DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
Three sheets for formal drawings were filed June 27, 2024 and have been accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tachibana et al. (US 2017/0307814 A1) in view of Howe et al. (CA 3206215 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, Tachibana discloses a resin composition for colored coating (36 in Fig. 2) on an optical fiber (2), comprising: a photopolymerizable compound (paragraph 0028); and a photopolymerization initiator, wherein the photopolymerization initiator contains an acyl phosphine oxide compound (paragraph 0037).
Still regarding claims 1-3, Tachibana teaches the claimed invention except for the photopolymerization initiator is in a liquid state at 25ºC. Howe discloses a coating (paragraph 0002) comprising a photopolymerization initiator including ethyl phenyl (2,4,6-trimethyl benzoyl) phosphinate (paragraph 0051). Since both of the inventions relate to resin coatings, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use the compound as disclosed by Howe in the device of Tachibana for the purpose of enhancing the peeling properties. In the proposed combination, since the compound is the same as that claimed, it would necessarily have the same properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). As such, the photopolymerization initiator would also be in a liquid state at 25ºC.
Regarding claim 4, Tachibana discloses a content of the acyl phosphine oxide compound is 0.01% by mass or more and 5.0% by mass or less with respect to a total amount of the photopolymerizable compound in paragraph 0040.
Regarding claim 5, Tachibana discloses a titanium oxide particle in paragraph 0041.
Regarding claim 6, Tachibana discloses a glass fiber (2 in Fig. 2) including a core (12) and a clad (14); a primary resin layer (32) covering the glass fiber in contact with the glass fiber; a secondary resin layer (34) covering the primary resin layer; and a colored resin layer (36) covering the secondary resin layer, wherein the colored resin layer contains a cured product of the resin composition.
Regarding claim 7, Tachibana discloses a glass fiber (1 in Fig. 1) including a core (12) and a clad (14); a primary resin layer (22) covering the glass fiber in contact with the glass fiber; a secondary resin layer (24) covering the primary resin layer; wherein the secondary resin layer contains a cured product of the resin composition in paragraph 0026.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Tachibana discloses a plurality of the optical fibers (1 in Fig. 3) are arranged in parallel, and coated with a ribbon resin (40).
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 June 4, 2026