DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed on March 2, 2026.
Claims 1-15, 17 and 19-20 are pending. Claims 1, 6, 9-10, 15 and 17 are amended. Claims 16 and 18 are canceled. Claims 1, 9 and 15 are independent.
Drawings
The drawings were received on March 2, 2026. These drawings are unacceptable.
All of the Figures filed on March 2, 2026 and June 27, 2024 are degraded, showing dotted lines and dotted lettering and numbering, which may indicate applicant submitted Figures that were in grayscale. The defect is most easily observable on Patent Center (and Docket Application Viewer, DAV) when increasing zoom to 300%. The lettering and features intended to be solid black, instead have regular patterns of white dots. See the following Examiner Markup Application’s Figure 3A.
The degraded quality, and the basis of the objection to the Drawings, is the Figures are not in solid black, but have features in shades of gray that caused pixelated. Here is a snapshot from recently filed PDF (not from the DRW Drawings of Record). The lettering for “FIG. 3A” of Figure 3A is in color code #3D3D3C, which is a very dark gray
.
The color codes #3D3D3C is 24-bit color codes expressed in hexadecimal format of #RRGGBB. A website that explains 24-bit color codes is here: RGB Color Codes Chart (https://www.rapidtables.com/web/color/RGB_Color.html). When viewing 24-bit images, what may appear on screen as black may not actually be black. Black is #000000. #3D3D3C is a very dark gray, but not black.
Applicant is reminded that solid lines used in the Drawings must be uniformly thick, black, and solid and the words and labels in the Drawings must be plain and legible. MPEP 608.02(f)(V).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 11, “lines are different word lines that the first number of word lines” --lines are different word lines than the first number of word lines--.
In claim 14, line 2, “using a programming operation a triple level cell” should be --using a programming operation in a triple level cell--.
In claim 15, line 8, “lines are different word lines that the first number of word lines” --lines are different word lines than the first number of word lines--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US 20220238170).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kang et al. disclose an apparatus [see Fig. 1], comprising:
an array of memory cells [Fig. 1: 210, para. 30];
a controller [Fig. 1: 100] coupled to the array of memory cells [para. 29] and the controller is configured to:
program a first number of word lines in a block of word lines in the array of memory cells, wherein the first number of word lines is less than a total number of word lines in the block [see Fig. 5A, Kang et al. disclose first memory block BLK1 includes pages PG1-PG8 and normal data may be programmed sequentially to the eighth page PG8 through the sixth page PG6, para. 48 and 60. Because each page is connected to a word line WL (para. 48), the word lines associated with page PG6-PG8 constitute the claimed first number of word lines and that first number is less than the total number of word lines associated with pages PG1-PG8]; and
in response to completing the programming of the first number of word lines [Kang et al. disclose in Fig. 4 the ordered operations: program normal data to the first memory block in operation S100, followed by programming dummy data to the first memory block in operation S200, para. 55-56], program a second number of word lines of the array of memory cells, wherein the second number of word lines are programmed with padding [see Fig. 5A, dummy data that is meaningless data or random data is programmed to the other pages, i.e., the first through fifth pages PG1-PG5, para. 61. Because each page is connected to a word line WL (para. 48), the word lines associated with page PG1-PG5 constitute the claimed second number of word lines], wherein the second number of word lines are different word lines that the first number of word lines [the second group PG1-PG5 is different from the first group PG6-PG8], wherein the total number of word lines in the block includes the first and second number of word lines and the second number of word lines includes all remaining unprogrammed word lines in the block after completing the programming of the first number of word lines [see Fig. 5A, the first memory block BLK1 includes the first through eighth pages PG1 through PG8, para. 59. PG1-PG5 map to all remaining unprogrammed after PG6-PG8 are programmed], and wherein the controller is configured to program the second number of word lines using a different programming operation than the programming operation used to program the first number of word lines [the normal data is programmed to pages PG8- PG6 in the MLC mode or another program mode, such as the TLC mode or the QLC mode, in which at least two bits are stored in a memory cell; while dummy data is programmed in at least one program mode (SLC mode), in which a smaller number of bits are stored in a memory cell than in the program mode for storing the normal data, para. 60-61].
Regarding claim 2, Kang et al. disclose wherein the first number of word lines are programmed with valid data and the second number of word lines are programmed with invalid data [normal data may include data received from a host or meaningful data, and dummy data may include random data or meaningless data, para. 32].
Regarding claim 3, Kang et al. disclose wherein the block is a partially programmed block comprising the first number of word lines programmed with valid data and the second number of word lines programmed with invalid data [see Fig. 5A, the first memory block BLK1 includes normal data pages PG6-PG8 and dummy data pages PG1-PG6, para. 59-61. Under a broad interpretation, the block is partially programmed with valid data because only part contains normal data and the rest is padded with dummy data].
Regarding claim 4, Kang et al. disclose the controller is configured to perform a sensing operation on one of the first number of word lines in the partially programmed block in response to the second number of word lines being programmed [the memory controller 100 includes a read reclaim controller 120 that monitors a weak word line, and copy normal data programmed to the first memory block to a second memory block, para. 37].
Regarding claim 5, Kang et al. disclose wherein the controller is configured to program the first number of word lines using programming operations in a first mode and to program the second number of work lines using programming operations in a second mode [the normal data is programmed to pages PG8- PG6 in the MLC mode or another program mode, such as the TLC mode or the QLC mode, in which at least two bits are stored in a memory cell; while dummy data is programmed in at least one program mode (SLC mode), in which a smaller number of bits are stored in a memory cell than in the program mode for storing the normal data, para. 60-61].
Regarding claim 7, Kang et al. disclose wherein the second number of word lines are programmed using a programming operation in a single level cell (SLC) mode [see Fig. 5A, the dummy data is meaningless data or random data, and thus may be stored in the SLC mode for fast programming, para. 61].
Regarding claim 8, Kang et al. disclose wherein the second number of word lines are programmed using a programming operation in a multilevel cell (MLC) mode [normal data may be programmed in a program mode, such as the TLC mode or the QLC mode, in which at least two bits are stored in a memory cell, and dummy data may be programmed in at least one program mode, in which a smaller number of bits are stored in a memory cell than in the program mode for storing the normal data, para. 61. Thus, when the normal data is programmed in QLC mode, then the dummy data may be programmed in TLC mode, MLC mode or SLC mode].
Regarding independent claim 9, Kang et al. disclose an apparatus [see Fig. 1], comprising:
an array of memory cells [Fig. 1: 210, para. 30];
a controller [Fig. 1: 100] coupled to the array of memory cells [para. 29] and the controller is configured to:
program a first number of word lines in a block of word lines in the array of memory cells with valid data using a programming operation in quad level cell (QLC) mode, wherein the first number of word lines is less than a total number of word lines in the block [see Fig. 5A, Kang et al. disclose first memory block BLK1 includes pages PG1-PG8 and normal data may be programmed sequentially to the eighth page PG8 through the sixth page PG6 in the MLC mode or another program mode, such as the TLC mode or the QLC mode, para. 48 and 60. Because each page is connected to a word line WL (para. 48), the word lines associated with page PG6-PG8 constitute the claimed first number of word lines and that first number is less than the total number of word lines associated with pages PG1-PG8]; and
in response to completing the programming of the first number of word lines [Kang et al. disclose in Fig. 4 the ordered operations: program normal data to the first memory block in operation S100, followed by programming dummy data to the first memory block in operation S200, para. 55-56], program a second number of word lines in the block of word lines in the array of memory cells with padding [see Fig. 5A, dummy data that is meaningless data or random data is programmed to the other pages, i.e., the first through fifth pages PG1-PG5, para. 61. Because each page is connected to a word line WL (para. 48), the word lines associated with page PG1-PG5 constitute the claimed second number of word lines], wherein the second number of word lines were unprogrammed when programming the first number of word lines in the block, wherein the total number of word lines in the block includes the first and second number of word lines and the second number of word lines includes all remaining unprogrammed word lines in the block after completing the programming of the first number of word lines [see Fig. 5A, the first memory block BLK1 includes the first through eighth pages PG1 through PG8, para. 59. PG1-PG5 map to all remaining unprogrammed after PG6-PG8 are programmed], and wherein the controller is configured to program the second number of word lines using a different programming operation than the programming operation used to program the first number of word lines [the normal data is programmed to pages PG8- PG6 in the MLC mode or another program mode, such as the TLC mode or the QLC mode, in which at least two bits are stored in a memory cell; while dummy data is programmed in at least one program mode (SLC mode), in which a smaller number of bits are stored in a memory cell than in the program mode for storing the normal data, para. 60-61].
Regarding claim 11, Kang et al. disclose wherein the controller is configured to switch modes prior to programming the second number of word lines [the normal data is programmed to pages PG8- PG6 in the MLC mode or another program mode, such as the TLC mode or the QLC mode, in which at least two bits are stored in a memory cell; while dummy data is programmed in at least one program mode (SLC mode), in which a smaller number of bits are stored in a memory cell than in the program mode for storing the normal data, para. 60-61].
Regarding claim 12, Kang et al. disclose wherein the controller is configured to program the second number of word lines with padding using a programming operation in a single level cell (SLC) mode [see Fig. 5A, the dummy data is meaningless data or random data, and thus may be stored in the SLC mode for fast programming, para. 61].
Regarding claim 13, Kang et al. disclose wherein the controller is configured to program the second number of word lines with padding using a programming operation in a multilevel cell (MLC) mode [normal data may be programmed in a program mode, such as the TLC mode or the QLC mode, in which at least two bits are stored in a memory cell, and dummy data may be programmed in at least one program mode, in which a smaller number of bits are stored in a memory cell than in the program mode for storing the normal data, para. 61. Thus, when the normal data is programmed in QLC mode, then the dummy data may be programmed in TLC mode, MLC mode or SLC mode].
Regarding claim 14, Kang et al. disclose wherein the controller is configured to program the second number of word lines with padding using a programming operation in a triple level cell (TLC) mode [normal data may be programmed in a program mode, such as the TLC mode or the QLC mode, in which at least two bits are stored in a memory cell, and dummy data may be programmed in at least one program mode, in which a smaller number of bits are stored in a memory cell than in the program mode for storing the normal data, para. 61. Thus, when the normal data is programmed in QLC mode, then the dummy data may be programmed in TLC mode, MLC mode or SLC mode].
Regarding independent claim 15, Kang et al. disclose a method, comprising:
programming a first number of word lines in a block of word lines in the array of memory cells, wherein the first number of word lines is less than a total number of word lines in the block [see Fig. 5A, Kang et al. disclose first memory block BLK1 includes pages PG1-PG8 and normal data may be programmed sequentially to the eighth page PG8 through the sixth page PG6, para. 48 and 60. Because each page is connected to a word line WL (para. 48), the word lines associated with page PG6-PG8 constitute the claimed first number of word lines and that first number is less than the total number of word lines associated with pages PG1-PG8]; and
in response to completing the programming of the first number of word lines, programming a second number of word lines in the block of word lines [Kang et al. disclose in Fig. 4 the ordered operations: program normal data to the first memory block in operation S100, followed by programming dummy data to the first memory block in operation S200, para. 55-56], wherein the second number of word lines are programmed with padding [see Fig. 5A, dummy data that is meaningless data or random data is programmed to the other pages, i.e., the first through fifth pages PG1-PG5, para. 61. Because each page is connected to a word line WL (para. 48), the word lines associated with page PG1-PG5 constitute the claimed second number of word lines] and wherein the second number of word lines are different word lines that the first number of word lines, wherein the total number of word lines in the block includes the first and second number of word lines and the second number of word lines includes all remaining unprogrammed word lines in the block after completing the programming of the first number of word lines [see Fig. 5A, the first memory block BLK1 includes the first through eighth pages PG1 through PG8, para. 59. PG1-PG5 map to all remaining unprogrammed after PG6-PG8 are programmed], and wherein the method further includes programming the first number of word lines in a first mode and programming the second number of word lines in a second mode [the normal data is programmed to pages PG8- PG6 in the MLC mode or another program mode, such as the TLC mode or the QLC mode, in which at least two bits are stored in a memory cell; while dummy data is programmed in at least one program mode (SLC mode), in which a smaller number of bits are stored in a memory cell than in the program mode for storing the normal data, para. 60-61].
Regarding claim 19, Kang et al. disclose further including performing a sensing operation on one of the first number of word lines in the partially programmed block in response to the second number of word lines being programmed [the memory controller 100 includes a read reclaim controller 120 that monitors a weak word line, and copy normal data programmed to the first memory block to a second memory block, para. 37].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20220238170) as applied to claims 1, 9 and 15 above in view of Ock (US 20220115082).
Regarding claim 6, Kang et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 1.
However, Kang et al. are silent with respect to the second number of word lines are programmed using a coarse programming operation in a quad level cell (QLC) mode.
OKC teaches the second number of word lines are programmed using a coarse programming operation in a quad level cell (QLC) mode [since dummy data to be programmed in the dummy program operation during the recovery operation for the sudden power-off needs not be valid data, the dummy data operation may be coarsely performed, unlike the fine normal program operation in which valid data is programmed, para. 144].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of OKC to the teachings of Kang et al. such that programming Kang et al.’s second number of pages (PG1-PG5) with padding using a coarse programming operation in a quad level cell (QLC) mode as taught by OKC to reduce the time required to perform the dummy program operation during the recovery operation for the sudden power-off [see OKC’s para. 145].
Regarding claim 10, Kang et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 9.
However, Kang et al. are silent with respect to the controller is configured to program the second number of word lines with padding using a coarse programming operation in QLC mode.
OKC teaches the controller is configured to program the second number of word lines with padding using a coarse programming operation in QLC mode [since dummy data to be programmed in the dummy program operation during the recovery operation for the sudden power-off needs not be valid data, the dummy data operation may be coarsely performed, unlike the fine normal program operation in which valid data is programmed, para. 144].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of OKC to the teachings of Kang et al. such that programming Kang et al.’s second number of pages (PG1-PG5) with padding using a coarse programming operation in a quad level cell (QLC) mode as taught by OKC to reduce the time required to perform the dummy program operation during the recovery operation for the sudden power-off [see OKC’s para. 145].
Regarding claim 17, Kang et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 15.
However, Kang et al. are silent with respect to further including programming the second number of word lines using a coarse programming operation in quad level cell (QLC) mode.
OKC teaches further including programming the second number of word lines using a coarse programming operation in quad level cell (QLC) mode [since dummy data to be programmed in the dummy program operation during the recovery operation for the sudden power-off needs not be valid data, the dummy data operation may be coarsely performed, unlike the fine normal program operation in which valid data is programmed, para. 144].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of OKC to the teachings of Kang et al. such that programming Kang et al.’s second number of pages (PG1-PG5) with padding using a coarse programming operation in a quad level cell (QLC) mode as taught by OKC to reduce the time required to perform the dummy program operation during the recovery operation for the sudden power-off [see OKC’s para. 145].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20220238170) as applied to claim 19 above, in view of Yanamanamanda et al. (US 20150170751).
Regarding claim 20, Kang et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 19.
However, Kang et al. are silent with respect to the sensing operation on the partially programmed block uses sensing voltages used in a sensing operation performed on a fully programmed block.
Yanamanamanda et al. teach the sensing operation on the partially programmed block uses sensing voltages used in a sensing operation performed on a fully programmed block [in response to receiving a physical address being in a fully programmed block and/or not corresponding to a last written page in a partially programmed block, the read signal circuitry 114 can use a default read signal level, para. 28].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Yanamanamanda et al. to the teachings of Kang et al. such that configuring Kang et al.’s memory controller to apply read signal selection technique as taught by Yanamanamanda et al. when sensing normal data following programming of Kang et al.’s dummy data pages, thereby that would predictably reduce read errors and improve the reliability of sensing the normal data.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15, 17 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY H LUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2825
/ALEXANDER SOFOCLEOUS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2825