/202607/07Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s response filed on 07/27/2026 to the Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed 01/27/2026 is entered.
Claims 4-6, 9, 15, 17, 19-20, 23-24 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/27/2026.
Currently, claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-31 are pending for examination. The withdrawn claims 4-6, 9, 15, 17, 19-20, 23-24 can be reinstated if their base claim 1 is found allowable.
Claim 1 is independent claim and the rest of the claims depend from claim 1.
2. Continuity: This application filed 06/26/2024 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63510312 , filed 06/26/2023
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3.1. Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, and 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The independent claim 1 recites an online bidding system comprising selling interface, a platform comprising listing interface, sales manager interface and a buying interface and performing computer related functions without reciting a processor executing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer storage medium and as such do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the interfaces cannot exist in a vacuum. These interfaces as recited represent non-structural term as “Software Per Se”, because no physical hardware is recited. The dependent claims 2-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, and 25-31 inherit the deficiency of the base claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Note : In order to overcome this rejection, the claim 1 needs to be amended to include that a system computing device comprising selling interface or a platform computing device comprising listing interface or a buyer’s computing device comprising a buying interface.
3.2. Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, and 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, when analyzed as per MPEP 2106.
Step 1 analysis:
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, and 25-31 are to a system /apparatus, which are non-statutory (Step 1: NO).
Note: If the applicant amends the base claim1 as suggested above, Step 2A and Step 2B analysis, as presented below will be applicable:
Step 2A Analysis:
Claim 1 recites:
1. (original) An online bidding system for selling and buying used vehicles comprising:
(i) a seller interface programmed to (i) receive vehicle information from one or more non- dealer sellers interested in selling a vehicle and (ii) send the vehicle information to a listing agent;
a business development platform comprising a listing agent interface and a sales manager interface;
(ii) wherein the listing agent interface is programmed to receive the vehicle information and appraise the vehicle;
(iii) wherein the sales manager interface is programmed to manage a non-public live online bidding marketplace;
(iv) a buyer interface programmed to allow one or more qualified dealers to shop for, and anonymously bid on, the vehicle in the non-public live online bidding marketplace; and
(v) wherein the seller interface is further programmed to monitor the non-public live online bidding marketplace of the vehicle, display a highest bid of the live online bidding marketplace from an anonymous bidder, and display an option to accept, reject, or make a counter offer to, the highest bid when it is lower than a target price;
(vi) wherein the sales manager interface is further programmed to display an identity of a winning bidder to the seller upon acceptance of a sale price; and
(vii) wherein the sales manager interface has a scheduling module programmed to display to the seller available times for scheduling an inspection of the vehicle with the winning bidder.
The highlighted limitations comprising, “ a seller to (i) receive vehicle information from one or more non- dealer sellers interested in selling a vehicle and (ii) send the vehicle information to a listing agent; platform comprising a listing agent and a sales manager ; wherein the listing agent is programmed to receive the vehicle information and appraise the vehicle; wherein the sales manager is to manage a non-public live online bidding marketplace; a buyer to allow one or more qualified dealers to shop for, and anonymously bid on, the vehicle in the non-public live online bidding marketplace; and wherein the seller is further to monitor the non-public live online bidding marketplace of the vehicle, display a highest bid of the live online bidding marketplace from an anonymous bidder, and display an option to accept, reject, or make a counter offer to, the highest bid when it is lower than a target price; wherein the sales manager is further to display an identity of a winning bidder to the seller upon acceptance of a sale price; and wherein the sales manager to display to the seller available times for scheduling an inspection of the vehicle with the winning bidder.”; under their broadest reasonable interpretation, recite a commercial activity related to an online bidding system for selling and buying used vehicles comprising receiving vehicle information from entities interested to sell the vehicle, make an appraisal of the vehicle, receive bids from buyers and display an identity of a winning bidder to complete the formalities of available times , acceptance of a price and scheduling an inspection. Thus, limitations of the claim 1 with its dependent claims 2-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-31 fall within “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity”, grouping of abstract ideas.
All pending claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-31 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One: YES)..
Step 2A Prong 2 analysis: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception or whether the claim is “directed to” the judicial exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d).
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, and 25-31 : The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Claim 1 recites the additional limitations of using generic computer components comprising selling interface, a platform comprising listing interface, sales manager interface and a buying interface performing following steps: (i) a seller interface programmed to (i) receive vehicle information from one or more non- dealer sellers interested in selling a vehicle and (ii) send the vehicle information to a listing agent; (ii) wherein the listing agent interface is programmed to receive the vehicle information and appraise the vehicle; (iii) wherein the sales manager interface is programmed to manage a non-public live online bidding marketplace; (iv) a buyer interface programmed to allow one or more qualified dealers to shop for, and anonymously bid on, the vehicle in the non-public live online bidding marketplace; and (v) wherein the seller interface is further programmed to monitor the non-public live online bidding marketplace of the vehicle, display a highest bid of the live online bidding marketplace from an anonymous bidder, and display an option to accept, reject, or make a counter offer to, the highest bid when it is lower than a target price; (vi) wherein the sales manager interface is further programmed to display an identity of a winning bidder to the seller upon acceptance of a sale price; and (viii) wherein the sales manager interface has a scheduling module programmed to display to the seller available times for scheduling an inspection of the vehicle with the winning bidder.
The limitations in steps, “ (i) a seller interface programmed to (i) receive vehicle information from one or more non- dealer sellers interested in selling a vehicle and (ii) send the vehicle information to a listing agent; (ii) wherein the listing agent interface is programmed to receive the vehicle information and appraise the vehicle; (v) wherein the seller interface is further programmed to display a highest bid of the live online bidding marketplace from an anonymous bidder, and display an option to accept, reject, or make a counter offer to, the highest bid when it is lower than a target price; ( vi) wherein the sales manager interface is further programmed to display an identity of a winning bidder to the seller upon acceptance of a sale price; and (viii) wherein the sales manager interface has a scheduling module programmed to display to the seller available times for scheduling an inspection of the vehicle with the winning bidder.”, are mere data gathering and output /display recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g) (“whether the limitation is significant”). In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering and output/display, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. These limitations amount to necessary data gathering and outputting/displaying. See MPEP 2106.05. Further, these limitations are recited as being performed by computer interfaces. The computer interfaces are recited at a high level of generality and are used as a tool to perform the generic computer function of receiving data. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The limitations in steps “ (iii) wherein the sales manager interface is programmed to manage a non-public live online bidding marketplace; (iv) a buyer interface programmed to allow one or more qualified dealers to shop for, and anonymously bid on, the vehicle in the non-public live online bidding marketplace; and (v) wherein the seller interface is further programmed to monitor the non-public live online bidding marketplace of the vehicle,”, recite generic concept of conducting an auction allowing dealers to shop and bid for and then the bidding is monitored to find the winner do not necessitate inextricable tie to computer technology because these steps can be carried out manually and is just performing the disembodied concept on a general purpose computer.
Even when viewed individually and in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application because they do not add any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea(Step 2A, Prong Two: NO), and the claim 1 is directed to the judicial exception. (Step 2A: YES).
Limitations of dependent clams 2-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-31 have been considered and they are merely expanding the scope of the limitations of the base claim 1 without reciting any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claims 2 -3, 7, 10-13, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-30 recite accepting a sales price when it meets certain conditions, and displaying an identity of the winning bidder after a sales price is agreed between a buyer and seller, anonymously displaying competing bids, sending notification to a listing agent that the target price not met and prompting him for a counteroffer, allowing negotiation between the seller and the highest bidder, allowing the buyer to rate a transaction, facilitating a consultation between the seller and the listing agent, consulting with a seller, processing payment, prompting a seller for a target price, presenting the seller with an option to purchase professional photography services for an additional price, calculating an instant offer estimate for the vehicle, display a current bid and a remaining time for the non-public live online bidding marketplace, a status of the non-public live online bidding marketplace, and a status of the non-public live online bidding marketplace and an option to place a bid, receive the vehicle information and seller information; which, as analyzed above, are non-significant extra-solution activity using computer recited at a high level of generality, and reciting generic concepts related to an auction which do not necessitate inextricable tie to computer technology because these steps can be carried out manually and is just performing the disembodied concept on a general purpose computer. Claims 8 , 14 and 31recite non-functional descriptive subject matter. Thus, the limitations of the dependent claims , when considered individually and in combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, because they do not add any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Even when viewed individually and in combination, the additional elements, as analyzed above, in all pending claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-31do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application because they do not add any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea(Step 2A, Prong Two: NO), and the claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-31are directed to the judicial exception. (Step 2A: YES).
Step 2B analysis: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
The claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-31 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Since claims are as per Step 2A are directed to an abstract idea, they have to be analyzed per Step 2B, if they recite an inventive step, i.e., the claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-31 recite additional elements or a combination of elements that amount to “Significantly More” than the judicial exception in the claim.
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-31 amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components, and generally linking the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components, and generally linking the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use using a generic computer components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
As per MPEP 2106 , a conclusion that an additional element or elements is/are extra-solution activity, or are well-understood, conventional and routine activity in step 2A should be re-evaluated in step 2B. Here the receiving, acquiring, transmitting, and displaying steps were considered extra-solution activity, or are well-understood, conventional and routine activity activities in step 2A and thus they are re-evaluated in step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
The background of the example does not provide any indication that the computer components are anything other than a generic, off the shelf computer component and the Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs, Versata court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d) (ii) indicate that mere receiving, acquiring, transmitting, and displaying steps using a generic computer is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Accordingly, a conclusion that the receiving, acquiring, transmitting, and displaying steps are well-understood, routine conventional activities are supported under Berkheimer Option 2. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) 2: Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Similarly, "claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer" does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, a claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a) for a discussion of improvements to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.
Even when considered individually, and in combination, the additional elements in the claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-31 represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. (Step 2B: NO).
Thus, the subject matter of all pending claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-31 are not patent eligible.
4. Note: The bolded text represents “[[emphasis added to the relevant text]] direct quotes from the references are in a smaller and italic font
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5.1. Claims 1-3, 7, 10-12, 14, 16, 22, 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly et al. [US 20070016512 A1], hereinafter Kelly in view of TR 2021016620 U5, hereinafter TR620’U5, in view of Gillman US 20020147674 A1and in view of WO 2007002680A2, hereinafter WO’680A2.
Regarding claim 1, Kelly teaches an online bidding system for selling and buying used vehicles comprising: a seller interface programmed to (i) receive vehicle information from one or more non- dealer sellers interested in selling a vehicle and; a business development platform comprising a sales manager interface; wherein the sales manager interface is programmed to manage a non-public live online bidding marketplace; a buyer interface programmed to allow one or more qualified dealers to shop for the vehicle in the non-public live online bidding marketplace [See Kelly: Abstract, paras 0024, 0025, 0028-30, 0038, 0041 and Fig.1’
Abstract: “ a network-based auction for vehicles. Information regarding a set of vehicles to be auctioned in an auction event is received from a seller through an electronic interface. A list of the vehicles to be auctioned is displayed on an interface for the seller. ……. Input is received from the seller regarding the order, and the vehicles are made available to buyers for bidding in the order determined by the seller..; [0024] ……. A dynamic market environment is provided in which buyers interactively bid against each other for items, such as vehicles. ……The tool is network-based. The buyers, sellers, and auction system communicate by way of a computer network such as the Internet. ….[0025] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a system with a bidding tool, according to an embodiment of the invention. The system includes an auction server 101, seller system 102, and buyer system 103. Also shown is network 104. Seller system 102 includes web pages 105, and buyer system 103 includes web pages 106. Auction server 101 includes software 107 and storage 110. Software 107 includes administrative software 108 and auction software 109, and storage includes seller information 111 and buyer information 112. Seller information 111 includes information such as vehicle information 113 and 114, and events information 115 which includes order 116, rules 117 and catalog 118. Auction server 101 is coupled to seller system 102 and buyer system 103 via network 104. Software 107 in auction server 101 operates with storage 110…….[0028] Auction server 101 includes software and storage to manage options and the users of the auctions. …… Auction software 109 controls an auction including the progress of the auction as requested by seller system 102 and response to bids made by buyer system 103…[0029] Seller system 102 includes web pages 105 that allow seller to enter and display information regarding auction events, …...[0030] Buyer system 103 includes web pages 106 that allow a buyer to display information regarding bidding as well as enter information commands in order to participate in bidding in auctions.”. These excerpts from Kelly disclose an online bidding system and marketplace for selling and buying used vehicles comprising a seller interface receiving vehicle information from one or more non- dealer sellers interested in selling a vehicle and a sales interface is programmed to manage a non-public live online bidding marketplace/auction with a buyer interface allowing buyers [correspond to the claimed one or more qualified dealers ]to shop for the vehicle in the non-public live online bidding marketplace.
Kelly fails to disclose send the vehicle information to a listing agent ; a listing agent interface wherein the listing agent interface is programmed to receive the vehicle information and appraise the vehicle. TR’620 in the same field of trading old vehicles describes sending the vehicle information for an appraisal of the vehicle [See Abstract, and “Technical Filed of Invention”, “Dyno test system (3) in the optional lift system that detects the equipment, transfers the resulting information to the general server registration system (4) thanks to the information transfer system (6), which is used by all of these equipment, and provides photos and information to the people who trade the vehicle. , thereby securing trade. It is about an auto appraisal system, which ……… especially in the appraisal stations, reduces human error to zero with its mechanical and electronic software elements, …….. In the vehicle buying and selling process, the buyer and the seller can report the mechanical, physical and electronic condition of the vehicle subject to sale with zero error, including under-vehicle imaging, x-ray scanning and dynamometer engine test equipment in its hardware structure, running these systems synchronously and receiving information about the vehicle from each of these systems, and thus, it is about an appraisal system that effectively informs the buyer and seller in vehicle purchase and sale trade.”. Therefore, in view of the teaching of TR’620 in the same line of endeavor of trading used vehicles to get the appraisal from an agent , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly to incorporate the concept of providing the vehicle information to an appraisal entity , such as a listing agent in the claimed invention, before selling the vehicle, because, as shown in TR”620, to inform the buyer and seller about the physical and electronic condition, and secondly since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Kelly teaches wherein the seller interface is further programmed to monitor the non-public live online bidding marketplace of the vehicle, display a highest bid of the live online bidding marketplace from a bidder, and display an option to accept, reject, or make a counter offer to, the highest bid when it is lower than a target price [See paras 0119-0120, 0237 and 0300:
[0119] Auction console 303 may include all of the following or various combinations of the following: sound for the start of an auction, sound for the end of an auction, sound for when bidding meets reserve price, sound for each vehicle sold, sound for each bid placed, and/or sounds for all bids having been placed. An embodiment of the system may include display on the console of the real-time display of bids as they are placed.. ………. The system may include a display of the following in the auction console: current high bid, ……..
[0120] ………, the system automatically sets the reserve price to the current highest bid, which price may be displayed in the button. The reserve price, once changed, is then indicated to the bidders.
[0237] The system may use various forms of auction logic. For example, in one embodiment, the auction system uses English auctions. The seller or administrator is allowed to set an opening price at a reserve price. Users may bid the highest price they are willing to pay for an item. ……. The winning bidder is the bidder who has the highest bid when the auction closes. If the reserve price has been met, the winning bidder is awarded the item. ……. The following is an example of a system implementing bidding from the lane: [0238] 1. The auction begins with an Opening Price of $100. [0239] a. Bid increments are $50 [0240] b. There is no Reserve Price [0241] 2. The minimum bid amount is $100. [0242] 3. Bidder #1 places a bid at the opening price of $100 by clicking the minimum bid button. [0243] 4. Bidder #1 is currently the highest bidder @ $100. [0244] 5. The minimum bid amount is $150. [0245] 6. Bidder #2 attempts to place a manual bid of $160. The bid is rejected by the system because the bid does not have a $50 increment. [0246] 7. Bidder #1 is currently the high bidder @ $100. [0247] 8. The minimum bid amount is $150. [0248] 9. Bidder #2 places a bid of $150 by clicking the minimum bid button. [0249] 10. Bidder #2 is currently the high bidder @ $150. [0250] 11. The minimum bid amount is $200. [0251] 12. No additional bids are placed and the auction ends. [0252] 13. Bidder #2 is the winning bidder @ $150 and is awarded the vehicle because the Reserve Price has been met. [0253] 14. The system counts a total of 2 bids placed and 2 unique bidders. [0300] The system may support "if bids." If bidding on a vehicle does not reach the seller's reserve price, the buyer may be given the option of placing an if bid. This causes a section of the seller console to extend with details regarding the if bid. The details may include the bidder, vehicle information, and bid amount. The seller may be able to provide a counteroffer, which the buyer has one chance to accept, counter it, or refuse, which ends the bidding negotiations, at which point the item becomes no-sale. If the bidder counters, the seller can then accept the offer, which will sell the vehicle to the bidder at the counter amount or refuse, which will cause the vehicle not to be sold.
Regarding limitations, “anonymously bid on; and wherein the sales manager interface is further programmed to display an identity of a winning bidder to the seller upon acceptance of a sale price”, Kelly teaches that the system may display the name of the winning and the highest bidder and does not teach accepting anonymous bis and display an identity of a winning bidder to the seller upon acceptance of a sale price. However, Gillman, in the same field of conducting auctions teaches bidding anonymously [here it is a reverse auction where the bidders are suppliers and the buyer chooses the winner] and when the buyer has accepted a supplier’s bid the identity of the winner supplier is revealed [See Gillman paras 0046-0047 and 0050, “ [0046] ……… the bidding is preferably performed anonymously. …[0047] During the auction, all of the suppliers are preferably able to view all of the bids (including terms and conditions) of all other suppliers while the auction is progressing. These competing bids are preferably anonymous to the supplier. …….. [0050] When a buyer chooses the winner of the auction, all of the suppliers are preferably given a notification that the buyer has made its selection and the identity of the winning supplier is revealed. These "losing" suppliers may then view the terms of the accepted bid and are put in a better position to bid on the next similar forging, or the next forging from that particular buyer. After the buyer makes its selection, the buyer and supplier preferably need to consummate the transaction outside of the parameters of the system. “; .”. Therefore, in view of the teaching of Gillman in the same line of endeavor of conducting auction , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly to incorporate the concept of an anonymous bidding and display an identity of a winning bidder to the seller upon acceptance of a sale price, because as shown in Gillman that it would enable losing bidders to view the terms of the accepted bid and to put in a better position to bid on the next similar auction for a vehicle, and secondly since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Kelly also fails to disclose that the sales manager interface has a scheduling module programmed to display to the seller available times for scheduling an inspection of the vehicle with the winning bidder. WO’680A2 teaches scheduling inspection of a vehicle for sale so that the vehicle can be priced for an auction [see para 89 which defines location for scheduled inspections for requested inspections of the vehicles and see para 144 , “ After vehicles have been inspected and perhaps reconditioned at the auction, the NAMX auction system will enable sellers to easily price the vehicles for wholesale at the auction and in the NAMX market. ]. Therefore, in view of the teachings of WO’680A2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly to incorporate the concept of to display to the seller available times for scheduling an inspection of the vehicle with the winning bidder, so that the vehicle is inspected which would help to price vehicle price, as shown in WO’680A2, and secondly since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claims 2-3, the limitations, “ The bidding system of claim 1, wherein acceptance of a sale price occurs when the highest bid meets or surpasses the target price”, and “wherein acceptance of a sale price occurs when the seller and buyer accept a sale price that is lower than the target price”, are already covered in the analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations, “The bidding system of claim 1, wherein the buyer interface is programmed to anonymously display competing bids for the vehicle.”, are already covered in the analysis of claim 1 above in view of the combined teachings of Kelly and Gillman.
Regarding claims 10-12, , the limitations, “display an identity of the winning bidder to the seller after the buyer and seller agree on a sale price and after the seller pays a listing fee.”, notify a listing agent when (i) a target price is not met before completion of the live action and (ii) the seller makes a counteroffer”, and “allow the listing agent or sales agent to communicate with the seller and the highest bidder to facilitate an anonymous negotiation of a sale price between the seller and the highest bidder..”, are already covered in the analysis of claim 1 above in view of the combined teachings of Kelly and Gillman.
Regarding claim 14, Kelly teaches wherein the one or more non-dealer sellers are private party sellers only [see Abstract, and para 0024 which disclose conducting actions between any buyer and seller which can include a private seller.
Regarding claim 16, Kelly teaches wherein the listing agent interface includes a scheduling module programmed to facilitate a consultation between the seller and the listing agent [See para 0300 which teaches offering counteroffer and conducting negotiations] .
Regarding claims 22 and 26, Kelly teaches wherein the seller interface includes a listing module programmed to prompt the seller for a target price and to calculate an instant offer estimate for the vehicle [See para 0300, “The system may support "if bids." If bidding on a vehicle does not reach the seller's reserve price, the buyer may be given the option of placing an if bid. This causes a section of the seller console to extend with details regarding the if bid. The details may include the bidder, vehicle information, and bid amount. The seller may be able to provide a counteroffer, which the buyer has one chance to accept, counter it, or refuse, which ends the bidding negotiations, at which point the item becomes no-sale. If the bidder counters, the seller can then accept the offer, which will sell the vehicle to the bidder at the counter amount or refuse, which will cause the vehicle not to be sold. “]. Here , Kelly teaches that the system prompts the seller for a target price which buyer may accept and the system calculates instant offer as a part of negotiation and, thus, this subject matter reads on the limitations of claims 22 and 26
Regarding claim 27, Kelly teaches the limitations “ wherein the sales manager interface includes a bidding management module programmed to display a current bid [See paras 0119] and a remaining time for the non-public live online bidding marketplace [See para 0116].
Regarding claims 28-29 Kelly teaches “wherein the buyer interface includes a bidding module programmed to display a status of the non-public live online bidding marketplace and an option to place a bid.” [See para 0116, “ , An embodiment of the system includes an auction console for the seller such as auction console 303. According to an embodiment of the invention, if the event is farther in the future than a particular time period, the console is not available. For example, if the start time of the event is more than an hour before the current time, then the console is unavailable. If the event start time is within a particular time frame, for example, one hour from the current time, then the system makes the auction console available to the seller-user. Additionally, according to an embodiment, if the event has ended, the system does not make the console available.”
Regarding claim 30, Kelly teaches “wherein the seller interface includes a listing module programmed to receive the vehicle information [see para 0119 and seller information [See Abstract, “ A list of the vehicles to be auctioned is displayed on an interface for the seller. The seller is provided an option to determine an order in which the vehicles are to be made available to buyers for bidding on an interface on which the list is displayed. Input is received from the seller regarding the order, and the vehicles are made available to buyers for bidding in the order determined by the seller. Other methods and systems for managing a network-based auctions for vehicles are also described..” , and also See Figs 3-11.
Regarding claim 31, Kelly teaches that the bidding system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle information includes one or more of year, make, model, trim, engine size, odometer value, transmission type, drivetrain type, fuel type, number of doors, body style, exterior color, interior color, vehicle condition, tire condition, interior condition, after-market modifications, physical damage, mechanical defects, non-runner, open recalls, rebuilt, ownership type, number of keys, original owner, target price, target sell date, and contact information [See para 0119, “ The system may include display of attributes of the respective vehicles or vehicle in the current auction, such as, in various combinations: VIN, year, make, model, series, mileage, odometer reading, exterior and interior color, engine, drivetrain, transmission, damage total, and/or location (city and state). The system may include a link to a detail page which opens in a new window according to an embodiment. The system may include a display of the following in the auction console: current high bid, current high bidder (including in an embodiment the organization name or the name of the buyer that has placed the current high bid), and/or list of all cars. The console may include a list of cars, on the bottom of the screen in a scrollable list of all upcoming vehicles, with attributes regarding the cars as discussed herein, for example, VIN, year, etc. The console may display the reserve price and/or a picture of the current car.]
5.2. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly in view of TR620’U5, in view of Gillman in view of WO’680A2 and in view of Drucker [US 2009/0112764 A1].
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings of Kelly, TR620’U5, Gillman and WO’680A2 teach and render obvious all the limitations of claim 1, as analyzed above, but fails to teach wherein the one or more qualified dealers is a state- licensed dealer that is bonded and insured. Drucker teaches that service providers need to be bonded and insured to provide financial security [see para 0005, “ [0005] The use of a "Qualified Intermediary (QI)" provides a "safe harbor" (presumption that the Section 1031 exchange is valid and will be allowed) for the transaction. The QI must be an entity who is "independent", and, to ensure financial security, should be a bonded and insured corporation that engages in no other business.”]. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Drucker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly to incorporate the concept that the one or more qualified buyers interested in buying the vehicles for reselling are state- licensed dealer that is bonded and insured [As analyzed in claim 1, the qualified buyers in Kelly correspond to the claimed dealers], because, as shown in Drucker, to ensure financial security.
5.3. Claim 13, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly in view of TR620’U5, in view of Gillman in view of WO’680A2 and in view of Smith [US 20110112922 A1]
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings of Kelly, TR620’U5, Gillman and WO’680A2 teach and render obvious all the limitations of claim 1, as analyzed above, but fails to teach wherein the buyer interface includes a rating module to allow the buyer to rate a transaction, a listing agent or a sales agent. Smith , in the same field of endeavor of selling and buying cars, teaches rating a seller, such a car dealership [See Smith para 0033, “ …… the present invention provides an online system for allowing a consumer to rate various aspects of the seller, such as a car dealership. These aspects may include ratings of the overall buying process, the sales associate, ……... The ratings can be based on any type of scale, such as a scale of 100 or a scale of 10. Prior to selecting which sellers to invite to participate in the negotiations, the consumer may examine the reviews for each potential seller and use this information to select the sellers that will be invited to participate”]. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Smith, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly to incorporate the concept of including a rating module to allow the buyer to rate a transaction, a listing agent or a sales agent, as shown in the Smith reference, because ratings of a dealership or sales associate/agent helps buyers to make selections for their purchase transaction.
5.4. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly in view of TR620’U5, in view of Gillman in view of WO’680A2 and in view of Krasadakis [US 20170287038 A1].
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings of Kelly, TR620’U5, Gillman and WO’680A2 teach and render obvious all the limitations of claim 1, as analyzed above, but fails to teach wherein the seller interface includes an AI module programmed to consult with the seller regarding a target price of the vehicle. Krasadakis using AI modules to target profitability, or price margins, [See para 0063, “ In some examples, the seller AI negotiator 208 uses product sales objectives, profitability targets, or price margins—within elasticity thresholds set by the sellers 174 or as a result of the market for the particular product—in order to create personalized offers adapted to each single anonymous buyer 124 represented by the buyer AI negotiators 206. The buyers 124 may receive offers, promotions, or advertisements in various examples that are aligned and relevant to the buyer 124's buying plans being expressed through a buyer AI negotiator 206. This may reduce the noise, spam, advertisement overexposure, and other annoyances to the buyers 124 that are popular in the digital era.”. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Krasadakis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly to incorporate the concept that the seller interface includes an AI module programmed to consult with the seller regarding a target price of the vehicle, as shown in Krasadakis, because it would help to formulate the prices as per required profit margin with a target price and secondly since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
5.5. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly in view of TR620’U5, in view of Gillman in view of WO’680A2 and in view of Haizheng Li and Han Zhang, "How people select their payment methods in online auctions? An exploration of eBay transactions," 37th Annual Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences, 2004. Proceedings of the Big Island, HI, 2004, pp. 10 pp.; retrieved from IP.COM on 09242026, hereinafter Haizheng Li.
Regarding claim 21, the combined teachings of Kelly, TR620’U5, Gillman and WO’680A2 teach and render obvious all the limitations of claim 1, as analyzed above, but fails to teach that wherein the listing agent interface includes a payment module programmed to process a listing fee from the seller. Haizheng Li [ see pages 3-4, “……. eBay is the major player in the online auction market, making its money by charging sellers fees for listing their items, plus commissions based on a percentage of an item’s selling price. After an auction closes, the winning bidder and the seller are responsible for completing the sale……”] teaches processing a listing fee from the seller. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Haizheng Li, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly to incorporate the concept of to process a listing fee from the seller, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
5.6. Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly in view of TR620’U5, in view of Gillman in view of WO’680A2 and in view of KRACHTUS [US 20120047095 A1].
Regarding claim 25, the combined teachings of Kelly, TR620’U5, Gillman and WO’680A2 teach and render obvious all the limitations of claim 1, as analyzed above, but fails to teach that the seller interface is further programmed to present the seller with an option to purchase professional photography services for an additional price. KRACHTUS [ see paras 0008—0009, “ [ 0008] A method of providing digital photography services to a user according to the present disclosure may comprise a provider offering in combination a. a digital camera or digital camcorder for taking photographs or film sequences during a single-use phase…..[0009] The price for an offer (package) may substantially correspond to the price of the services/products included in the offer.”] teaches presenting an option to purchase professional photography services for an additional price along with the camera, which is analogous to the limitations of the claim in solving a similar problem of offering photography services while offering a product such as a camera for additional price. Therefore, in view of the teachings of KRACHTUS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly to incorporate the concept to offer photography services additionally for an additional price when selling a product such as a vehicle, because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. The claim language does not describe how the offering of photography services is interconnected with selling a vehicle and therefore the claim language is interpreted as to add an additional offer of photography services just as shown in KRACHTUS.
Conclusion
/YOGESH C GARG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688