DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/27/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki (US 20110013102), and further in view of Tatsuya (JP 2012155118).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazaki teaches an electro-optical device in fig. 9 comprising:
a transistor (refer to 351 in fig. 9);
a pixel electrode (refer to 352 in fig. 9) provided on a light incidence side of the transistor;
a lens layer (refer to 344A in fig. 9) provided in a layer between the transistor and the pixel electrode; and
a first relay layer (refer to 373 in fig. 10) that is provided in a layer between the lens layer and the pixel electrode and electrically connected to the pixel electrode (see fig. 10).
Miyazaki fails to teach the first relay layer includes WSi.
Tatsuya teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein a relay layer includes WSi.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to use WSi as the material of the first relay layer as taught by Tatsuya in the teaching of Miyazaki because Tungsten silicide is commonly known in the art to have a good electrical conductivity, high temperature stability and also limiting interaction with optical mode. Thus, it is a good material for the relay layer between the pixel electrode and lens layer.
Regarding claim 6, Miyazaki and Tatsuya teach all the limitations of claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Miyazaki teaches the electro-optical device according to claim 1 (see fig. 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest “a data line extending in a first direction; a scanning line extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction; and a second relay layer that is provided in a layer between the transistor and the lens layer and electrically connected to the first relay layer, wherein the second relay layer includes a main body portion overlapping the transistor in plan view, a first protruding portion protruding from the main body portion in the first direction, and a second protruding portion protruding from the main body portion in the second direction, and the main body portion, the first protruding portion, and the second protruding portion include WSi.” Claims 3-4 include all the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of a semiconductor fuse arrangement wherein “ a second relay layer that is provided in a layer between the transistor and the lens layer and electrically connected to the first relay layer, wherein the second relay layer includes a main body portion overlapping the transistor in plan view, a first protruding portion protruding from the main body portion in the first direction, and a second protruding portion protruding from the main body portion in the second direction, and the main body portion, the first protruding portion, and the second protruding portion include WSi” in combination of all of the limitations of claim 5.
Conclusion
/NIKI H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818