DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “data driver” in claims 1-3, 16-19, “converter” and “generator” in claims 3-13, 17-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20230386390 A1), in view of Kim et al (US 20170124959 A), and further in view of Wang (US 20160005156 A1)
RE claim 1, Park teaches A display device (abstract) comprising:
a display panel including a display area and a non-display area at the periphery of the display area, wherein a plurality of data lines and a plurality of pixels connected to the plurality of data lines are disposed in the display area (Figs 1-2, [0045], [0066]);
a temperature sensor disposed in the non-display area of the display panel, the temperature sensor configured to output temperature data corresponding to a sensed temperature (Figs 1-2, [0061]); and
a data driver configured to, based on the temperature data, and convert image data obtained into a data voltage, thereby outputting the data voltage to the plurality of data lines (Figs 1-2,4, 12-13, [0054], [0061]-[0063], [0108], [0189], [0193], [0197]- [0203]).
Park is silent RE: convert the temperature data into digital-type temperature data. However Kim teaches in [0043], Claim 1, abstract to fix the temperature-dependent luminance value based on the digital-type temperature data.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Park a system and method to convert the temperature data into digital-type temperature data, as suggested by Kim, as a mere obvious design choice or simply the luminance/voltage control and thereby ensuring/increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Park as modified by Kim is silent RE: synthesize a background image, based on the temperature data, and convert synthesized image data obtained by synthesizing the background image into the data voltage.
However Wang teaches synthesize a background image, based on the temperature data in for generating an augmented thermal image Figs 3-5, [0030], [0038]-[0040], converting the image data to be suitable for displaying or recording [0036], [0042]. This can be equally applied in order to combine a thermal image, based on the temperature data with the input image and convert into voltage data to drive the gate lines to generate the display, as readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Park as modified by Kim a system and method synthesize a background image, based on the temperature data, and convert synthesized image data obtained by synthesizing the background image into the data voltage, as set forth above applying Wang, to display a thermal image with the input image and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 2, Park teaches wherein the data driver is connected to a panel line disposed in the non-display area of the display panel, and wherein the temperature sensor outputs the temperature data through the panel line ((Figs 1-2, [0045], [0061]).
RE claim 3, Park as modified by Kim and Wang teaches wherein the data driver includes: an analog-digital converter configured to convert the temperature data into the digital-type temperature data; a memory configured to store the digital-type temperature data (Park Fig 1,4, [0101], Kim Fig 7, [0043]);
a temperature image generator configured to store the background image therein, and generate synthesized image data obtained by synthesizing the background image with received image data, based on a result obtained by reading the digital-type temperature data stored in the memory; and an output circuit configured to convert the synthesized image data into a data voltage, thereby outputting the data voltage to the plurality of data lines (Park Figs 1,4, 12-13, [0051]-[0052], [0101]-[0103], [0197]-[0203]. Kim Fig 9, abstract, [0050] and Wang Figs 3-5, [0030]-[0031], [0038]-[0040]).
RE claim 4, Park as modified by Kim and Wang teaches further comprising a controller configured to receive the digital-type temperature data and input image data, generate the image data by correcting the input image data, based on the digital-type temperature data, and output the image data and a data control signal (Park Figs 1,4, 12-13, [0045], [0051], [0054], [0058], [0061], [0101]-[0103], [0197]-[0203]. Kim Fig 9, abstract, [0050]. Wang Figs 3-5, [0030]-[0031], [0038]-[0040]).
RE claim 5, Park as modified by Kim and Wang teaches wherein the data driver further includes: a first interface configured to receive the data control signal, and output the digital-type temperature data; and a second interface configured to receive the image data (Park Figs 1-2, 4, 12-13, [0045], [0051], [0054]-[0058], [0061]. Kim Fig 9, abstract, [0050].).
RE claim 7, Park as modified by Kim and Wang teaches, wherein a plurality of temperature sensors including the temperature sensor are disposed in the non-display area of the display panel, and wherein the plurality of temperature sensors are disposed corresponding to a plurality of corner areas in the display area (Park Figs 1-2#150, [0061], Wang Figs 3-5, [0030]-[0031], [0038]-[0040] wherein the thermal image can be displayed any desired position).
RE claim 11, Park as modified by Kim and Wang teaches wherein the background image is displayed in at least one of the plurality of corner areas of the display area (Park Figs 12-13, [0198], [0206]-[0207], Wang Figs 3-5, [0030]-[0031], [0038]-[0040] wherein the thermal image can be displayed any desired position).
RE claim 12, Park as modified by Kim and Wang teaches wherein the background image is displayed in an edge area in which two adjacent corner area among the plurality of corner area of the display area are connected to each other (Park Figs 12-13, [0198], [0206]-[0207], Wang Figs 3-5, [0030]-[0031], [0038]-[0040] wherein the thermal image can be displayed any desired position).
RE claim 13, Park as modified by Kim and Wang teaches wherein the temperature image generator differently gradation-processes the background image, based on a value of the digital-type temperature data (Park Figs 12-13, [0054], [0209], Kim Figs 8-9, abstract, [0050], [0054]).
Claim 14 recites limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 3 as method and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as modified by Kim and Wang, and further in view of Lee (US 20120139977 A1).
RE claim 6, Park as modified by Kim and Wang teaches wherein the first interface is an Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) interface (Park Figs 1-2, [0054]-[0058], [0061], Kim Fig 6, [0051]).
Park as modified by Kim and Wang is silent RE: and the second interface is a Low Voltage Differential Signaling (LVDS) interface.
However Lee teaches a Low Voltage Differential Signaling (LVDS) interface in [0034] to facilitate data transfer between the timing controller and the source driver ICs.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Park as modified by Kim and Wang a system and method wherein the second interface is a Low Voltage Differential Signaling (LVDS) interface, as suggested by Lee, to effectively data transfer within the controller/sensors and the source driver ICs and thereby ensuring/increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as modified by Kim and Wang, and further in view of Takahata (US 20230071294 A1).
RE claim 8, Park as modified by Kim and Wang is silent RE wherein the analog-digital converter sequentially senses the plurality of temperature sensors.
However Takahata teaches in Fig 24, [0194] to effectively perform the desired correction.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Park as modified by Kim and Wang a system and method wherein the analog-digital converter sequentially senses the plurality of temperature sensors, as suggested by Takahata, to effectively perform the desired correction and thereby ensuring system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 9, Park as modified by Kim, Wang and Takahata teaches wherein a plurality of digital-type temperature data generated by sequentially sensing the plurality of temperature sensors are stored in the memory (Park Figs 1,4, [0051]-[0052], [0101]-[0103], [0197]-[0203]. Kim Fig 9, abstract, [0050], Takahata [0114]).
RE claim 10, Park as modified by Kim, Wang and Takahata teaches wherein the temperature image generator generates the synthesized image data by synthesizing the background image with the image data such that the background image is displayed in an area decided to be at a high temperature, based on the plurality of digital-type temperature data (Park Figs 1,4, 12-13, [0061], [0101]-[0103], [0197]-[0203]. Kim Figs 8-9, abstract, [0050]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 20220147124 A1), in view of Wang.
RE claim 15, Choi teaches A head-mounted display device (Figs 2-3) comprising:
a processor configured to output first input image data and second input image data (Figs 1-3, [0052], [0058]);
a first display device including a first display panel, the first display device displaying a first image to a first eye of a user based on temperature data sensed in the first display panel; and a second display device including a second display panel, based on temperature data sensed in the second display panel, displaying a second image to a second eye of the user (Abstract, Figs 8, 11, [0095], [0001], [0040]).
Choi is silent RE: the first display device configured to synthesize a stored background image with first image data corresponding to the first input image data, based on temperature data sensed in the first display panel, thereby displaying a first synthesized image to a first eye of a user; the second display device configured to synthesize a stored background image with second image data corresponding to the second input image data, based on temperature data sensed in the second display panel, thereby displaying a second synthesized image to a second eye of the user.
However Wang teaches synthesize a background image, based on the temperature data in for generating an augmented thermal image Figs 3-5, [0030], [0038]-[0040], converting image data to be suitable for displaying or recording [0036], [0042]. This can be equally applied in order to combine a thermal image, based on the temperature data with the first and second input images and display on the corresponding display panels, as readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Choi a system and method the first display device configured to synthesize a stored background image with first image data corresponding to the first input image data, based on temperature data sensed in the first display panel, thereby displaying a first synthesized image to a first eye of a user; the second display device configured to synthesize a stored background image with second image data corresponding to the second input image data, based on temperature data sensed in the second display panel, thereby displaying a second synthesized image to a second eye of the user, as set forth above applying Wang, to display thermal/backgroud images with the input image and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claims 16-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, in view of Wang, and further in view of Park and Kim.
RE claim 16, Choi as modified by Wang teaches wherein the first display panel includes a display area and a non-display area at the periphery of the display area, and wherein the first display device includes: a temperature sensor disposed in the first display panel, the temperature sensor configured to output the temperature data corresponding to a sensed temperature (Choi Fig 3, [0061], [0089]);
Choi as modified by Wang is silent RE: a temperature sensor disposed in the non-display area of first display panel and a plurality of data lines and a plurality of pixels connected to the plurality of data lines are disposed in the display area, and a data driver configured to convert the temperature data into digital-type temperature data, synthesize a background image, based on the digital-type temperature data, and convert synthesized image data obtained by synthesizing the background image into a data voltage, thereby outputting the data voltage to the plurality of data lines.
However Park teaches a temperature sensor disposed in the non-display area of the display panel (Figs 1-2, [0061]); and a data driver configured to, based on the temperature data, and convert image data obtained into a data voltage, thereby outputting the data voltage to the plurality of data lines (Figs 1-2,4, 12-13, [0054], [0061]-[0063], [0108], [0189], [0193], [0197]- [0203]) to generate correction image based on temperature effects. In addition Kim teaches convert the temperature data into digital-type temperature data in [0043], Claim 1, abstract to fix the temperature-dependent luminance value based on the digital-type temperature data. This can be equally applied in order to generate the synthesized image, based on the digital temperature data and convert he synthesized image into voltage data to drive the gate lines in typical display panels to generate the display, as readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Choi as modified by Wang a system and method a temperature sensor disposed in the non-display area of first display panel and a plurality of data lines and a plurality of pixels connected to the plurality of data lines are disposed in the display area, and a data driver configured to convert the temperature data into digital-type temperature data, synthesize a background image, based on the digital-type temperature data, and convert synthesized image data obtained by synthesizing the background image into a data voltage, thereby outputting the data voltage to the plurality of data lines, as set forth above applying Park and Kim, to effectively generate the display data based on digital temperature value and thereby ensuring/increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claims 17-19 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations of claims 3-5 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, in view of Wang, and further in view of Park.
RE claim 20, Choi as modified by Wang is silent RE: wherein, according to a temperature of the first display device and the second display device, an image obtained by synthesizing the background image is displayed in any one of the first display device and the second display device, and an image obtained by not synthesizing the background image is displayed in the other of the first display device and the second display device.
However Park teaches the compensated data may be applied to the entire display panel, a designated partial areas of the display panel, excluding other area of the display panel according to the temperature value not meeting a predefined threshold value in Figs 11, 13, [0197]-[0201]. This can be equally applied to display the input image with synthesizing the background image on one of the panel as a compensated image, and display the input image without synthesizing the background image on the other panel without any compensation/thermal information based on the t temperature data of the individual temperature of the different display panel, to reflect the appropriate ambient temperature.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Choi as modified by Wang a system and method wherein, according to a temperature of the first display device and the second display device, an image obtained by synthesizing the background image is displayed in any one of the first display device and the second display device, and an image obtained by not synthesizing the background image is displayed in the other of the first display device and the second display device, as set forth above applying Park, t to reflect the appropriate ambient temperature value and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See attached 892)
/Sultana M Zalalee/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614