DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 7-8, filed 03/31/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2-5 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li and Wright.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding the 112 (f) interpretations (not rejections), that Examiner made a typo, and that the limitation is (claims are) not to be rejected under 112 (f).
Examiner disagrees, and notes that the limitation is not being interpreted under 112 (f) (aka, not invoking it), but rather BRI (Broadest Reasonable Interpretation). BRI is included in the 112 (f) section, though it is not a 112 (f) interpretation concept, rather, it is a general interpretation concept. Hence the write-up is maintained.
Due to the explanations above, Applicant’s arguments are rendered not persuasive.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 204. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Protective surface treatment (coating, surface modification, or combination) in at least claims 1-15.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 12-14, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220090261 to Itsuki in view of US 20240344235 to Li.
Claim 1, 4-5, 21: Itsuki discloses a precursor delivery system comprising: a vaporizer vessel (100 [vaporizable source material container], Fig. 1-2) configured to contain a vaporizable precursor that, when vaporized, produces a precursor vapor (para. [0047]); and at least one protective surface treatment (10 [fluorocarbon polymer coating]); wherein the at least one protective surface treatment (10) covers a sufficient amount of at least one gas-exposed surface (12 [container wall]) of the precursor delivery system (100) to reduce an amount of at least one contaminant in the precursor vapor as compared to a precursor vapor produced by a precursor delivery system without the at least one protective surface treatment (10, para. [0049]).
Itsuki does not explicitly disclose (claim 1) wherein the vaporizable precursor comprises a molybdenum-containing source reagent (claim 4) wherein the precursor vapor comprises MoCl5 vapor; (claim 5) wherein the precursor vapor comprises less than 10 ppm of at least one contaminant after 180 days exposure at a temperature of at least 140 °C; (claim 21) wherein the at least one contaminant in the precursor vapor is selected from an iron contaminant, a nickel contaminant, or any combination thereof.
Li discloses (claim 1) wherein the vaporizable precursor comprises a molybdenum-containing source reagent (para. [0067]); (claim 4) wherein the precursor vapor comprises MoCl5 vapor (para. [0067]); (claim 5) wherein the precursor vapor comprises less than 10 ppm of at least one contaminant after 180 days exposure at a temperature of at least 140 °C (para. [0069], para. [0083]); (claim 21) wherein the at least one contaminant in the precursor vapor is selected from an iron contaminant, a nickel contaminant, or any combination thereof (heating solid precursor vaporizer to above 150 degrees for extended period can lead to Cr, Fe, Ni, etc, contamination, para. [0067]); for the purpose of being more thermally stable and providing stable vapor supply.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Li with motivation to be more thermally stable and provide stable vapor supply.
Claim 6: The apparatus of Itsuki in view of Li discloses wherein the at least one protective surface treatment (10, Fig. 1-2, Itsuki) covers all gas-exposed surfaces of the precursor delivery system (para. [0048-0051]).
Claim 7: The apparatus of Itsuki in view of Li discloses wherein the at least one protective surface treatment (10, Fig. 1-2, Itsuki) covers all gas-exposed surfaces of the vaporizer vessel (para. [0048-0051]).
Claim 8: The apparatus of Itsuki in view of Li discloses further comprising: a gas supply line (34 [delivery gas pipes], Fig. 2, Itsuki) fluidly coupling the vaporizer vessel (100) to a semiconductor processing tool (para. [0090]), wherein at least a portion of at least one gas-exposed surface of the gas supply line (inside of 34) is covered by the at least one protective surface treatment (para. [0070], [0048-0049]).
Claim 12: The apparatus of Itsuki in view of Li discloses further comprising: a valve assembly (30 [valves], Fig. 1-2, Itsuki) fluidly coupling the vaporizer vessel (100) and the gas supply line (34), wherein at least a portion of at least one gas-exposed surface of the valve assembly (30) is covered by the at least one protective surface treatment (para. [0048-0050]).
Claim 13: The apparatus of Itsuki in view of Li discloses wherein the at least one protective surface treatment (10, Fig. 1-2, Itsuki) covers all gas-exposed surfaces of the valve assembly (30, para. [0048-0050]).
Claim 14: The apparatus of Itsuki in view of Li discloses wherein the at least one protective surface treatment (10, Fig. 1-2, Itsuki) comprises at least one of a coating (10), a surface modified region, or any combination thereof para. [0049]).
Claims 2, 15: (Cancelled).
Claims 16-20: (Withdrawn).
Claim(s) 3, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itsuki in view of Li as applied to claims 1, 6-8, 12-14 above and further in view of US 20220356563 to Wright.
Claim 3: The apparatus of Itsuki in view of Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the precursor vapor comprises MoO2Cl2 vapor.
Wright discloses wherein the precursor vapor comprises MoO2Cl2 vapor (para. [0037]) for the purpose of achieving deposition of molybdenum-containing material with higher deposition rates to accommodate efficient high-volume manufacturing operations (para. [0004]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation above as taught by Wright with motivation to achieve deposition of molybdenum-containing material with higher deposition rates to accommodate efficient high-volume manufacturing operations.
Claim 22: The apparatus of Itsuki in view of Li, Wright does not disclose wherein the at least one contaminant in the precursor vapor is selected from an iron contaminant, a nickel contaminant, or any combination thereof.
Li discloses wherein the at least one contaminant in the precursor vapor is selected from an iron contaminant, a nickel contaminant, or any combination thereof (heating solid precursor vaporizer to above 150 degrees for extended period can lead to Cr, Fe, Ni, etc, contamination, para. [0067]); for the purpose of being more thermally stable and providing stable vapor supply.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Li with motivation to be more thermally stable and provide stable vapor supply.
Claim(s) 1, 4-14, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180044800 to Hendrix in view of US 20240344235 to Li.
Claim 1, 4-5, 21: Hendrix discloses a precursor delivery system comprising: a vaporizer vessel (solid source delivery vaporizer, Fig. 2-3) configured to contain a vaporizable precursor that, when vaporized, produces a precursor vapor (para. [0136]); and at least one protective surface treatment (alumina coating, para. [0136]); wherein the at least one protective surface treatment (alumina coating) covers a sufficient amount of at least one gas-exposed surface of the precursor delivery system (delivery vaporizer) to reduce an amount of at least one contaminant in the precursor vapor as compared to a precursor vapor produced by a precursor delivery system without the at least one protective surface treatment (para. [0136]).
Hendrix does not explicitly disclose (claim 1) wherein the vaporizable precursor comprises a molybdenum-containing source reagent (claim 4) wherein the precursor vapor comprises MoCl5 vapor; (claim 5) wherein the precursor vapor comprises less than 10 ppm of at least one contaminant after 180 days exposure at a temperature of at least 140 °C; (claim 21) wherein the at least one contaminant in the precursor vapor is selected from an iron contaminant, a nickel contaminant, or any combination thereof.
Li discloses (claim 1) wherein the vaporizable precursor comprises a molybdenum-containing source reagent (para. [0067]); (claim 4) wherein the precursor vapor comprises MoCl5 vapor (para. [0067]); (claim 5) wherein the precursor vapor comprises less than 10 ppm of at least one contaminant after 180 days exposure at a temperature of at least 140 °C (para. [0069], para. [0083]); (claim 21) wherein the at least one contaminant in the precursor vapor is selected from an iron contaminant, a nickel contaminant, or any combination thereof (heating solid precursor vaporizer to above 150 degrees for extended period can lead to Cr, Fe, Ni, etc, contamination, para. [0067]); for the purpose of being more thermally stable and providing stable vapor supply.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Li with motivation to be more thermally stable and provide stable vapor supply.
Claim 6: The apparatus of Hendrix in view of Li discloses wherein the at least one protective surface treatment (alumina coating, Hendrix) covers all gas-exposed surfaces of the precursor delivery system (para. [0136]).
Claim 7: The apparatus of Hendrix in view of Li discloses wherein the at least one protective surface treatment (alumina coating, Hendrix) covers all gas-exposed surfaces of the vaporizer vessel (para. [0136]).
Claim 8: The apparatus of Hendrix in view of Li discloses further comprising: a gas supply line (tubing, Fig. 2, Hendrix) fluidly coupling the vaporizer vessel to a semiconductor processing tool (102 [furnace]), wherein at least a portion of at least one gas-exposed surface of the gas supply line (tubing) is covered by the at least one protective surface treatment ((alumina coating, para. [0136]).
Claim 9: The apparatus of Hendrix in view of Li discloses wherein the at least one protective surface treatment (alumina coating, Hendrix) covers all gas-exposed surfaces of the gas supply line (tubing, para. [0136]).
Claim 10: The apparatus of Hendrix in view of Li discloses, further comprising: at least one filter (filter, Fig. 2, Hendrix) located in the gas supply line (tubing, para. [0117]), wherein at least a portion of at least one gas-exposed surface of the at least one filter (filter) is covered by the at least one protective surface treatment (alumina coating, para. [0136]).
Claim 11: The apparatus of Hendrix in view of Li discloses wherein the at least one protective surface treatment (alumina coating, Hendrix) covers all gas-exposed surfaces of the at least one filter (filter, para. [0136], [0117]).
Claim 12: The apparatus of Hendrix in view of Li discloses further comprising: a valve assembly (valves, Fig. 2, Hendrix) fluidly coupling the vaporizer vessel (delivery vaporizer) and the gas supply line (tubing, Fig. 2), wherein at least a portion of at least one gas-exposed surface of the valve assembly (valves) is covered by the at least one protective surface treatment (alumina coating, para. [0136]).
Claim 13: The apparatus of Hendrix in view of Li discloses wherein the at least one protective surface treatment (alumina coating, Hendrix) covers all gas-exposed surfaces of the valve assembly (valves, para. [0136]).
Claim 14: The apparatus of Hendrix in view of Li discloses wherein the at least one protective surface treatment (alumina coating, Hendrix) comprises at least one of a coating (alumina coating), a surface modified region, or any combination thereof (para. [0136]).
Claims 2, 15: (Cancelled).
Claims 16-20: (Withdrawn).
Claim(s) 3, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendrix in view of Li as applied to claims 1, 4-8, 12-14, 21 above and further in view of US 20220356563 to Wright.
Claim 3: The apparatus of Hendrix in view of Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the precursor vapor comprises MoO2Cl2 vapor.
Wright discloses wherein the precursor vapor comprises MoO2Cl2 vapor (para. [0037]) for the purpose of achieving deposition of molybdenum-containing material with higher deposition rates to accommodate efficient high-volume manufacturing operations (para. [0004]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation above as taught by Wright with motivation to achieve deposition of molybdenum-containing material with higher deposition rates to accommodate efficient high-volume manufacturing operations.
Claim 22: The apparatus of Hendrix in view of Li, Wright does not disclose wherein the at least one contaminant in the precursor vapor is selected from an iron contaminant, a nickel contaminant, or any combination thereof.
Li discloses wherein the at least one contaminant in the precursor vapor is selected from an iron contaminant, a nickel contaminant, or any combination thereof (heating solid precursor vaporizer to above 150 degrees for extended period can lead to Cr, Fe, Ni, etc, contamination, para. [0067]); for the purpose of being more thermally stable and providing stable vapor supply.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Li with motivation to be more thermally stable and provide stable vapor supply.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20200340110 discloses a surface treatment for the vaporization vessel or trays coated with graphite can be a pyrolytic treatment that provides a pyrolytic coating that seals the graphite (para. [0056]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718