DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed June 27, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 13 and 20 are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on June 27, 2024. This IDS has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 1A-3B should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Applicant’s Figures 1A-3B are identical to U.S. 2020/0342926 Figures 1A-3B.
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mantegazza (U.S. 11,087,854).
Regarding independent claim 1, Mantegazza discloses an apparatus (Fig. 4) comprising:
a memory cell (Fig. 4: 402) comprising a magnetic memory element (see col. 14, ll. 1-23) coupled in series with a selector element (Fig. 4: 421), the memory cell comprising a first terminal coupled to a word line driver circuit (Fig. 4: circuitry that apply signal to the gate of 421 (not shown in Figures)) and a second terminal coupled to a bit line driver circuit (Fig. 4: circuitry that apply signal to the gate of 419 (not shown in Figures)); and
an amplifier circuit (Fig. 415/431) comprising an input terminal coupled to the bit line driver circuit (Fig. 4: input terminals of 415/431 electrically coupled to the circuitry that apply signal to transistors 406, 417 and 419 (not shown in Figures)), and an output terminal coupled to a current source configured to conduct a read current (Fig. 4: output terminals of 415 and 431 electrically coupled to 404, 411/413 and read-reference-current),
wherein the amplifier circuit is configured to amplify a voltage that is based on a voltage across the memory cell (see col. 7, ll. 40-63).
Regarding claim 2, Mantegazza discloses wherein the amplifier circuit comprises a common gate amplifier (Fig. 4: 415/432).
Regarding claim 3, Mantegazza discloses wherein the amplifier circuit comprises a transistor comprising a first terminal coupled to the output terminal of the amplifier circuit (Fig. 4: gate of 444 coupled to the output terminal of 432), a second terminal coupled to the input terminal of the amplifier circuit (Fig. 4: source/drain terminal electrically coupled to an input of 432 through 442), and a third terminal coupled to a power supply voltage (Fig. 4: source/drain terminal of 444 electrically coupled to VNN Supply through 404 and 405).
Regarding claim 4, Mantegazza discloses wherein the amplifier circuit comprises a transistor comprising a drain terminal comprising the output terminal of the amplifier circuit (Fig. 4: drain terminal of 444 coupled to 405), a source terminal comprising the input terminal of the amplifier circuit (Fig. 4: source terminal electrically coupled to + sign of 432 through 442)), and a gate terminal coupled to a power supply voltage (Fig. 4: gate terminal of 444 coupled to the output supply by 432).
Regarding claim 5, Mantegazza discloses wherein the amplifier circuit comprises a p-channel transistor configured to operate in a saturation region of operation (Fig. 4: 442).
Regarding claim 6, Mantegazza discloses wherein the current source comprises a current mirror (Fig. 4: 411/413).
Regarding claim 7, Mantegazza discloses a sense amplifier circuit comprising an input terminal coupled to the output terminal of the amplifier circuit (Fig. 4: an input terminal of 432 is electrically coupled to a source/drain terminal of 444).
Regarding claim 8, Mantegazza discloses wherein the sense amplifier circuit is configured to compare a signal at the input terminal of the sense amplifier circuit with a reference voltage to determine a memory state of the memory cell (see col. 7, ll. 40-63).
Regarding claim 9, Mantegazza discloses wherein the magnetic memory element is configured to switch between a first resistance state and a second resistance state (see col. 2, ll. 22-49).
Regarding claim 10, Mantegazza discloses wherein the magnetic memory element conducts the read current (see col. 1, ll. 64-67 and col. 2, ll. 1-4);
the first voltage comprises a voltage drop across the magnetic memory element in a first resistance state (see col. 4, ll. 46-67 and col. 5, ll. 1-15), and
the second voltage comprises a voltage drop across the magnetic memory element in a second resistance state (see col. 4, ll. 46-67 and col. 5, ll. 1-15).
Regarding claim 11, Mantegazza discloses wherein the selector element comprises an ovonic threshold switch (see col. 10, ll. 23-40).
Regarding claim 12, Mantegazza discloses a cross-point memory array comprising the memory cell (see col. 1, ll. 6-8).
Regarding independent claim 13, Mantegazza discloses an apparatus (Fig. 4) comprising:
a memory cell (Fig. 4: 402) comprising a magnetic memory element (see col. 14, ll. 1-23) coupled in series with an ovonic threshold switch (see col. 10, ll. 23-40), the memory cell comprising a first terminal coupled to a word line (Fig. 4: LWL), and a second coupled to a bit line (Fig. 4: LBL); and
a voltage regulator circuit (Fig. 415, 408, 405 and 431) comprising an output terminal coupled to the bit line, and an input terminal coupled to a second power supply voltage (Fig. 4: 415/431 comprises output terminals electrically coupled to LBL, VNN Supply and VPP Supply), the voltage regulator circuit configured to provide a lower limit on a voltage of the bit line (see col. 9, ll. 37-62),
wherein voltage regulator circuit amplifies a voltage that is based on a voltage across the memory cell (see col. 7, ll. 40-63).
Regarding claim 14, Mantegazza discloses wherein the voltage regulator circuit comprises a source follower transistor (Fig. 4: 408).
Regarding claim 15, Mantegazza discloses wherein the voltage regulator comprises a common gate amplifier (Fig. 4: 415/432).
Regarding claim 16, Mantegazza discloses wherein the voltage regulator circuit comprises a p-channel transistor configured to operate in a saturation region of operation (Fig. 4: 442).
Regarding claim 17, Mantegazza discloses a sense amplifier circuit comprising an input terminal coupled to a third terminal of the voltage regulator circuit (Fig. 4: 432).
Regarding claim 18, Mantegazza discloses wherein the sense amplifier circuit is configured to compare a signal at the input terminal of the sense amplifier circuit with a reference voltage to determine a memory state of the memory cell (see col. 7, ll. 40-63).
Regarding claim 19, Mantegazza discloses wherein the magnetic memory element is configured to switch between a first resistance state and a second resistance state (see col. 2, ll. 22-49).
Regarding independent claim 20, Mantegazza discloses a method comprising:
providing a memory cell (Fig. 4: 402) comprising a magnetic memory element (see col. 14, ll. 1-23) coupled in series with an ovonic threshold switch (see col. 10, ll. 23-40), the memory cell comprising a first terminal coupled to a word line (Fig. 4: LWL), and a second terminal coupled to a bit line (Fig. 4: LBL);
coupling the word line to a first power supply voltage (Fig. 4: LWL_SEL);
coupling a source terminal of a p-channel transistor to the bit line (Fig. 4: 442 electrically coupled to LBL);
coupling a gate terminal of the p-channel transistor to a second power supply voltage (Fig. 4: Bypass control);
coupling a drain terminal of the p-channel transistor to a current mirror transistor (Fig. 4: 442 electrically coupled to 405, 411 and 413) and an input terminal of a sense amplifier (Fig. 4: 442 coupled to 432); and
operating the p-channel transistor as a common gate amplifier to amplify a voltage at the input terminal of a sense amplifier (Fig. 4: 432), which voltage is based on a voltage across the memory cell (see col. 7, ll. 40-63).
Conclusion
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825