DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild US 2023/0236140 in view of Wang et al. US 2020/0209172 and the brochure for the “X-Ranger” by MinXray (hereafter MinXray).
Regarding claim 1, Rothschild teaches a portable X-Ray system (figs. 1, 3-15, 24-28), comprising: an X-Ray detector package comprising a controllable X-Ray detector panel configured to generate an X-Ray image (#106) and an X-Ray source package (#102) comprising a controllable X-Ray source configured to generate X-Ray energy (#104) toward the controllable X-Ray detector panel (#106) and toward an item (#108, 2408) placed between the X-Ray source and the X-Ray detector panel (#106).
Rothschild fails to teach a first and second portable container having a plurality of wheels, a handle, and a removable lid to expose an interior of the first portable container; the X-Ray detector package housed within the first portable container; the X-Ray source package housed within the second portable container; and controllable detector motor circuitry configured to control a position of the X-Ray detector panel and the X-Ray source.
Wang teaches a portable x-ray system (fig. 1) which has a movable x-ray detector (6) which is connected to a plurality of motor circuitry (4d, 4e) configured to control a position of the X-Ray detector panel (para. 0059-0060) for the purpose of improving accuracy (para. 0060).
MinXray teaches a portable radiography system which is housed in a portable container which has a plurality of wheels (pg. 1 green container; although the wheels of the container are covered in the image, the container is clearly a rollable case thus having wheels), a handle (pg. 1 green container has a black handle), and a removable lid to expose an interior of the portable container (pg. 1 green container front lid). MinXray does not specifically disclose a plurality of containers wherein each container houses a single package of the X-ray system. However, the fact that the parts are separate is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected result (MPEP 2144). Also, making the parts separate would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because having multiple containers reduces each containers weight for easier transport.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first and second portable container having a plurality of wheels, a handle, and a removable lid to expose an interior of the first portable container; the X-Ray detector package housed within the first portable container; the X-Ray source package housed within the second portable container; and controllable detector motor circuitry configured to control a position of the X-Ray detector panel and the X-Ray source as taught by Wang and MinXray in the system of Rothschild for the purpose of improving accuracy and easier transport.
Regarding claim 2, Rothschild fails to teach wherein the X-Ray detector package further comprises linkage coupled to the controllable detector motor circuitry to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray detector panel.
Wang teaches a portable x-ray system (fig. 1) which has a movable x-ray detector (6) which is connected to a plurality of motor circuitry (4d, 4e) configured to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray detector panel (para. 0066) for the purpose of improving accuracy (para. 0060).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the X-Ray detector package further comprises linkage coupled to the controllable detector motor circuitry to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray detector panel as taught by Wang in the system of Rothschild for the purpose of improving accuracy.
Regarding claim 3, Rothschild fails to teach wherein the X-Ray source package further comprises linkage coupled to the controllable detector motor circuitry to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray source relative to the X-Ray detector panel.
Wang teaches a portable x-ray system (fig. 1) which has a movable x-ray detector (6) which is connected to a plurality of motor circuitry (4d, 4e) configured to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray detector panel (para. 0066) for the purpose of improving accuracy (para. 0060).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the X-Ray source package further comprises linkage coupled to the controllable detector motor circuitry to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray source relative to the X-Ray detector panel as taught by Wang in the system of Rothschild for the purpose of improving accuracy.
Regarding claim 4, Rothschild teaches wherein the X-Ray source package further comprises image sensor circuitry to generate a visual image of the item (para. 0097, 0116).
Regarding claim 5, Rothschild, Wang, and MinXray fails to explitely teach wherein the X-Ray source package further comprises audible and/or visual alarm circuitry to generate an audible and/or visual alarm when the controllable X-Ray source is operating. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have an “ON light” since it was commonly known in the art that having an “ON light” is standard procedure in the radiography art for the purpose of improving safety.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild US 2023/0236140, Wang et al. US 2020/0209172, and the brochure for the “X-Ranger” by MinXray (hereafter MinXray) in further view of Georgeson et al. US 2017/0052125.
Regarding claim 6, Rothschild teaches an item platform package comprising a platform to support the item (fig. 24 Opening)
MinXray teaches a portable radiography system which is housed in a portable container which has a plurality of wheels (pg. 1 green container; although the wheels of the container are covered in the image, the container is clearly a rollable case thus having wheels), a handle (pg. 1 green container has a black handle), and a removable lid to expose an interior of the portable container (pg. 1 green container front lid). MinXray does not specifically disclose a plurality of containers wherein each container houses a single package of the X-ray system. However, the fact that the parts are separate is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected result (MPEP 2144). Also, making the parts separate would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because having multiple containers reduces each containers weight for easier transport
Rothschild, MinXray, and Wang fails to teach the item platform package comprising a controllable platform to support the item; controllable platform rotational motor circuitry configured to controllably rotate the platform to provide controllable X-Ray views of the item; and controllable platform translational motor circuitry configured to move the platform between the X-Ray source and the X-Ray detector panel to provide resolution and magnification control over the X-Ray image.
Georgeson teaches an imaging system (figs. 1-3 and 7-13) with an item platform package (#108) comprising a controllable platform to support the item (para. 0024); controllable platform rotational motor circuitry configured to controllably rotate the platform to provide controllable X-Ray views of the item (claim 5; para. 0024); and controllable platform translational motor circuitry configured to move the platform between the X-Ray source and the X-Ray detector panel (claim 4; para. 0024) to provide resolution and magnification control over the X-Ray image (para. 0035) for the purpose of improving three dimensional imaging (para. 0035).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the item platform package comprising a controllable platform to support the item; controllable platform rotational motor circuitry configured to controllably rotate the platform to provide controllable X-Ray views of the item; and controllable platform translational motor circuitry configured to move the platform between the X-Ray source and the X-Ray detector panel to provide resolution and magnification control over the X-Ray image as taught by Georgeson in the system of Rothschild, Wang, and MinXray for the purpose of improving three dimensional imaging.
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches controller circuitry configured to provide circuitry user control over the controllable detector motor circuitry (para. 0036)
Rothschild, Wang, and MinXray fails to teach controller circuitry configured to provide circuitry user control over the the controllable platform rotational motor circuitry, and the controllable platform translational motor circuitry.
Georgeson teaches controller circuitry configured to provide circuitry user control over the controllable platform rotational motor circuitry, and the controllable platform translational motor circuitry (para. 0035) for the purpose of improving three dimensional imaging (para. 0035).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to controller circuitry configured to provide circuitry user control over the the controllable platform rotational motor circuitry, and the controllable platform translational motor circuitry as taught by Georgeson in the system of Rothschild, Wang, and MinXray for the purpose of improving three dimensional imaging.
Claims 8-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild US 2023/0236140 in view of Wang et al. US 2020/0209172, the brochure for the “X-Ranger” by MinXray (hereafter MinXray), and Georgeson et al. US 2017/0052125.
Regarding claim 8, Rothschild teaches a portable X-Ray system (figs. 1, 3-15, 24-28), comprising: an X-Ray detector package comprising a controllable X-Ray detector panel configured to generate an X-Ray image (#106) and an X-Ray source package (#102) comprising a controllable X-Ray source configured to generate X-Ray energy (#104) toward the controllable X-Ray detector panel (#106) and toward an item (#108, 2408) placed between the X-Ray source and the X-Ray detector panel (#106), and an item platform package comprising a platform to support the item (fig. 24 Opening).
Rothschild fails to teach a first, second, and third portable container having a plurality of wheels, a handle, and a removable lid to expose an interior of the first portable container; the X-Ray detector package housed within the first portable container; the X-Ray source package housed within the second portable container; the item platform package housed within the third portable container; controllable detector motor circuitry configured to control a position of the X-Ray detector panel and the X-Ray source; the item platform package comprising a controllable platform to support the item; controllable platform rotational motor circuitry configured to controllably rotate the platform to provide controllable X-Ray views of the item; and controllable platform translational motor circuitry configured to move the platform between the X-Ray source and the X-Ray detector panel to provide resolution and magnification control over the X-Ray image.
Wang teaches a portable x-ray system (fig. 1) which has a movable x-ray detector (6) which is connected to a plurality of motor circuitry (4d, 4e) configured to control a position of the X-Ray detector panel (para. 0059-0060) for the purpose of improving accuracy (para. 0060).
MinXray teaches a portable radiography system which is housed in a portable container which has a plurality of wheels (pg. 1 green container; although the wheels of the container are covered in the image, the container is clearly a rollable case thus having wheels), a handle (pg. 1 green container has a black handle), and a removable lid to expose an interior of the portable container (pg. 1 green container front lid). MinXray does not specifically disclose a plurality of containers wherein each container houses a single package of the X-ray system. However, the fact that the parts are separate is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected result (MPEP 2144). Also, making the parts seperate would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because having multiple containers reduces each containers weight for easier transport.
Georgeson teaches an imaging system (figs. 1-3 and 7-13) with an item platform package (#108) comprising a controllable platform to support the item (para. 0024); controllable platform rotational motor circuitry configured to controllably rotate the platform to provide controllable X-Ray views of the item (claim 5; para. 0024); and controllable platform translational motor circuitry configured to move the platform between the X-Ray source and the X-Ray detector panel (claim 4; para. 0024) to provide resolution and magnification control over the X-Ray image (para. 0035) for the purpose of improving three dimensional imaging (para. 0035).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have teach a first, second, and third portable container having a plurality of wheels, a handle, and a removable lid to expose an interior of the first portable container; the X-Ray detector package housed within the first portable container; the X-Ray source package housed within the second portable container; the item platform package housed within the third portable container; controllable detector motor circuitry configured to control a position of the X-Ray detector panel and the X-Ray source; the item platform package comprising a controllable platform to support the item; controllable platform rotational motor circuitry configured to controllably rotate the platform to provide controllable X-Ray views of the item; and controllable platform translational motor circuitry configured to move the platform between the X-Ray source and the X-Ray detector panel to provide resolution and magnification control over the X-Ray image as taught by Wang, MinXray, and Georgeson in the system of Rothschild for the purpose of improving accuracy, easier transport, and improving three dimensional imaging.
Regarding claim 9, Rothschild fails to teach wherein the X-Ray detector package further comprises linkage coupled to the controllable detector motor circuitry to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray detector panel.
Wang teaches a portable x-ray system (fig. 1) which has a movable x-ray detector (6) which is connected to a plurality of motor circuitry (4d, 4e) configured to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray detector panel (para. 0066) for the purpose of improving accuracy (para. 0060).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the X-Ray detector package further comprises linkage coupled to the controllable detector motor circuitry to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray detector panel as taught by Wang in the system of Rothschild for the purpose of improving accuracy.
Regarding claim 10, Rothschild fails to teach wherein the X-Ray source package further comprises linkage coupled to the controllable detector motor circuitry to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray source relative to the X-Ray detector panel.
Wang teaches a portable x-ray system (fig. 1) which has a movable x-ray detector (6) which is connected to a plurality of motor circuitry (4d, 4e) configured to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray detector panel (para. 0066) for the purpose of improving accuracy (para. 0060).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the X-Ray source package further comprises linkage coupled to the controllable detector motor circuitry to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray source relative to the X-Ray detector panel as taught by Wang in the system of Rothschild for the purpose of improving accuracy.
Regarding claim 11, Rothschild teaches wherein the X-Ray source package further comprises image sensor circuitry to generate a visual image of the item (para. 0097, 0116).
Regarding claim 12, Rothschild, Wang, and MinXray fails to explitely teach wherein the X-Ray source package further comprises audible and/or visual alarm circuitry to generate an audible and/or visual alarm when the controllable X-Ray source is operating. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have an “ON light” since it was commonly known in the art that having an “ON light” is standard procedure in the radiography art for the purpose of improving safety.
Regarding claim 13, Rothschild, fails to teach controller circuitry configured to provide circuitry user control over the the controllable platform rotational motor circuitry, and the controllable platform translational motor circuitry.
Wang teaches controller circuitry configured to provide circuitry user control over the controllable detector motor circuitry (para. 0036)
Georgeson teaches controller circuitry configured to provide circuitry user control over the controllable platform rotational motor circuitry, and the controllable platform translational motor circuitry (para. 0035) for the purpose of improving three dimensional imaging (para. 0035).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to controller circuitry configured to provide circuitry user control over the the controllable platform rotational motor circuitry, and the controllable platform translational motor circuitry as taught by Georgeson in the system of Rothschild, Wang, and MinXray for the purpose of improving three dimensional imaging.
Regarding claim 14, Rothschild teaches a portable X-Ray system (figs. 1, 3-15, 24-28), comprising: an X-Ray detector package comprising a controllable X-Ray detector panel configured to generate an X-Ray image (#106) and an X-Ray source package (#102) comprising a controllable X-Ray source configured to generate X-Ray energy (#104) toward the controllable X-Ray detector panel (#106) and toward an item (#108, 2408) placed between the X-Ray source and the X-Ray detector panel (#106), and an item platform package comprising a platform to support the item (fig. 24 Opening).
Rothschild fails to teach a first, second, and third portable container having a plurality of wheels, a handle, and a removable lid to expose an interior of the first portable container; the X-Ray detector package housed within the first portable container; the X-Ray source package housed within the second portable container; the item platform package housed within the third portable container; controllable detector motor circuitry configured to control a position of the X-Ray detector panel and the X-Ray source; the item platform package comprising a controllable platform to support the item; controllable platform rotational motor circuitry configured to controllably rotate the platform to provide controllable X-Ray views of the item; controllable platform translational motor circuitry configured to move the platform between the X-Ray source and the X-Ray detector panel to provide resolution and magnification control over the X-Ray image; and controller circuitry configured to provide circuitry user control over the controllable detector motor circuitry, the controllable source motor circuitry, the controllable platform rotational motor circuitry, and the controllable platform translational motor circuitry.
Wang teaches a portable x-ray system (fig. 1) which has a movable x-ray detector (6) which is connected to a plurality of motor circuitry (4d, 4e) configured to control a position of the X-Ray detector panel (para. 0059-0060); and controller circuitry configured to provide circuitry user control over the controllable detector motor circuitry (para. 0036) for the purpose of improving accuracy (para. 0060).
MinXray teaches a portable radiography system which is housed in a portable container which has a plurality of wheels (pg. 1 green container; although the wheels of the container are covered in the image, the container is clearly a rollable case thus having wheels), a handle (pg. 1 green container has a black handle), and a removable lid to expose an interior of the portable container (pg. 1 green container front lid). MinXray does not specifically disclose a plurality of containers wherein each container houses a single package of the X-ray system. However, the fact that the parts are separate is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected result (MPEP 2144). Also, making the parts seperate would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because having multiple containers reduces each containers weight for easier transport.
Georgeson teaches an imaging system (figs. 1-3 and 7-13) with an item platform package (#108) comprising a controllable platform to support the item (para. 0024); controllable platform rotational motor circuitry configured to controllably rotate the platform to provide controllable X-Ray views of the item (claim 5; para. 0024); and controllable platform translational motor circuitry configured to move the platform between the X-Ray source and the X-Ray detector panel (claim 4; para. 0024) to provide resolution and magnification control over the X-Ray image (para. 0035); controller circuitry configured to provide circuitry user control over the controllable platform rotational motor circuitry, and the controllable platform translational motor circuitry (para. 0035) for the purpose of improving three dimensional imaging (para. 0035).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have teach a first, second, and third portable container having a plurality of wheels, a handle, and a removable lid to expose an interior of the first portable container; the X-Ray detector package housed within the first portable container; the X-Ray source package housed within the second portable container; the item platform package housed within the third portable container; controllable detector motor circuitry configured to control a position of the X-Ray detector panel and the X-Ray source; the item platform package comprising a controllable platform to support the item; controllable platform rotational motor circuitry configured to controllably rotate the platform to provide controllable X-Ray views of the item; controllable platform translational motor circuitry configured to move the platform between the X-Ray source and the X-Ray detector panel to provide resolution and magnification control over the X-Ray image; and controller circuitry configured to provide circuitry user control over the controllable detector motor circuitry, the controllable source motor circuitry, the controllable platform rotational motor circuitry, and the controllable platform translational motor circuitry as taught by Wang, MinXray, and Georgeson in the system of Rothschild for the purpose of improving accuracy, easier transport, and improving three dimensional imaging.
Regarding claim 15, Rothschild fails to teach wherein the X-Ray detector package further comprises linkage coupled to the controllable detector motor circuitry to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray detector panel.
Wang teaches a portable x-ray system (fig. 1) which has a movable x-ray detector (6) which is connected to a plurality of motor circuitry (4d, 4e) configured to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray detector panel (para. 0066) for the purpose of improving accuracy (para. 0060).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the X-Ray detector package further comprises linkage coupled to the controllable detector motor circuitry to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray detector panel as taught by Wang in the system of Rothschild for the purpose of improving accuracy.
Regarding claim 16, Rothschild fails to teach wherein the X-Ray source package further comprises linkage coupled to the controllable detector motor circuitry to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray source relative to the X-Ray detector panel.
Wang teaches a portable x-ray system (fig. 1) which has a movable x-ray detector (6) which is connected to a plurality of motor circuitry (4d, 4e) configured to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray detector panel (para. 0066) for the purpose of improving accuracy (para. 0060).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the X-Ray source package further comprises linkage coupled to the controllable detector motor circuitry to raise and lower the controllable X-Ray source relative to the X-Ray detector panel as taught by Wang in the system of Rothschild for the purpose of improving accuracy.
Regarding claim 17, Rothschild teaches wherein the X-Ray source package further comprises image sensor circuitry to generate a visual image of the item (para. 0097, 0116).
Regarding claim 18, Rothschild, Wang, and MinXray fails to explitely teach wherein the X-Ray source package further comprises audible and/or visual alarm circuitry to generate an audible and/or visual alarm when the controllable X-Ray source is operating. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have an “ON light” since it was commonly known in the art that having an “ON light” is standard procedure in the radiography art for the purpose of improving safety.
Contact Information
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884