DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed June 26, 2024 and the information disclosure statement (IDS) filed July 02, 2024. This application is a CON of 17/546,425 filed December 09, 2021.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent.
The present application is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 02, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Independent claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over independent claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12,062,394. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application
US Patent 12,062,394
Comment
Claim 1. A system comprising:
a memory device; and
a processing device, operatively coupled to the memory device, to perform operations comprising: performing a write operation to program first data to a first set of memory cells addressable by a first wordline of a first plurality of wordlines of a block of the memory device;
performing a read operation on a second wordline of the plurality of wordlines, wherein the second wordline is adjacent to the first wordline;
determining a number of bits programmed in a first logical level in the second wordline; and responsive to determining that the number of bits programmed in the first logical level fails to satisfy a threshold criterion, performing a write operation on the second wordline to program second data.
Claim 1. A system comprising:
a memory device; and
a processing device, operatively coupled to the memory device, to perform operations comprising:
performing a write operation to program first data to a first set of memory cells addressable by a first wordline of a first plurality of wordlines of a first block of the memory device;
performing a read operation on a second wordline of the plurality of wordlines, wherein the second wordline is a sequentially next and unwritten to wordline in the first block and is adjacent to the first wordline;
determining a number of bits programmed in a first logical level in the second wordline; and responsive to determining that the number of bits programmed in the first logical level satisfies a threshold criterion, copying second data from the first block to a second block.
Note footnote1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koh et al. (US 2013/0229868).
Regarding independent claims 1, 8 and 15, Koh et al. disclose a system comprising:
a memory device (see FIG. 1); and
a processing device, operatively coupled to the memory device, to perform operations comprising:
performing a write operation (e.g., Abstract: the data from a previously written) to program first data to a first set of memory cells addressable by a first wordline of a first plurality of wordlines of a block of the memory device;
performing a read operation (… adjacent is word line is read back) on a second wordline of the plurality of wordlines, wherein the second wordline is adjacent to the first wordline;
determining (… If a short occurs, …) a number of bits programmed in a first logical level in the second wordline (… both word lines); and
responsive to determining that the number of bits programmed in the first logical level fails to satisfy a threshold criterion (… If a short occurs, …), performing a write operation on the second wordline to program second data (… it (i.e., both word lines) can be written to a new location; also see para. 0162).
Further, reprogramming a defected (claimed fail to satisfy a threshold criterion) word line due to interference with adjacent word lines is a well-known technology in a memory device.
For support, see for example, Hsu et al. (US 2017/0322843), para. [0004]: For example, if the failure is due to a short between word lines … both the word line being programmed …; and Kleveland et al. (US 7,212,454), Abstract: The word lines are then reprogrammed and … a defect on that word line and a previously-programmed adjacent word line. If a defect is detected on that word line, that word line and the previously-programmed adjacent word line are repaired …
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Koh et al. disclose retiring the block from further use by the memory device (see e.g., para. 0096: … then remove it from … usable blocks).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Koh et al. disclose performing another write operation to program the first data to a third block (para. 0162: the other block, which implies a third block in multi-block structure).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Koh et al. disclose the first set of memory cells comprises each memory cell associated with the first wordline (see FIGS. 1 and 4, and accompanying disclosure).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Koh et al. disclose the first set of memory cells comprises a predetermined subset of memory cells associated with the first wordline (e.g., para. 0069: … the subset of cells … the entire row …).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Koh et al. disclose the processing device to perform further operations comprising: the threshold criterion comprises a threshold value of set bits (see e.g., para. 0062-0063).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Koh et al. disclose determining a count of memory cells programmed in a second logical level in the second wordline (see e.g., para. 0116: … using the total program loop count to judge this failure could result in false alarms).
Documents Considered but not Relied Upon
The documents below were considered.
Hsu et al. (US 2017/0322843),
Kleveland et al. (US 7,212,454),
Karr et al. (US 2020/0082890), and
Shappir et al. (US 2020/0005874)
Conclusion
/SUNG IL CHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825
1 Re independent claims 1, 8 and 15, claims of US Patent recites all the claimed limitations. The various dependent claims are anticipated by/obvious in view of the conflicting patent.