a proximal end that is coupled to the proximal portion of the focus driver.
With respect to claim 7, Higuma et al. teaches an imaging device with a seal member (85,87 FIG. 8).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Kennedy et al. to further include a bellows as taught by Higuma et al. in order to provide an endoscope that can withstand repeated autoclave sterilization cycles (para [0017] of Higuma et al.). This modification would result in the seal member having a distal end that is coupled to the flange portion and a proximal end that is coupled to the proximal portion of the focus driver (FIG. 2 of Kennedy et al, FIG. 8 of Higuma et al.).
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wataya et al. (U.S. 2017/0290497) as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Navok et al. (U.S. 2006/0173242).
Wataya et al. teaches an imaging instrument as set forth above. However, Wataya et al. does not teach a prism.
With respect to claim 11, Navok et al. teaches an imaging instrument comprising a plurality of optical elements which includes a prism (36, FIG. 2B).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Wataya et al. to utilize a prism before the image sensor in the manner taught by Navok et al. in order to allow for a the image sensor to be arranged longitudinally instead of perpendicularly (FIG. 2B of Navok et al.) thereby allowing for a larger surface area of the sensor. Modifying Wataya et al. in such a manner would result in the prism being positioned between the focus driver and the focusing element.
With respect to claim 13, Navok et al. teaches the image sensor is displaced from an optical axis defined by the plurality of optical elements (FIG. 2B).
With respect to claim 14, Navok et al. teaches the plurality of optical elements includes a window (34) that is positioned at the distal tip; and the window defines a portion of the optics chamber (FIG. 2B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or otherwise render obvious the invention of dependent claim 12 comprising inter alia:
the imaging system includes a movable lens holder;
the movable lens holder includes a middle portion extending between a distal end and a proximal end;
the focusing element is coupled to the distal end of the movable lens holder;
the proximal end of the movable lens holder is coupled to the focus driver; and
the middle portion of the movable lens holder is positioned radially outward of the prism such that the prism is between the movable lens holder and the image sensor.
Wataya et al. teaches a movable lens holder 65. However Wataya et al. does not teachthe focusing element is coupled to the distal end of the movable lens holder. Wataya et al. does not teach the proximal end of the movable lens holder is coupled to the focus driver. Finally, Wataya et al. does not teach the middle portion of the movable lens holder is positioned radially outward of the prism such that the prism is between the movable lens holder and the image sensor. Therefore Wataya et al. does not meet all of the limitations of claim 12.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799