DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-11, 19-20 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey (US 9643233 B2) in view of Yu (US 20100319880 A1).
As to Claim 1, Bailey discloses:
A multi-directional heatsink cooling system for cooling a device (cooling system for server 106; Fig. 1b), the multi-directional heatsink cooling system comprising:
a heatsink base 258 in a first plane (258 base of heatsink 248, see Fig. 4a), the heatsink base 258 connected to a device requiring cooling 204a-204b (col. 8, Lines 1-3 “a base 258 with a conductive surface 260 for receiving thermal energy from a compute component 204a-204b (FIG. 3A) such as a CPU”);
a plurality of heatsink fins (finest 262) attached to the heatsink base 258 in a perpendicular or parallel orientation to the first plane (fins 264 of finest 262 are perpendicular to base 258), the plurality of heatsink fins 262 arranged to accept external cooling in multiple directions (see first 209 and second 211 air flows of Fig. 4a);
two or more air diverters (highlighted portions of shroud 232), each air diverter associated with cooling the plurality of heatsink fins 262 in a single air path of a plurality of air paths (first highlighted portion directs 211, second directs 209), each air path associated with exactly one of the multiple directions of the heatsink fins 262 and thereby cool the plurality of heatsink fins 262 (211 in one direction, 209 in other direction).
Bailey does not disclose:
a plurality of heat pipes extending through the plurality of heatsink fins, the plurality of heat pipes connected to the heatsink base.
However, Yu discloses:
a plurality of heat pipes 32,34 extending through the plurality of heatsink fins (fins 21-23), the plurality of heat pipes 32,34 connected to the heatsink base 10 (Par. 0012 “The heat dissipation device includes a base 10 thermally connecting with electronic component(s) (not shown) for absorbing heat therefrom, a heat sink 20 mounted on the base 10 and a heat pipe unit 30”);
in order to quickly absorb and transfer heat (Par. 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bailey as further suggested by Yu e.g., providing:
a plurality of heat pipes extending through the plurality of heatsink fins, the plurality of heat pipes connected to the heatsink base;
in order to quickly absorb and transfer heat.
As to Claim 2, the obvious modification of Bailey in view of Yu discloses:
wherein one or more cooling fans are associated with each air path 209,211 of the plurality of air paths (col. 8, Lines 25-28 “the first air flow 209 is supported by one or more dedicated fans and the second air flows 211 is supported by one or more dedicated fans”; Bailey).
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Bailey in view of Yu discloses:
wherein the device requiring cooling 204a is an electronic device (col. 8, Lines 3 “compute component 204a-204b (FIG. 3A) such as a CPU”; Bailey).
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Bailey in view of Yu discloses:
wherein the device requiring cooling is a motherboard or a graphical card (col. 6, Lines 46-48 “204a-204d (FIG. 3A) that are mounted to a bottom surface 253 of the server chassis 202 or a motherboard 254 on the bottom surface 253”; 204a mounted on motherboard; Bailey).
As to Claim 7, the obvious modification of Bailey in view of Yu discloses:
wherein the plurality of heatsink fins (fins 264 of finest 262 of Bailey) are stacked parallel to one another in a single plane (264 are stacked horizontally in a single plane).
As to Claim 8, the obvious modification of Bailey in view of Yu discloses:
wherein the plurality of heatsink fins 264 are stacked via one or more stacking features molded into each heatsink fin 264 of the plurality of heatsink fins (each fin 264 of finest 262 are attached to base 258 and stacked horizontally, brazing or press fitting provides a molded feature on each fin to provide stacking/attaching to base; col. 8, Lines 9-11 “Each cooling fin 264 is attached to the base 258 by solder brazing or press fitting”; Bailey).
As to Claim 9, the obvious modification of Bailey in view of Yu discloses:
wherein the plurality of heatsink fins (21-23 of Yu, correspond to 264 of Bailey) are perforated with a plurality of apertures (through holes 24, 27), and one or more of the apertures 24,27 provide for the heat pipes 32,34 to extend through the plurality of heatsink fins 21-23 (Par. 0018 “the condensing sections 322 of the first heat pipes 32 can be received in the first through holes 24”; “The condensing sections 342 of the second heat pipes 34 can be received in the second through holes 27”; Yu).
As to Claim 10, the obvious modification of Bailey in view of Yu discloses:
wherein the heat pipes (32,34 of Yu) are soldered or brazed to the heatsink fins 21-23 and the heatsink base 10 (Par. 0021 “Since the solidified soldering layers 40 can well fill up the air clearances between the heat pipes 32, 34 and the base 10, a lowest thermal resistance between the heat pipe 32, 34 and the base 10 is obtained”; at least indirectly soldered to fins via soldering to base 10; Yu).
As to Claim 11, the obvious modification of Bailey in view of Yu discloses:
wherein the heatsink base (258 of Bailey), the plurality of heatsink fins (264 Bailey), and the heat pipes (32,34 of Yu) are bonded via a heating process (col. 8, Lines 9-10 “Each cooling fin 264 is attached to the base 258 by solder brazing”; Bailey; Par. 0021 “Since the solidified soldering layers 40 can well fill up the air clearances between the heat pipes 32, 34 and the base 10, a lowest thermal resistance between the heat pipe 32, 34 and the base 10 is obtained”; Yu; soldering/solder brazing involves heat).
As to Claim 19, Bailey discloses:
A multi-directional heatsink cooling system for cooling a device (cooling system for server 106; Fig. 1b), the multi-directional heatsink comprising:
a heatsink base 258 in a first plane (258 base of heatsink 248, see Fig. 4a), the heatsink base 258 connected to a device requiring cooling 204a-204b (col. 8, Lines 1-3 “a base 258 with a conductive surface 260 for receiving thermal energy from a compute component 204a-204b (FIG. 3A) such as a CPU”);
a plurality of heatsink fins (finest 262) attached to the heatsink base 258 in a perpendicular or parallel orientation to the first plane (fins 264 of finest 262 are perpendicular to base 258), the plurality of heatsink fins 262 arranged to accept external cooling in multiple directions (see first 209 and second 211 air flows of Fig. 4a);
two or more air diverters (highlighted portions of shroud 232), each air diverter associated with cooling the plurality of heatsink fins 262 in a single air path of a plurality of air paths (first highlighted portion directs 211, second directs 209), each air path associated with exactly one of the multiple directions (211 in one direction, 209 in other direction),
wherein the plurality of heatsink fins 262 are formed in two or more different shapes (see Fig. 4a, fins 264 on near and far side are different shape than fins in middle portion) to allow the plurality of heatsink fins 262 to separate air from different air paths 209,211 in order to enhance cooling of the heatsink fins 262 (present construction with different shaped fins allows for both air paths 209,211 to pass through finest 262 and provide cooling).
Bailey does not disclose:
a plurality of heat pipes extending through the plurality of heatsink fins, the plurality of heat pipes connected to the heatsink base.
However, Yu discloses:
a plurality of heat pipes 32,34 extending through the plurality of heatsink fins (fins 21-23), the plurality of heat pipes 32,34 connected to the heatsink base 10 (Par. 0012 “The heat dissipation device includes a base 10 thermally connecting with electronic component(s) (not shown) for absorbing heat therefrom, a heat sink 20 mounted on the base 10 and a heat pipe unit 30”);
in order to quickly absorb and transfer heat (Par. 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bailey as further suggested by Yu e.g., providing:
a plurality of heat pipes extending through the plurality of heatsink fins, the plurality of heat pipes connected to the heatsink base;
in order to quickly absorb and transfer heat.
As to Claim 20, the obvious modification of Bailey in view of Yu discloses:
wherein one or more cooling fans are associated with each air path 209,211 of the plurality of air paths (col. 8, Lines 25-28 “the first air flow 209 is supported by one or more dedicated fans and the second air flows 211 is supported by one or more dedicated fans”; Bailey).
As to Claim 23, the obvious modification of Bailey in view of Yu discloses:
wherein the device requiring cooling 204a is an electronic device (col. 8, Lines 3 “compute component 204a-204b (FIG. 3A) such as a CPU”; Bailey).
As to Claim 24, the obvious modification of Bailey in view of Yu discloses:
wherein the device requiring cooling is a motherboard or a graphical card (col. 6, Lines 46-48 “204a-204d (FIG. 3A) that are mounted to a bottom surface 253 of the server chassis 202 or a motherboard 254 on the bottom surface 253”; 204a mounted on motherboard; Bailey).
As to Claim 25, the obvious modification of Bailey in view of Yu discloses:
wherein one or more heatsink fins (262 of Bailey) form a plenum (tunnel 213) allowing air to ingress or egress the plurality of heatsink fins 262 and thereby enhance cooling of the plurality of heatsink fins 262 (213 provides pathway for airflow 211, provides cooling).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-18 will be allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 6-10 and 12-14, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the device as recited in the dependent claims 3 and 21, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because claims 3 and 21 recite the following limitations:
“further comprising two or more cooling fans, the two or more cooling fans including a first cooling fan and a second cooling fan, the first cooling fan engaged to cool the multi-directional heatsink at all times via a first air path, and the second cooling fan engaged to cool the multi-directional heatsink upon an increased cooling demand via a second air path.” – claims 3 and 21.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claims 12-18, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the apparatus in the independent claim 12, and at least in part, because claim 12 recites the limitations:
“wherein each of the plurality of heatsink fins is formed such that a plenum is present in each of the heatsink fins and when the plurality of heatsink fins are stacked a greater plenum is formed via conjunction of the plenums present in each of the plurality of heatsink fins, the greater plenum allowing air directed along each air path to exit the plurality of heatsink fins via the greater plenum and thereby cool the plurality of heatsink fins.” – claim 12.
Wiltzius (US 7933119 B2) discloses a fan directing airflow throughout a heatsink, however does not disclose a plurality of fans cooling as claimed.
Babcock (US 9609785 B1) discloses a plurality of fans directing airflow through multiple directions of a heatsink, however does not disclose one fan on at all times while another is selectively engaged upon an increased cooling demand.
Tunks (US 20240138117 A1) discloses a plurality of fins within a heatsink, however does not disclose a plenum in each fin that further forms a greater plenum.
Guerrero (US 6450250 B2) discloses a central opening within a fin stack for accommodating a shaft, however does not disclose a plenum in each fin that further forms a greater plenum for each air path.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claims 3, 12 and 21, are believed to render said claims 3, 12 and 21 and all claims dependent therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841