DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Mertens et al (USPN 2018/0083443).
Regarding claim 1, Mertens discloses a power clamp device (see figure 3), comprising:
a delay element (304) having an input terminal and an output terminal;
an electrostatic discharge (ESD) bypass element (an ESD bypass element includes 328, 112) having a first terminal (a gate terminal of the device 328 ) and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the output terminal of the delay element (the gate terminal of the device 328 is electrically coupled to the output of the delay element 304, see figure 3); and
a gate control circuit (a gate control circuit 308) having a first terminal (a gate of transistor 326 as a first terminal of the gate control circuit 308) electrically connected to the input terminal of the delay element (314), a second terminal (a gate of a transistor 322 of the gate control circuit 308) electrically connected to the output terminal of the delay element (304), and a third terminal (a common terminal of the transistors 322 and 326) electrically connected to the second terminal of the ESD bypass element (a gate terminal of device 112).
Regarding claim 2, Mertens discloses wherein the ESD bypass element (328, 112) is electrically connected between a first supply voltage (VDD) and a second supply voltage (VSS), and wherein, in the case that an ESD event occurs, the ESD bypass element is configured to discharge an ESD current between the first supply voltage and the second supply voltage (in response to the ESD event, the transistor 328 is switched on to trigger the transistor 112 to discharge the ESD event, e.g. see par. 0019).
Regarding claim 3, Mertens discloses wherein the gate control circuit (308) comprises a third transistor (326) having a gate acting as the first terminal of the gate control circuit, and a fourth transistor (322) having a gate acting as the second terminal of the gate control circuit, wherein the third transistor (326) is connected to the fourth transistor (322) at the third terminal of the gate control circuit (a common terminal of the transistors 322 and 326).
Regarding claim 5, Mertens discloses wherein, in the case that an ESD event occurs, the third transistor (the transistor 326 is turned on by the triggered signal VRC) of the gate control circuit (308) is on and the fourth transistor (the transistor 322 is off by the transistor 318) of the gate control circuit is off (see par. 0019).
Regarding claim 6, Mertens discloses in the case that no ESD event occurs, the third transistor (326) of the gate control circuit is off and the fourth transistor (322) of the gate control circuit is on (see par. 0019).
Regarding claim 10, Mertens discloses a transient detector (an RC detector 310, 312, see figure 3) electrically connected to the input terminal of the delay element.
Regarding claim 11, Mertens discloses wherein the delay element includes at least one inverter (314).
2. Claims 1-3, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ker et al (USPN 2009/0086392).
Regarding claim 1, Ker discloses a power clamp device (see figure 6b), comprising:
a delay element (e.g. inverters 630, 640) having an input terminal and an output terminal;
an electrostatic discharge (ESD) bypass element (an ESD bypass element 123) having a first terminal (a gate terminal of the device 123 ) and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the output terminal of the delay element (the gate terminal of the device 123 is electrically coupled to the output of the delay element 630, 640, see figure 6c); and
a gate control circuit (a gate control circuit includes 650, MNR1, MPFB) having a first terminal (a gate terminal of MNR1) electrically connected to the input terminal of the delay element (at node 660 of the delay element 630, 640), a second terminal (such as a drain terminal of the transistor MPFB) electrically connected to the output terminal of the delay element (630, 340), and a third terminal (a third terminal at a common point between a gate terminal of the transistor MPFB and a drain terminal of the transistor MNR1) electrically connected to the second terminal of the ESD bypass element (a gate terminal of device 123).
Regarding claim 2, Ker discloses wherein the ESD bypass element (123) is electrically connected between a first supply voltage (131) and a second supply voltage (132), and wherein, in the case that an ESD event occurs, the ESD bypass element is configured to discharge an ESD current between the first supply voltage and the second supply voltage (e.g. see par. 0021).
Regarding claim 3, Ker discloses wherein the gate control circuit (650, MNR1, MPFB) comprises a third transistor (MNR1) having a gate acting as the first terminal of the gate control circuit, and a fourth transistor (MPFB) having a gate acting as the second terminal of the gate control circuit, wherein the third transistor (MNR1) is connected to the fourth transistor (MPFB) at the third terminal of the gate control circuit (the third terminal at a common point between a gate terminal of the transistor MPFB and a drain terminal of the transistor MNR1) electrically connected to the second terminal of the ESD bypass element (a gate terminal of device 123).
Regarding claim 10, Ker discloses a transient detector (an RC detector shown in figure 6b) electrically connected to the input terminal of the delay element.
Regarding claim 11, Ker discloses wherein the delay element includes at least one inverter (630, 640, figure 6b).
3. Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (USPN 2007/0171587).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses a power clamp device (500 shown in figure 5), comprising:
a delay element (532) having an input terminal (at node N1), an output terminal (at node N2), and a bulk terminal (bulk terminals of 532 shown in figure 5);
an ESD bypass element (540) electrically connected to the output terminal of the delay element (532); and
a well control circuit (534, 350) has a first terminal (at node N2) electrically connected to the ESD bypass element (340), and a second terminal (N3) electrically connected to the bulk terminal of the delay element (via a control element 350).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses wherein the ESD bypass element (540) is electrically connected to a first supply voltage (VDD) and a second supply voltage (VSS), and wherein, in the case that an ESD event occurs, the ESD bypass element is configured to discharge an ESD current between the first supply voltage and the second supply voltage (see par. 0019).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses wherein the delay element includes a first transistor (a PMOS transistor of the delay element 532) having a gate connected to the input terminal of the delay element (N1), a drain connected to the output terminal of the delay element (N2), a source connected to a second supply voltage (VDD), and a bulk (a substrate terminal of 532) connected to the bulk terminal of the delay element (532).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ker et al (USPN 2009/0086392) in view of Rice (USPN 2006/0274466).
Regarding claim 7, Ker does not explicitly disclose a first terminal and a second terminal of the ESD bypass element as claimed.
Rice discloses an ESD protection device (see figure 2) comprises an ESD bypass element (206), in a case that an ESD occurs, a first terminal (208) and a second terminal (210) of the ESD bypass element (206) have the same potential (such as same VSS potential, e.g. see par. 0033).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the ESD bypass element of Ker to incorporate an ESD bypass element as disclosed by Rice in order to conduct stronger current during ESD event so that enhancing an ESD protection.
5. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ker et al (USPN 2009/0086392) in view of Kato et al (USPN 2015/0229125).
Regarding claim 8, Ker does not explicitly disclose a first terminal and a second terminal of the ESD bypass element as claimed.
Kato discloses an ESD protection device (see figure 2) comprises an ESD bypass element (9), in a case that no ESD occurs, a first terminal (a gate terminal of a PMOS transistor 81) and a second terminal (a gate terminal of a NMOS transistor 51) of the ESD bypass element (206) have a different potential (such as a different potential applied to the gates of 81, 51 under normal operation, e.g. see par. 0013).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the ESD bypass element of Ker to incorporate an ESD bypass element as disclosed by Rice in order to prevent unintentional operation and sufficiently discharge ESD surge.
6. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (USPN 2007/0171587) in view of Rice (USPN 2006/0274466).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the ESD bypass element (540), in the case that an ESD event occurs, the ESD discharge element is configured to discharge an ESD current between the first supply voltage and the second supply voltage (see par. 0019), but Lee does not explicitly disclose the ESD discharge element as claimed.
Rice discloses an ESD protection device (see figure 2) comprises an ESD bypass element (206) comprises a cascaded structure (224, 226, see figure 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the ESD bypass element of Ker to incorporate an cascaded ESD bypass structure as disclosed by Rice in order to conduct stronger current during ESD event so that enhancing an ESD protection.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,068,597 (also see a matching table shown below). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a power clamp device, comprising: a lateral diffusion metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (LDMOSFET) having a gate, a drain electrically connected to a first supply voltage, and a source electrically connected to a second supply voltage, wherein, in the case that an ESD event occurs, the LDMOSFET is configured to discharge an ESD current between the first supply voltage and the second supply voltage; and a capacitance component electrically connected between the gate and the drain of the LDMOSFET, wherein the capacitance component includes a plurality of metal-oxide-metal (MOM) capacitors, wherein the MOM capacitors have a first metal layer, a second metal layer at the same elevation level of the first metal layer, and a third metal layer disposed above the first metal layer and the second metal layer.
USPN 12,068,597
Current application 18/755,747
Claims
Claims
17
17, 18
18
19
19
20
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 4, 9, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANNY NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838