DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed 06/27/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears that “an AC-AC converter circuit” should be “the AC-AC converter circuit”. It appears that “a corresponding plurality of input connections” should be “the corresponding plurality of input connections”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Re claim 23, it is unclear if “a generator comprising a plurality of sets of windings” is the same or different as the generator with windings recited in claim 14. For purposes of examination, it will be interpreted as the same.
Claims 24-27 inherit the same from claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 and 23, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crawford (US 5,461,297).
Re claim 14, Crawford teaches an AC-DC converter circuit [Fig 1], comprising: first [220a] and second [220b] rectifier circuits each having a plurality of input connections for connection to respective first [210a] and second [210b] sets of windings of a generator, each input connection connected between a pair of series-connected rectifier diodes [diodes of 220a and 220b] connected between first and second output terminals, an output capacitor [225a, 225b] connected between the first and second output terminals; a first output diode [235b] connected between the second output terminals of the first and second rectifier circuits; and a first output switch [230] connected between the second output terminal of the first rectifier circuit and the first output terminal of the second rectifier circuit.
Re claim 23, Crawford teaches a generator [110, 115, Fig 1] comprising a plurality of sets of windings [115a-115c]; and an AC-DC converter circuit according to an AC-DC converter circuit according to claim 14 [see claim 14] wherein each of the plurality of sets of windings is connected to a corresponding plurality of input connections [210a, 210b] of a respective one of the rectifier circuits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford in view of Coffey (US 3,654,537).
Re claim 15, Crawford teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach a third rectifier circuit having a plurality of input connections for connection to a third set of windings of the generator, each input connection connected between a pair of series-connected rectifier diodes connected between first and second output terminals, an output capacitor connected between the first and second output terminals; a second output diode connected between the second output terminals of the second and third rectifier circuits; and a second output switch connected between the second output terminal of the second rectifier circuit and the first output terminal of the third rectifier circuit.
Coffey teaches a device [Fig 2] having a third rectifier circuit [50] having a plurality of input connections for connection to a third set of windings [42] of the generator, each input connection connected between a pair of series-connected rectifier diodes [diodes of 50] connected between first and second output terminals, an output capacitor [66] connected between the first and second output terminals; a second output diode [70] connected between the second output terminals of the second and third rectifier circuits; and a second output switch [58] connected between the second output terminal of the second rectifier circuit and the first output terminal of the third rectifier circuit. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Crawford to include the features of Coffey because it is used to provide higher power outputs with lower voltage ripple, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Claims 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford in view of Coffey and Tremblay (US 10,079,554).
Re claim 16, Crawford teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein a transistor is connected in parallel across each of the rectifier diodes of the third rectifier circuit.
Trembly teaches a device [Fig 1] wherein transistors [112a-112c] are connected in parallel across each of the rectifier diodes of the rectifier circuit [100]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Crawford to include the features of Tremblay because it is used to reduce voltage drop and power dissipation, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 17, Crawford teaches a first converter DC terminal [+ input to 245] connected to the second terminal of the third rectifier circuit; and a second converter DC terminal [- input to 245] connected to the first output terminal of the first rectifier circuit [Fig 2].
Claims 24 and 25, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford in view of Asa et al. (“Asa”, US 2021/0188106).
Re claim 24, Crawford teaches the DC power generator system of claim 23 [see claim 23]; and a DC bus connected to first and second converter DC terminals of the AC-DC converter circuit [terminals connected to 240] but does not teach an aircraft propulsion system.
Asa teaches a device used in an aircraft propulsion system [paragraph 193]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Crawford to include the features of Asa because it is used to reduce overall weight with operational flexibility, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 25, Crawford teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach a battery pack; and a DC-DC electric power converter connected between the battery pack and the DC bus.
Asa teaches a battery pack [134, Fig 40]; and a DC-DC electric power converter [392] connected between the battery pack and the DC bus. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Crawford to include the features of Asa because it is used to reduce overall weight with operational flexibility, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Claim 26, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford in view of Anghel et al. (“Anghel”, US 2023/0126186).
Re claim 26, Crawford teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach a gas turbine engine connected to the generator.
Anghel teaches a device [Fig 1] having a gas turbine engine connected to the generator [101, paragraph 14]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Crawford to include the features of Anghel because it is known for its high power-to-weight ratios with accurate reliability and low maintenance, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Claim 27, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford in view of Asa and Anghel.
Re claim 27, Crawford teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach a gas turbine engine connected to the generator.
Anghel teaches a device [Fig 1] having a gas turbine engine connected to the generator [101, paragraph 14]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Crawford to include the features of Anghel because it is known for its high power-to-weight ratios with accurate reliability and low maintenance, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or disclose:
Re claim 18 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “provide a second output DC supply across the first and second converter DC terminals from the first and third rectifier circuits when the first output switch is open and the second output switch is closed; provide a third output DC supply across the first and second converter DC terminals from the first and second rectifier circuits when the first output switch is closed and the second output switch is open; and provide a fourth output DC supply across the first and second converter DC terminals from the first, second and third rectifier circuits when the first and second output switches are closed” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 20 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “a third output diode connected between the first output terminal of the third rectifier circuit and the first converter DC terminal; and a third output switch connected between the first converter DC terminal and the second output terminal of the third rectifier circuit” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Conclusion
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/LaKaisha Jackson/
Examiner, Art Unit 2838