Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitations “one or more linkages” in lines 2, 4 and 6 lack antecedent basis (in claim 18). It appears the claim was intended to depend from claim 19.
Claims 1, 7, 8 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2/1, 3/2/1, 9/8 and 10/9/8, respectively, of copending Application No. 18/982880 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims of the instant application are fully encompassed within the claims of the reference application (i.e., they are merely broader).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,065,308. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims sought to be patented are fully encompassed within the scope of the patented claim (i.e., the pending claims are merely broader).
Claims 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,065,308 in view of Hachenberg (DE 102008013940, cited by applicant).
All limitations of pending claims 16/15, 17 and 18 are encompassed within the scope of patented claims 1, 7 and 9, respectively, except that the actuator as recited in pending claim 15 further includes a motor to which the transmission is coupled and which is configured to drive the transmission.
Hachenberg shows several embodiments of a tipper assembly comprising:
an actuator 34 including a motor and a transmission coupled to the motor (par. spanning pages 5-6 of the English translation as provided in the parent application); and
an implement 33/41 configured to engage with a container 6:
wherein the motor is configured to drive the transmission to pivot the container from a base position to a dump position to dump contents within the container.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus recited in pending claim 15 by utilizing a motor coupled to the transmission to drive the transmission, as taught by Hachenberg, in order to effectively pivot the container between the base and dump positions in order to dump the contents thereof.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8/7/1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,414,267. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims sought to be patented are fully encompassed within the scope of the patented claim (i.e., the pending claims are merely broader).
Claims 15, 16 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7/1 and 8/7/1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,414,267 in view of Hachenberg (DE 102008013940, cited by applicant).
All limitations of pending claims 16/15 and 18 are encompassed within the scope of patented claims 7/1 and 8/7/1, respectively, except that the actuator as recited in pending claim 15 further includes a motor to which the transmission is coupled and which is configured to drive the transmission.
The rejection utilizes the same obviousness rationale set forth above in par. 7.
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hachenberg.
Re claims 1 and 8, Hachenberg shows several embodiments of a tipper assembly comprising:
a base (such as but not necessarily limited to 36; Figs. 14-22);
an actuator 34 coupled to the base;
an arm 35 coupled to the actuator; and
an implement 33/41 coupled to the arm, wherein the implement includes an upper retainer 33 and a lower retainer 41 that are configured to engage with a container 6 such that operation of the actuator facilitates pivoting the container from a base position to a dump position to (Figs. 18-22);
wherein the tipper assembly is configured to provide a shake function when the container is in the dump position (last full par. on page 5 of the above-noted English translation provided in the parent application).
Hachenberg does not explicitly disclose that there is a discrete shaker assembly coupled to the actuator which includes one or more linkages that facilitate providing the shake function.
However, since a transmission is disclosed as being between the rotation axis of an electric motor and the pivoting device (par. spanning pages 5 and 6 of the above-noted translation) and since the shaking function involves moving the waste container back and forth several times, it is believed that one of ordinary skill in the art would logically conclude that repeatedly reversing the output of the actuator through the use of the transmission rather than the actuator itself is implicit within the reference, or at the very least that utilizing the transmission as a shaker assembly coupled to the actuator would have been an obvious means for providing the shake function. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Hachenberg such that a separate shaker assembly (i.e., the transmission) coupled to the actuator provided the shake function, as the examiner takes Official Notice that a transmission is a well-known means of converting rotary motion of an output from an actuator into an alternating rotary (i.e., "shaking) motion of a device or implement coupled to the actuator, and would preclude the necessity of repeatedly reversing the motion of the actuator itself, thus simplifying the movement operation and extending the life of the motor.
Hachenberg further discloses one or more linkages (i.e., the lower arm of 33) extending between the transmission and the lower retainer (at least indirectly), and wherein the transmission (shaker assembly) is configured to drive such linkage(s) when the implement is in the dump position to provide the shake function to assist in the dumping of the contents within the container, or at the very least, it would have been obvious to have configured the transmission to do so, as per above.
Re claims 2 and 9, the actuator includes the motor and transmission as noted above.
Re claims 6 and 13, Hachenberg further discloses in the above-noted passage of the translation that the transmission is positioned between the arm and the actuator along a pivot axis of the arm.
Re claims 7 and 14, Hachenberg discloses at least that the one or more linkages are coupled to the lower retainer.
Claims 4, 5, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hachenberg in view of Clergeau (EP 2457850, cited by applicant).
Re claims 4 and 11, Hachenberg does not disclose that the transmission includes a planetary gear set.
Clergeau shows a generally similar tipper assembly for dumping containers wherein “planetary gear motors” 17 are utilized for performing the dumping operation. Although the term transmission is not used with respect to the planetary gears, it is believed, based on what is shown in Fig. 3, that one of ordinary skill would understand that the planetary gears are part of a transmission assembly attached to the motors rather than being part of the motors themselves.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Hachenberg by configuring the transmission to include a planetary gear set, as shown by Clergeau, as this would simply be one of a finite number of known types of transmissions from which to choose for the purpose of effectively and reliably transferring power from a motor to effect a tipping motion, the selection of which in the apparatus of Hachenberg would have neither required undue experimentation nor produced unexpected results.
Re claims 5 and 12, insofar as a ring gear is an inherent component of a planetary gear set, the one or more linkages of the modified shaker assembly of Hachenberg would obviously be coupled to such a ring gear to provide the shake function.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hachenberg in view of Heneveld, Jr. et al (US 10,610,429, cited by applicant).
Hachenberg does not disclose that the transmission includes a cycloidal drive.
Heneveld shows an actuator 48 for moving a member 56 (analogous to the claimed arm) relative to a patient support 20 (analogous to the claimed base), wherein the actuator includes a motor 64 and a cycloidal drive 72 (col. 4:25-57 and col. 5:32-59). This results in a compact mechanism and improved packaging within the apparatus.
Further, the cycloidal gear drive can be used as an alternative to a planetary gear set (col. 5:49-59).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Hachenberg by providing a cycloidal drive as part of the actuator (e.g., the transmission thereof), as suggested by Heneveld, to provide a compact mechanism that would be easily packaged within the confines of the environment in which it operates.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/James Keenan/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3652
7/20/26