DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3-4, 8-13 and 16-18, each of the claims state “and/or”. The use of the phrase “and/or”, renders the claims indefinite because it is not clear if all the limitations in the claims are examined together with the use of “and” or as an option between limitations with the use of “or”.
For examination purposes, the examiner is taking a position that the claims are using “or” and not “and”. Since claims 5-7 depend from claim 4 and claim 14 depends from claim 8, they also are rejected for the above reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al (US Patent 11,398,172).
Regarding claim 1, Gao et al disclose [see Fig. 2] a display panel, having a display region, and comprising in the display region: a plurality of data lines (data lines 11, 111-113), a plurality of test switches (test switches 21), a plurality of test signal lines (test signal lines 22) and a plurality of test control lines (test control lines 23); wherein one of the plurality of test switches (21) includes an input terminal [shown but not numbered] electrically connected to one of the plurality of test signal lines (22), an output terminal electrically connected to one of the plurality of data lines (11, 111-113), and a control terminal [shown but not numbered] electrically connected to one of the plurality of test control lines (23).
Regarding claim 2, Gao et al disclose wherein the plurality of data lines (11, 111-113) is arranged along a first direction; in the display region, the display panel further comprises a plurality of pixel circuit groups (pixels 10) arranged along a second direction, one of the plurality of pixel circuit groups (10) comprises a plurality of pixel circuits (sub pixels 101-103) arranged along the first direction, and the second direction intersects the first direction; and along the second direction, a spacing region is formed between two adjacent pixel circuit groups (10) of the plurality of pixel circuit groups (10); wherein the plurality of test switches (21) is located in the spacing region.
Regarding claim 3, Gao et al disclose wherein the plurality of test switches electrically connected to a same test signal line is located in a same spacing region; or wherein the plurality of test switches (21) electrically connected to at least two different test signal lines (22) are located in a same spacing region.
Regarding claim 4, Gao et al disclose wherein the plurality of test switches (21) electrically connected to different test signal lines (22) are located in different spacing regions; or wherein the plurality of test signal lines and the plurality of test control lines are located in the spacing region.
Regarding claim 5, Gao et al disclose wherein the plurality of data lines (11, 111-113) is arranged along a first direction; and the test signal line (22) and the test control line (23) are in a same layer and extend along the first direction.
Regarding claim 6, Gao et al disclose wherein at least two of the plurality of test switches (21) located in a same spacing region and electrically connected to different test signal lines (22) are electrically connected to a same test control line (23).
Regarding claim 7, Gao et al disclose wherein the plurality of test switches (21) electrically connected to a same test control line (23) and electrically connected to different test signal lines (22) are located on two sides of one of the plurality of test control lines (23).
Regarding claim 15, Gao et al disclose wherein in the display region, the display panel further comprises light-emitting devices [see col. 4, line 32- col. 5, line 8] and pixel circuits (101-103), the light-emitting devices [see col. 4, line 32- col. 5, line 8] comprise a first color light-emitting device [see col. 4, lines 64-65] and a second color light-emitting device [see col. 4, lines 65-66] that have different light-emitting colors, the pixel circuits (101-103) comprise a first pixel circuit (101) and a second pixel circuit (102), the first pixel circuit (101) is electrically connected to the first color light-emitting device [see col. 4, lines 64-65], and the second pixel circuit (102) is electrically connected to the second color light-emitting device [see col. 4, lines 65-66]; the plurality of data lines (11, 111-113) comprises a first data line (111) and a second data line (112), the first data line (111) is electrically connected to the first pixel circuit (101), and the second data line (112) is electrically connected to the second pixel circuit (102); the plurality of test switches (21) comprises first test switches (211) and second test switches (212), an output terminal of one of the first test switches (211) is electrically connected to the first data line (111), and an output terminal of one of the second test switches (212) is electrically connected to the second data line (112); wherein the first test switches (211) and the second test switches (212) are electrically connected to different test signal lines (22) of the plurality of test signal lines (22), respectively.
Regarding claim 16, Gao et al disclose wherein at least two of the first test switches (211) are connected to a same test signal line (221), or at least two of the second test switches are connected to a same test signal line.
Regarding claim 17, Gao et al disclose wherein at least two of the first test switches (211) are electrically connected to different test signal lines (221 & 222), or at least two of the second test switches (212) are electrically connected to different test signal lines (221 & 222).
Regarding claim 18, Gao et al disclose wherein the first test switches (211) connected to different test signal lines (221 & 222) are electrically connected to different test control lines (23); or, the second test switches (212) connected to different test signal lines (221 & 222) are electrically connected to different test control lines (23).
Regarding claim 19, Gao et al disclose wherein a width of the test signal line (22) is greater than a width of the test control line (23).
Regarding claim 20, Gao et al disclose [see Fig. 2] a display apparatus, comprising a display panel, wherein the display apparatus has a display region, and comprising in the display region: a plurality of data lines (data lines 11, 111-113), a plurality of test switches (test switches 21), a plurality of test signal lines (test signal lines 22) and a plurality of test control lines (test control lines 23); wherein one of the plurality of test switches (21) input terminals includes an input terminal [shown but not numbered] electrically connected to the test signal line (22), an output terminal electrically connected to one of the plurality of data lines (11, 111-113), and a control terminal [shown but not numbered] electrically connected to the test control line (23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Since claims 9-14 depend from claim 8, they also have allowable subject matter.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 8, the primary reason for the allowance of the claim is due to a plurality of control connection lines and a first pin, wherein the plurality of test control lines is connected to the first pin through the plurality of control connection lines; or a plurality of signal connection lines and a second pin, wherein the plurality of test signal lines is connected to the second pin through the plurality of signal connection lines. Since claims 9-14 depend from claim 8, they also have allowable subject matter.
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858