The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an amendment filed on 2/17/2026. Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIRALERSPONG et al. (US 2023/0015466 Al) in view of Becker et al. (US 2010/0268458 Al) and in further view of Takeshi (JP 6327388 B2).
Regarding Claim 1 JIRALERSPONG teaches A method of displaying images on a display screen of a motor vehicle, (Pg. 23 – [0042] – “In addition, a display device or a speaker device is used to transmit information to a driver or the like” &see Also Pg. 21 – [0001] – “The present invention relates to a vehicle control system and a vehicle control method for changing a traveling position of a vehicle according to a visibility rate of an external environment sensor at the time of automatic driving or driving assistance control of a vehicle” ) said method being implemented by a display system comprising at least one first imager suitable for capturing images outside the vehicle, (Pg. 22 – [0038] –“an image sensor such as a camera that images the outside. In the own vehicle Vo of the present example, as the external environment sensor 2, a stereo camera and a millimeter wave radar are provided in the front, laser radars are provided on the left and right” (equates to said method being implemented by a display system comprising at least one first imager suitable for capturing images outside the vehicle as the quote shows the vehicle including camera outside of the vehicle for capturing the environment.)) at least one telemetry device for detecting obstacles, (Pg. 24 – [0051] –“ an object around the own vehicle is detected based on information obtained from the external environment sensor 2.” & See Also Pg. 22 – [0038] –“an image sensor such as a camera that images the outside. In the own vehicle Vo of the present example, as the external environment sensor 2, a stereo camera and a millimeter wave radar are provided in the front, laser radars are provided on the left and right” (equates to at least one telemetry device for detecting obstacles, as the quote shows the detection of objects is done by the environmental sensor which includes a radar sensor and thus a telemetry device. )) a processing unit connected to said at least one first imager and to said at least one telemetry device (Pg. 24 – [0052] –“ Furthermore, although details will be omitted, pre-processing such as filtering or feature extraction processing may be performed on the image acquired from the camera before inputting the image to the discriminator” & See Also Pg. 22 – [0038] – “The external environment sensor 2 is an apparatus that acquires information (also referred to as recognition information) of the outside of the own vehicle Y0 , and includes, for example, one or more of an optical wave sensor that detects an optical wave such as an infrared ray, and electromagnetic wave sensor that detects an electromagnetic wave such as a millimeter wave, and an image sensor such as a camera that images the outside.” & See Also Pg. 24 – [0056] –“ converts an image of the front of the own vehicle acquired from the external environment sensor 2 (stereo camera) illustrated in FIG. 3A into an overhead view image (at this time point, object Ob does not exist) illustrated in FIG. 3B through a known image processing method.” (equates to a processing unit connected to said at least one first imager and to said at least one telemetry device as the first quote shows the camera image being processed and the second quote shows the environmental sensors may include an Infrared camera and the last quote shows how the environmental sensor is put through processing for object detection.)): capturing images via said first imager, (Pg. 24 – [0052] –“ To specify the object, which type on the database the object belongs to is specified, for example by providing images acquired from a stereo camera to an discriminator machine learnt in advance” (equates to capturing images via said first imager as the quote shows the camera images being transmitted for processing and thus an image is taken to do so.)) detecting whether at least one obstacle is present via said telemetry device (Pg. 24 – [0051] –“ an object around the own vehicle is detected based on information obtained from the external environment sensor 2.” & See Also Pg. 22 – [0038] –“an image sensor such as a camera that images the outside. In the own vehicle Vo of the present example, as the external environment sensor 2, a stereo camera and a millimeter wave radar are provided in the front, laser radars are provided on the left and right” (equates to detecting whether at least one obstacle is present via said telemetry device as the quote shows an environmental sensor comprising a radar wherein the result of the sensor is used for object detection.)) and, when said at least one obstacle is present, receiving distance data between said at least one detected obstacle and the vehicle, (Pg. 24 – [0051] –“ In order to detect an object, for example, a millimeter wave radar is irradiated, and a radio wave reflected back by the object is detected, whereby the distance and direction to the object are detected. In another method, an object is detected based on whether or not a shape of a gauge mark detected by a distance sensor matches a shape of a template stored in advance.”) determining whether the quality of visibility outside the vehicle is below a defined threshold, (Pg. 22 – [0033] – “On the other hand, when the predicted visibility rate is less than or equal to the threshold value.”) determining whether predefined conditions representative of a hazard for the vehicle are met, (Pg. 22 – [0034] – “That is, by making it possible to sense a blind spot area created by the presence of the object, an object (potential risk) hidden behind something can be detected and the vehicle can be appropriately controlled so as to avoid a collision with the object” & See Also Pg. 24 – [0051] –“ In order to detect an object, for example, a millimeter wave radar is irradiated, and a radio wave reflected back by the object is detected, whereby the distance and direction to the object are detected. In another method, an object is detected based on whether or not a shape of a gauge mark detected by a distance sensor matches a shape of a template stored in advance.” (equates to determining whether predefined conditions representative of a hazard for the vehicle are met as the first quote shows how the vehicle is maneuvered away from the object based on the detection status ensuring a safe travel thus a determination of a hazard is made within the moving of the vehicle away from the obstacle, and wherein the second quote shows a distance away the vehicle is from the obstacle. This is in line with hazard conditions as the specification discloses the hazard sensing based on distance data – Specification - [0015]. )) the hazard originating from said at least one detected obstacle, (Pg. 22 – [0034] – “That is, by making it possible to sense a blind spot area created by the presence of the object, an object (potential risk) hidden behind something can be detected and the vehicle can be appropriately controlled so as to avoid a collision with the object”) said predefined conditions comprising at least the received distance data, (Pg. 24 – [0051] –“ In order to detect an object, for example, a millimeter wave radar is irradiated, and a radio wave reflected back by the object is detected, whereby the distance and direction to the object are detected. In another method, an object is detected based on whether or not a shape of a gauge mark detected by a distance sensor matches a shape of a template stored in advance.”) and when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are met and when the visibility quality is below the defined threshold, (Pg. 22 – [0034] – “That is, by making it possible to sense a blind spot area created by the presence of the object, an object (potential risk) hidden behind something can be detected and the vehicle can be appropriately controlled so as to avoid a collision with the object” & See Also Pg. 24 – [0051] –“ In order to detect an object, for example, a millimeter wave radar is irradiated, and a radio wave reflected back by the object is detected, whereby the distance and direction to the object are detected. In another method, an object is detected based on whether or not a shape of a gauge mark detected by a distance sensor matches a shape of a template stored in advance.” (Equates to when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are met as the distance of the object is used to determine the vehicle position with the external obstacle) & See Also Pg. 22 – [0033] – “On the other hand, when the predicted visibility rate is less than or equal to the threshold value.” (equates to when the visibility quality is below the defined threshold as a prediction about visibility or a determination is made here.))
Yet JIRALERSPONG fails to teach and a display screen connected to the processing unit, the display method comprising the following steps: displaying the captured images on an area of the display screen and superimposing, on these captured images and around said at least one detected obstacle, in real time, at least one synthesis image to signal said at least one detected obstacle. wherein when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are not met and when the visibility quality is less than said defined threshold, the method comprises a step of displaying the images captured by said first imager on said area of the display screen.
Becker teaches and a display screen connected to the processing unit (Pg. 2 - Fig. 1 – (162 & 176) & See Also Pg. 11 – [0032] – “The IPDF 160 comprises a flight computer 162 and a display device 176” & See Also Pg. 11 – [0032] – “The flight computer 162 is used to implement the image rendering engine 164. The image rendering engine 164 is implemented in software 168 that is executed by a suitable processor 172.” (equates to and a display screen connected to the processing unit as the display is provided within the 160 unit and the display is shown to be connected to the 162 computer wherein the computer has a processor.)) the display method comprising the following steps: displaying the captured images on an area of the display screen and superimposing, on these captured images and around said at least one detected obstacle, in real time, (Pg. 11 – [0032] – “image rendering engine 164 overlays the obstacle overlay image onto the terrain image” & See Also Pg. 11 & 12 – [0033] – “The display device 176 displays the composite image of the terrain image and the obstacle image overlay a user (such as a pilot).” & See Also Pg. 12 – [0035] – “The display device 176 displays the composite image to a pilot, and corrections for tilt of the aerial vehicle are made real-time.” & See Also Pg. 1 -Abstract – “Obstacle data pertaining to a set of obstacles ahead of the aerial vehicle is determined with a forward looking sensor. An obstacle overlay image is generated and overlain onto the terrain image to generate a composite image.” (equates to the display method comprising the following steps: displaying the captured images on an area of the display screen and superimposing, on these captured images and around said at least one detected obstacle, in real time, as the quotes show a display of an image comprising a captured image of the terrain and the superimposed version with the object on the terrain. Last quote shows the displaying of the image in real time.)) at least one synthesis image to signal said at least one detected obstacle. (Pg. 12 – [0041] – “FIGS. 3A-3D are images depicting examples of enhanced vision system (EYS) displays produced by the IPFD of FIG. 1. FIG. 3A is a pictorial representation of the obstacles detected by the forward looking radar 135. Among the obstacles detected are a fence 302-A, trucks 304-A, 306-A and 308-A, a helicopter 310-A and a house 312-A. FIG. 3B shows a radar image displayed by an EYS 100 corresponding to the obstacles detected by the forward looking radar 135 in FIG. 3A. In other words, FIG. 3B illustrates the same terrain image from FIG. 3A as well as the obstacle overlay image. Thus, the fence 302-A detected by the forward looking radar 135 in FIG. 3A is displayed as 302-B in FIG. 3B. Likewise the trucks 304-A, 306-A and 308-A appear as obstacles 304-B, 306-B and308-B, respectively. The helicopter 310-A shows up as obstacle 310-B and the house 312-A is displayed as obstacle 312-B” (equates to at least one synthesis image to signal said at least one detected obstacle as the specification discloses the synthesis image to contain “overlay representative of the identified obstacle” as seen by [0070] this quote shows an overlay image of the radar data being displayed of the detected objects wherein the images representing each object is displayed for the driver’s use.))
Yet Both fail to teach wherein when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are not met and when the visibility quality is less than said defined threshold, the method comprises a step of displaying the images captured by said first imager on said area of the display screen.
TAKESHI teaches wherein when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are not met and when the visibility quality is less than said defined threshold, the method comprises a step of displaying the images captured by said first imager on said area of the display screen. (Pg. 2 – “The present invention has been made to solve such a problem, and is capable of appropriately assisting visibility at the time of poor visibility regardless of day or night, a captured image display device, a captured image display method, and a captured image display program. The purpose is to provide” & See Also pg. 2 – “In the captured image display method according to the present invention, contrast information for each section having a large white image ratio in the image is obtained from the image captured by the first capturing unit (51, 102) that acquires an image in the visible light range. A step of acquiring, a step of determining that a contrast ratio for each section is less than a predetermined threshold, and a second image capturing for acquiring an image in an infrared light range for an image of a section having a contrast ratio of less than a predetermined threshold. A step of combining the images taken by the units (52, 102) and a step of displaying the combined images” & See Also Pg. 8 – “Situation example 1: Recognition of a non-illuminated range at night When the periphery of a vehicle is photographed using the visible light camera 51 and the infrared camera 52, a range in which light is not irradiated by the headlight of the vehicle or an external streetlight This makes it difficult to recognize the image of the visible light camera 51 and the driver's visual observation. In the range captured by the visible light camera 51, the contrast ratio is less than the threshold in a range where light is not irradiated by a headlight of an automobile, an external streetlight, or the like, so the image of the infrared camera 52 is synthesized and displayed.”(equates to wherein when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are not met and when the visibility quality is less than said defined threshold, the method comprises a step of displaying the images captured by said first imager on said area of the display screen as the third quote shows an example when the contrast ratio is below the threshold and thus the displaying of the synthesized image is generated but in the example given the hazard conditions are not met as it is simply a low lighting scenario and the first quote shows that the poor visibility is determined by a contrast ratio threshold and a synthesized image is generated based on the contrast ratio. )) it would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by _ to include wherein when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are not met and when the visibility quality is less than said defined threshold, the method comprises a step of displaying the images captured by said first imager on said area of the display screen as this allows a triggering of image display for low visibility conditions to be actualized even if a hazard is not present / detected for the vehicle traversing an area.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are not met and when the visibility quality is less than said defined threshold, the method comprises a step of displaying the images captured by said first imager on said area of the display screen as this ensures full visibility for the drvier in a plethora of scenarios in which a hazard may not be detected but the visibility is still low and the driver needs another set of eyes to assist.
Regarding Claim 2 JIRALERSPONG-Becker- Takeshi teaches (JIRALERSPONG discloses the following limitations:) The display method according to claim 1, further comprising, when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are not met or when the visibility quality is equal to or greater than the defined threshold, (Pg. 22 – [0033] – “a visibility rate indicating a ratio of an actual detection range with respect to a detectable range of the sensor is predicted based on the recognition result of the object, and when the predicted visibility rate is greater than or equal to a preset threshold value, the own vehicle YO automatically travels along the planned traveling trajectory” (equates to when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are not met or when the visibility quality is equal to or greater than the defined threshold as the threshold is shown to be greater than a predefined threshold.))
Yet both fail to teach displaying the images captured by the first imager on said area of the display screen.
Takeshi teaches displaying the images captured by the first imager on said area of the display screen (Pg. 1– [0021] – “And a display unit 108 and 60 for displaying an image synthesized by the synthesizing unit 106. The synthesizing unit 106 synthesizes an image photographed by the second photographing units 52 and 102.” (equates to displaying the images captured by the first imager on said area of the display screen as the quote shows image being displayed after being attained by the photographing units.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by JIRALERSPONG-Becker to include displaying the images captured by the first imager on said area of the display screen as this allows for an unmerged result to be displayed prior to the superimposed image being shown allowing for clarity of vision to be seen before interpreting the other data.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include displaying the images captured by the first imager on said area of the display screen as this limitation allows for a straight forward image of the surrounding environment to be displayed prior to the generated image being displayed.
Regarding Claim 7 JIRALERSPONG-Becker-Takeshi teaches (JIRALERSPONG discloses the following limitations:) The display method according to claim 1, wherein the step of determining whether predefined conditions have been met comprises the following steps: calculating the distance between said obstacle and the vehicle from the distance data (Pg. 24 – [0051] –“ In order to recognize an object, first, an object around the own vehicle is detected based on information obtained from the external environment sensor 2. In order to detect an object, for example, a millimeter wave radar is irradiated, and a radio wave reflected back by the object is detected, whereby the distance and direction to the object are detected. In another method, an object is detected based on whether or not a shape of a gauge mark detected by a distance sensor matches a shape of a template stored in advance.” (equates to wherein the step of determining whether predefined conditions have been met comprises the following steps: calculating the distance between said obstacle and the vehicle from the distance data as the quote shows a distance of the object being detected away from the vehicle. )), and comparing the calculated distance with a first defined distance value. (Pg. 27 – [0084] – “On the other hand, by applying the third example, even when the detectable range of the sensor is changed based on the weather, the lateral position of the own vehicle Y0 can be offset and a trajectory that is more easily sensed can be generated, so that traveling safety can be improved” & See Also Pg. 27 – [0083] – “In the first example, when the detectable range of the external environment sensor 2 is narrowed by the weather, there is a possibility that even the best visibility rate under the weather condition may not be greater than or equal to a default threshold value ( e.g., 80% ).” (equates to and comparing the calculated distance with a first defined distance value as the quote shows a detectable range of the sensor being impaired by the visibility and thus the range at which the object is detected is affected by the visibility whereby an offset or first defined distance that ensures safety of the trajectory can be implemented to move the host vehicle away from obstacle.))
Regarding Claim 9 JIRALERSPONG-Becker- Takeshi teaches (JIRALERSPONG discloses the following limitations:) The display method according to claim 1, wherein the step of determining whether predefined conditions have been met comprises the following steps: calculating an amplitude and/or orientation of the speed of said obstacle, (Pg. 28 – [0098] – “a safety area for avoiding collision with the object jumping out is calculated based on the collision danger calculated in step S21, the speed of the own vehicle Y0 , and the maximum speed of the object jumping out.” (equates to calculating an amplitude and/or orientation of the speed of said obstacle as the quote shows how the hazard or collision avoidance is done considering the maximum speed of the object nearby wherein the amplitude of the speed would be the maximum speed that the object is detected traveling at.)) and comparing the calculated amplitude with a defined amplitude and/or comparing the calculated orientation with a defined orientation range. (Pg. 28 – [0099] – “As illustrated in FIG. 15A, the safety area is an area defined by an inter-vehicle distance in a longitudinal direction extending from the own vehicle YO in the advancing direction and an inter-vehicle distance in a lateral direction extending perpendicularly to the advancing direction of the vehicle. In addition, the safety area changes depending on the speed of the own vehicle YO and the maximum speed of the object jumping out.” (equates to and comparing the calculated amplitude with a defined amplitude and/or comparing the calculated orientation with a defined orientation range as the range of the safe zone for vehicle passage is determined based on the speed of the object vehicle and therefor the amplitude of speed is compared to the range of safe travel and the range of safe travel is then set based on the amplitude of the speed of the object.))
Regarding Claim 10 JIRALERSPONG-Becker- Takeshi teaches (JIRALERSPONG discloses the following limitations:) The display method according to claim 1, wherein the step of determining the quality of visibility outside the vehicle is carried out based on images captured by the first imager and/or distance data received. (Pg. 25 – [0061] – “Subsequently, in step S3, the trajectory planning unit 63 calculates the actual detection range and the visibility rate (=actual detection range/detectable range) of the external environment sensor 2 at the reference target point Pl based on the input information from the external environment sensor 2, the recognition result from the recognizing unit 61, and the driving action information from the driving action planning unit 62.” (equates to wherein the step of determining the quality of visibility outside the vehicle is carried out based on images captured by the first imager and/or distance data received as the quote shows a detectable range and thus a distance data being received by the system for calculation of a visibility rate.))
Regarding Claim 11 JIRALERSPONG-Becker- Takeshi teaches (JIRALERSPONG discloses the following limitations:) The display method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one telemetry device comprises a radar, lidar or infrared light device. (Pg. 24 – [0051] –“ an object around the own vehicle is detected based on information obtained from the external environment sensor 2.” & See Also Pg. 22 – [0038] –“an image sensor such as a camera that images the outside. In the own vehicle Vo of the present example, as the external environment sensor 2, a stereo camera and a millimeter wave radar are provided in the front, laser radars are provided on the left and right”)
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIRALERSPONG-Becker and in view of Joachim (DE 102012020170 A1).
Regarding Claim 4 JIRALERSPONG-Becker-Takeshi teaches (JIRALERSPONG teaches the following limitations:) The display method according to claim 1, and when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are not met. (Pg. 28 – [0098] – “With the calculated safety area, it can be seen how long the inter-vehicle distance should be maintained in order not to collide with the own vehicle YO even if the object jumps out from the blind spot area.” (equates to and when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are not met as the conditions via which the hazard conditions are not met are when the distance of the obstacle is outside a range that would interfere with the host vehicle and this quote shows the distance being set as to not collide with the obstacle and thus the hazard conditions are not met))
Yet Both fail to teach wherein the display system further comprises a second imager installed inside the vehicle and adapted to capture images representing the driver of the vehicle, and wherein the method further comprises the following steps: capturing images via said second imager, determining the position of the vehicle drivers gaze from images captured via the second imager, and at least partially reducing a brightness of said area of the display screen when the determined gaze position is not directed toward said area of the display screen
JOACHIM teaches wherein the display system further comprises a second imager installed inside the vehicle and adapted to capture images representing the driver of the vehicle (Pg. 6 – “The sight line detection device 6 is able to detect by suitable means whether the driver is looking at the display device or not. In particular, the sight line detection device 6 be able, by suitable means a viewing direction of a driver of the motor vehicle 2 to recognize and compare them with a reference direction” (equates to wherein the display system further comprises a second imager installed inside the vehicle and adapted to capture images representing the driver of the vehicle as the quote shows a device that detects pupil movement of the driver and whether they are looking at the display )) and wherein the method further comprises the following steps: capturing images via said second imager, (Pg. 6 – “The sight line detection device 6 is able to detect by suitable means whether the driver is looking at the display device or not. In particular, the sight line detection device 6 be able, by suitable means a viewing direction of a driver of the motor vehicle 2 to recognize and compare them with a reference direction”) determining the position of the vehicle drivers gaze from images captured via the second imager, (Pg. 1 – “a line of sight detection device (6), which is designed to detect whether a driver is looking at the display device;” & See Also pg. 3 – “It is a sight-direction recognition device 6 provided with the control unit 5 in Connection stands. The sight line detection device 6 is able to detect by suitable means whether the driver is looking at the display device or not. In particular, the sight line detection device 6 be able, by suitable means a viewing direction of a driver of the motor vehicle 2 to recognize and compare them with a reference direction”(equates to determining the position of the vehicle drivers gaze from images captured via the second imager as the quote shows a capturing of the eye gaze of the driver by a imaging means other than the rear camera.)) and at least partially reducing a brightness of said area of the display screen when the determined gaze position is not directed toward said area of the display screen (Pg. 3 – [“One idea of the above display system or method is to reduce the brightness and / or contrast of a display on a display device when the display device is not in direct line of sight of the driver of the motor vehicle, i. H. if the driver's gaze is not directed at the display device. Only when the driver's gaze falls back onto the display device and the latter observes the display device is it lightened so that the information displayed there, such as, for example, the rear view behind the motor vehicle or the images of the traffic events taking place behind the vehicle, is clearly noticeable.” (equates to and at least partially reducing a brightness of said area of the display screen when the determined gaze position is not directed toward said area of the display screen as the quote shows tracking of the pupil movement of the driver and the driver looking away t reduce the brightness and only when the driver is in a scenario to view the screen to increase the brightness. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the method disclosed by JIRALERSPONG-Becker to include wherein the display system further comprises a second imager installed inside the vehicle and adapted to capture images representing the driver of the vehicle, and wherein the method further comprises the following steps: capturing images via said second imager, determining the position of the vehicle drivers gaze from images captured via the second imager, and at least partially reducing a brightness of said area of the display screen when the determined gaze position is not directed toward said area of the display screen as these limitations allow better feedback with the driver to be had within the system and understand how to modulate the display to minimally distract the driver and ensure a safe trip is had.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the display system further comprises a second imager installed inside the vehicle and adapted to capture images representing the driver of the vehicle, and wherein the method further comprises the following steps: capturing images via said second imager, determining the position of the vehicle drivers gaze from images captured via the second imager, and at least partially reducing a brightness of said area of the display screen when the determined gaze position is not directed toward said area of the display screen as these limitations allow for reduced power to be had by lowering the brightness when unnecessary and allowing for a bright display that isn’t consistently being used to be dimmed and away from the line of sight of the viewer while driving.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIRALERSPONG-Becker- Takeshi and in view of Chan et al. (US 9,849,784 Bl).
Regarding Claim 5 JIRALERSPONG-Becker- Takeshi teaches The display method according to claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet JIRALERSPONG-Becker fails to teach further comprising a step of generating said at least one synthesis image comprising at least one signaling feature suitable for signaling the presence of the obstacle, the signaling feature being one of an arrow, an icon, a geometric figure, an overlay of said obstacle and an outline of said obstacle.
Chan teaches further comprising a step of generating said at least one synthesis image comprising at least one signaling feature suitable for signaling the presence of the obstacle, the signaling feature being one of an arrow, an icon, a geometric figure, an overlay of said obstacle and an outline of said obstacle. (Pg. 17 – Fig. 14 – 1440 - “Generating a representation of the object for a scene display depicting the external environment of the vehicle, the representation of the object including a feature having a first color” & See Also Pg. 23 – Col. 5 – lines 31-32 - “FIG. 12 is additional example representations of objects in accordance with aspects of the disclosure.” & See Also Pg. 29 – Col. 18 – lines 65-66 – “example view 1200 of rings 1210 and 1212 which would surround a representation of a pedestrian” (equates to further comprising a step of generating said at least one synthesis image comprising at least one signaling feature suitable for signaling the presence of the obstacle, the signaling feature being one of an arrow, an icon, a geometric figure, an overlay of said obstacle and an outline of said obstacle as the quotes show a representation of objects or pedestrians in this case being represented by a geometric figure of a ring as seen by the fig. 12 and the last quote.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by JIRALERSPONG-Becker to include further comprising a step of generating said at least one synthesis image comprising at least one signaling feature suitable for signaling the presence of the obstacle, the signaling feature being one of an arrow, an icon, a geometric figure, an overlay of said obstacle and an outline of said obstacle as this limitation allows for a consistent way of easily representing known obstacles in the driving path for the vehicle and thus allowing for an easy representation of obstacles to be relayed to the driver for ease of viewing.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include further comprising a step of generating said at least one synthesis image comprising at least one signaling feature suitable for signaling the presence of the obstacle, the signaling feature being one of an arrow, an icon, a geometric figure, an overlay of said obstacle and an outline of said obstacle as this limitation allows for an easy way of representing known objects within a detectable range of space and thus an easily recognizable key to the driver to discerns between objects in the area quickly understanding each levels of importance.
Regarding Claim 6 JIRALERSPONG-Becker- Takeshi- Chan teaches The display method according to claim 5, as previously mapped above.
Yet JIRALERSPONG-Becker fails to teach which further comprising a step of identifying said obstacle from the distance data, and wherein the generating step comprises generating a signaling feature representative of the identified obstacle.
Chan teaches which further comprising a step of identifying said obstacle from the distance data (Pg. 23 – Col 6 – lines 45-49 – “the category of action for the object (moving in the same lane, merging, turning into the lane, etc.), whether the vehicle needs to take an action to avoid the object (change lanes, slow down, tum the wheels, etc.), distance from the vehicle” & See Also Pg. 17 – Fig. 14 & See Also Pg.30 – Col. 20 – lines 38-41 – “110. In this example, sensor data is received from a sensor configured to detect objects in an external environment of a vehicle at block 1410.” & See Also Pg. 30 – Col. 20 – lines 41 -42 – “An object in the vehicle's environment is identified at block 1420” (equates to which further comprising a step of identifying said obstacle from the distance data as the quote shows an object being detected in step 1410 and the data can be that of distance data as supplied from the first quote wherein the last quote shows an object being identified via the data provided at step 1410.)) and wherein the generating step comprises generating a signaling feature representative of the identified obstacle. (Pg. 30 – Col. 20 – lines 44-46 - “representation of the object is generated for a scene display depicting the external environment of the vehicle at block 1440” & See Also Pg. 29 – Col. 18 – lines 65-66 – “example view 1200 of rings 1210 and 1212 which would surround a representation of a pedestrian” (equates to and wherein the generating step comprises generating a signaling feature representative of the identified obstacle as the quote shows the representation being generated via an obstacle detected and the representation maybe be a signaling feature such as the rings provided in the second quote. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the method disclosed by JIRALERSPONG-Becker to include which further comprising a step of identifying said obstacle from the distance data, and wherein the generating step comprises generating a signaling feature representative of the identified obstacle as this limitation gives an active alert to a representation of the obstacles that may be encountered by the vehicle and thus allow for an easy visual queue of something to avoid within the trajectory plotted.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include which further comprising a step of identifying said obstacle from the distance data, and wherein the generating step comprises generating a signaling feature representative of the identified obstacle as these limitations allow for a simple representation of the detected object to be overlaid on the screen allowing for the driver to see the detected result in an easily digestible manor.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIRALERSPONG-Becker- Takeshi and in view of Sasaki (US 2020/0269660 Al) and in further view of Herman et al. (US 2023/0134302 Al).
Regarding Claim 8 JIRALERSPONG-Becker- Takeshi teaches (JIRALERSPONG discloses the following limitations:) The display method according to claim 1, calculating the distance between said obstacle and the vehicle from the distance data, (Pg. 24 – [0051] –“ In order to recognize an object, first, an object around the own vehicle is detected based on information obtained from the external environment sensor 2. In order to detect an object, for example, a millimeter wave radar is irradiated, and a radio wave reflected back by the object is detected, whereby the distance and direction to the object are detected. In another method, an object is detected based on whether or not a shape of a gauge mark detected by a distance sensor matches a shape of a template stored in advance.” (equates to wherein the step of determining whether predefined conditions have been met comprises the following steps: calculating the distance between said obstacle and the vehicle from the distance data as the quote shows a distance of the object being detected away from the vehicle. ))
Yet JIRALERSPONG-Becker fail to teach wherein the processing unit is adapted to receive at least one datum representative of the temperature outside the vehicle and at least one datum representative of the humidity outside the vehicle, and wherein the step of determining whether the predefined conditions have been met comprises the following steps: receiving at least one temperature datum and/or at least one humidity datum, comparing said temperature datum with at least one threshold temperature, and/or comparing said humidity datum with at least one threshold humidity, and when said temperature datum is lower than said threshold temperature and/or when said humidity datum is lower than said threshold humidity, comparing said calculated distance with a second defined distance value.
Sasaki teaches wherein the processing unit is adapted to receive at least one datum representative of the temperature outside the vehicle and at least one datum representative of the humidity outside the vehicle (Pg. 1 – Abstract– “A defogging device includes a temperature sensor, an infrared sensor, a surface temperature measuring unit, a humidity sensor, a dew point temperature measuring unit, and a fogging/dew condensation determining unit.” & See Also pg. 6 – [0018] - “a humidity sensor configured to measure humidity of the ambient environment of the object;… a temperature sensor configured to measure temperature of an ambient environment of the object;”) and wherein the step of determining whether the predefined conditions have been met comprises the following steps: receiving at least one temperature datum and/or at least one humidity datum, (Pg. 1 – Abstract– “According to one embodiment of the present invention, the hydrogen leak detector for a vehicle may include all of the components of the humidity measuring device for a vehicle, and may further include a temperature measuring element;”)
Yet all fail to teach comparing said temperature datum with at least one threshold temperature, and/or comparing said humidity datum with at least one threshold humidity, and when said temperature datum is lower than said threshold temperature and/or when said humidity datum is lower than said threshold humidity, comparing said calculated distance with a second defined distance value
Herman teaches comparing said temperature datum with at least one threshold temperature, and/or comparing said humidity datum with at least one threshold humidity, (Pg. 13 – [0065] – “while an outside temperature is below a temperature threshold, and to actuate a vehicle actuator 110 based on the determined water area 126.” (equates to comparing said temperature datum with at least one threshold temperature, and/or comparing said humidity datum with at least one threshold humidity, as the quote shows an outside temperature that is compared to a threshold temperature for further processing to take place.) and when said temperature datum is lower than said threshold temperature and/or when said humidity datum is lower than said threshold humidity, (Pg. 13 – [0065] – “while an outside temperature is below a temperature threshold, and to actuate a vehicle actuator 110 based on the determined water area 126.” (equates to and when said temperature datum is lower than said threshold temperature and/or when said humidity datum is lower than said threshold humidity as the quote shows the temperature being below a threshold.)) comparing said calculated distance with a second defined distance value. (Pg. 9 – [0016] – “We may alternatively perform a piecewise analysis ( e.g. piecewise integration) to update for any variation in the index of refraction as a function of height and distance. The results of this prediction may be compared to sensor image 102 data include road surface features, mirage mirroring features, polarization properties of the image, etc. to validate or augment our prior prediction. For example, in a particular pixel with a particular nominal ray, the path of the light ray may be predicted to intersect the road 100 surface but the properties of the pixel indicates that the light ray's path is an estimated position on the skydome one or more parameters of the empirical model may be adjust to achieve validation. More specifically in the case of linear variation of the index of refraction above the surface that is constant as a function of distance from the vehicle, one may adjust the index of refraction ratio to result” (equates to comparing said calculated distance with a second defined distance value as the quote shows the distance being included in a function I which a sensor gathers the distance data and compares to a prediction result. .))It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by JIRALERSPONG-Becker to include comparing said temperature datum with at least one threshold temperature, and/or comparing said humidity datum with at least one threshold humidity, and when said temperature datum is lower than said threshold temperature and/or when said humidity datum is lower than said threshold humidity as these limitations allow for a rigid setpoint to be used as a barometer for whether or not the external conditions should be considered for reconsidering a distance away the host vehicle travel from the object detected rather than solely machine learning and using fog density data to dynamically adjust the distance needed to be away from the obstacle.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include comparing said temperature datum with at least one threshold temperature, and/or comparing said humidity datum with at least one threshold humidity, and when said temperature datum is lower than said threshold temperature and/or when said humidity datum is lower than said threshold humidity as having a simple threshold allows from less processing power to be consumed when determining the distance away the vehicle should travel from the detected object.
Claim(s) 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIRALERSPONG-Becker-Takeshi and in further view of Li et al. (US 2020/0109954 Al).
Regarding Claim 12 JIRALERSPONG-Becker-Takeshi teaches (JIRALERSPONG teaches the following : )The display method according to claim 1, wherein determining the quality of visibility outside the vehicle comprises: searching for the presence of an obstacle by processing the captured images, (Pg. 1 – “the vehicle control system including a recognizing unit that recognizes an object at a periphery of the vehicle based on the recognition information;”)
Yet JIRALERSPONG-Becker-Takeshi fails to teach checking whether an obstacle has been detected by the telemetry device , if an obstacle has been detected by the telemetry device, and no obstacle has been detected by the image processing application, then determining that the quality of visibility outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold.
Li teaches checking whether an obstacle has been detected by the telemetry device , if an obstacle has been detected by the telemetry device, and no obstacle has been detected by the image processing application, then determining that the quality of visibility outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold. (Pg. 39 – [0430] – “For example, under foggy conditions, if visibility is determined to fall below a threshold based upon image data collected by the vision sensors, the data from the vision sensors may be deemed unreliable, and may not be used in the sensor fusion ( or alternatively, assigned a low weight in the sensor fusion). Under these foggy conditions, only the data from the lidar sensors may be used for obstacle detection” (equates to whether an obstacle has been detected by the telemetry device , if an obstacle has been detected by the telemetry device, and no obstacle has been detected by the image processing application, then determining that the quality of visibility outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold. As the lidar or telemetry device is detected to have observed an object but the camera is determined by the recognition unit to not have detected an object and thus the weighting assigned to the camera is low and the visibility threshold is defined as low.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by JIRALERSPONG-Becker-Takeshi to include checking whether an obstacle has been detected by the telemetry device , if an obstacle has been detected by the telemetry device, and no obstacle has been detected by the image processing application, then determining that the quality of visibility outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold. As these limitations ensure that if the recognition unit cannot feasibly determine object but a telemetry device can a simple means of deeming low visibility is attained.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include checking whether an obstacle has been detected by the telemetry device , if an obstacle has been detected by the telemetry device, and no obstacle has been detected by the image processing application, then determining that the quality of visibility outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold as these limitation ensure a check to the telemetry device is done and if a recognition is failed then a visibility quality can be determined while the telemetry still detects the object.
Claim(s) 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIRALERSPONG-Becker-Takeshi and in further view of KAZUMA et al. (JP 2017-182104 A).
Regarding Claim 13 JIRALERSPONG-Becker-Takeshi teaches The display method according to claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet _ fails to teach wherein determining the quality of visibility outside the vehicle comprises :determining the brightness level of at least some of the images captured by the first imager - comparing this brightness level with a defined threshold brightness, if the brightness level is below the defined threshold brightness, then determining that the visibility quality outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold.
_ teaches wherein determining the quality of visibility outside the vehicle comprises :determining the brightness level of at least some of the images captured by the first imager (Pg. 1 – “moving body interval presentation device 10 has an image acquisition unit 17 that acquires an image obtained by capturing a moving direction of a moving body, and a visibility situation when a brightness index based on the image is within a predetermined range.”) comparing this brightness level with a defined threshold brightness (Pg. 3 - In step S1, the visibility state determination unit 19 determines whether it is dazzling, that is, whether the brightness exceeds the threshold value TH4 (step S1).) if the brightness level is below the defined threshold brightness, then determining that the visibility quality outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold. (Pg. 3 - If it determines with the visibility condition determination part 19 not being dazzling in step S1 (step S1: NO), it will be determined in step S2 whether it is dark, ie, brightness is less than threshold value TH3 (step S2). 7 See Also pg. 3 - The visual field situation determination unit 19 determines that the visual field situation is bad (step S3) when it is determined that it is dazzling in step S1 (step S1: YES) or is dark in step S2 (step S2: YES). When the visibility situation determination unit 19 determines that the visibility situation is bad, the determination result is transmitted to the recommended inter-vehicle distance presentation unit 21 (step S4), and the routine ends (equates to if the brightness level is below the defined threshold brightness, then determining that the visibility quality outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold.as the quote shows the brightness being deemed dark and visibility being deemed bad or low. )) it would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by _ to include wherein determining the quality of visibility outside the vehicle comprises :determining the brightness level of at least some of the images captured by the first imager - comparing this brightness level with a defined threshold brightness, if the brightness level is below the defined threshold brightness, then determining that the visibility quality outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold as these limitations allow for brightness to be the measure of visibility rather than just fog or surrounding conditions to be used.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein determining the quality of visibility outside the vehicle comprises :determining the brightness level of at least some of the images captured by the first imager - comparing this brightness level with a defined threshold brightness, if the brightness level is below the defined threshold brightness, then determining that the visibility quality outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold as this allows for a variety of ambient conditions to allow for a deemed low visibility threshold and thus ensure that a plurality of driving conditions can utilized the implemented method.
Claim(s) 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIRALERSPONG-Becker-Takeshi and in further view of KAZUMA et al. (JP 2017-182104 A) and in further view of EWERHART, (DE 10146786 B4)
Regarding Claim 14 JIRALERSPONG-Becker-Takeshi teaches The display method according to claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet JIRALERSPONG-Becker-Takeshi fails to teach wherein determining the quality of visibility outside the vehicle comprises: determining the brightness level by a vehicle brightness sensor comparing this brightness level with a defined threshold brightness, if the brightness level is below the defined threshold brightness, then determining that the visibility quality outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold.
KAZUMA teaches comparing this brightness level with a defined threshold brightness a predetermined range.”) comparing this brightness level with a defined threshold brightness (Pg. 3 - In step S1, the visibility state determination unit 19 determines whether it is dazzling, that is, whether the brightness exceeds the threshold value TH4 (step S1).) ,if the brightness level is below the defined threshold brightness, then determining that the visibility quality outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold. (Pg. 3 - If it determines with the visibility condition determination part 19 not being dazzling in step S1 (step S1: NO), it will be determined in step S2 whether it is dark, ie, brightness is less than threshold value TH3 (step S2). 7 See Also pg. 3 - The visual field situation determination unit 19 determines that the visual field situation is bad (step S3) when it is determined that it is dazzling in step S1 (step S1: YES) or is dark in step S2 (step S2: YES). When the visibility situation determination unit 19 determines that the visibility situation is bad, the determination result is transmitted to the recommended inter-vehicle distance presentation unit 21 (step S4), and the routine ends (equates to if the brightness level is below the defined threshold brightness, then determining that the visibility quality outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold.as the quote shows the brightness being deemed dark and visibility being deemed bad or low. ))
Yet all fail to teach determining the brightness level by a vehicle brightness sensor
EWERHART, teaches determining the brightness level by a vehicle brightness sensor (Device for the automatic switching of lighting devices of a vehicle with a sensor device (20), by which the ambient brightness of the vehicle is determined). It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by JIRALERSPONG-Becker-Takeshi-Kazuma to include determining the brightness level by a vehicle brightness sensor as this limitation ensures a means other than processing image data can be used for brightness level determination.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include determining the brightness level by a vehicle brightness sensor as this allows for a smaller computational load to be realized by the method as a used of designated sensor may alleviate computation resources done by image recognition techniques.
Response to Arguments
Response to Characterization of Prior Art Section. Applicant’s arguments have been considered and are persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 1 – “Both the Non-Final and Final Office Actions cite the following two references, which are not prior art to the present application: Srivastav (US 2025/0010855 Al) and Azuma (JP7735941B2). Srivastav was brought to the Examiner's attention in our last filed response, yet is still being cited and was not addressed in the Response to Arguments. The rejections based on these references need to be withdrawn, as our application has a priority date of June 28, 2023 and Srivastav was filed Sept. 25, 2024 and the Azuma application published on Dec. 25, 2023. "The contents of a foreign patent application should not be relied upon as prior art until the date of publication (i.e., the insertion into the laid open application) can be confirmed by an examiner's review of a copy of the document." MPEP 2127. Accordingly, neither Azuma nor Srivastav are prior art to the present application, and the rejections based on those references need to be withdrawn.” - As to point A the examiner agrees. The prior two references of Srivastav (US 2025/0010855 Al) and Azuma (JP7735941B2) were not proper and have ben removed entirely from the current action.
Applicant argues on Page 2-3, “Additionally and separately, claim 1 does not merely require displaying images sometimes with an obstacle marking and sometimes without one. Rather, the claimed method requires dynamic control between two distinct display states, both occurring when the visibility quality outside the vehicle is below the defined threshold. In a first state, when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are met, the captured images are displayed and a synthesis image is superimposed, in real time, on the captured images and around the detected obstacle. In a second state, when the predefined conditions representative of a hazard are not met, the captured images are displayed on the same display area without the hazard-triggered synthesis-image superposition.
This relationship between the determination of a hazard, visibility conditions falling below a threshold, and the presence or absence of a superimposed computer- generated image yields a significant technical effect. The specification explains that "[t]he display method only displays an augmented reality feature for the detected obstacle when there is a potential collision hazard," thereby reducing driver cognitive load and energy consumption, and making the driver more receptive to hazard warnings (See specification, paragraph [0008]). When the predefined hazard conditions are not met, the system displays "only the captured images" and "does not superimpose a synthesis image" on those captured images (See specification, paragraphs [0049] and [0073]).
Jiralerspong does not teach or suggest this conditional two-state display logic. Jiralerspong predicts a "visibility rate" defined as a ratio of an actual detection range to a detectable range of an external environment sensor, and when the predicted visibility rate is below a threshold, Jiralerspong replans the vehicle travel trajectory so that the visibility rate becomes greater than the threshold (See paragraphs [0033], [0054], and [0057]).
Thus, the visibility-rate determination in Jiralerspong is used for trajectory planning, not for selecting between an overlaid display state and a non-overlaid display state. Jiralerspong's HMI device likewise does not teach the claimed display control. It is described as displaying a target route, destination guidance, driving mode, and traveling state, while a speaker may transmit guidance, alarms, alerts, or driving-operation instructions (See paragraph [0042]). These disclosures do not teach displaying captured images with a real-time synthesis image around a detected obstacle in one low-visibility hazard state, and displaying the captured images without that synthesis image in a second low-visibility no-hazard state.
Becker does not cure these deficiencies. Becker concerns an enhanced vision system for an aerial vehicle. Becker determines the position of the aerial vehicle, generates a terrain image corresponding to ground features, determines obstacle data using a forward-looking sensor, and overlays an obstacle overlay image onto the terrain image to generate a composite image (See paragraph [0010]). Becker further describes an integrated primary flight display that is a synthetic vision system, in which an image rendering engine overlays an obstacle overlay image onto a terrain image or terrain map (See paragraphs [0032], [0035], and [0046]). Becker does not teach selectively activating and suppressing that overlay based on the claimed combination of a hazard determination and a below-threshold visibility condition. Nor does Becker teach the claimed second display state in which, while visibility remains below the threshold, captured images are displayed without the synthesis-image superposition because the predefined hazard conditions are not met.
The proposed combination therefore reconstructs Applicant's claims from isolated non-analogous functions. Jiralerspong provides a trajectory-planning response to sensor visibility limitations. Becker provides an aviation synthetic-vision composite image. Jiralerspong does not teach or suggest the need or the advantage to create "a visual feedback way of interpreting the surroundings that the driver may not see immediately without the sensors installed into the vehicle". Neither document provides an articulated reason with rational underpinning to modify Jiralerspong's trajectory-planning system into a selective visual-alert system that dynamically turns an obstacle synthesis image on8 or off in captured vehicle images depending on whether predefined hazard conditions are met while visibility quality is below the threshold. That modification is not taught or suggested by the cited references and can be reached only with impermissible hindsight. In view of the above, independent claim 1, as well as the corresponding dependent claims, are in condition for allowance in view of the combination of Jiralerspong and Becker.” - Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on page 3 – “Claims 12-14 are new and depend from claim 1. Support for the new claims can be found at least at paragraphs [0046]-[0048] of the present application, and these claims are in condition for allowance for at least the same reasons as claim 1 is patentable.” - Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US12384299 . - The system also performs object detection to inform a driver of possible objects obstructing a path of the vehicle and/or feed into a recommendation algorithm for recommending a path trajectory via the visualization. Additionally, the visualization may be enhanced with overlay information (e.g., user interface elements representing vehicle trajectory guidelines, detected objects, etc.).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
11/2/26