7Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240007717 A1 to Gupta et al. (“Gupta”) and further in view of US 20250005617 A1 to Troein et al. (“Troein”), and US 9432742 B2 to Sirpal et. al. (“Sirpal”).
As to claim 1, Gupta teaches a system comprising: one or more memories; and at least one processor coupled to at least one of the one or more memories and configured to perform operations comprising: displaying a collection of selectable channel tiles on a first portion of a display, wherein each selectable channel tile represents a channel for streaming media content (Fig. 8, ¶0114, When a media content item page 600 (also called a summary page) is displayed for a first media content item on the television device 102, a first media content provider 604 is selected from the list of media content providers 602 by a first user action with an indication of the first media content provider (e.g., by way of pressing a play button 802 of the remote control device 114). In response to the user action, the first media content item is provided by the first media content provider 604 and played on a media player interface 804 via a first media player application associated with the first media content provider 604. The media player application is executed and hidden in the background to enable playback of the first media content item); receiving a user input on a target channel tile among the collection of selectable channel tiles, the target channel tile corresponding to a target channel (Fig, 12, ¶0114); Gupta does not teach accessing a user profile that is associated with the user input; and generating, based on at least one of the user profile or one or more attributes associated with the target channel, a contextualized advertisement of one or more media content items provided by the target channel. Troein teaches accessing a user profile that is associated with the user input (¶0042); and generating, based on at least one of the user profile or one or more attributes associated with the target channel, a contextualized advertisement of one or more media content items provided by the target channel (¶0061, ¶0041). In view of the teachings of Troein, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Gupta. The suggestion/motivation would be by applying such granular information, advertisers can generate more effective advertising with higher returns on investment.
Sirpal teaches in response to a hover-based user input over a target channel tile, placing the target channel tile into a focused state within a channel-selection user interface (Gupta, ¶0164, Sirpal Fig. 14B). In view of the teachings of Sirpal, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Gupta and Troein. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide an intelligent television for interactive channel navigation
As to claim 2, Gupta, Troein and Sirpal teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the contextualized advertisement is generated using machine learning model (¶0026, a contextual environment for placing content using a clustering-type machine learning model. A system computes a target feature vector representing a target contextual environment that places the content. The system applies the machine learning model to the target feature vector that clusters the target feature vector in a same cluster as a particular feature vector representing a particular contextual environment).
As to claim 3, Gupta, Troein and Sirpal teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform operations comprising: presenting the contextualized advertisement on a second portion of the display, wherein the second portion of the display is adjacent to the first portion of the display (Gupta, Fig. 8, Fig 10C, Troein, ¶0041, contextualized ads).
As to claim 4, Gupta, Troein and Sirpal teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform operations comprising: generating the contextualized advertisement in a size of the target channel tile to be overlaid on a display region corresponding with the target channel tile (Gupta, ¶0177, Fig. 10C, In response to selecting an option to be notified about the availability of an upcoming media content item (e.g., selecting the notification option 2712 in connection with information item 1802), the network-connected television device 102 can provide a notification to the user of the user account within the unified user interface. For example, as shown in FIG. 28, a notification overlay 2800 can be presented within the unified user interface. In a more particular example, the notification overlay 2800 can be positioned with a focus area, such as the focus area 362 that is located on a top half area of the unified user interface 1800. As shown in FIG. 28, the notification overlay 2800 can be positioned over the one or more focus items that are currently being presented within the focus area).
As to claim 5, Gupta, Troein and Sirpal teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the contextualized advertisement comprises a list of one or more advertisements for recommended media contents provided by the target channel (¶0179, presented within the unified user interface 1800 in which the one or more clusters of recommended media content items can be shifted downward such that the notification panel 2900 can be presented in a first row of each tabbed interface. As also shown in FIG. 29, for the upcoming media content item that is now available for playback using a corresponding media player application, the notification panel 2900 can include a title of the media content item (e.g., “Upcoming Movie Title A”), a description of the media content item, and/or any other suitable information. In some implementations, the notification panel 2900 can include a detailed information option 2910 that, when selected, presents additional information relating to the media content item (e.g., such as the additional information in FIG. 23). In some implementations, the notification panel 2900 can include a dismissal option 2920 that, when selected, inhibits the notification panel 2900 from being presented within the unified user interface 1800. For example, in response to selecting the dismissal option 2920, the notification panel 2900 can be removed and the clusters of recommended media content items can be shifted upwards to its initial position).
As to claim 6, Gupta, Troein and Sirpal teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the contextualized advertisement comprises a deep link that links to play the one or more media content items within the target channel (Gupta, ¶0135, a click through link, and a video clip. The background image may include an image of characters free of any text. The request for the first focus item sent to the first advertiser server defines what section of the image of characters needs to be kept empty for putting the title. In some implementations, the logo image is necessary, while a stylized font is optional, and a one line description of media content associated with the first focus item is promoted. The call to action includes actions selectable for the first focus item, e.g., “Subscribe Now,” “Available for Rent,” “Watch Now,” Needs Subscription,” “In Theatres Soon,” “Add App to Favorites Row,” and Add Channels to Home Screen,” and the server system 104 associates the first focus item with a subset of the selectable actions. The title text is used when the stylized title is not available. The first focus item carries the source label highlighting to the user of the television device 102 whether the content is an advertisement, merchandised unit, or recommendation. The click through link includes a link to an application, content in an application, or commercial webpage associated with the first focus item, and a click on the first focus item automatically results in an activation of the link).
As to claim 7, Gupta, Troein and Sirpal teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more media content items comprise live media content capturing a live event, and at least a portion of the contextualized advertisement presents a status of the live event (¶0096).
As to claim 8, Gupta, Troein and Sirpal teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the user profile includes at least one of user preferences, viewing history, demographics (Troein, ¶0031), user engagement with the target channel, or social media data.
As to claim 9, Gupta, Troein and Sirpal teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes associated with the target channel include at least one of subscription options, a plurality of media contents that are available for streaming on the target channel, popularity of the plurality of media contents, or feedback from views on the plurality of media contents (¶0072).
As to claim 10, Gupta, Troein and Sirpal teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes associated with the target channel include a media content studio that produces or distributes the one or more media content items that are provided by the target channel (Troein, ¶0034).
As to claim 11, see the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 12, see the rejection of claim 2.
As to claim 13, see the rejection of claim 3.
As to claim 14, see the rejection of claim 4.
As to claim 15, see the rejection of claim 5.
As to claim 16, see the rejection of claim 6
As to claim 17, see the rejection of claim 7.
As to claim 18, see the rejection of claim 8.
As to claim 19, see the rejection of claim 9.
As to claim 20, see the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE A KURIEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2421
/NATHAN J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2421 3