DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Levy et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 20200368380, from hereinafter “Levy”).
In regards to claim 1, Lev teaches an apparatus for decontaminating a target object (see, i.e., abstract), the apparatus comprising a body defining decontamination chamber (see FIG. 1, at least, the case is the body) a plurality of decontaminating light elements to emit decontaminating radiation in the decontamination chamber (plurality of ultraviolet lights 3781-378b, paragraphs 0071 teaches that these are lamps) and a transmissive mounting structure for supporting the target object in the decontamination chamber (FIGS. 5 and 7, support posts 184, paragraph 0051), the transmissive mounting structure comprising quartz glass (paragraph 0051 teaches quartz for the posts).
In regards to claim 2, Levy teaches that the plurality of decontaminating light elements comprise UVC light elements (paragraphs 0046-0051 at least).
In regards to claim 3, Levy teaches that the plurality of decontaminating light elements comprise UV bulbs or lamps comprising mercury (paragraph 0048 teaches OSRAM UV-C lamps-these comprise mercury).
In regards to claim 4, Levy teaches that the transmissive mounting structure comprises a platform to support the target object above the base of the body (FIG. 9, gripping supports 386 have this configuration in FIG. 5A) and the plurality of decontaminating light elements includes at least one decontaminating light element located below the transmissive mounting structure, wherein the transmissive mounting structure allows transmission of the decontaminating radiation from the at least one decontaminating light element to the target object (FIGS 8-9, lights 378a-378b are clearly below both types of support structure shown in FIG. 9).
In regards to claim 6, Levy teaches that the transmissive mounting structure comprises a transmissive post extending from a base (see, i.e., FIG. 9, support posts 384).
In regards to claim 13, Levy teaches an apparatus for decontaminating a target object (abstract) comprising a body including a base, a sidewall, a lid moveable to an open position and a closed position (see FIGS. 1-4, this is a carrying case in the Levy reference) wherein the body defines a decontamination chamber for receiving a target object (see FIG 1, the chamber is the interior of the case), a mounting structure extending from the base for supporting the target object spaced apart from the body (see, i.e., FIG. 1, support posts 184) and a plurality of decontaminating light elements to decontaminate the target object support supported by the mounting structure (plurality of ultraviolet lights 3781-378b, paragraphs 0071 teaches that these are lamps) .
In regards to claim 14, Levy teaches that the mounting structure comprises a cone-shaped structure (see FIGS 5A and 10, the mounting structures are at least somewhat conical in shape).
In regards to claim 16, Levy teaches that the plurality of decontaminating light elements includes a plurality of decontaminating light elements provided on the body (plurality of ultraviolet lights 3781-378b, paragraphs 0071 teaches that these are lamps) .
In regards to claim 17, Levy teaches that the plurality of decontaminating light elements comprise UVC light elements (paragraphs 0046-0051 at least).
In regards to claim 18, Levy teaches that the plurality of decontaminating light elements comprise UV bulbs or lamps comprising mercury (paragraph 0048 teaches OSRAM UV-C lamps-these comprise mercury).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Farren et al. (WO 2011/153288, from hereinafter “Farren”).
In regards to claims 9-12, Levy fails to explicitly teach that the apparatus is configured to achieve log 2 through log 5 of the at least one contaminant organism.
Farren teaches that the apparatus is configured to achieve log 2 through log 5 of the at least one contaminant organism (paragraphs 0236-0239).
In view of the teaching of Farren, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that the apparatus is configured to achieve log 2 through log 5 of the at least one contaminant organism. As Farren discusses, a log 5 reduction is 99.99% sterilization-very nearly 100% of all organisms are killed. As the highest possible sterilization is desired, this would have been obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7-8 as well as claim 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art fails to teach affixing the UV elements to the mounting structures themselves.
Conclusion
/NICOLE M IPPOLITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881