DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Four sheets for formal drawings were filed June 26, 2024 and have been accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Regarding claim 1, “edge of handle” should be changed to “edge of the handle” for grammatical purposes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Li et al. (TW I578054 B) in view of Ko (US 2008/0031631 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a bale-clasp cover mechanism (Figs. 1-6) for a pluggable optical transceiver (1) comprising:
- a bale-clasp handle (3) adapted to rotate around a proximal inferior edge of the optical transceiver (Fig. 5);
- a surface cover (4);
wherein, said cover is further adapted to rotate around a superior edge of the handle (Fig. 4).
Still regarding claim 1, Li teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating a SC type transceiver. However, various form factors of transceivers are well-known and commonly used in the art and as such, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use any type of transceiver, including an SC type, for the purpose of using the cover mechanism in a wider range of devices.
Still regarding claim 1, Li teaches the claimed invention except for a spring. Ko discloses a cover mechanism comprising a surface cover (102 in Fig. 5) and a spring (105) configured to tension the cover at a 90 degrees angle against an opposite edge of the handle to protect a socket of the optical transceiver (paragraph 0026). Since both of the inventions relate to optical transceivers, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use a spring as disclosed by Ko in the device of Li for the purpose of providing an automatic dustproof function.
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses the handle further comprises an U-shaped assembly arm (30, 32) operatively mounted in the handle configured to synergistically rotate downwards activating release arm to release the optical transceiver (Fig. 5).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Li et al. (TW I578054 B) in view of Ko (US 2008/0031631 A1), further in view of Bianchini (US 6,872,010).
Regarding claim 3, the proposed combination of Li and Ko teaches the claimed invention except for the handle comprising a protrusion. Bianchini discloses an optical transceiver (10 in Figs. 1-2), having a handle (16) comprising a protrusion (top of 16 includes a protrusion on each side of shaped finger plate 163) in its top surface, whose longest axis is aligned with a connection direction. Since all of the inventions relate to optical transceivers, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use a handle comprising a protrusion as disclosed by Bianchini in the device of the proposed combination of Li and Ko for the purpose of providing means for a user to easily grasp the handle.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 September 2, 2026