Detailed Action
Status of Claims
The following is in response to the communication filed 11/08/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-2, 11-13, 16, 18, and 20 have been amended prior to the start of examination.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Priority
Applicant' s claim for the benefit of prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. The applicant' s claim for benefit of Provisional Patent Application Serial No. 63/523,744 filed 06/28/2023 has been received and acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/30/2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 20180146549 A1 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Abe US 20220384519 A1 (hereinafter Abe).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses:
A light emitting module, (Kim, Fig. 3, [0050]) comprising:
a base plate; (transparent plate 200)
a light emitting device array substrate disposed on the base plate, and including a plurality of light emitting devices;([0050], the transparent plate has plurality of light emitting elements provided.)
…
a circuit board (circuit board 100) having a first end electrically connected to the light emitting device array substrate; (See Fig. 3)
a connector (connector 330) electrically connected to a second end of the circuit board, the second end being opposite to the first end; and (See Fig. 3.)
a reinforcement plate disposed under the connector. (driver connection portion 120)
Kim does not appear to disclose “a molding layer covering the plurality of light emitting devices.”
Abe, which teaches a light emitting device (Abe, Abstract, Summary), discloses:
a molding layer (Fig. 1 and 4, covering member 40) covering the plurality of light emitting devices (Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim to have a molding layer covering the plurality of light emitting devices as taught by Abe for purposes of giving light shielding properties. (Abe, [0070].)
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Abe disclose all the elements of claim 1.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the base plate has an area larger than an area of the light emitting device array substrate. (Fig. 3, As the plurality of light emitting elements are on the transparent plate, the transparent plate 200 must by necessity be of a larger area than the light emitting array substrate.)
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Abe disclose all the elements of claim 2.
Abe further discloses:
wherein an upper surface of the base plate (Fig. 1, second substrate 20) is exposed near at least three side surfaces of the light emitting device array (light transmissive member 5) substrate. (See Fig. 1.)
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Abe discloses all the elements of claim 2.
Kim further discloses:
a lateral width of the base plate (width of transparent plate 200) and a lateral width of the reinforcement plate (width of driver connection portion 120) are greater than a lateral width of the circuit board (width of circuit board 100) disposed between the base plate and the reinforcement plate, and (See Fig. 3)
a longitudinal width of the base plate (length of transparent plate 200) and a longitudinal width of the reinforcement plate (length of the driver connection portion 120) are greater than a longitudinal width of the circuit board disposed (length of the circuit board 100) between the base plate and the reinforcement plate. (See Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Abe disclose all the elements of claim 1.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the light emitting device array substrate ([0050], the transparent plate has plurality of light emitting elements provided.) and the connector (connector 330) are disposed on a same surface of the circuit board. (circuit board 100) (See Fig. 3, the plurality of light emitting element and connector are on the flexible circuit board.))
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Abe discloses all the elements of claim 1.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the light emitting device array substrate ([0050], the transparent plate has plurality of light emitting elements provided.) and the connector (connector 330) are respectively disposed on different surfaces of the circuit board. (circuit board 100) (See Fig. 3, the plurality of light emitting elements are on one side of the flexible circuit board and the connector is on a different side of the flexible circuit board.)
Regarding claim 7, Kim and Abe disclose all the elements of claim 1.
Abe further discloses:
a window surrounded by the molding layer. (See Fig 1., the first protrusion portion 41 outlines a window that is surrounded by the covering member 40.)
Regarding claim 8, Kim and Abe disclose all the elements of claim 1.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the light emitting device array substrate is mounted on the circuit board. (See Fig. 3, the plurality of light emitting elements are connected and on one side of the flexible circuit board.)
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Abe disclose all the elements of claim 1.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the connector is formed on the circuit board. (See Fig. 3, the connector is on a side of the flexible circuit board.)
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Abe disclose all the elements of claim 1.
Kim further discloses:
a cover disposed opposite to the connector, (first protective layer 135 on driver connection portion12 0 ) and covering a passive device or an active device.([0076] the first protective layer 135 is cover electrode terminals.)
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Abe and further in view of Huang US 20220201257 A1 (hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses:
A display apparatus, (Kim, Fig. 3, [0050]) comprising:
a light emitting module; (Fig. 3, [0050])
…
the light emitting module, comprising:
a base plate; (transparent plate 200)
a light emitting device array substrate disposed on the base plate, and including a plurality of light emitting devices;([0050], the transparent plate has plurality of light emitting elements provided.)
…
a circuit board (circuit board 100) having a first end electrically connected to the light emitting device array substrate; (See Fig. 3)
a connector (connector 330) electrically connected to a second end of the circuit board, the second end being opposite to the first end; and (See Fig. 3.)
a reinforcement plate disposed under the connector. (driver connection portion 120)
Kim does not appear to disclose:
a lens assembly; and
a light guide,
…
Abe, which teaches a light emitting device (Abe, Abstract, Summary), discloses:
a molding layer (Fig. 1 and 4, covering member 40) covering the plurality of light emitting devices (Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim to have a molding layer covering the plurality of light emitting devices as taught by Abe for purposes of giving light shielding properties. (Abe, [0070].)
Abe does disclose that the light emitting device 100 is configured with a lens. Therefore Abe discloses indirectly that there is a lens assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim to have a lens assembly as taught by Abe for purposes of directing the light emitted from the light emitting device.
Kim and Abe do not appear to disclose:
a light guide.
Huang, which teaches a light projection device (Huang, Abstract), disclose:
a light guide (Fig. 1, projection lens 400.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim and Abe to have light guide as taught by Huang for purposes of projecting light in an area and reduce the stray light in that area. (Huang, [0028].)
Regarding claim 12, Kim, Abe, and Huang disclose all the elements of claim 11.
Huang further discloses:
a plurality of light emitting modules (Fig. 1, displays 110, 120, and 130) including the light emitting module, (projection device 10) each of the light emitting modules emitting light of a single color. ([0020], first image beam R, second image beam B, third image beam G.)
Regarding claim 13, Kim, Abe, and Huang disclose all the elements of claim 11.
Huang further disclose:
wherein the light emitting module is directly coupled to the lens assembly. ([0022] the light combing module 200 and projection lens 400 are disposed on one side of the light-outgoing surface 240. Therefore are directly couple to a lens assembly.)
Regarding claim 14, Kim, Abe, and Huang disclose all the elements of claim 11.
a light coupler, (Huang, light-outgoing module 240)
wherein light emitting modules emitting light of different colors are disposed on at least two surfaces of the light coupler. (Huang [0022] displays 110, 120, and 130 are disposed on the sides of light-outgoing module 240.)
Regarding claim 15, Kim, Abe, and Huang disclose all the elements of claim 14.
Huang further disclose:
wherein light emitting modules emitting green light, red light, and blue light ( Fig. 1, displays 110, 120, and 130, ([0020], first image beam R, second image beam B, third image beam G.) are disposed on each of three surfaces of the light coupler, (See Fig. 1, displays 110, 120, and 130 are disposed on the sides of light-outgoing module 240) and the light emitting module emitting green light is disposed opposite to the lens assembly. (See Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 16, Kim, Abe, and Huang disclose all the elements of claim 11.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the base plate has an area larger than an area of the light emitting device array substrate. (Fig. 3, As the plurality of light emitting elements are on the transparent plate, the transparent plate 200 must by necessity be of a larger area than the light emitting array substrate.)
Regarding claim 17, Kim, Abe, and Huang disclose all the elements of claim 11.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the circuit board has a lateral width (width of circuit board 100) smaller than a longitudinal length. (length of circuit board 100) (See Fig. 3. The width is smaller than length.)
Regarding claim 18, Kim, Abe, and Huang disclose all the elements of claim 11.
Kim further discloses:
a cover layer disposed on the reinforcement plate, (Fig. 7, second coating layer 126 on driver connection 120) wherein an area of the cover layer is smaller than an area of the base plate. (See Fig. 3 and Fig. 7)
Regarding claim 19, Kim, Abe, and Huang disclose all the elements of claim 18.
Huang further discloses:
wherein an image is formed within the light guide. ([0022], the image is reflected to the projection lens 400.)
Regarding claim 20, Kim, Abe, and Huang disclose all the elements of claim 11.
Huang further disclose:
wherein the lens assembly is configured to diffuse light. ([0019]-[0020]. See also Fig. 1)
Conclusion
/HEIM KIRIN GREWAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812