DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 10 – 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6 – 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsujino (US 2014/0008780 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsujino (US 2014/0008780 A1) discloses an electronic component housing package (Fig 1-6) comprising: a base (5,33) comprising a first region (region or portion or area about 3; note that the claim has not structurally limited nor defined this claimed region); a frame (7,9): positioned on the base (5,33); surrounding (see Fig 1-6) the first region; and comprising a first frame side surface (e.g. side surface of 7 extending perpendicular to the base surface on the right side of Fig 2); and a wiring conductor (at 11, at 35) positioned on a surface of the frame (7,9), wherein the frame (7,9) comprises a first projecting portion (region or portion or area about 9 on the right side of Fig 2; note that the claim has not structurally limited nor defined this claimed portion) projecting outward (extending parallel to the base surface) from the first frame side surface (side surface of 7) in a first direction (left-right direction in Fig 2), and wherein the wiring conductor (11,35) comprises: a first conductor (11); and a second conductor (35) spaced outward (see Fig 3) from the first conductor (11) in the first direction, and wherein the first conductor (11) and the second conductor (35) are positioned on the first projecting portion (region about 9) and on a same plane (see Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Tsujino further disclose the electronic component housing package (Fig 1-6) according to claim 1, wherein the frame (7) comprises: a second frame side surface (e.g. side surface of 7) extending perpendicular to the base (5,33) surface on the left side of Fig 2) facing the first frame side surface in the first direction (left-right direction in Fig 2); and a second projecting portion (portion or region of 9 on the left side of Fig 2) projecting outward from the second frame side surface in the first direction, wherein the wiring conductor (11,35) comprises: a third conductor (11 on the left side of Fig 2); and a fourth conductor (21 on the left side of Fig 2) spaced from the third conductor in the first direction, and wherein the third conductor and the fourth conductor are positioned on the second projecting portion and on a same plane (e.g. see Fig 1-6).
Regarding Claim 4, Tsujino further discloses the electronic component housing package (Fig 1-6) according to claim 1, wherein the base (5,33) overlaps the first projecting portion in plan view (see Fig 4; all views would show this overlap of 5,33 and 9).
Regarding Claim 6, Tsujino further discloses the electronic component housing package (Fig 1-6) according to claim 4, wherein the base (5,33) overlaps the first conductor (11) in plan view (see Fig 4; all views would show this overlap).
Regarding Claim 7, Tsujino further discloses the electronic component housing package (Fig 1-6) according to claim 6, wherein the base (5,33) is spaced from the second conductor (35) in plan view (see Fig 4 showing 35 is spaced from 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Tsujino further discloses the electronic component housing package (Fig 1-6) according to claim 1, wherein the frame (7,9) is made of a ceramic material ([0023-0028]).
Regarding Claim 9, Tsujino further discloses the electronic component housing package (Fig 1-6) according to claim 8, wherein the base (5,33) is made of a metal material ([0023]).
Regarding Claim 15, Tsujino further discloses an electronic module (Fig 1-6) comprising: an electronic component (3) positioned on the first region; a lid body (23) positioned on the frame (7,9); and the electronic component housing package according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujino (US 2014/0008780 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Choi (US 2016/0286649 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Tsujino discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Tsujino further discloses the electronic component housing package (Fig 1-6) according to claim 1, wherein, when a direction along the first frame side surface (side surface of 78) is a second direction (e.g. up-down direction in Fig 2), a plurality of the first conductors (11) is arranged in the second direction.
Tsujino does not disclose a plurality of the second conductors is arranged in the second direction.
Note that Tsujino discusses the first conductor for signals and second conductor for grounding ([0034-0037,0054]).
Choi (US 2016/0286649 A1) teaches of an interface (Fig 7) between one electronic structure (200) to another electronic structure (100) wherein, when a direction along a second direction (e.g. left-right direction in Fig 7), a plurality of the first conductors (FS) is arranged in the second direction and a plurality of the second conductors (FG) is arranged in the second direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package as disclosed by Tsujino, comprising a plurality of the second conductors is arranged in the second direction as taught by Choi, in order to reduce grounding wiring resistance, prevent malfunction, reduce noise, increase the number of wirings, decrease intervals between wiring, and improve miniaturization of electronic devices (Choi, [0073-0078]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ono (US 2005/0168961 A1) teaches of a package (Fig 4) comprising: a base (30) comprising a first region; a frame (210): positioned on the base; surrounding the first region; and comprising a first frame side surface; and a wiring conductor (about 170) positioned on a surface of the frame, wherein the frame comprises a first projecting portion (portion at 210 about 200) projecting outward from the first frame side surface in a first direction. This could be used in a 103 Rejection.
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847