CTFR 18/756,047 CTFR 79426 DETAILED ACTION Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, 17-19, 21, and 22 are presented for consideration. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, 17-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zamora et al. [ US Patent Application No 2023/0259924 ], in view of Bahl et al. [ US Patent Application No 2006/0080245 ] . As per claim 1, Zamora discloses the invention as claimed including a system comprising: a processing device; and a memory device that includes instructions executable by the processing device for causing the processing device to perform operations comprising: generating, in response to an entity creating a document [ i.e. the payer user prepares the digital check ], a status indicator for the document [ i.e. transaction or service performed on the digital check by users, banks, clearing houses ] [ Abstract; and paragraphs 0040-0045 ]; receiving, in response to the entity creating the document, metadata corresponding to the document, the metadata comprising a document number, a user account number, and a routing number [ i.e. check number, account number, routing number ] [ Figure 18; and paragraphs 0054, and 0112 ]; generating a cryptographic hash for the document by inputting the metadata corresponding to the document into a hash function [ i.e. the blocks in the blockchain are linked together using cryptography, each block includes a cryptographic hash of the previous block, a timestamp, and transaction data ] [ paragraphs 0043, and 0057 ]; storing the cryptographic hash and the status indicator in a centralized database accessible by a plurality of entities including the entity [ i.e tokens are generated during the life cycle of a digital check and stored into the distributed ledger ] [ Figures 5A-5D; and paragraphs 0059-0065 ]; detecting a resource request transmitted by a user device to the entity using the document [ i.e. request to pay or payment ] [ Figure 10; and paragraph 0133-0135 ], wherein the resource request is a request to transfer the resource from a first user account to a second user account [ i.e. the payor’s account at his bank is debited and the payee’s account at her bank is credited the amount specified by the digital check ] [ paragraphs 0039, and 0042 ], and wherein the resource request comprises the metadata corresponding to the document [ i.e. amount, date ] [ paragraphs 0002, 0041, and 0055 ]; in response to detecting the resource request, calculating the cryptographic hash using the metadata in the resource request and the hash function [ i.e. validate the token ] [ paragraphs 0057, and 0073 ]; querying the centralized database using the cryptographic hash to determine the status corresponding to the status indicator for the document [ i.e. verifies the received digital check has the requisite transaction status and/or authorization based on tokens ] [ paragraphs 0086, 0093, and 0099 ]; and storing the updated status indicator in the centralized database in association with the cryptographic hash [ i.e. update the digital ledger with transaction token regarding the settled check ] [ paragraphs 0087, and 0095 ]. Zamora does not specifically disclose wherein a status corresponding to the status indicator is a pre-processing status indicating that the document has not been used in initiating a transfer of a resource; and in response to determining that the status corresponding to the status indicator for the document is the pre-processing status: transmitting the resource request to a resource system to cause the resource system to perform the transfer of the resource from the first user account to the second user account; detecting that the second user account has received the resource; in response to detecting that the second user account has received the resource, updating the status indicator corresponding to the document to generate an updated status indicator, wherein a status corresponding to the updated status indicator is a post-processing status indicating that the second user account received the resource. Bahl discloses wherein a status corresponding to the status indicator is a pre-processing status indicating that the document has not been used in initiating a transfer of a resource [ i.e. the purported check is clearable if a status indicator associated with the issued check indicates that the check remains payable ] [ paragraphs 0019, 0028, and 0069 ]; and in response to determining that the status corresponding to the status indicator for the document is the pre-processing status: transmitting the resource request to a resource system to cause the resource system to perform the transfer of the resource from the first user account to the second user account [ i.e. check clearing server, and payment information may be transferred ] [ Figure 2; and paragraphs 0045, 0046, and 0056 ]; detecting that the second user account has received the resource [ i.e. after receiving payment information, and acknowledge receipt ] [ paragraphs 0025, 0062, and 0065 ]; in response to detecting that the second user account has received the resource, updating the status indicator corresponding to the document to generate an updated status indicator, wherein a status corresponding to the updated status indicator is a post-processing status indicating that the second user account received the resource [ i.e. update status indicator associated with the issued check to indicate that a purported check has been cleared ] [ paragraphs 0020, 0055, and 0085 ]. It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zamora and Bahl because the teaching of Bahl would enable to reduce costs and time delays associated with the traditional check clearing process [ Bahl, paragraph 0014 ]. As per claim 3, Zamora in view of Bahl discloses the system of claim 1, furthermore, Bahl discloses wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to transmitting the resource request to the resource system to cause the resource system to perform the transfer of the resource from the first user account to the second user account: detecting that the resource system has initiated the transfer of the resource from the first user account to the second user account; in response to detecting that the resource system has initiated the transfer of the resource from the first user account to the second user account, updating the status indicator to change the status of the document from the pre- processing status to the processing status to generate a second updated status indicator [ i.e. update status indicator associated with the issued check to indicate that a purported check has been cleared ] [ paragraphs 0020, 0055, and 0085 ]; and Zamora discloses storing the second updated status indicator in the centralized database in association with the hash function [ i.e. update the digital ledger with transaction token regarding the settled check ] [ paragraph 0095 ]. As per claim 4, Zamora in view of Bahl discloses the system of claim 1, furthermore, Bahl discloses wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to updating the status indicator corresponding to the document to generate the updated status indicator: detecting a second resource request from a second user device, the second resource request being a second request to transfer the resource based on the document; in response to detecting the second resource request, accessing the centralized database to determine, based on the cryptographic hash and the updated status indicator, that the status of the document is the post-processing status; and based on determining that the status of the document is the post-processing status, denying the second resource request [ i.e. the check has been deposited and declined as invalid ] [ paragraph 0070, 0071, and 0083 ]. As per claim 5, Bahl discloses wherein a user of the second user device initiates the second resource request via a user interface, and wherein operations further comprise: generating an alert comprising an indication of the denial of the second resource request and transmitting the alert to the second user device [ i.e. unauthorized duplicate ] [ paragraph 0050 ]; and automatically preventing access by the second user device to the user interface [ i.e. prevent the clearing house from subsequently determining that a duplicate check is clearable ] [ paragraphs 0020, 0055, and 0085 ]. 7. As per claims 8, and 10-12, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 1, and 3-5. 8. As per claims 15, and 17-19, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 1, and 3-5. 9. As per claim 21, Zamora in view of Bahl discloses the system of claim 1, furthermore, Bahl discloses wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to updating the status indicator corresponding to the document to generate the updated status indicator: receiving, as a second request to transfer the resource from the first user account to the second user account, a first image of a front side of the document and a second image of a back side of the document from a software application executing on a second user device [ i.e. back side and front side images ] [ Figure 1; and paragraph 0010 ]; implementing optical character recognition to convert the first image and the second image into searchable data and deriving the metadata corresponding the document from the searchable data [ i.e. character recognition module ] [ 47, Figure 2; and paragraph 0046 ]; and in response to determining that the status corresponding to the updated status indicator for the document is the post-processing status, denying the second request and preventing a second transfer of the resource from first user account to the second user account [ i.e. the check has been deposited and declined as invalid ] [ paragraph 0070, 0071, and 0083 ], and Zamora discloses in response to deriving the metadata corresponding to the document from the searchable data, calculating the cryptographic hash using the metadata and the hash function; performing another query of the centralized database using the cryptographic hash to determine the status corresponding to the updated status indicator for the document [ paragraphs 0043, and 0057 ] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zamora et al. [ US Patent Application No 2023/0259924 ], in view of Bahl et al. [ US Patent Application No 2006/0080245 ], and further in view of Bucche, Jr. [ US Patent No 7,620,604 ] . 11. As per claim 22, Zamora in view of Bahl does not specifically disclose wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to preventing the second transfer of the resource from first user account to the second user account, locking the second user device out of the software application. Bucche discloses wherein the operations further comprise, subsequent to preventing the second transfer of the resource from first user account to the second user account, locking the second user device out of the software application [ i.e. if the financial information is determined to be invalid, user tries again and/or transfer to representative for assistance ] [ 345, 375, Figure 3; and col 9, lines 9-33 ]. It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zamora, Bahl and Bucche because the teaching of Bucche would enable to prevent any fraud in check processing . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, 17-19, 21, and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bueche, Jr. [ US Patent No 7,620,604 ] discloses the image of the check may be generated based on the images of the portions may be processed for deposit Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DUSTIN NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3971. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9-6 PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Gillis can be reached at 571-2727952. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DUSTIN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446 Application/Control Number: 18/756,047 Page 2 Art Unit: 2446 Application/Control Number: 18/756,047 Page 3 Art Unit: 2446 Application/Control Number: 18/756,047 Page 4 Art Unit: 2446 Application/Control Number: 18/756,047 Page 5 Art Unit: 2446 Application/Control Number: 18/756,047 Page 6 Art Unit: 2446 Application/Control Number: 18/756,047 Page 7 Art Unit: 2446 Application/Control Number: 18/756,047 Page 8 Art Unit: 2446 Application/Control Number: 18/756,047 Page 9 Art Unit: 2446 Application/Control Number: 18/756,047 Page 10 Art Unit: 2446