Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/08/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as file 06/27/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Claussen et al. US 2021/0215636 (Hereinafter Claussen) in view of Panat et al. US 2020/0112030 (Hereinafter Panat).
Regarding claim 1, Claussen teaches a sensor (Figs. 1-3, 23; Abstract; aerosol jet printing), comprising:
a detection surface (Figs. 1-3, 7, 23; graphene sensor).
Claussen does not specifically teach a 3D microstructure on the detection surface, wherein the 3D microstructure has a shape of a truss structure and comprises a nanoflake material.
However, Panat does teach a 3D microstructure (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; truss, trusses; from [0035]: “In preparation of the open lattice described herein, the open lattice structures are fabricated by an additive “3D printing” method. The method of 3D printing is selected for its ability to produce trusses as described herein with sufficient accuracy and precision to produce a useful lattice for purposes described herein.”) on the detection surface (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses), wherein the 3D microstructure has a shape of a truss structure (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses) and comprises a nanoflake material (Figs. 1-5; [0037, 0050]; Claim 8; graphene flakes).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of fabrication of high resolution, high-throughput electrochemical sensing circuits on a substrate of Claussen by implementing the teachings of Panat regarding a 3D microstructure on the detection surface, wherein the 3D microstructure has a shape of a truss structure and comprises a nanoflake material; for the purpose of “manufacturing a lattice electrode useful in an energy storage device such as a battery or capacitor” (See Panat; Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein Panat further teaches wherein the 3D microstructure (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses) is aligned in a direction of a conductive path between electrodes (Figs. 1-5; [0031-0035]; electrodes) of the sensor (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; 3D printing).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein Panat further teaches wherein the 3D microstructure is provided in plurality (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein Panat further teaches wherein the 3D microstructure comprises graphene flakes, molybdenum disulfide (MoS2), or silver nanoflowers (AgNFs) (Figs. 1-5; [0037, 0050]; Claim 8; graphene flakes).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the sensor of claim 4, wherein Panat further teaches wherein the graphene flakes are disposed in a multitude of orientations (Figs. 1-5; [0037, 0050]; Claim 8; graphene flakes).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein Claussen further teaches wherein the detection surface comprises graphene (Figs. 1-3, 7, 23; graphene sensor).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein the 3D microstructure is 3D printed on the detection surface (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the sensor of claim 7, wherein 3D printing of the 3D microstructure is performed using aerosol jet printing (Figs. 1-3, 23; Abstract; aerosol jet printing).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein Panat further teaches further comprising gold nanoparticles attached to the detection surface and the 3D microstructure ([0037, 0050, 0116]; gold).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the sensor of claim 9, wherein Claussen further teaches further comprising an antibody or protein structure attached to the gold nanoparticles ([0032, 0039, 0043-0051, 0072-0089, 0153, 0154]; antibody, protein, enzyme).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein Panat further teaches further comprising an antibody or protein structure attached to the detection surface and the 3D microstructure ([0032, 0039, 0043-0051, 0072-0089, 0153, 0154]; antibody, protein, enzyme).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein Panat further teaches wherein the sensor is a gas phase sensor ([0065-0067]; 3D printing method, mist/dense vapor).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the sensor of claim 12, wherein the sensor detects moisture ([0065-0067]; 3D printing method, mist/dense vapor).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches a method of manufacturing the sensor of claim 1 (See Rejection of Claim 1), wherein Panat further teaches the method comprising: depositing a planar film on electrodes (Figs. 1-5; [0031-0035]; electrodes); and printing (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; 3D printing) a nanoflake material-based truss structure on the planar film (Figs. 1-5; [0037, 0050]; Claim 8; graphene flakes).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the method of claim 14, wherein Panat further teaches wherein printing the nanoflake material-based (Figs. 1-5; [0037, 0050]; Claim 8; graphene flakes) truss structure (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses) on the planar film comprises performing aerosol jet printing ([0012, 0033, 0035]; aerosol jet printing).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the method of claim 14, wherein printing the nanoflake material-based truss structure (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses) on the planar film comprises: alternating printing of layers between a first side of the truss structure and a second side of the truss structure (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses) while decreasing lateral spacing of the layers until the nanoflake material-based truss structure is formed (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the method of claim 15, wherein Panat further teaches wherein ink for the performing of the aerosol jet printing comprises nanoflake material and water ([0065-0067]; 3D printing method, mist/dense vapor).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the method of claim 17, wherein Panat further teaches wherein the nanoflake material comprises graphene flakes, MoS2 flakes, or AgNFs (Figs. 1-5; [0037, 0050]; Claim 8; graphene flakes).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Claussen and Panat teaches the method of claim 14, wherein Panat further teaches wherein the truss structure is aligned in a direction of a conductive path between the electrodes of the sensor (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses).
Regarding claim 20, Claussen teaches a storage medium storing instructions that when executed by a printer (Figs. 1-3, 23; Abstract; aerosol jet printing, graphene sensor).
Claussen does not specifically teach direct the printer to: alternate printing of layers of ink between a first side of a truss structure forming a 3D microstructure and a second side of the truss structure while decreasing lateral spacing of the layers until the truss structure is formed, wherein the ink comprises nanoflake material.
However, Panat does teach direct the printer ([0012, 0033, 0035]; aerosol jet printing) to: alternate printing of layers of ink between a first side of a truss structure (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses) forming a 3D microstructure (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; truss, trusses; from [0035]: “In preparation of the open lattice described herein, the open lattice structures are fabricated by an additive “3D printing” method. The method of 3D printing is selected for its ability to produce trusses as described herein with sufficient accuracy and precision to produce a useful lattice for purposes described herein.”) and a second side of the truss structure (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses) while decreasing lateral spacing of the layers until the truss structure is formed (Figs. 1-5; [0005, 0006, 0033-0035]; plurality of trusses), wherein the ink comprises nanoflake material (Figs. 1-5; [0037, 0050]; Claim 8; graphene flakes).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of fabrication of high resolution, high-throughput electrochemical sensing circuits on a substrate of Claussen by implementing the teachings of Panat regarding direct the printer to: alternate printing of layers of ink between a first side of a truss structure forming a 3D microstructure and a second side of the truss structure while decreasing lateral spacing of the layers until the truss structure is formed, wherein the ink comprises nanoflake material; for the purpose of “manufacturing a lattice electrode useful in an energy storage device such as a battery or capacitor” (See Panat; Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dardona et al. US 2020/0253043 - A method of additively-manufacturing a flexible sensor system having a lattice topology includes a number of electrical interconnects, each having one or more electrically-conductive layers alternately sandwiched between two or more dielectric layers, and two or more sensors defining a sensor array, each sensor located at an intersection of and electrically connected to the interconnects on the lattice topology and electrically-connected to the interconnects.
Borini et al. US 2014/0196522 - An apparatus including first and second sensor elements, the first sensor element includes a first sensor material.
Potter et al. US 2017/0015064 - Disclosed are methods and apparatus for selectively sintering particulate material, the method comprising: providing a layer (6) of particulate material; providing an amount of a radiation absorbent material over a selected surface portion of the layer (6) of particulate material; providing an amount of a material that comprises a plurality of elongate elements (16) over at least part of the selected surface portion of the layer (6) of particulate material.
Conclusion
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858