Election/Restrictions
2. Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-19, drawn to a component for an interior of a vehicle, classified in B60R7/00.
II. Claim 20, drawn to a method of providing interchange of data for a vehicle, classified in G06Q50/40.
3. The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case, the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process such as holding paper clips on a desk.
4. Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
--the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; --the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; and/or --the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
5. During a telephone conversation with Himanshu Amin on 6/29/26 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the Invention I, claims 1-19. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 20 has been withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Specification
6. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
7. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is too long and current contains 231 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-6, 8, 9, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Houal et al. (FR 3103432 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Houal discloses a component for an interior of a vehicle (vehicle not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for”) configured to contain an article containing data for the vehicle (article not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “configured to contain”) comprising: a housing (see “box”) comprising a compartment (see hollow space inside of box in Figure 1 or drawer 2); wherein the compartment is configured to contain the article (see “three cards (2), one of which (4) is linked to the vehicle key (10)” in Abstract, though the articles are still not being claimed in combination).
Regarding claim 2, Houal discloses the component of Claim 1 comprising a feature (see grooves 3 or drawer 2) configured to retain the article in the housing.
Regarding claim 3, Houal discloses the component of Claim 2 wherein the article comprises at least one of (a) a key; (b) an electronic key unit; (c) a card; (d) a card containing data; (e) a key card; (f) a fob; (g) a key fob; (h) a label; (i) a tag; (j) a data tag; (k) and electronic tag; (l) a detectable tag; (m) a scannable tag; (n) a scannable label; (o) a code; (p) a readable code; (q) a tag configured for data interchange with a data interchange device; (r) a tag configured for data interchange to a computing device; (s) a tag configured for data interchange to a mobile device. The article is still not being claimed in combination and Houal discloses three cards (2), one being a key card (4), held within the component (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Houal discloses the component of Claim 3 wherein the feature is configured to provide a receptacle for a key card (key card still not being claimed in combination); so that the key card is configured to be retained in the housing (grooves 3 retain the cards and the drawer 2 is also so capable).
Regarding claim 5, Houal discloses the component of Claim 4 wherein the feature comprises a retention feature comprising a L-shaped tab provided on the housing. The grooves 3 are provided by an L-shape formed from the feature that includes a portion of the sidewall and the inwardly projecting piece that forms the groove (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Houal discloses the component of Claim 3 wherein the feature (3) is configured to provide a slot (3) for a key card (key card still not being claimed in combination); wherein the slot comprises a gap (see Figure 1); wherein the key card is configured to be inserted into the gap of the slot for installation in the housing (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Houal discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the article comprises a key card (article/key card still not being claimed in combination); wherein the key card is configured to provide a cover for the housing (see Figure 1 where cards 2 cover the space beneath them); wherein the key card can be moved between a position (inserted within the slots 3) to cover the compartment and a position (removed from the slot 3) to uncover the compartment.
Regarding claim 9, Houal discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the housing comprises a projection (those which form grooves 3; or 4 as shown in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 11, Houal discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the projection (see 4 in Figure 5) comprises a tab; wherein the tab comprises a hole configured for a ring (as shown in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 12, Houal discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the housing (the drawer 2 can itself be considered the “housing” to the extent claimed) comprises an attachment feature configured to retain the housing in the interior of the vehicle; wherein the attachment feature comprises a projection (see drawer projections in Figure 3 that allow the drawer to slide into the box grooves 3).
Regarding claim 13, Houal discloses the component of Claim 1 further comprising a subassembly (see “glove box of the vehicle”) comprising the housing; wherein the subassembly is configured for installation in the interior of the vehicle (vehicle still not being claimed in combination).
Regarding claim 14, Houal discloses the component of Claim 13 wherein the housing is configured for installation in the subassembly by at least one of press-fit assembly and/or snap-fit assembly. Houal discloses the housing being fixed to the glove box “with a sticker” which would inherently involve pressing or “press-fit” to the extent claimed.
Regarding claim 15, Houal discloses the component of Claim 13 wherein the subassembly comprises at least one of (a) a cup holder; (b) a floor console; (c) a center console; (d) a door; (e) a cockpit; (f) an instrument panel; (g) a module for the article within the compartment. The glove box of Houal can be considered a “module” to the extent claimed.
Regarding claim 16, Houal discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the article containing data (article still not being claimed in combination) is configured for electronic data interchange and/or wireless data interchange (see wireless data interchange described in Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Houal discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the article containing data (article still not being claimed in combination) is configured for data interchange with a data interchange device (see wireless data interchange described in Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Houal discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the article containing data (article still not being claimed in combination) comprises a tag containing data; wherein data from the tag is configured for data interchange; wherein the tag comprises at least one of (a) an electronic tag configured for electronic/wireless data interchange and/or (b) a label configured to be detected by a data interchange device. While the article is still not being claimed in combination, Houal discloses the cards (2) including RFID tags (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Houal discloses the component of Claim 18 wherein the tag comprises an electronic tag for the article and/or a label on the article. The article/tag is still not being claimed in combination and Houal disclose the cards (2) including RFID tags (see Abstract).
11. Claims 1-9, 11, 12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Memelink (US 7,308,771 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Memelink discloses a component for an interior of a vehicle (vehicle not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for”) configured to contain an article containing data for the vehicle (article not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “configured to contain”) comprising: a housing (1) comprising a compartment (space therein); wherein the compartment is configured to contain the article (article still not being claimed in combination).
Regarding claim 2, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 1 comprising a feature (9/10) configured to retain the article in the housing.
Regarding claim 3, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 2 wherein the article comprises at least one of (a) a key; (b) an electronic key unit; (c) a card; (d) a card containing data; (e) a key card; (f) a fob; (g) a key fob; (h) a label; (i) a tag; (j) a data tag; (k) and electronic tag; (l) a detectable tag; (m) a scannable tag; (n) a scannable label; (o) a code; (p) a readable code; (q) a tag configured for data interchange with a data interchange device; (r) a tag configured for data interchange to a computing device; (s) a tag configured for data interchange to a mobile device. The article is still not being claimed in combination and Memelink teaches cards (8) being held.
Regarding claim 4, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 3 wherein the feature is configured to provide a receptacle for a key card (key card still not being claimed in combination); so that the key card is configured to be retained in the housing (9/10 retains the cards 8 within the receptacle see col. 3 lines 21-50).
Regarding claim 5, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 4 wherein the feature comprises a retention feature comprising a L-shaped tab (9) provided on the housing.
Regarding claim 6, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 3 wherein the feature (9) is configured to provide a slot (under 9) for a key card (key card still not being claimed in combination); wherein the slot comprises a gap (see Figures); wherein the key card is configured to be inserted into the gap of the slot for installation in the housing (see card 8 in Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 7, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 3 wherein the feature (9/10) is configured to clamp a key card to the housing (as described in col. 3 lines 21-50).
Regarding claim 8, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the article comprises a key card (article/key card still not being claimed in combination); wherein the key card is configured to provide a cover for the housing (see Figures 7 and 8 where cards 8 cover the space beneath them); wherein the key card can be moved between a position (inserted) to cover the compartment and a position (removed) to uncover the compartment.
Regarding claim 9, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the housing comprises a projection (see projections that include openings 12 and 13 in Figures).
Regarding claim 11, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the projection comprises a tab (see Figures); wherein the tab comprises a hole (12 or 13) configured for a ring.
Regarding claim 12, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the housing comprises an attachment feature (either of the projections that define/include openings 12 or 13) configured to retain the housing in the interior of the vehicle (nothing is stopping a user from choosing to use openings 12 or 13 to mount the housing within the interior of a vehicle as only functionally claimed); wherein the attachment feature comprises a projection.
Regarding claim 16, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the article containing data (article still not being claimed in combination) is configured for electronic data interchange and/or wireless data interchange (see magnetic card strip description in col. 1 lines 12-27).
Regarding claim 17, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the article containing data (article still not being claimed in combination) is configured for data interchange with a data interchange device (see magnetic card strip description in col. 1 lines 12-27).
Regarding claim 18, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the article containing data (article still not being claimed in combination) comprises a tag containing data; wherein data from the tag is configured for data interchange; wherein the tag comprises at least one of (a) an electronic tag configured for electronic/wireless data interchange and/or (b) a label configured to be detected by a data interchange device. The article/tag is still not being claimed in combination and nothing is stopping a user from inserting a card with such a tag into the holder of Memelink.
Regarding claim 19, Memelink discloses the component of Claim 18 wherein the tag comprises an electronic tag for the article and/or a label on the article. The article/tag is still not being claimed in combination and nothing is stopping a user from inserting a card with such a tag into the holder of Memelink.
12. Claims 1, 9, 10, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Acevedo et al. (US 2011/0220705 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Acevedo discloses a component for an interior of a vehicle (vehicle not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for”) configured to contain an article containing data for the vehicle (article not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “configured to contain”) comprising: a housing (30) comprising a compartment (space therein); wherein the compartment is configured to contain the article (article still not being claimed in combination).
Regarding claim 9, Acevedo discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the housing comprises a projection (58).
Regarding claim 10, Acevedo discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the projection comprises a tab (58); wherein the tab comprises a label (see Figure 3); wherein the label is configured to comprise data and/or information (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, Acevedo discloses the component of Claim 1 further comprising a subassembly (glove box 10) comprising the housing (30); wherein the subassembly is configured for installation in the interior of the vehicle (vehicle still not being claimed in combination).
Regarding claim 14, Acevedo discloses the component of Claim 13 wherein the housing is configured for installation in the subassembly by at least one of press-fit assembly and/or snap-fit assembly. Acevedo discloses a press-fit assembly to the extent claimed in [0028].
Regarding claim 15, Acevedo discloses the component of Claim 13 wherein the subassembly comprises at least one of (a) a cup holder; (b) a floor console; (c) a center console; (d) a door; (e) a cockpit; (f) an instrument panel; (g) a module for the article within the compartment. The glove box of Acevedo can be considered a “module” to the extent claimed.
Regarding claim 16, Acevedo discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the article containing data (article still not being claimed in combination) is configured for electronic data interchange and/or wireless data interchange. The article is still not being claimed in combination and nothing is stopping a user from inserting a card with wireless capabilities into the holder of Acevedo.
Regarding claim 17, Acevedo discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the article containing data (article still not being claimed in combination) is configured for data interchange with a data interchange device. The article/tag is still not being claimed in combination and nothing is stopping a user from inserting a card configured for data interchange into the holder of Acevedo.
Regarding claim 18, Acevedo discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the article containing data (article still not being claimed in combination) comprises a tag containing data; wherein data from the tag is configured for data interchange; wherein the tag comprises at least one of (a) an electronic tag configured for electronic/wireless data interchange and/or (b) a label configured to be detected by a data interchange device. The article/tag is still not being claimed in combination and nothing is stopping a user from inserting a card with such a tag into the holder of Acevedo.
Regarding claim 19, Acevedo discloses the component of Claim 18 wherein the tag comprises an electronic tag for the article and/or a label on the article. The article/tag is still not being claimed in combination and nothing is stopping a user from inserting a card with such a tag into the holder of Acevedo.
Conclusion
13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 7/1/26