Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 27, 2024 & August 15, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 19 & 20 recite the limitation "wherein detecting socket downstop creep…" in line 1, where ”detecting socket downstop creep” was previously disclosed in Claim 11, line 6. The repeated recitation of “detecting socket downstop creep” introduces indefiniteness in the limitations in the claims. For examination purposes, examiner interprets “detecting socket downstop creep” to refer to the same previously disclosed limitation in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 & 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al. (US 2023/0120513 A1, Pub. Date Apr. 20, 2023, hereinafter Kong), in view of Patel (US 2016/0111822 A1, Pub. Date Apr. 21, 2016, hereinafter Patel), and further in view of Hsieh (US 2024/0003986 A1, Pub. Date Jan. 4, 2024, hereinafter Hsieh).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kong, teaches:
An apparatus comprising (Fig. 2a; [Abstract], [0023], [0026] & [Claim 1]):
a module including multiple contact pads ([Abstract], [0001], [0023]-[0025], [0028]-[0029] & [0032]: discloses an apparatus, specifically an assembly featuring a module that includes an array of contact pads); and
a printed circuit board (PCB) comprising (Figs. 2a & 2b; [0023]-[0026] & [0028]: discloses PCB depicted as motherboard 204):
a socket for receiving the module (Fig. 5a; [0023]-[0029] & [0053]: discloses CMT connector 228 acts as the socket that receives the compression contact module to connect it to the PCB), and a plurality of pins configured to contact the multiple contact pads of the module when the module is coupled to the socket (Figs. 2a & 5a; [0028]-[0032], [0045]-[0047] & [0053]-[0054]: CMT connector 228 is the socket, the CMT contacts 230 are the plurality of pins, the contact itself is a compression contact, implying a physical stop and furthermore, the alignment pins/dowels 510, 512 in the CMT connector acts as physical guides and stops to ensure proper seating, and discloses the plurality of pins configured to contact the module’s pads when compressed/coupled into the socket); and
Kong, is silent in regard to:
wherein the socket includes a plurality of downstops
However, Patel, further teaches:
wherein the socket includes a plurality of downstops (Figs. 4 & 5; [Abstract], [0008], [0010], [0055]-[0056] & [0064]: teaches a communication jack with a PIC support that acts as a mechanical stop, description states the PIC supports are positioned to control the PIC bend radius and limit the PIC displacement and prevent plastic deformation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the socket/connector of Kong to include the plurality of downstops as taught by Patel, according to known methods. The motivation to do so would be to provide precise, integrated mechanical limits to the compression of the socket pins, preventing damage to the spring-loaded contacts and ensuring a reliable, long-term electrical connection between the module and the PCB, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Kong, in combination with Patel, are silent in regard to:
a creep detection circuit configured to detect a threshold amount of creep within the socket, wherein one or more of the plurality of pins are creep detection pins coupled to the creep detection circuit.
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
a creep detection circuit configured to detect a threshold amount of creep within the socket (Figs. 5 & 21; [Abstract], [0004], [0020]-[0025], [0027]-[0031] & [0058]: teaches a connection device with a detection circuit (120, 220, 320) that detects the state of connection between connectors, detecting shifts in bias values to determine if pins are mated), wherein one or more of the plurality of pins are creep detection pins coupled to the creep detection circuit (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0020]-0031] & [Claim 1]: teaches the first connector includes detection pins DP1/DP2 that are part of the connector and are coupled to the detection circuit 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kong, Patel, and Hsieh, incorporating the creep detection circuit and dedicated creep detection pins of Hsieh into the modified socket of Kong and Patel. Sockets that are subjected to continuous compressive forces (i.e., compression connector in Kong) are susceptible to viscoelastic deformation (creep) over time, which can degrade signal integrity. The motivation for this combination would be to monitor the structural integrity of the socket housing over its lifecycle, monitoring for intermittent connections or changes in signal integrity indicative of a threshold amount of physical change in the contact interface, enabling preventative maintenance or replacement before a catastrophic failure of the memory module connection occurs, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Kong, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 [Abstract], [0023], [0026] & [Claim 1], wherein the module includes one or more connections between one or more contact pads ([Abstract], [0028]-[0029], [0031] & [0044]: compression contact module 214/414 includes CMT contact pads 232/432, the purpose of the pads is to make an electrical and mechanical connection with the pins of the CMT connector 228/428, the pads are in contact with the pins)
Kong, in combination with Patel, are silent in regard to:
contacting the creep detection pins.
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
contacting the creep detection pins (Figs. 1 & 3; [0008]-[0010], [0025]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1] & [Claim 3]: connection loop is formed between the detection pins DP1/DP2 on the first connector and the loop pins LP1/LP2 on the second connector. The bias value shift occurs due to a conductive path formed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the module of Kong, to include a dedicated connection or trace between the specific contact pads that interface with the creep detection pins taught by Hsieh. The motivation would be to complete the electrical loop required by Hsieh’s creep detection circuit, according to known methods, enabling the system to monitor the socket for viscoelastic deformation and prevent electrical failures, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Kong, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 [Abstract], [0023], [0026] & [Claim 1], wherein the plurality of pins includes one or more contact pins configured to route signals between the module and the PCB ([Abstract], [0028]-[0032], [0036] & [0070]: teaches that the pins inside the socket (CMT connector) act as signal routing paths between the memory module and the motherboard (PCB)).
Kong, in combination with Patel, are silent in regard to:
the creep detection pins and
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
the creep detection pins (Figs. 1 & 3; [0008]-[0010], [0025]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1] & [Claim 3]: teaches that among the plurality of pins in the first connector, specific pins are designated as detection pins DP1/DP2 and are coupled to the detection circuit) and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the socket assembly to include both signal routing pins of Kong, and the dedicated creep detections pins of Hsieh within the same plurality of pins. The motivation to do so, is due to a functional socket assembly requiring signal pins to perform its primary operation of routing data, power, and ground between the inserted module and the PCB, as taught by Kong. Integrating Hsieh’s creep detection pins into the same exact pin array optimizes the physical footprint of the connector and allows the system to continuously monitor the mechanical integrity and compression loss (creep) of the socket housing over time, without interrupting or interfering with the primary signal paths, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Kong, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 [Abstract], [0023], [0026] & [Claim 1], is configured to slip off of a contact pad (Fig. 5c; [0053]-[0054]: teaches standard contact pins featuring a bent spring structure. Compressing a bent spring inherently causes lateral movement (wiping) at the contact tip)
Kong, in combination with Patel, are silent in regard to:
wherein each of the creep detection pins
when the socket experiences the threshold amount of creep.
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
the creep detection pins (Figs. 1 & 3; [0008]-[0010], [0025]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1] & [Claim 3])
when the socket experiences the threshold amount of creep ([0004], [0008]-[0010], [0025]-[0028], [0031], [0033]-[0037], [0040], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1] & [Claim 3]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the bent spring contact of Kong to the creep detection pins taught by Hsieh, and it would have been an obvious design choice to configure the detection pins and pads such that the pin slips off the pad when a threshold amount of creep is experienced. A POSITA would recognize that they can achieve the threshold detection by purposely configuring the creep detection pad to be smaller, or positioning the creep detection pin closer to the edge of the pad, than primary signal pins. Therefore, yielding a highly predictable, obvious design choice to configure the assembly so that the inherent lateral travel of Kong’s bent spring pin causes it to “slip off” the edge of the contact pad when the vertical socket creep reaches a critical threshold. Slipping off the pad physically breaks the electrical connection, opening the loop and triggering Hsieh’s detection circuit to alert the system of the socket failure, according to know methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Kong, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 [Abstract], [0023], [0026] & [Claim 1],
Kong, is silent in regard to:
wherein downstop creep
However, Patel, further teaches:
wherein downstop creep (Figs. 4 & 5; [Abstract], [0008], [0010], [0055]-[0056], [0064] & [0066]-[0067]: teaches the downstops)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the socket/connector of Kong to include the downstop creep as taught by Patel, according to known methods. The motivation to do so would be to provide precise, integrated mechanical limits, that would dictate the mechanical compression limit of the socket, and any viscoelastic deformation (creep) of the socket housing is inherently “downstop creep,” preventing damage to the spring-loaded contacts and ensuring a reliable, long-term electrical connection between the module and the PCB, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Kong, in combination with Patel, are silent in regard to:
is measured by the creep detection circuit based on resistance measurements associated with the creep detection circuit.
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
is measured by the creep detection circuit ([0008]-[0010], [0025]-[0028], [0031], [0033]-[0037], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1] & [Claim 3]: teaches creep detection circuit) based on resistance measurements associated with the creep detection circuit (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0008]-[0010], [0027]-[0029], [0033]-[0037], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0045], [0049], [0052], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]: teaches utilizing a resistor and bias voltages to determine the connection state. Detecting whether a bias value shifts based on a connection loop is a direct measurement of the electrical resistance of that loop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the socket assembly of Kong to include the downstops of Patel and the creep detection circuit of Hsieh, and to configure that circuit to measure downstop creep based on resistance measurements. A POSITA would understand that monitoring a voltage shift across a closed loop utilizing a reference resistor is an electrical resistance measurement (e.g., operating as a voltage divider where the interface acts as a variable resistor). Therefore, would be motivated to combine the prior art teachings. Utilizing Hsieh’s resistance-based detection circuit in the modified Kong/Patel socket, the system can measure the changing contact resistance caused by downstop creep. When the downstop creep reaches a critical threshold, the resistance of the connection loop shifts (e.g., breaking the circuit or dropping below/above a measurable threshold), triggering Hsieh’s circuit to alert the system before signal loss occurs, according to known methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong, in view of Patel, in view of Hsieh, and further in view of Shah (WO 2019/190943 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 3, 2019, hereinafter Shah).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Kong, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 3 (Figs. 5a-5c; [Abstract], [0023], [0026], [0053] & [Claim 1]: teaches CMT connector includes a plurality of pins),
Kong, in combination with Patel, are silent in regard to:
wherein the creep detection pins
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
wherein the creep detection pins (Figs. 1 & 3; [0008]-[0010], [0025]-[0028], [0031], [0033]-[0037], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1] & [Claim 3]: teaches that among the plurality of pins in the first connector, specific pins are designated as detection pins DP1/DP2 and are coupled to the detection circuit)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the socket assembly to include both signal routing pins of Kong, and the dedicated creep detections pins of Hsieh within the same plurality of pins. The motivation to do so, is due to a functional socket assembly requiring signal pins to perform its primary operation of routing data, power, and ground between the inserted module and the PCB, as taught by Kong. Integrating Hsieh’s creep detection pins into the same exact pin array optimizes the physical footprint of the connector and allows the system to continuously monitor the mechanical integrity and compression loss (creep) of the socket housing over time, without interrupting or interfering with the primary signal paths, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Kong, in combination with Patel, and Hsieh, are silent in regard to:
are structurally different from the one or more contact pins.
However, Shah, further teaches:
are structurally different from the one or more contact pins (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6; [Abstract], [0017]-[0018], [0020]-[0027], [0030] & [0043]-[0047]: teaches structural differentiation, ground pads are designed with different configuration (location, connection method) to serve a different function (shielding/grounding) than the signal contact pads, further teaching that pins/pads in a connector can have different structures based on their function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the socket assembly of Kong and Hsieh to configure the creep detection pins to be structurally different from the standard contact pins, as taught by Sha. Sockets utilizing spring-loaded contacts, as taught by Kong, are subject to viscoelastic creep over time, which reduces the compression force. Hsieh teaching detecting this creep, but to detect a threshold amount of creep without interrupting primary data signals, the detection mechanisms must trigger first. Shah teaches achieving this threshold detection by utilizing structurally different pins (e.g., a shorter pin length). The motivation by a POSITA would be to apply Shah’s structurally different pin design to Hsieh’s creep detection pins within Kong’s and Patel’s socket, according to known methods, to ensure the creep detection circuit triggers and alerts the system of impending mechanical failure before the primary signal pins lose contact and cause data corruption, and yield predictable expected results (KSR).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong, in view of Patel, in view of Hsieh, and further in view of Miyajima (US 2018/0164199 A1, Pub. Date Jun. 14, 2018, hereinafter Miyajima).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Kong, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 (Figs. 5a-5c; [Abstract], [0023], [0026], [0053] & [Claim 1]: teaches CMT connector includes a plurality of pins),
Kong, in combination with Patel, are silent in regard to:
wherein the creep detection pins
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
the creep detection pins (Figs. 1 & 3; [0008]-[0010], [0025]-[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1] & [Claim 3])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the socket assembly to include both signal routing pins of Kong, and the dedicated creep detections pins of Hsieh within the same plurality of pins. The motivation to do so, is due to a functional socket assembly requiring signal pins to perform its primary operation of routing data, power, and ground between the inserted module and the PCB, as taught by Kong. Integrating Hsieh’s creep detection pins into the same exact pin array optimizes the physical footprint of the connector and allows the system to continuously monitor the mechanical integrity and compression loss (creep) of the socket housing over time, without interrupting or interfering with the primary signal paths, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Kong, in combination with Patel and Hsieh, are silent in regard to:
are configured to increase a surface area of the creep detection pins contacting one or more contact pads when the socket experiences creep.
However, Kong in combination with Miyajima, further teach:
are configured to increase a surface area of the creep detection pins contacting one or more contact pads when the socket experiences creep (Disclosed in combination: Kong: [0053]: teaches contact pins that are spring-loaded and feature a bent structure with a curved lobe; Miyajima: [0108]: teaches a known physical principle that viscoelastic creep under constant load results in an increased contact area over time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the spring-loaded, lobed contact structure of Kong to the creep detection pins taught by Hsieh, guided by the physical material deformation principles taught by Miyajima. A POSITA would recognize that when Kong’s curved lobe is pressed against the flat contact pad due to the socket’s creep, it will flatten out, thus increasing the surface area of the physical contact, as taught by Miyajima. The motivation would be to utilize this specific mechanical configuration because the increased surface area results in a decrease in electrical contact resistance. This predictable, measurable drop in electrical resistance provides the electrical metric that Hsieh’s creep detection circuit requires to detect that a threshold amount of socket creep has occurred, according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong, in view of Hsieh, and further in view of Miyajima.
Regarding independent claim 8, Kong, teaches:
A system comprising ([Abstract], [0023] & [0026]: teaches a complete electronic system/assembly):
a module including multiple contact pads ([Abstract], [0001], [0023]-[0025], [0028]-[0029] & [0032]: teaches a compression contact module featuring an array of contact pads);
a printed circuit board (PCB) comprising (Figs. 2a & 2b; [0023]-[0026] & [0028]: teaches a PCB (motherboard) that interfaces with the module):
a socket for receiving the module (Fig. 5a; [0023]-[0029] & [0053]: discloses CMT connector 228 acts as the socket that receives the compression contact module to connect it to the PCB), wherein the socket includes a plurality of pins configured to contact the multiple contact pads of the module when the module is coupled to the socket (Figs. 2a & 5a; [0028]-[0032], [0045]-[0047] & [0053]-[0054]: CMT connector 228 is the socket, the CMT contacts 230 are the plurality of pins, the contact itself is a compression contact, implying a physical stop and furthermore, the alignment pins/dowels 510, 512 in the CMT connector acts as physical guides and stops to ensure proper seating, and discloses the plurality of pins configured to contact the module’s pads when compressed/coupled into the socket); and
Kong, is silent in regard to:
a creep detection circuit configured to detect a threshold amount of creep within the socket, wherein one or more of the plurality of pins are creep detection pins coupled to the creep detection circuit;
a controller configured to receive data from the creep detection circuit; and
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
a creep detection circuit configured to detect a threshold amount of creep within the socket (Figs. 5 & 21; [Abstract], [0004], [0020]-[0025], [0027]-[0031] & [0058]: teaches a connection device with a detection circuit (120, 220, 320) that detects the state of connection between connectors, detecting shifts in bias values to determine if pins are mated), wherein one or more of the plurality of pins are creep detection pins coupled to the creep detection circuit (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0020]-0031] & [Claim 1]: teaches a socket connection detection device incorporating a detection circuit to monitor connection loss (creep), utilizing specific pins coupled directly to the creep detection circuit);
a controller configured to receive data from the creep detection circuit (Figs. 1, 2 & 11; [Abstract], [0008]-[0010], [0027]-[0028], [0030], [0033], [0040], [0054]-[0055], [0058], [Claim 1], [Claim 12] & [Claim 13]: teaches a processing unit (controller) connected to the detection circuit); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compression-attached memory module and socket assembly of Kong to incorporate the connection detection device, including the creep detection pins and the detection circuit as taught by Hsieh. A POSITA would recognize the risk of socket creep causing memory failure and data corruption, such as the grade memory system described in Kong. The motivation for this combination would be to apply the connection detection teachings of Hsieh to the compression socket of Kong. To actively monitor the mechanical and structural integrity of the compression socket. Incorporating Hsieh’s detection pins and circuit into Kong’s socket array, the system is able to detect a threshold amount of mechanical creep (e.g., detection pins begin to lose contact). Providing an early warning system, allowing a controller to flag a hardware degradation event before the primary data signal pins fail. The modification represents the application of a known technique (Hsieh’s connection monitoring circuit) to a known device ready for improvement (Kong’s compression socket) to yield the predictable result of self-monitoring memory sock assembly with improved reliability and fault-detection capabilities (KSR).
Kong, in combination with Hsieh, are silent in regard to:
a database configured to store data related to the creep detection circuit.
However, Miyajima, further teaches:
a database configured to store data related to the creep detection circuit ([Abstract], [0025]-[0026], [0030], [0044]-[0054], [Claim 3] & [Claim 4]: teaches storing/recording creep measurement data on a recording medium (database) so the historical data can be plotted, analyzed, and evaluated over time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electronic system of Kong to incorporate the connection detection device, and to further configure the system with a controller and database to store the creep data as taught by Miyajima. A POSITA would be motivated to combine these teachings by integrating Miyajima’s data storage and processing techniques into the Kong/Hsieh system. Storing Hsieh’s creep detection data in a database as taught by Miyajima, according to known methods, allows system administrators to track the socket’s physical degradation over its lifecycle, enabling predictive maintenance and historical fault analysis instead of relying only on a catastrophic failure alert, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Kong, teaches:
The system of claim 8 ([Abstract], [0023] & [0026]),
Kong, is silent in regard to:
comprises resistance measurements associated with the creep detection circuit.
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
comprises resistance measurements associated with the creep detection circuit ((Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0008]-[0010], [0027]-[0029], [0033]-[0037], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0045], [0049], [0052], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electronic system of Kong to incorporate the creep detection circuit of Hsieh. A POSITA would understand that monitoring a voltage shift across a physical closed loop utilizing a references resistor is an electrical resistance measurement (e.g., operating as a voltage divider where the physical contact interface acts as a variable resistor). Therefore, would be motivated to combine prior art teachings. Utilizing Hsieh’s resistance-based detection circuit with Kong’s system can measure the changing contact resistance. When certain thresholds and/or bias values are reached, the resistance of the connection loop shifts (e.g., breaking the circuit or dropping below/above a measurable threshold), triggering Hsieh’s circuit to alert the system before signal loss occurs, according to known methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Kong, in combination with Hsieh, are silent in regard to:
wherein the data stored in the database
However, Miyajima, further teaches:
wherein the data stored in the database ([Abstract], [0025]-[0026], [0030], [0044]-[0054], [Claim 3] & [Claim 4]: teaches storing/recording creep measurement data on a recording medium (database) so the historical data can be plotted, analyzed, and evaluated over time)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electronic system of Kong to incorporate the creep detection circuit of Hsieh, and to further configure the system to store the resistance-based detection data in a database as taught by Miyajima. A POSITA would understand that monitoring a voltage shift across a physical closed loop utilizing a references resistor is an electrical resistance measurement (e.g., operating as a voltage divider where the physical contact interface acts as a variable resistor). Therefore, would be motivated to combine prior art teachings. Utilizing Hsieh’s resistance-based detection circuit with Kong’s system can measure the changing contact resistance. When certain thresholds and/or bias values are reached, the resistance of the connection loop shifts (e.g., breaking the circuit or dropping below/above a measurable threshold), triggering Hsieh’s circuit to alert the system before signal loss occurs. The teachings would further motivate to store the resistance measurements generated by Hsieh’s creep detection circuit in the database taught by Miyajima. Where a system administrated or automated controller can track the gradual increase in contact resistance caused by the socket’s viscoelastic creep over its lifecycle, according to known methods. Allowing the system to flag the socket(s) for maintenance before the resistance degrades, possibly causing other failures (e.g., memory signals, corrupting data), and yield predictable results (KSR).
Claims 10-11 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong, in view of Hsieh, in view of Miyajima, and further in view of Patel.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Kong, teaches:
The system of claim 8 ([Abstract], [0023] & [0026]), wherein the PCB includes (Figs. 2a & 2b; [0023]-[0029] & [0053]: teaches the PCB and the socket)
Kong, is silent in regard to:
multiple creep detection circuits associated with the socket, in an area of the socket proximate to each creep detection circuit.
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
multiple creep detection circuits associated with the socket (Figs. 5 & 21; [Abstract], [0004], [0020]-[0025], [0027]-[0031] & [0058]: teaches the creep detection circuit, duplicating a sensor circuit to provide multiple detection points across a large PCB footprint is a design choice),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electronic system of Kong to incorporate creep detection circuit of Hsieh, and to further configure the PCB to include multiple creep detection circuits. Sockets that are subjected to continuous compressive forces (i.e., compression connector in Kong) are susceptible to viscoelastic deformation (creep) over time, which can degrade signal integrity. The motivation for this combination would be to monitor the structural integrity of the socket(s) housing over its lifecycle, monitoring for intermittent connections or changes in signal integrity indicative of a threshold amount of physical change in the contact interface, enabling preventative maintenance or replacement before a catastrophic failure of the memory module connection occurs, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Kong, in combination with Miyajima, are silent in regard to:
wherein each creep detection circuit is configured to monitor downstop creep in an area of the socket proximate to each creep detection circuit.
However, Hsieh, in combination with Patel, further teaches:
wherein each creep detection circuit is configured to monitor downstop creep (Disclosed in combination: Patel: Figs. 4 & 5; [Abstract], [0008], [0010], [0055]-[0056], [0064] & [0066]-[0067]: teaches the downstops that are distributed around the socked, downstops are distributed around the socket to provide balanced, creep can happen unevenly) in an area of the socket proximate to each creep detection circuit (Hsieh: Figs. 5 & 21; [Abstract], [0004], [0020]-[0025], [0027]-[0031] & [0058]: would be a design choice to position the multiple creep detection circuits taught by Hsieh proximate to the different downstop areas to detect localized downstop creep).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electronic system of Kong to incorporate the downstops of Patel and the creep detection circuit of Hsieh, and to further configure the PCB to include multiple creep detection circuits to monitor downstop creep in proximate areas. A POSITA would recognize that uneven torque applied to the plate screws during installation, thermal hotspots (e.g., generated by the memory module), or uneven physical stress can cause the plastic downstops in one corner of the socket to creep faster than other downstops on another corner. Therefore, the obvious design choice is to duplicate multiple iterations of Hsieh’s detection circuit on the PCB, distributing them across the socket’s footprint (e.g., placing one circuit proximate to each downstop at the four corners of the socket). Allows the system controller to not only detect the creep that is occurring, but also the location of the localized failure, according to known methods, improving diagnostic accuracy and hardware maintenance procedures.
Regarding independent claim 11, Kong, teaches:
A method for socket ([Abstract], [0023], [0026] & [0028]: teaches a socket) within a printed circuit board (PCB) socket coupled to a module (Fig. 5a; [0023]-[0032], [0045]-[0047] & [0053]-[0054]: discloses CMT connector 228 acts as the socket that receives the compression contact module to connect it to the PCB);
Kong, is silent in regard to:
using a creep detection and reaction module, the method comprising:
enabling a current source on a creep detection circuit coupled to one or more creep detection pins
associated with the creep detection circuit; and
associated with the module based on determining that the one or more resistance values have changed by more than a threshold amount.
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
using a creep detection and reaction module, the method comprising ([Abstract], [0002], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0025]-[0028], [0031], [0033]-[0037], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1], [Claim 3] & [Claim 13]: teaches a method for detection using a creep detection circuit/device/module):
enabling a current source on a creep detection circuit coupled to one or more creep detection pins (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0008]-[0010], [0020]-0031], [0033]-[0037], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0045], [0049], [0052], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]: teaches applying a reference bias voltage through a resistor to the detection pins (POSITA understands that a voltage source applied across a resistor constitutes enabling a current source to drive the detection circuit))
associated with the creep detection circuit (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0008]-[0010], [0020]-0031], [0033]-[0037], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0045], [0049], [0052], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]: measures the vias voltage shift across the loop, a direct measurement of resistance); and
associated with the module based on determining that the one or more resistance values have changed by more than a threshold amount (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0008]-[0010], [0027]-[0029], [0033]-[0037], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0045], [0049], [0052], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]: teaches that when the resistance (bias value) shifts past a specific threshold (e.g., shifts to the first bias value indicating an open or degraded circuit), a detection signal is triggered, successfully detecting the creep).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the connection detection method with detection pins of Hsieh with the socket assembly of Kong, and to configure that method to measure resistance measurements. A POSITA would understand that monitoring a voltage shift across a closed loop utilizing a reference resistor is an electrical resistance measurement (e.g., operating as a voltage divider where the interface acts as a variable resistor). Therefore, would be motivated to combine the prior art teachings. Utilizing Hsieh’s resistance-based detection circuit with Kong’s socket, the system can measure the changing contact resistance. Hsieh provides the method to detect mechanical connection degradation by monitoring voltage bias to shift. When the resistance bias reaches a critical threshold, the resistance of the connection loop shifts (e.g., breaking the circuit or dropping below/above a measurable threshold), triggering Hsieh’s circuit to alert the system before signal loss occurs, according to known methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Kong, in combination with Hsieh, are silent in regard to:
downstop creep detection
detecting socket downstop creep
However, Patel, further teaches:
downstop creep detection (Figs. 4 & 5; [Abstract], [0008], [0010], [0055]-[0056], [0064] & [0066]-[0067]: teaches the downstops)
detecting socket downstop creep (Figs. 4 & 5; [Abstract], [0008], [0010], [0055]-[0056], [0064] & [0066]-[0067]: teaches the downstops where the creep occurs)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the socket assembly of Kong to include the downstops detection of Patel, the creep detection circuit of Hsieh, and to configure that circuit to detect/measure downstop creep based on resistance measurements. A POSITA would understand that monitoring a voltage shift across a closed loop utilizing a reference resistor is an electrical resistance measurement (e.g., operating as a voltage divider where the interface acts as a variable resistor). Therefore, would be motivated to combine the prior art teachings. Kong and Patel describe a high-density PCB memory socket that utilizes mechanical downstops to set a compression limit. Downstops experience viscoelastic creep over time, reducing the contact force and altering the electrical resistance of the pins. Utilizing Hsieh’s resistance-based detection circuit in the modified Kong/Patel socket, the system can detect/measure the changing contact resistance caused by downstop creep. When the downstop creep reaches a critical threshold, the resistance of the connection loop shifts (e.g., breaking the circuit or dropping below/above a measurable threshold), triggering Hsieh’s circuit to alert the system before signal loss occurs, according to known methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Kong, in combination with Hsieh, and Patel, are silent in regard to:
tracking one or more resistance values
However, Miyajima, further teaches:
tracking one or more resistance values ([Abstract] & [0100]: teaches the method of tracking/recording physical measurements to evaluate creep over time)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the socket assembly of Kong to include the downstops detection of Patel, the creep detection circuit of Hsieh, and to configure that circuit to detect/measure downstop creep based on resistance measurements. A POSITA would understand that monitoring a voltage shift across a closed loop utilizing a reference resistor is an electrical resistance measurement (e.g., operating as a voltage divider where the interface acts as a variable resistor). Therefore, would be motivated to combine the prior art teachings. Kong and Patel describe a high-density PCB memory socket that utilizes mechanical downstops to set a compression limit. Downstops experience viscoelastic creep over time, reducing the contact force and altering the electrical resistance of the pins. Utilizing Hsieh’s resistance-based detection circuit in the modified Kong/Patel socket, the system can detect/measure the changing contact resistance caused by downstop creep. Miyajima teaches the method of continuously monitoring and tracking physical contact degradation data over time, monitoring the health of the socket(s). A POSITA would be motivated to combine these methods. When the downstop creep reaches a critical threshold, the resistance of the connection loop shifts (e.g., breaking the circuit or dropping below/above a measurable threshold), triggering Hsieh’s circuit to detect the failure, alert the system before signal loss occurs (e.g., memory data is lost), according to known methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Kong, teaches:
The method of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0023], [0026], [0028], [0056]-[0064], [0066], [0068] & [0070]),
Kong, is silent in regard to:
wherein detecting socket downstop creep associated with the module is based on the one or more resistance values decreasing by a threshold amount.
However, Kong, in combination with Hsieh, Miyajima, and Patel, further teach:
wherein detecting socket downstop creep associated with the module is based on the one or more resistance values decreasing by a threshold amount (Disclosed in combination: Kong: [0028] & [0053]: teaches the socket and a bent spring contact with a lobe; Hsieh: Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0008]-[0010], [0027]-[0029], [0033]-[0037], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0045], [0049], [0052], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]: teaches the connection detection module/device used to detect connection loss (creep) and monitoring resistance for a threshold shift. Triggering Hsieh’s detection when the resistance decreases past a critical threshold to capture physical deformation; Miyajima: Figs. 5 & 11; [Abstract], [0002]-[0003], [0006]-[0007], [0010], [0055], [0094]-[0095], [0100]-[0101], [0108]-[0110], [0112], [0117] & [0123]: teaches that the creep inherently increases the physical contact area of the lobe. Increased contact area inherently decreases electrical resistance; Patel: Figs. 4 & 5; [Abstract], [0008], [0010], [0055]-[0056], [0064] & [0066]-[0067]: teaches downstops that creep over time, forcing the module closer to the socket).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the detection method of Hsieh upon the socket assembly of Kong and Patel, and to detect the downstop creep based on resistance values decreased by a threshold amount as disclosed by the physical principles taught by Miyajima. Kong teaches that its CMT contacts utilize a spring-loaded, curved lobe structure. Patel teaches utilizing mechanical downstops to set the compression limit of the socket. When the plastic downstops experience viscoelastic creep over time, the vertical distance between the memory module and the socket floor continuously decreases. The creep detection pins are sandwiched in this space, subjected to increased, continuous vertical compression. Miyajima teaches the known physical principle that materials that experience continuous viscoelastic creep under load will display a predictable increase in physical contact area. When Kong’s curved lobe is pressed against a flat contact pad due to Patel’s downstop creep, it will physically flatten out, inherently increasing the surface area of the physical contact. A POSITA understands a fundamental law of electrical physics: electrical contact resistance is inversely proportional to the contact surface area. As the lobe flattens and surface area increases, the electrical resistance across the specific pin interface will decrease. Hsieh teaches a detection method that monitors the electrical connection loop for a specific threshold shift in resistance. A POSITA, would be further motivated to configure Hsieh’s method to trigger a fault detection when the monitored resistance decreased by a threshold amount. This configuration yields the predictable result (KSR), according to known methods, of allowing the system controller to detect that the socket housing and downstops have crept, flattening the pins past their mechanical design limits, before the structural integrity of the entire socket is compromised.
Regarding dependent claim 20, Kong, teaches:
The method of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0023], [0026], [0028], [0056]-[0064], [0066], [0068] & [0070]),
Kong, is silent in regard to:
wherein detecting socket downstop creep associated with the module is based on the one or more resistance values exceeding a threshold amount.
However, Kong, in combination with Hsieh, Miyajima, and Patel, further teach:
wherein detecting socket downstop creep associated with the module is based on the one or more resistance values exceeding a threshold amount (Disclosed in combination: Kong: [0028] & [0053]: teaches the socket and a bent spring contact; Hsieh: Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0008]-[0010], [0027]-[0029], [0033]-[0037], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0045], [0049], [0052], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]: teaches the connection detection module/device used to detect connection loss (creep) and monitoring the loop for a shift in bias voltage (resistance) for a threshold shift. Triggering Hsieh’s detection when the resistance exceeds a maximum critical threshold to capture the “open circuit/slip off” failure caused by the downstop creep/physical deformation; Miyajima: Figs. 5 & 11; [Abstract], [0002]-[0003], [0006]-[0007], [0010], [0055], [0094]-[0095], [0100]-[0101], [0108]-[0110], [0112], [0117] & [0123]: teaches tracking the degradation over time; Patel: Figs. 4 & 5; [Abstract], [0008], [0010], [0055]-[0056], [0064] & [0066]-[0067]: teaches downstops that creep over time, causing vertical over-compression. Over-compression inherently causes the bent spring contact to travel laterally until it slips off the pad, breaking the circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the detection method of Hsieh upon the socket assembly of Kong and Patel, and tracking the degradation over time as taught by Miyajima, and to detect the downstop creep based on the resistance values exceeding a threshold amount. Kong teaches that its CMT contacts utilize a bent spring structure. Patel teaches utilizing mechanical downstops to set the compression limit of the socket. A fundamental mechanical property of a bent spring contact is that vertical compression translates into lateral horizontal movement at the contact tip. When the plastic downstops experience viscoelastic creep over time, the vertical distance between the memory module and the socket floor continuously decreases. This continuous over-compression forces the creep detection pins to travel laterally across the contact pads. A POSITA would recognize that the downstop creep is severe, the pin will travel until it physically slips off the edge of the contact pad. When the electrical contact slips off its mating pad, the physical connection is severed, creating an open circuit. A POSITA would further understand that an open circuit results in an infinite or increased electrical resistance. Hsieh teaches a detection method that monitors the electrical connection loop for a specific threshold shift in resistance. By configuring Hsieh’s method to trigger a fault detection when the monitored resistance exceeds a high threshold amount (e.g., indicating an open circuit or severe contact degradation), according to known methods, the system controller can detect that the socket housing and downstops have crept to the point of catastrophic mechanical failure, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong, in view of Hsieh, in view of Miyajima, in view of Patel, and further in view of Tyrrell et al. (US 2020/0259298 A1, Pub. Date Aug. 13, 2020, hereinafter Tyrrell).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Kong, teaches:
The method of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0023], [0026] & [0028]),
Kong, is silent in regard to:
wherein tracking the one or more resistance values includes,
measuring one or more voltages across the creep detection circuit; and
calculating, based on the one or more voltages, the one or more resistance values associated with the creep detection circuit.
However, Hsieh, in combination with Patel, and Miyajima, further teach:
wherein tracking the one or more resistance values includes (Disclosed in combination: Hsieh: ([Abstract], [0002], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0025]-[0028], [0031], [0033]-[0037], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1], [Claim 3] & [Claim 13]; Patel: Figs. 4 & 5; [Abstract], [0008], [0010], [0055]-[0056], [0064] & [0066]-[0067]; Miyajima: [Abstract] & [0100]: teaches the method of tracking and continuously recording physical contact degradation data over time; collectively all teach the method of tracking creep with resistance values within a socket using a detection module),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the socket assembly of Kong to include the downstops detection of Patel, the creep detection circuit of Hsieh, and to configure that circuit to detect/measure downstop creep based on resistance measurements. A POSITA would understand that monitoring a voltage shift across a closed loop utilizing a reference resistor is an electrical resistance measurement (e.g., operating as a voltage divider where the interface acts as a variable resistor). Therefore, would be motivated to combine the prior art teachings. Kong and Patel describe a high-density PCB memory socket that utilizes mechanical downstops to set a compression limit. Downstops experience viscoelastic creep over time, reducing the contact force and altering the electrical resistance of the pins. Utilizing Hsieh’s resistance-based detection circuit in the modified Kong/Patel socket, the system can detect/measure the changing contact resistance caused by downstop creep. Miyajima teaches the method of continuously monitoring and tracking physical contact degradation data over time, monitoring the health of the socket(s). A POSITA would be motivated to combine these methods. When the downstop creep reaches a critical threshold, the resistance of the connection loop shifts (e.g., breaking the circuit or dropping below/above a measurable threshold), triggering Hsieh’s circuit to detect the failure, alert the system before signal loss occurs (e.g., memory data is lost), according to known methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
measuring one or more voltages across the creep detection circuit (Hsieh: Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0008]-[0010], [0020]-[0031], [0033]-[0037], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0045], [0049], [0052], [0054]-[0055], [0058], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]: teaches applying and monitoring a reference bias voltage across the detection pins, utilizing a resistor and bias voltages to determine the connection state. Detecting whether a bias value shifts based on a connection loop is a direct measurement of the electrical resistance of that loop); and
calculating, based on the one or more voltages, the one or more resistance values associated with the creep detection circuit (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0008]-[0010], [0025]-[0029], [0031], [0033]-[0037], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0045], [0049], [0052], [0054]-[0055], [0058], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]: teaches applying the vias voltage through a resistor, a POSITA understands that calculating a resistance value from a measured voltage drop across a known circuit path is a fundamental application of Ohm’s Law (R = V/I)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the connection detection method of Hsieh within the socket assembly of Kong, and to configure that circuit/connection detection method to measure creep based on resistance measurements. Hsieh teaches a hardware circuit that detects connection failure by applying a reference bias voltage through a resistor to a detection pin. When the mechanical connection degrades, the electrical resistance of the loop changes, inherently causing the measured voltage bias to shift. Hsieh further teaches using this voltage shift to trigger an instantaneous signal. When the creep reaches a critical threshold, the resistance of the connection loop shifts (e.g., breaking the circuit or dropping below/above a measurable threshold), triggering Hsieh’s circuit to alert the system before signal loss occurs, according to known methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Kong, in combination with Hsieh, Patel, and Miyajima, are silent in regard to:
iteratively at a set interval:
However, Tyrrell, further teaches:
iteratively at a set interval (Fig. 11A; [Abstract], [0024], [0080], [0082], [0085], [0087], [Claim 40], [Claim 43] & [Claim 51 ]: teaches the method of iteratively, “repeatedly” measuring the voltage at a connector pin over time to analyze changing electrical states at the contact interface):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the connection detection method of Hsieh within the socket assembly of Kong and Patel, and to further utilize the iterative voltage measurement techniques of Tyrrell to track resistance over time as motivated by Miyajima. Hsieh teaches a hardware circuit that detects connection failure by applying a reference bias voltage through a resistor to a detection pin. When the mechanical connection degrades, the electrical resistance of the loop changes, inherently causing the measured voltage bias to shift. Hsieh further teaches using this voltage shift to trigger an instantaneous signal. Miyajima teaches the advantage of continuously monitoring and tracking physical degradation over time. Tyrrell teaches the method of “repeatedly measuring” ( iteratively polling) the voltage present at a connector pin over time, analyzing the voltage samples to determine the changing physical state of the contact interface. A POSITA would be motivated to apply Tyrrell’s iterative voltage polling method to Hsieh’s creep detection circuit. Iteratively measuring the voltage across Hsieh’s circuit at a set interval, the system’s controller can use fundamental electrical principles (Ohm’s Law) to continuously calculate the exact resistance value of the socket’s connection loop, according to known methods. This combination yields the predictable result of a precise, dynamic tracking system. Instead of waiting for the resistance to reach a total failure, the system iteratively calculates the resistance via voltage measurements, allowing it to detect when the downstop creep has altered the resistance by a threshold amount, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Kong, teaches:
The method of claim 12 ([Abstract], [0023], [0026] & [0028]),
Kong, in combination with Hsieh, and Patel, are silent in regard to:
further comprising storing the one or more resistance values each time they are calculated.
However, Miyajima, in combination with Tyrrell, further teach:
further comprising storing the one or more resistance values each time they are calculated (Disclosed in combination: Miyajima: [Abstract], [0025]-[0026], [0030], [0044]-[0054], [Claim 3] & [Claim 4]: teaches the method of recording the continuous physical measurements during a creep evaluation; Tyrrell: [Abstract], [0024], [0080], [0082], [0085], [0087], [Claim 40], [Claim 43] & [Claim 51 ]: teaches the active method step of retaining (storing) the electrical measurements each time they are repeatedly taken).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the iterative electrical polling method taught by Tyrrell upon the detection circuit of Hsieh within the socket assembly of Kong and Patel, and to further configure the method to store the calculated resistance values each time they are calculated, as taught by Tyrrell and motivated by Miyajima. A POSITA would be motivated to combine these teachings. By storing the calculated resistance value each time it is iteratively calculated, the system’s controller can build a continuous historical log of the socket’s electrical contact resistance. This stored historical data is necessary for the system to perform advanced diagnostics (e.g., determining the rate of downstop creep, predicting future mechanical failures, or accurately determining when the resistance has changed by a critical threshold amount), according to known methods. This modification yields the predictable result of a complete, closed-loop diagnostic tracking method that retains data collected for continuous analysis (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Kong, teaches:
The method of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0023], [0026] & [0028]),
Kong, is silent in regard to:
wherein determining that the one or more resistance values have changed by more than the threshold amount
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
wherein determining that the one or more resistance values have changed by more than the threshold amount (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0008]-[0010], [0027]-[0029], [0033]-[0037], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0045], [0049], [0052], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]: teaches monitoring the electrical loop to determine when a bias value shifts to a specific detection state (threshold))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the connection detection circuit method of Hsieh within the socket assembly of Kong, and to configure that connection detection circuit method to measure creep based on resistance measurements changing by more than a threshold amount. Hsieh teaches a hardware circuit that detects connection failure by applying a reference bias voltage through a resistor to a detection pin. When the mechanical connection degrades, the electrical resistance of the loop changes, inherently causing the measured voltage bias to shift. Hsieh further teaches using this voltage shift to trigger an instantaneous signal. When the creep reaches and/or crosses a critical threshold, the resistance of the connection loop shifts (e.g., breaking the circuit or dropping below/above a measurable threshold), triggering Hsieh’s circuit to alert the system before signal loss occurs, according to known methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Kong, in combination with Hsieh, Patel, and Miyajima are silent in regard to:
includes comparing the one or more resistance values to previously recorded resistance values associated with the creep detection circuit.
However, Tyrrell, further teaches:
includes comparing the one or more resistance values to previously recorded resistance values associated with the creep detection circuit ([Abstract], [0024], [0080], [0082], [0085], [0087], [Claim 40], [Claim 43] & [Claim 51 ]: teaches analyzing retained (recorded) measurements over time to determine a rate of change. Inherently, analyzing a set of historically recorded samples to find a delta or rate of change requires comparing the current measurement to the previously recorded measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the detection circuit of Hsieh upon the socket assembly of Kong and Patel, and to determine the threshold change by comparing current values to previously recorded values as taught by Tyrrell and motivated by Miyajima. A POSITA would recognize that to accurately determine if a mechanical creep threshold has been reached using iteratively stored data, the system’s controller must execute a comparative analysis. By programming the controller to compare the real-time, iteratively calculated resistance value(s) against previously recorded baseline or historical resistance values, as taught by Tyrrell’s analysis of retained samples, the system can calculate the delta, the exact amount of change. This combination is highly predictable. Comparing current sensor data to historically logged data is a fundamental and necessary computational step to execute the “change over time” analysis taught by Tyrrell, according to know methods, ensuring the system triggers Hsieh’s detection signal when the resistance change is caused by mechanical downstop creep rather than transient electrical noise, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Kong, teaches:
The method of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0023], [0026] & [0028]),
Kong, is silent in regard to:
further comprising generating a notification responsive to detecting socket downstop creep associated with the module.
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
further comprising generating a notification responsive to detecting socket downstop creep associated with the module ([Abstract], [0002], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0025]-[0028], [0031], [0033]-[0037], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 13], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]: teaches that the detection device(s)/module(s) provide(s) a “first detection signal” directly in response to the bias value shifting, indicating the connection has been lost/degraded due to creep. A POSITA understands that a hardware controller outputting a discrete fault signal constitutes generating a notification to the broader system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the iterative tracking method established by the combination of Kong, Patel, Tyrrell, and Miyajima, and to further configure the method to generate a notification responsive to detecting the creep, as taught by Hsieh. Hsieh teaches the step of monitoring the measured electrical value shifts by the threshold amount, indicating that the physical connection loop has been compromised by mechanical creep. The detection device provides a “first detection signal.” A POSITA would be motivated to utilize this detection signal as a system notification (e.g., triggering a hardware interrupt, logging a critical event in the controller, or flashing a diagnostic LED). Generating a notification in response to Hsieh’s detection signal yields the predictable result of alerting the system administrator or the operating system that the socket’s downstops have crept to a critical failure point, according to known methods. Allowing for safe data migration and preventative hardware replacement before damaging other electronics on the PCB (e.g., memory signals), and yield predictable results (KSR).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong, in view of Hsieh, in view of Miyajima, in view of Patel, and further in view of Svennebring et al. (US 2023/0362082 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 9, 2023, hereinafter Svennebring).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Kong, teaches:
The method of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0023], [0026], [0028], [0056]-[0064], [0066], [0068] & [0070]: teaches a module processing computational workloads),
Kong, is silent in regard to:
further comprising, responsive to detecting the socket downstop creep,
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
further comprising, responsive to detecting the socket downstop creep ([Abstract], [0002], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0025]-[0028], [0031], [0033]-[0037], [0054], [0058], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 13], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]: generates a definitive detection signal when the mechanical failure threshold is reached, prompting a system response),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the detection method of Hsieh upon the socket assembly of Kong and Patel, and to further configure the method to generate a notification responsive to detecting the creep, as taught by Hsieh. Hsieh teaches the step of monitoring the measured electrical value shifts by the threshold amount, indicating that the physical connection loop has been compromised by mechanical creep. The detection device provides a “first detection signal.” A POSITA would be motivated to utilize this detection signal as a system notification (e.g., triggering a hardware interrupt, logging a critical event in the controller, or flashing a diagnostic LED). Generating a notification in response to Hsieh’s detection signal yields the predictable result of alerting the system administrator or the operating system that the socket’s downstops have crept to a critical failure point, according to known methods. Allowing for safe data migration and preventative hardware replacement before damaging other electronics on the PCB (e.g., memory signals), and yield predictable results (KSR).
Kong, in combination with Hsieh, and Patel, are silent in regard to:
shifting workload away from an area experiencing the socket downstop creep.
However, Svennebring, further teaches:
shifting workload away from an area experiencing the socket downstop creep ([Abstract], [0030], [0032], [0038], [0041]-[0042], [0045], [0087], [0101]-[0103], [0109], [0156], [0233], [0237], [Claim 10] & [Claim 11]: teaches managing computational workloads (virtual machines, containers) in server computing systems in response to hardware performance/link metrics. A POSITA understands that migrating VMs/containers away from a degraded hardware link constitutes shifting workload).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the detection method of Hsieh upon the socket assembly of Kong and Patel, and to further configure the system’s reaction module to shift workload away from the area experiencing creep as taught by Svennebring. A POSITA would be motivated to combine these teachings. When the hardware controller receives the notification from Hsieh’s circuit that a specific physical area of the socket is experiencing creep, the most logical reaction is to apply Svennebring’s teachings to quarantine that hardware. By shifting the computational workload (e.g., migrating the VMs or virtualization containers) away from the failing area of the socket to healthy computing nodes, the system administrator ensures zero downtime and prevents catastrophic failures (e.g., data corruption), according to know methods, and yield predictable results (KSR), in the process of waiting for replacement physical hardware.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Kong, teaches:
The method of claim 16 ([Abstract], [0023], [0026], [0028], [0056]-[0064], [0066], [0068] & [0070]),
Kong, in combination with Hsieh, and Patel, are silent in regard to:
wherein the workload is shifted to one of: another core on the module, another processor on the module, and another module.
However, Svennebring, further teaches:
wherein the workload is shifted to one of: another core on the module, another processor on the module, and another module ([Abstract], [0003], [0030], [0032], [0038], [0041]-[0046], [0067], [0086]-[0087], [0101]-[0103], [0109], [0156], [0232]-[0233], [0237], [Claim 10] & [Claim 11]]: teaches managing and shifting computational workloads (Virtual Machines, containers) across “server computing systems” and “cloud compute nodes”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the fault-detection method of Hsieh upon the socket assembly of Kong and Patel, and to execute the workload migration teachings of Svennebring by shifting the workload to another core, another processor, or another module. A POSITA working on an enterprise server environment understands that computing hardware is organized hierarchically into cores, processors, and modules (or nodes). If a specific memory channel or socket link is experiencing creep, the system must shift the workload to a hardware resource that does not rely on that failing link. Therefore, it is a predictable, standard operational procedure, of executing Svennebring’s VM migration to shift the workload to healthy, unaffected source. Depending on the severity and location of the fault detected by Hsieh’s circuit, the controller will route the tasks to another core on the same die, route it to another processor sharing the board, or migrate the virtual machines across the network to another module (e.g., different cloud compute node), as disclosed in Svennebring. Executing the workload shift to another one of the three standard computing destinations yield the predictable results of maintaining system uptime and protecting data integrity despite the localized mechanical failure of the socket downstop(s), according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Kong, teaches:
The method of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0023], [0026], [0028], [0056]-[0064], [0066], [0068] & [0070]),
Kong, is silent in regard to:
further comprising generating a strain map across the module using the one or more resistance values.
However, Hsieh, further teaches:
further comprising generating a strain map across the module (Official Notice: It is well-known in the art of sensor arrays, structural telemetry, and mechanical diagnostic systems to aggregate localized structural data (such as contact resistance indicating mechanical strain) from multiple discrete sensors across an area to generate a 2D or 3D spatial “strain map” or deformation gradient for diagnostic analysis) using the one or more resistance values (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0008]-[0010], [0027]-[0029], [0033]-[0037], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0045], [0049], [0052], [Claim 18] & [Claim 19]: teaches utilizing resistance values to determine physical deformation (creep/strain) at a pin(s). The system includes multiple circuits distributed across the module footprint, compiling the spatially distributed resistance values into a “strain map” is a standard obvious data visualization and diagnostic technique).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to execute the localized fault-detection method of Hsieh upon the socket assembly of Kong and Patel, and to configure the system controller to aggregate the collected resistance values to generate a strain map across the module. The combines system utilizes multiple, spatially distributed creep detection circuits to monitor localized downstop creep across the footprint of the socket. Each circuit calculates an electrical resistance value that serves as a direct proxy for the physical mechanical deformation (strain or creep) occurring at that specific physical coordinate. A POSITA would be motivated to apply standard data aggregation and visualization techniques to the incoming telemetry. By computationally mapping the calculated resistance vale of each circuit to its known physical coordinate on the PCB socket, where the controller would generate a spatial representation (e.g., a strain map) of the module. Generating the strain map would yield predictable results, according to known methods. Instead of knowing that a single pin has failed, the system can utilize the aggregated strain map to visualize the entire gradient and mechanical stress distribution of the socket. Allowing the system to predict future failure points and shift computational workloads from the most physically strained sectors on the board, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Juds et al. (US2017/0098908A1) discloses a switching power connector and electrical connection element with safety interlock. Su (CN214539958U) teaches an anti-creeping alarm circuit and anti-creeping alarm device.
/HUGO NAVARRO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 March 25, 2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 4/1/2026